Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Harder They Fall
  
74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PaulaTheProkaryote Deeper Than Oceans

14th August 2017:
OKAY. okay I'm ready. You've promised me that you're not going to kill them. YOU PROMISED. (okay, you've never said anything of the sort, but this is just wishful thinking at this point).

MOTHER REDEMPTION RIGHT OFF THE BAT OOH YEAH! Okay, you're my super favorite.

IS THE VASE A PORTKEY TO SAFETY? Is she going to knock Grindelwald upside the head with it? SO MANY POSSIBILITIES.

"But he had already become that." YES MY BOY! (I'm sorry this entire review is going to be like this but you get that for writing this kind of amazing story, okay? if you wanted quality reviews you should have written something boring so I had to find things to dissect so I could fill up the necessary lines)

"Finn contented himself with shouting insults at Tom in his head" this boy is my everything. He's 10/10. I've never loved a fictional character the way that I love him.

HE PUNCHED HIM IN THE FACE! OH MY GOD FINN, OH MY GOD, MY BABY, HE'S LITERALLY THE BEST! Also I don't know if it was this chapter or last but I literally just said I'd like to punch him in the face and oh the satisfaction is out of this world!

and there was the most cutest love confession. they deserve a happily ever after. I'm just saying.

PORTKEEYY!

I love them so much. I hope that the Blishwicks made it out alive though. “a face like that only means trouble,” She doesn't know the half of it.

oh my god the ending I'm so happy. I'm so, so happy. I'm sad the story is over, but I'm so happy. Thank you for letting them live. I was terrified you wouldn't. This was the best and so are you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much Paula :D You and your reviews were one of the things that kept me going and feeling encouraged, and I can't thank you enough for all the support you showed me. Love you long time ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by PaulaTheProkaryote Hollow

14th August 2017:
oh god i'm not ready for the end. B, let's not end yet. I only have this one and the next one and I'm not ready like at all. Is there a support group yet? I need a support group.

Like nothing at all has even happened yet, he's just looking at the map and hoping he can figure it all out and my heart is already racing. I know I'm being unreasonable. I'm just too attached to my babies.

I do wonder why Grindelwald was disinterested in Fleamont. That's a good point.

UGH TOM ALWAYS THERE TO RUIN EVERYTHING.

But also can we just talk about how clever Finn is with the whole Fleamont's eyes darting. Hero would be proud.

Poor Fleamont. I hope he doesn't go through too much torture. Minding his own, offering some kid tea, and then he just randomly gets jumped.

Also shoutout to Fletcher for writing all of that because by the time I knew what like half the contents were I'd be too afraid to be associated with it, even if it was just by penmanship.

“Aren’t you hot?” she asked. “You haven’t noticed yet?” I swear I love them more than words.

Okay realistically I don't blame her for being so upset with him. I probably would too. Like Finn always has good intentions but then he does some bananas stuff that messes it all up. It's his way. She'll get the hang of it (assuming you GIVE HER THE CHANCE TO *silent plea she survives the next chapter*)

Oh god, Sebastian. What are you even doing? BE A SWEET NON-VIOLENT BABY BOY. Tom is so far down on my list right now, I could punch him in his classically handsome face.

Also I would totally be sorry for Alenya Hills and even more sorry for Finn for having to deal with that on his mind and honestly for the rest of his life, but I can't properly be sad for her because WHERE IS MY SWEET BABY HUFFLEPUFF!

There was so much character development in this chapter it was unreal. I'm just typing now because I'm terrified to click on the next chapter. JUST TELL ME SHE'S GOING TO BE OKAY.

Author's Response: I feel like there should be a support group because I need one too, now that it's over. Wah.

I can't reveal anything :O You'll just have to read on ;)

Thanks so much for your emotional review! ♥ ("I could punch him in his classically handsome face" made me crack up laughing!)


 Report Review

Review #3, by dreamgazer220 Deeper Than Oceans

21st June 2017:
Bianca, I have a couple of things to formally say to you in a review, but that can wait because:

DEAR GOD THIS CHAPTER WAS A ROLLERCOASTER! Okay, so I was all ready to riot because I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen to Brindley. It broke my heart when Finn walked away from her and couldn't think of anything to say.

