Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Witchful Thinking
  
78 Reviews Found

Review #1, by NW2017 Needle In A Haystack

30th August 2017:
Absolutely loving this story! Can't wqaot for more!

 Report Review

Review #2, by WizardsOnlyFools Needle In A Haystack

7th July 2017:
Wow, Hippo is a beast! Not only finding Iris but defending her against a werewolf (I assume)! Best owl ever. Sorry Hedwig, RIP.

Hopefully this showing of family support is enough to bring Al to his senses and stop running away from his feelings. They'll always be there for him if he allows himself to open up.

I can't imagine the range of emotions Sunny must have felt hearing that they'd found her and then seeing her in the hospital. Totally overwhelming. Though I loved her frantic jump into doctor mode upon hearing that Iris had hypothermia. Very realistic.

I also loved when Al explained that Iris' blue lips were simply the cause of ink not cold. That had me cracking up. Of course Iris would get all dolled up to go apologize to her dad.
Here's hoping that this incident will get Al and Sunny talking more about themselves and their future, though they still have to deal with Patti!

Thanks for another engaging chapter! And don't worry about delays. I'm sure your readers aren't going anywhere. I know I'm not. :)

Author's Response: Hey Wizard!

OMG, I'm really sorry that it's taken me so long to respond to your review. Thank you so much for letting me know your thoughts on this chapter! I'm glad it held your attention :)

Was it a werewolf, or was it something else, or was it nothing but Iris's imagination? ;) I'm not going to clarify what went on there. I might just leave it open for interpretation ...

I confess - I really love writing Hippo! I'm quite fond of that owl :)

Sunita doesn't cope well when her family are ill. She's fine with strangers lying in hospital beds, but goes to pieces over relatives. Iris got pen on her lips by accident when she wrote the letter to Al, and though I didn't give it much thought at the time, it turned out to be an interesting observation to include in this chapter.

I'm about half-way through the next chapter; I'll try my best to get it completed soon :) Thank you so much for this brilliant review and for continuing to enjoy this story - I'm really touched by your support.

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #3, by putitonpaper Needle In A Haystack

4th July 2017:
You had me on edge for those last couple of chapters!! Way to bring they very realistic/palpable drama. I totally could understand where Sunita's mother was coming from when she reacted to the confirmation that Al is a wizard. I also think Sunita's reaction to the magical hospital was very well done. And obviously the entire plot point regarding Iris was torturing (in a good way)! I love reading your take/descriptions of everyone's emotions and feelings. Iris sleeping out of conciciousness was so well done! You did a great job of coming up with a believable hallucination for an 8 year old!

Brava.

I'm very excited to see your next update!

Author's Response: Hey, Putitonpaper!

What can I say that will do all your reviews justice? I'm completely blown away by the effort that you must have gone to, to read and review so many chapters of this story in such a short period of time. Wow, and thank you - it means so, so much :)

I'm glad you found the drama/descriptions in this chapter realistic, and I hope you won't have to wait too long for the next instalment; I hope to publish an update soon :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #4, by putitonpaper Tricky

3rd July 2017:
Della is so horrible - the Roxy line and the Muggle comment. Ugh, gross. Not a fan. Al- get out and get out now! Hopefully Al doesn't take this nonsense lol. I love Iris's relationship with Will - he is hilarious and cute and a proud menace. Such a cute child. I feel like you're foreshadowing something with their plan to use Floo Powder. Ugh. I guess everything can't go perfectly well, huh?

Author's Response: Yeah, Delilah has some pretty awful views! There will be more Iris-and-Will shenanigans at some point; whether this involves Floo powder or not, I wouldn't like to say ;P

Thank you for another great review!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #5, by putitonpaper Straight Talking

3rd July 2017:
I love their relationship! Aw, good on James getting Al to face the truth. I love your description of Al's realization that he deeply loves his daughter. That was perfect and beautiful!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comment!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #6, by coolsilver Needle In A Haystack

3rd July 2017:
Oh my goodness. What a nice twist! So Iris was just having a nightmare, and wasn't found by a werewolf! Love it.

I had to laugh at Sunny's assumption of a "proper hospital"! Might be nice if Sunny and Al could talk about the differences in between their similar jobs in the muggle and magic worlds. Would be fascinating as heck!

Keep writing, I loved this update!

Author's Response: Hey, Coolsilver!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, and many apologies for the delay in responding. I'm really glad you enjoyed this update! I'll aim to publish the next one soon.