I don't think there's ever been a punch more satisfying except for when Hermione punched Malfoy in PoA. I chuckled that Finn thought Tom wasn't capable of bleeding, and it's such a Finn thought. AND I'm so impressed with his power and that he was able to use his wand with all that magic. I was totally cheering for him, despite the fact that I wanted to shake him - and I think that's the mark of a good character. He's made some huge mistakes, but in the end, he redeems himself, and I'm SO happy that he was able to save Brindley.

So what happened with her curse? Was it that Grindelward hit her with it a second time and it kind of counter-acted? That's what I took from it when you mentioned the snake venom effect.

Awww, go Mama Blishwick! A Portkey is SO SMART.

And the beach! Ugh, my heart. I'm so glad that Finn and Brindley got the happily ever after they deserved. They've been through so much together and I'm so proud that Finn wants to make the Blishwick name into something good. And get revenge for Tom.

THANK YOU FOR LETTING THEM LIVE HAPPILY EVER AFTER, MY BABIES. Although you could definitely write more Finn, I mean... come on! He's going to hunt down Tom Riddle! How can you not write that story?!?!?!

This is really just me begging you with puppy dog eyes. Is it working?

So the things I wanted to formally say: I'm so impressed by you, your writing, and your character growth. I know Julie is a goddess, but you've always had talent, and I'm so proud to see how far you've grown from the first chapter of Hero (which was excellent) to now. I'm also impressed that you've managed to finish two stories in a year or two (I'm lazy right now to go look).

Thank you for sharing this story and Finn with us.

Love you long time

♥♥♥
J

Author's Response: Hahaha rollercoaster is probably a good way to describe it. And comparing the punch to Hermione's? That is the highest flattery :D

You're absolutely right, it counteracted/cancelled it out :)

Of course they had a happy ending! I could never give Finn anything less ♥

You're very welcome. Thank YOU for being there every step of the way. Love you ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by dreamgazer220 Hollow

21st June 2017:
Excuse me. EXCUSE ME, BIANCA.

I'm sorry, Finn, but when you gave Grindelward that girl's name, what did you really expect him to do? Nothing? I totally get that you want to protect Brindley, but UGH. That poor girl was just a little pawn and my only consolation is that he's feeling horrible over it, as he should.

ALSO, you knew you were going to study with Brindley and you didn't really hide the note or the cloak all that well. UGH, Finn, sometimes I want to shake you.

I really just want to hug Brindley, okay? She could use a hug or three, I can't imagine how hurt she is by Finn right now. BUT ALSO, Grindelward better not hurt her or else I'll riot. Or Tom, for that matter. Can I punch Tom? I'm not at all surprised that he tracked Finn to find the cloak.

Also, how did Finn know where the cloak was hidden?

Fantastic chapter, B! As much as I want to shake Finn, he's still one of my favorite characters. He's grown so much but then he does things like this and just UGHHH. (And you wonder why I referred to you as Queen Stiefvater, geez.)

I don't think I'm ready for the last chapter.

Author's Response: Um, yes, hello Jill :D

Finn guessed where the cloak was because he saw Fleamont look that way before he was taken, like it was the first thing on his mind.

Thank you! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan Deeper Than Oceans

21st June 2017:
WOWOWOWOWWOW THIS WAS SO AMAZING BIANCA. YOU ARE AMAZING


This chapter was so powerful. You really heaped on the angst and grief there in the first part and I was so convinced Brindley was dead, and then when she breathed I could barely believe it and normally happy endings are too sweet for me but I needed this one. Considering how much these two have been through in all the previous chapters, they deserved a happy ending together.


I was quite literally on the edge of my seat this entire chapter and didn't even look away when some lady in the library came by and looked over my shoulder at what I was reading and it was clearly fanfiction but I COULD NOT STOP READING. The suspense in this chapter was just incredible.


And I know I was angry at Finn last chapter, but I think he was angry with himself too, and he needed to be. He needed to understand how much he had messed up, and now that he has, I was on his side again and cheering for him. I loved when he punched Tom in the face and how he is unashamed of loving Brindley and he's just grown up so much through this story - thinking of the Finn in the beginning of the story with dreams of being Grindelwald's little minion, to how he's become who he is now, it's really remarkable and I'm so happy everything worked out for him. And I'm also glad he learned the truth about Hero's death - he deserved to know that. :(


Congrats on finishing this story! This really has been an amazing, award-winningly fantastic story so well done on completing it! I'm sorry this review is all over the place, but my emotions are all over the place after this chapter because it was so good. Amazing work! ♥

Author's Response: Ah, no. YOU'RE AMAZING!

I'm sooo glad you like Finn again (:P) and that you like the ending!

Thank you for being here and reviewing every single chapter. I appreciate more than I can put into words ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan Hollow

21st June 2017:
How is this story finished already! Gah, this chapter was so hard to read. Not because of the writing quality, because that was superb of course. Mostly because I'm so frustrated at Finn's short-sightedness and poor decision making. I am glad Sebastian tied him up at the end and tried to shake some sense into him (however badly that worked) because it was something I very much wanted to do myself.

Honestly, Finn isn't that likeable right now- he condemned an innocent girl to death for personal gain/because he valued her life less than Brindley's, and then he stole from an middle aged poor man whom Tom had just left unconscious. He's not at the top of my list of winners right now. BUT despite all of that, I still want everything to work out for him. Despite what a mess he is, he's doing all these wrong things for the right reasons, he just hasn't thought through the consequences, and that's why I ultimately do like Finn. I don't like him, but I like him - I'm sure that makes loads of sense. :P but omg, he really is a fascinating character and he has really screwed some things up and I want it all to be okay.

Poor Brindley. I can't blame her for walking out on Finn - I know he was trying to protect her, but he was such a meddler about it, deliberately hiding things from her that she'd wanted to know for so long, and had a right to know. And now I'm worried about what's going to happen to her, and I have some bad suspicions :(

I feel so badly for Sebastian too, trying to take things into his own hands and get out of the manipulations of his family but not realizing that he's still being manipulated by Tom.

The final chapter is awaiting me so I have nothing else to say other than that you are a fantastic writer. ♥

Author's Response: What do you mean already?! It took me long enough, haha!

Yep, it's a bit of a dark moment for Finn, and he's in a really hard position. I can't deny your negative feelings for him :P

See you at the next chapter! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Felpata Lupin Deeper Than Oceans

21st June 2017:
B, I love you!!!
And I love this ending!!!
And I love this whole story, and your wonderful writing, and your brilliant mind!!!
And I'm so proud of you for getting to the end of this! I can't believe it's finished, I'm so excited and a tiny bit sad at the same time... (also, how awesome is it that we finished our stories practically at the same time?)

Okay, I'll stop blubbering and try to leave an actual review now... :P

So, first... I love Finn's Mum! I love that in the end all she cares about is her son being safe and happy. Such a stark contrast with Jameson, who primarily cares about the good name of the family. I felt so awful when he rejected Finn...

And speaking of Finn... I couldn't be more proud of him! I loved the scene when he broke the Hallows symbol, it was so brave of him. You can really tell how much he's grown up and changed since the story started.

I hate, hate, HATE Tom! Poor Finn, I felt so bad when Tom finally told him what he'd done to Hero... :(

Oh, and I love that the Cloak was fake! Fleamont is so smart! ;)

You really fooled me... I truly believed Brindley was gone for a moment... how dared you scared me that way? Shake-what???

But then she opened her eyes, and she wasn't ill anymore and that was so amazing and made up for any previous heartbreak. I so loved the concept that the curse nullified itself, such a stroke of genius! (By the way, I don't think I've commented on it before, but your Grindelwald was amazing, too. You just have a talent at writing dark wizard, I guess...)

I'm so glad Brindley decided to forgive him. I mean, I'm not surprised that she did. How could she not when he'd tried so hard to set things right? I loved that she made a blanket fort, like when they first kissed. Such a nice touch!

I so love the idea of Brindley and Fleamont trying to build a relationship. And now I want that Marauder sequel even more. I love the idea that the children of Finn and Brindley grew up with James! :D

Oh, by the way... talking about family and cousins and stuff... what about my little Bash? I like the idea that he made up with Finn and Brindley and they kept in touch... but maybe not? I just hope he won't get involved any more with Tom and the future Death Eaters...

So, to cut it short, I loved this, and I'm so glad you gave us a happy ending (no, it wasn't obvious... I mean, do you remember how you ended Hero???)

I know I tell you all the time, but you are an amazing writer!

Thank you so much for this wonderful story!
Snowball hug!
Your little Chi!