There will hopefully be more similarities and differences drawn between muggle and magical medicine in upcoming chapters :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #7, by putitonpaper Child's Play

3rd July 2017:
I can't decide if Sunita or Iris is my favorite character. I find Sunita hilarious and so relatable but Iris is just adorable and funny in a innocent but mature kind of way. Hopefully Sunita won't be suffering for too much longer. Poor thing is so into Al!

Author's Response: Sunita is VERY into Al; so much so, that she never really fell for anyone after him. Also, having a child and doing a full-time degree kind of ensured she had little to no social life until she bumped into him again!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #8, by putitonpaper Cousin Concerns

3rd July 2017:
I somehow posted this review on my OWN story somehow - rolls eyes at self ha. Just thought I'd explain the weirdness in case you noticed lolol:

Ah, poor Al - he is in quite the difficult situation. He's definitely not marrying Della for the right reasons but I can understand his thought process in thinking he needs to stay. I loved some of Lucy's lines. They had me grinning from ear to ear. Rose is socially aggressive - I'm think I like her but I'm not entirely sure. I tend to not want to meddle too substantially in other's love affairs unless I think someone is being hurt. That being said, Della's convo with Al regarding Roxy made me turned off to her more

 Report Review

Review #9, by putitonpaper Quaffle Waffle

3rd July 2017:
Iris meeting the Wotters is absolutely adorable. I think it's fitting that the son of Vic and Teddy would be a bit of a menace. I also love how you wrote about Iris's anxiety over meeting the Wotters and interacting with Albus. It's just very real, ya know? I've never fathom writing from the perspective of a young child but I think you've captured it so well here.

 Report Review

Review #10, by putitonpaper Uncomfortable Truth

3rd July 2017:
Ugh. This theme always gnawed at me while reading HP. If the magical world knew cures for certain muggle diseases, shouldn't they help cure them. And then imagine all the progress that could be made if muggle medicine were mixed with magic. I wonder if JK has ever addressed this?

My heart breaks for Sunita! On her birthday, thinking there's hope, and then having it crushed :/. I also feel sorry for Al who may actually want to help but can't break the law. Your plot gets increasingly interesting and addicting with each chapter!

 Report Review

Review #11, by putitonpaper Family Planning

3rd July 2017:
Living for the drama that you've created here. Is Della going to tell everyone that she's pregnant? Or, that they are trying to get pregnant? Or, is Della going to tell everyone that they are moving? V. Excited to turn to the next chapter. But first, I must compliment you on your descriptions. I love how you describe the living room of Sunita's family. I have said this over and over again but the diversity in your work is admirable and needed on HPFF. Al's description of samosa's - "He regards his samosa warily. They remind him of pumpkin pasties, but triangular, and with attitude. " made me laugh out loud. Well done.

I was actually laughing during the entire scene at the kitchen table. It's so realistic. Multiple conversations happening at once, people having cross conversations. James yelling into the abyss until someone, anyone, answers him. I just loved the whole thing. I really could go on and on. I love, love, love seeing how people write interactions with the Potter family and this did not disappoint.

 Report Review

Review #12, by putitonpaper Pressing Issues

3rd July 2017:
Great job with Della in this chapter! I think her reaction is understandable but also problematic. You've done an amazing job of making her possibly, potentially redeemable while also making me want to dismiss her as a villain, ya know?

I really like your description regarding how Sunita would see the magical press. She'd probably notice someone following her but she likely wouldn't fully know what was going on. I'm also itching to see how she responds if she sees the newspapers.

I really enjoyed your description of Al's apartment after being bombarded with letters - it really created a clear picture in my head. Like I could see the owls flying around/I could also picture his owl getting mad, trying to mark his territory.

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #13, by putitonpaper Keep Calm And Have A Cup Of Tea

3rd July 2017:
Ugh. My heart is breaking for Sunita. She's opening up her life to Al and she's getting heartbroken in the process. I really like how you've written Iris. To be honest, I don't interact with kids a lot these days so I can't opine on whether or not she's realistic but still, I just find her super sweet and innocent. You definitely have me hooked on this story.

Author's Response: Hey again :)

Yeah, Sunita gets a bit of a rough deal in this chapter :/ I'm really glad you like Iris. I don't interact with children at all if I can help it, so I did wonder whether Iris's dialogue and behaviour were age-appropriate and realistic. I referred back to my own childhood to write her, which may or may not have been a good idea!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #14, by putitonpaper Nothing To See Here, Hurry Along Now

2nd July 2017:
Ah! I thought he had oblivated her for some reason! Wow, this is such a mature conversation - good for them. I'm not sure everyone would handle this conversation with such grace. I love that they are both doctors. And you also have to appreciate Sunny's annoyance with the school haha! Like, I love that she blamed them for her daughter's bad grammar.

Ah, he gets to meet Iris. I'm excited to see what that looks like! I imagine it will all be overwhelming for everyone involved.

I love that you've written Ginny and Harry so cute, they are adorable. I'm excited to see there reaction to Al's news...

Author's Response: Hello :)

Thanks so, so much for continuing to review; it was such a wonderful surprise to find all these responses waiting to be answered!

Because Al and Sunita never split on bad terms, there wasn't any pre-existing conflict to complicate their reunion, and Sunita spent most of that scene in a state of shock as Al's reappearance was so unexpected. They are both in their mid-twenties and involved in professions where calm and unemotional behaviour is expected and encouraged, hence the polite, formal approach to their conversation. I'm going to edit this story at some point, so I shall revisit that conversation and assess whether it needs stirring up a bit! Thanks for the heads-up on it; it's certainly food for thought :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #15, by putitonpaper Moving Swiftly On

2nd July 2017:
I got all the feels from this!!

"he is slowly building himself back up, fragment by fragment, from the crumbling ruin he was reduced to on the 3rd of November." - I love this picture youíve created in my head! This is an top-notch description of Alís anguish.

And then I was so taken by his thought process to go to Hugo instead of Rose and/or Scorpius. I really thought he'd go to Scorpius just based on how the fandom generally writes their relationship.

You squeezed my heart with the scene where he sees his daughter.

And gosh, the anticipation with Sunita and Al! Like he's going to have to explain that he's the father of her daughter! And then he's going to have to explain why she can't remember. My gosh. I'm freaking out! lol.

Author's Response: Hi, Putitonpaper :)

Thank you so much for all the positive comments on this chapter! It feels like such a long time since I wrote it that I'm struggling to remember what happens in it, but I think I can - just about! To clarify, Al went to Hugo because of the letter connection mentioned in the first chapter.
Fortunately, he won't have to explain any lost memories to Sunita because he never obliviated them :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #16, by putitonpaper Eight And A Bit Years Later

2nd July 2017:
This is so, so clever. I feel like the scene with the owl is totally something that would come out of JK Rowling's head! Al's emotions are very well-written. I immediately felt for him when you described his pain and sorrow.

I know I commented this on your last story but I love, love, love that this is a racially diverse story. As someone who grew up internationally and among people that didn't look like me, that sense of being different, not looking like everyone else is such an important story to tell!

I'm really hoping my body will allow me to binge read this tonight! You've got me so excited with this first chapter.

And, also hi! :)

Author's Response: Hi, Putitonpaper :)

Blimey! I'm delighted to welcome you to this story, and wow! I'm blown away by all the amazing reviews you've left me here! I'm really glad you enjoyed the opening chapter :) Writing a racially diverse story was important to me too. Many populations are underrepresented in fiction and I wanted to create something that those groups might be able to relate to.

It might take me a while to answer all your reviews, but I'll try and do so this weekend :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #17, by PendleWizard Needle In A Haystack

2nd July 2017:
Another stonkingly brilliant chapter! let's hope the adults all sort themselves out now!

I particularly loved all the interactions in St Mungo's - the terrified mediwzard and the 'she needs a proper hospital,' 'This IS a proper hospital' bit.

Bravo!

Author's Response: Hi Pendle!

Thank you so much for your fab review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter, especially the St Mungo's aspect (I think that was my favourite writing part, too).

Adults will be adults. Don't expect them all to be too adult for long ...

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #18, by Hasane Needle In A Haystack

2nd July 2017:
yes, iris has been found!!

I hope to see iris' condition improve next chapter!

sorry for the short review, im on my phone!

Author's Response: Hey Hasane! Thanks for reviewing :) You'll definitely get an Iris update in the next chapter!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #19, by Giu9_RedandGold Needle In A Haystack

2nd July 2017:
Oh, my baby Iris :( I'm so glad everything turned out all right. Although I knew that they would've found her eventually and that she was going to be fine, I have to admit it was a bit scary. You have managed to portray her fear and helplessness and for a moment I feared too. Anyway, it was lovely to see both Al and Sunny by her bedside. You described Sunny's panic very well and it was so good that Al managed to keep control of the situation in a more rational way than her. Now I really hope he doesn't disappear again!