Author's Response: Argh Chiara this has to be the best review you've ever given me, I love you so much! (And yes, I love that we finished at the same time :D) Thank you thank you THANK YOU! And also thank you for being there every step of the way. You're amazing ♥

 Report Review

Review #8, by quill2parchment Deeper Than Oceans

20th June 2017:
*Deep sigh of relief* What a perfect ending to a perfect story.

Hehe and Finn punching Tom was absolutely perfect! I bet Hero enjoyed that one!

Brindley and Finn are both so brave & I love them both so much for it! And Finn's watch coming off is so symbolic and perfect and great!

Oh my gosh, this ending was everything and more, B. I'm so happy for them. This whole story was so well thought out, and everything tied in together. I envy your plot-building skills, I do. And Hero, Finn, and Brindley will go down as some of my favorite FanFic characters of all time!

Excellent work, m'dear! Thank you for giving us this story!

Author's Response: Aw Quilly thank you so much!

I'm sooo happy you picked up on the watch breaking and what it symbolised - I've had that planned since the very beginning, so thank you :P
Well if you ever need plot help, you know where to find me ;)

Thank YOU for reading it! (And giving us amazing stories of your own!)

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dirigible_Plums Deeper Than Oceans

20th June 2017:
B!

IT'S A HAPPY ENDING. IT'S THE ONLY ENDING I EVER WANTED.

*SCREAMING INTENSIFIES*

Author's Response: Was there any doubt? ;)

Thanks Plums! I'm glad you liked it :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Felpata Lupin Hollow

18th June 2017:
Oh, my Shakespeare, B!
I swear I have tears in my eyes right now... Sebastian, what have you done? (And yes, I still love him)

I felt so bad for Finn. When he heard about Alenya... I mean, he sort of asked for it, and I sort of expected it to happen, but it still broke my heart.

And I'm so worried now about Fleamont and about Brindley and... well, I'm so worried about everyone, actually. And I just want to hug Finn and Bash and tell them that it'll all end well. Because it will, right? Or at least, not so bad?

As always, I could probably comment on a thousand other things, but I'm so overwhelmed with emotion right now... I just can't wait for the last chapter, even if I'm scared to find out what will happen.

This was so brilliant and heartbreaking and I love your writing so much!

Snowball hug,
Chiara

Author's Response: I thought of you when I wrote Sebastian because I knew you wouldn't like it :( I'm sorry! (But I'm glad you still love him :P) Sorry for all the emotion little Chi! *snowball hug* but thank you for reviewing!!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by Felpata Lupin Immortal

16th June 2017:
Hi, B, love!
It's 9am and I'm waiting for Anja and Jo to wake up so I thought I would profit and leave you this long-owed review. (And maybe get to the new chapter too, if I have time)

"Never before had he felt as though maybe he wasn’t so immortal. That life was not perfect, that his family’s wealth and name couldn’t fix everything." The impotence in front of death... this really hits me in the feelings so much... also, I'm a bit disappointed that Finn chose to condemn an innocent girl, but I can see why he did so and I still love him.

"Like our good looks."
"I heard that skips generations."
Ahahah! Did I mention I love Brindley?

The whole scene on the mountain, the dancing and everything that happens next... oh, my Shakespeare! That was just amazing and wonderful and... I so love Finn and Brindley together. And I so love your writing! Also, I loved the bit about the birthmarks, such a nice touch!

I loved the idea of the ring, it was so clever. And I loved that moment with Hero. I just wish she made it in time to tell him what Tom did. But I have a feeling he will figure it out soon anyway...

"The two most important girls in his life. One he had already lost. The other was only a matter of time." Poor Finn... can I just hug him?

My little Bash... I almost forgot you mentioned him... what is he up to? Should I be worried?

Sorry, I'm cutting this short. There's surely something I forgot to say. Just wanted to tell you again how much I loved this chapter! It was really, really brilliant!

Love thee, little B!
Chiara

Author's Response: Chiaraaa! Thank you so much for coming back and leaving a review, even when I told you not to :P I'm so glad you liked the chapter! Thou always brings a smile to my face :) ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by quill2parchment Hollow

15th June 2017:
Oh my goodness, all this action and twists and turns have me on edge, and I need a new chapter soon. Please. No real life for you, Missy, until then. K. Thanks. I kid. I kid. But really, this chapter was amazing, and I don't even know where to start!

That first scene was perfect! Fleamont's reaction was totally relateable, and I don't blame him one bit for not wanting to help Finn.

Oh my gosh, poor Brindley! Please let me him explain! (although, okay, I'm not even sure explaining *will* help any...)

Adfjdofude Sebastian! No! What have you done? And what is Finn going to do? And what is going to happen to Brindley???

I'll never get used to how brilliantly you manage to balance romance, adventure, and suspense. Your seriously amazing, amazing, ah-mazing!

Author's Response: No, Quilly, YOU are amazing! Thank you so so much, I absolutely love hearing from you because your reviews are just the best. The next chapter will be up early next week and I really hope you like it!

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by PaulaTheProkaryote Immortal

4th June 2017:
Hello again!

I finished dinner and had to come right back to be certain sweet Finn baby would not sell out Brindley. As if that’s even a question.

I'm just basking in the whole selflessness of the bit about him needing to do something special for her really is. And yeah, he is doing the right thing. Even if it's putting someone else in harm's way. Such as his own tail.

This precious little outing is the best non-date date I've ever read too. I'm so in love with the two of them it's not even funny. I'M NOT CRYING YOU ARE. It’s so tempting for me to just stop here and pretend they live happily ever after dancing on top of a mountain by themselves. No death, no Tom, no Gellert.

SHE'S SURE.

Also can we just talk about what a rune nerd he is. AND SOULMATE BIRTHMARKS.

Thank you for the always because that’s the way always should be.

HERO! YOU SURPRISED ME WITH MY FAVORITE! Is it my birthday?

Part of me thinks he didn’t really trust Tom to begin with, but I’m glad Hero could come back and reinforce the notion in his mind. And that she didn’t tell him pointedly that he had been behind her death. I don’t think Finn would have thought before acting.

“Because I think it will go with my outfit.” He’s my favorite character of all time.

HOW WILL HE DO IT I NEED TO KNOW OMG.

Author's Response: PAULA! Thank you! :')

"Rune nerd" oh my goodness that's cute. Everytime I get a new review from you it's the best day of the week, and you gave me TWO! Thank you, my love ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by PaulaTheProkaryote No Rest for the Wicked

4th June 2017:
Hello lovely!

I just got home from vacation so I thought I’d make my way over to your story (where I belong).

I missed Finn. My precious angel baby. Congratulations for the frogs btw! I knew you'd make it! You're literally the best.

Me screeching loudly that he really should just tell Brindley about the danger she's in has been magnified but 100 fold in this chapter. But then again I understand why he wouldn’t. Brindley, for all of her Hufflepuffness, has the courage of a Gryffindor and would probably end up taking Grindelwald down herself.

“Usually he enjoyed his own company - and really, who wouldn’t” This is why I love him so much.

SWEET BABY GAY. Hello precious angel sweet Ben. Oh and him worrying about Finn giving him that same judgment and then Finn firmly not giving him any of that judgment AND THEN FOLLOWING IT WITH THE DEFENSE OF YOU CAN LOVE WHOEVER YOU LOVE. Yes. Yes it is that Hufflepuff girl.

Alright. It's decided. Even though I love charming, manipulative, evil Tom we've got to kill him. I’m ready for a coup. Besides the half-cocked one at the ministry.

NOT RADBOURNE. Not with all that I now know! No! He and Ben are going to live the happily ever after they deserve.

I was just thinking there's no way that Dumbledore would ever eat those chocolates and then there he is suddenly "allergic." I swear you've nailed every canon character I've ever seen. Ever. Also clever little Finn with his mental note. It would do him well to remember it.

Also can I pause just a moment to sigh pleasantly at the revelation that Finn is clearly stressed a bit. He was behind on theory, homework, every class, and there was that whole failed casual assassination attempt like half a second ago and then what does my precious boy do? He reaches in just to feel the note that she wrote him.

aand now I’m crying with this precious line: “I’d rather spend a few days with you,” he said quietly, “than years with anyone else.”

I can’t wait to read the next chapter which I see is already up and waiting to tempt me! I love your stories so, so much.

Author's Response: You belong here always ♥

Thank you so much! But I actually have you to thank because you're the one who nominated this story in the first place, so THANK YOU ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by princesslily_36 Immortal

1st June 2017:
Hello B!

Thank you for the review swap! But in all fairness I should have reviewed this last week when I read it. There's so much to say!

I love how Finn and Brindey's relationship is progressing!!! And it's heartbreaking, the way Finn feels so helpless. I guess Brindley is too proud to accept his money, and I can't imagine how it is for him to know how it's going to end and still be with her. *Sob* you're breaking my heart B!