Update soon, please! I am more in love with this story every chapter!!!

Author's Response: Hey Giu!

Thanks for your lovely review, and apologies for the delay in replying. I'm really glad you're enjoying this story :) Unfortunately, work has got in the way of writing lately, but I shall endeavour to get going with the next chapter as soon as possible! As for whether Al will "disappear" again ...

Brax X



 Report Review

Review #20, by WizardsOnlyFools Little Girl Lost

13th June 2017:
A necessarily frustrating chapter haha. It wouldn't be much use to the story if everything went off without a hitch. Of course, poor Iris' trip was doomed from the start, but I love her continued determination to do what she believes is the right thing. At least she wasn't able to take her coat off when she began to get hypothermia...

Delilah is a right piece of work. First she sees her ex's 7-year-old daughter wandering the streets of London alone and leaves her there. Of course she'd gone to tell Al but you don't just leave the little girl when you don't know if she's going to stay where she is, UNLESS she put some sort of tracking charm on Iris (which would make sense if Delilah is the "wall" that Iris ran into near the end). Regardless, she probably should have at least tried to convince Iris to let her take her to Al or something. You don't just leave a kid you know on the streets in the dead of winter! Unless you're a conniving trout, perhaps.
Which was pretty much proven by my second point. After leaving Iris to find Al, instead of just telling him immediately, she decides to wind him up with seduction nonsense to the point where he won't listen to another word she says, even though it was actually important. What an idiot.

Okay, my rant is over.

Well written, as per usual. I'm curious to see if you do indeed throw a werewolf into the mix. Iris being bitten would be an interesting, albeit sad, twist! Hope your summer has started off well and I'll be looking forward to your next update!

Author's Response: Hey Wizard!

I am SO sorry for the delay in responding to your review, which was as welcome, thoughtful and insightful as always :) Yeah, Delilah's a piece of work. Sometimes, she doesn't want to be like that but a part of her can't help trying to manipulate situations. I did have a scene in mind where Delilah approached Iris and took her to Al, but I decided not to include it; reason being, I don't think Iris would have trusted Delilah enough to have gone with her.

Is there a werewolf, or is there something else out there? I guess you'll have to wait and see :) The next chapter is almost written. Hopefully, I'll finish and edit it this weekend and post it by the start of next week.

Updates might be less frequent from now as I'm working on other stories, but I shall endeavour to complete this story (eventually). I still have a number of plots in the pipeline for these characters ;)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review.

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #21, by Hasane Little Girl Lost

7th June 2017:
Oh, poor Iris! Everybody had their fair share of angst in this chapter.

And, Al, wow. He had every right not to believe Delilah, but I almost wanted to know what kind of turn this story would have taken if Al just said yes.

Delilah, on the other hand, was manipulative. Taking a possibly serious situation for Al (one where his one daughter is in danger and could possibly die) and making it benefit her... That's just not right. And people like her are ones you often see most in the real world.

This chapter was well worth the wait! Now I await the next one because I just have to know what the full moon means. Of course, it does mean werewolves will transform, but I'm honestly kind of wondering what threat that would hold in a largely muggle London? I don't think werewolves would venture out into a muggle London unless they want to out themselves. There are much bigger threats in a busy city at night, where bad people roam. Hm.

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm really glad you felt this chapter was worth the wait :) I wrote three completely different drafts before settling on this one! I toyed with the idea of Al acceding to Delilah, but, in the end, decided not to go with that storyline.

The next chapter is almost complete so hopefully you won't have to wait too long to find out what happens next :)

Thanks so much for reviewing!

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #22, by PendleWizard Little Girl Lost

6th June 2017:
Awww!Poor wee Iris! I hope they find her soon and I hope this brings Al and Sunny together! What made her choose KX? It's a bit insalubrious around there. How far has she wandered - if she went into Bloomsbury or down the Gray's Inn Road it wouldn't be too bad (Sorry - used to work round there many moons ago!) Do we know where Al lives?

Would someone in Eastcote talk about going into London? They're part of London, aren't they? Would they say 'into town' maybe? (Sorry - I'm not a Londoner. You probably know the nuances better than me. Maybe Eastcote sees itself as separate?).

I'm really enjoying this (and love all your work). Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hi PendleWizard,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, and I really appreciate the questions! :)

Iris chose KX off the top of her head when put on the spot, because she'd heard of it before. However, I didn't specify whether she exited the train there or not! Just that she got out with lots of other people and there were shops.