Finn is such a Slytherin, with his moral dilemma and rationalizing it with his urge to protect the one he loves, Your characterization is so amazing omejahvfwbwwe! (That was a squee btw :P)

Ooohhh the mountain scene! I remember us discussing about it in your planning stages. That grand gesture *sigh*! The image of Brindley teaching him swing kinda cracked me up. I'm just imaging Finn all awkward holding his hands ridiculously stiff and stumbling over her feet!! Haha!

I just got caught up in all the romance once again *heart-eyes* I love how he was afraid to harm her, how he was gentle, and how he didn't leave in the morning... it shows how far he had come, and how she had changed him!!

OMGWEIANRBAHAOLN! Finn found out how the resurrection stone works! I did NOT expect that! Oh Hello, Hero! Nice of you to drop by, haha! But the plot thickens now... and I see little Bash. What's he working on?

I can't believe Finn was that cool about the ring though. I mean he admitted to Tom, and Tom didn't flinch?? Did Tom know it was a hallow and didn't care? Did he really give the ring away? Wasn't it a horcrux? Wait had he made the ring a horcrux already? OMG, Tom is as creepy as ever! And you write him so well.

One of the best things about this story is that you have everything - mystery, plot, romance... I can't wait to find out what happens next.

This is one of the most enjoyable review swaps I've had!! I can't wait for the next chapter!

Loads of love, snowball hugs an penguin kisses!
~Ysh

Author's Response: No matter - you're here now!

Thank you, Ysh! Your reviews are always so amazing and I love hearing your thoughts ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by quill2parchment Immortal

25th May 2017:
Romantic, grown up, thoughtful Finn is everything I need in life!

Okay and that mountain top scene made the hopeless romantic in me extremely happy. It was so sweet of him to take her there, and I love how he's always so careful with her, but Brindley is definitely strong too! And they're just both beyond adorable. I'm so glad that they both go to feel like they were the only two people in the world and be normal teenagers in love for one night.

"A new spell he’d learned, a joke she would have liked, how good Sebastian was getting on his flute. Brindley. But now that his chance was here, he couldn’t think of any of them."

I miss Hero :( That reunion broke my heart. But of course, she is quick to warn him about Tom! And I'm so glad that Finn is starting to realize just how dangerous Tom is!

I can't wait to see what happens next! Every time I see on update on this story, my heart skips a beat, B. I'm so obsessed with it!

Author's Response: Quilly, your reviews bring me so much joy. I adore hearing from you and thank you so much for all the amazing things you have to say! ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by dreamgazer220 Immortal

24th May 2017:
HELLO LOVELY NEW CHAPTER OF HTF YAY! ♥

Okay so I'm a little annoyed that Finn sold out some poor innocent girl in order to keep Brindley safe, but I could see how - in his twisted mind - it was the right thing to do. It's quite Slytherin of him, really. I'm also curious because it seems as though he's okay even after being tortured, but I have a feeling that's where his mind has been.

FINN AND BRINDLEY ON THE MOUNTAIN. I REPEAT, FINN AND BRINDLEY ON THE MOUNTAIN! Okay, it doesn't totally make up for the last chapter but it's really freaking adorable and I'm going to pretend that it does because they're wonderful and amazing and #otp. I'm glad that she wasn't hesitant about wanting to be with him, that it was clearly something she wanted.

ALSO, loved this line: "I am not going to break, Finn." I love how precious and concerned he is for her and she's just like, "lol, boy, PLEASE."

Hero hath made an appearance! I was excited about this scene and curious how you were going to do it. Interesting choice that her grave is next to Myrtle's - was that done on purpose? LOOK AT THEM GETTING ALONG AND FINN TALKING TO GHOSTS.

That's right, Finn, don't trust Tom. He's a psychopath. A pretty one, I know you don't care about that, but he's a psychopath.

I'm so anxious to see how he's going to react when he finds out the truth about Hero's death.

Another fantastic chapter, my love!
♥♥♥ J

Author's Response: You thinking of Brindley like "lol, boy, PLEASE" had me cracking up more than you know.

Hero's and Myrtle's stones are in a little memorial garden - you'll find they probably aren't the only ones in there. One of my primary schools had one and that's where I got the idea.

Thank you for reviewing, my love!!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfan Immortal

24th May 2017:
OMG YES NEW CHAPTER

I am already hyperventilating at seeing the title to this chapter. And the quote that starts it off. You're really worrying me here.

And the first paragraph too about the song of the death of someone's lover. You are not being subtle with these hints AND I AM VERY WORRIED ABOUT THESE TWO LOVEBIRDS. don't kill off these precious cinnamon rolls please

That he had condemned an innocent girl to danger to save someone else. -- WAIT, HE DID THAT? FINN I AM SO MAD AT YOU

He was doing the right thing. -- NO HE IS NOT. FINN. YOU DID A BAD THING

I am still annoyed at Finn but golly gee those two are adorable dancing on the mountain. Please let them just stay up there forever where you can't harm them anymore.

The resurrection stone! AHHH IT'S HERO! WOW PLOT TWIST. I didn't anticipate that at all. This scene is kind of heartbreaking because she's there, but not there. That can't be easy for Finn, especially as it's just more of a reminder that she's not there. And she tried to warn him! D: I'm just glad she was able to say as much as she did before she was interrupted.

Also Tom is going to be so paranoid when he realizes that his jacket is missing and with it one of his Horcruxes...

“Because I think it will go with my outfit.” -- omg Finn XD

And once again you end a chapter in the most ominous way. Aah! I'm dying to know. Pardon the morbid humour because at this point in the story I'm worried about everyone and have suspicions they're going to die. This story is so good aksdflksjdf. great chapter!

P.S. Why couldn't the bicycle stand up?
.
.
.
.
Because it was two tired

Author's Response: KRISTIN! You are first and amazing and I love you.

Why do you think I'll kill all the cinnamon rolls? Does that sound like something I would do? ;)

Oh, stop it, you.

Thank you so much for the review! :D x


 Report Review

Review #19, by Felpata Lupin No Rest for the Wicked

20th May 2017:
Oh, my Shakespeare, this chapter!

And what a cliffhanger! Is he going to reveal it is Brindley? Is he going to tell the other Hufflepuff girl? Is he going to simply refuse to say anything? I want to know, but at the same time I'm scared of the answer and its consequences.

And by the way, the torturing scene was so powerful. Terrifying and heartbreaking, but so well done. Poor Finn, I just want to cuddle him and keep him safe...

Oh, Ben and Radbourne... I loved the conversation between Ben and Finn and their mutual acceptance. It was a sweet moment, even if there was a bitter taste in it as well, because they are both forced in these situations they can't manage. It is always Tom, indeed.

And the chocolate bit... I wonder if Dumbledore was truly allergic or if he somehow guessed what was going on. After all, Dumbledore always knows everything... he's Dumbledore! I loved the way you wrote him, by the way, and that little argument between him and Tom about love. So very in character for both of them.

Usually he enjoyed his own company - and really, who wouldn't Maybe he's not the old Finn, but some parts of his character will never change! :P Thank you for tearing me a laugh among all the angst!

And of course, Brindley! That moment in the greenhouse was so sweet! So many feel... (also, I loved the creature)

This was such a great chapter and I can't wait for the next!

Love you, little B!

Chiara

Author's Response: Can't say I'm sorry for the cliffhanger ;) I also want to keep Finn safe :( but I'm the writer so it doesn't work that way :P

Thanks for reviewing little Chi! I love you!


 Report Review

Review #20, by marauderfan No Rest for the Wicked

16th May 2017:
I loved the discussion between Ben and Finn. Finn has grown up so much. At first in this story at the beginning, he was an arrogant pest 98% of the time and a cinnamon roll the other 2%, but now I think he's at 10% jerk and 90% cinnamon roll. Like, I'm sure he's still goign to say dumb selfish things every now and then but he has come SO FAR and is so much kinder and he's gained a lot of sympathy. Old Finn would have had a wildly different reaction to Ben coming out. But here, they both have this sort of camaraderie now that they didn't have before, that they both love people they'd be judged for by anyone else, and they're both afraid of Tom, and it seems to bring them closer together.

I'm betting Dumbledore isn't actually allergic to any chocolate, but he saw that Radbourne was terrified while offering him chocolate and Tom was standing right there, and he just put things together that way :P Smart.