You don't know where Al lives, but I do ;P As for whether someone in Eastcote would say they were "going into town" or "going into London" - that's a very interesting question!! I think it's far away or close enough to be either, but locals may be able to put me right on that score. My Auntie lived near Rayner's Lane and talked about "going into London", but she may have been an anomaly!

Next chapter isn't too far away :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #23, by Speakeasy Little Girl Lost

5th June 2017:
Delilah isn't really the smartest one is she. I really am looking forward to the next chapter. As always another terrific chapter.

Author's Response: Hi, and thanks so much for your lovely comment! Next chapter shouldn't be too far behind this one :)

Brax X


 Report Review

Review #24, by Hasane Broken Ice

23rd May 2017:
Everything definitely hit the fan, yes.

A round of applause to the frog? Most definitely.

Wow.. Just wow. I felt bad for Al in the moment Priya started calling him a liar and a sorcerer, names he doesn't deserve. But the way he dealt with it wasn't healthy. He shouldn't be isolating himself, he should be speaking and communicating with Sunita and Iris; it's the only way that this situation will smooth over. I kind of understand why he would do it, but still. I hope he gets his head screwed back on soon.

I also felt bad for Iris. She must have been so confused and hurt, and by any means she was willing to do to get to speak to her dad. She's only a child and she doesn't know, and that's the thing: she doesn't know how dangerous the cities are day or night be damned, she doesn't know where Al is even if he lives in London, she doesn't know that the people of her city will do her more harm than good. I worry for her, seriously, and I hope Sunita finds out quickly, and sends out, like, the whole police force for her or something. Well, considering Al's protective family, they might as well be the police force.

Another wonderful chapter, and I look forward to the next one (take your time tho)!

Author's Response: Hey Hasane!

I'm really glad you liked this chapter :) Poor Al - he really overreacted, but he'll hopefully come to his senses soon. He might have to ...!

London is no place for a child on their own, but I don't think Iris really considered that when she stepped out of the door and wandered off. :/

Next chapter is in progress :) Thank you so much for your great review!

Brax X



 Report Review

Review #25, by WizardsOnlyFools Broken Ice

19th May 2017:
You had me for a second there thinking that everything was going to work out haha. Very cool turn of events though. Did not see that reaction coming. It'd be very interesting to see your take on such a unique cultures' attitude towards the magical community. Clearly things are not as pleasant in India when it comes to that topic as compared to current day Britain (hopefully not as bad as Britain 30 years previous haha). I'm wondering if magic people were/are more widely known in India or if Priya just had a bad run-in with some? In which case her reaction would seem plausible. But then again, she seemed sort of ashamed. Past magical lover? Haha, I love speculating.

I will say that I think Al maybe overreacted to the situation. It'd be perfectly normal for him to feel a little bit angry, guilty, and scared, and to even leave the house for a while to let the situation cool off. But to cut off contact completely for an indefinite amount of time? That seems more than unfair to Sunita and especially Iris. Also, he's going to feel like an idiot when he finds out what Iris did BECAUSE of his lack of contact. :P Though, Patti and Thatha should TOTALLY stagger their nap times haha.

Thanks for the chapter being great, as usual!

P.S. I wonder if J.K. Rowling ever said if there is a difference between a sorcerer and wizard/witch, or a warlock...or magician, or mage. There's so many haha. She's seemed to use a few of them interchangeably in the books. Just thinking out loud. :P

Author's Response: Hey Wizard :)

I'm glad this chapter provided some unexpected moments, and your theories over what might have prompted Priya's response are all pretty interesting ;) You'll get answers, but I can't specify when (I'm so sorry!) India is so vast and has a number of quite isolated, rural regions where education and knowledge are lacking. If two muggle villagers from such an area produce a witch/wizard, it's not taken kindly. In the cities and towns, it would be much like Britain, I think.

Al COMPLETELY overreacted! Originally, I was going to play down his response to the frog/Priya, but he'd had a day of minor issues with Iris, and his emotions had simply snowballed, so he flew off the handle and had a self-pitying tantrum. It's only been two days since the incident and he's still very unhappy about the whole exchange, but hopefully he'll stop being such a baby soon and man up. He might have to, anyway!

Old people can't always control when they fall asleep, hence Thatha snoozing in the living room! I suspect Patti will be making resolutions to stay awake during the afternoons from now on ;)

I haven't looked into whether there's a difference between wizards/warlocks/sorcerers, but it's an interesting question!

Thank you so much for this lovely review and for all the brilliant questions/speculations! Apologies for the essay in return ;)

Brax X


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>