FINN AND BRINDLEY IN THE GREENHOUSE ♥♥♥♥

“I’d rather spend a few days with you,” he said quietly, “than years with anyone else.” -- ASDKJFLAKSDJFLKAJSDLKJFASDKF *melts* THIS IS SO ADORABLE AND I HAVE SO MANY FEELS IT'S KILLING ME SEND HELP

Lol at Tom saying love doesn't have any power or start wars. I'm pretty sure it's started a whole lot more wars than anything else :P

Oof... so I have an unpleasant theory about the last line. I don't think he sold out that fourth year, and I don't think he's going to say it's Brindley (unless we're getting into some solid Orwell/1984 type stuff here). I think he's going to say it's himself. I don't know why, I just have this bad feeling. I'm glad he's not sending either of the girls to their doom but FINN WATCH OUT, you can't outsmart Grindelwald and HELP THIS WILL NOT GO WELL. Omg, I'm panicking for him AND THERE'S NO NEXT CHAPTER PLEASE FIX THIS ASAP

THIS WAS A GREAT CHAPTER. SO AMAZING THAT I HAVE TO EXPRESS MYSELF IN CAPSLOCK ONLY

I LOVE YOU AND YOU ARE SO TALENTED. Speaking of which, congrats on winning all of the awards with this story!

Author's Response: I LOVE YOU SO MUCH I TOO CAN ONLY EMOTE IN CAPSLOCK. Seriously. Thank you ♥

 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan The Beginning of the End

16th May 2017:
I missed this when it was first posted, so I'm (finally) here now to remedy that!


N O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O

I mean I saw it coming but still NO O O O O

that kind of sums up all I have to say. You know why.

And geez, as much as I appreciate Finn finally growing a backbone and standing up for Brindley when Ben was filling the room with smoke, and how he genuinely wants to save Brindley, hurting an innocent little fourth year is not the way to do it. omg. he is in such a horrible situation and there are no good choices and I just hope he doesn't do it. there has to be another way!

Author's Response: I do know why ;)

Thank you my love ♥


 Report Review

Review #22, by dreamgazer220 No Rest for the Wicked

11th May 2017:
BIANCA HOW COULD YOU DO THAT TO MY PRECIOUS BABY AND JUST END THE CHAPTER THERE!

We're in a fight.

But seriously, this chapter was awesome! I'm having a hard time deciding if my favorite part was the scene with Ben and Finn (CAN THEY START A REVOLUTION TOGETHER PLEASE) or Finn and Brindley. I mean, this pretty much stole my heart: "I'd rather spend a few days with you than anyone else." UGH poor babies.

I love how much Finn has grown, but it's all done so realistically. I feel like I tell you that in every chapter but your character development skills remind of me of Queen Maggie Stiefvater. Seriously awesome.

What an amazing chapter and I'm so proud to see how far you've come with this story.

Love you long time ♥

Author's Response: Jiiill! I can't believe you've compared me to the Queen herself. You know she's such an inspiration of mine so I appreciate you saying that so much. I'm also glad you like Finn's development, since it's something I'm always nervous about.
Love you, you amazing human ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by quill2parchment No Rest for the Wicked

11th May 2017:
This was such a great chapter! You really see how much Finn has grown up. I am so proud of him!

His reaction to Ben's confession really shows just how far he's come along and how much kinder he has become, and I loved it.

Dumbledore telling Tom is the most powerful magic of all gave me hope. Please tell me it'll be powerful enough to save Brindley!

"I'd rather spend a few days with you than years with anyone else." STOP. MY HEART. Seriously how cute and sweet is my little Finn now. I adore him. I can't get enough of these Brindley/Finn moments by the way.

Grindelwald creeps the heck out of me. I feel so bad for Finn having to deal with him AND Tom Riddle. Talk about tough.

And that cliffhanger! Ah!

I can't wait for the next chapter. Marvelous job like always, m'dear.

Xo- Quilly

Author's Response: Quilly! Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I'm glad you're still enjoying it, and there'll be plenty more scenes between Finn and Brindley coming up ;) Thanks again, you're the sweetest ♥

 Report Review

Review #24, by PaulaTheProkaryote The Beginning of the End

9th May 2017:
IGNORE HOW LATE I AM! I forgot to check my review thread. I have officially added it to my notification list though so never again!

Of course sweet baby Finn had doubts. And the whole underage kids overthrowing a major government thing had to make him doubt himself at least a little.

I love how in character Tom always is. After reading your story (up until I ran out of chapters) I went and read at least a dozen other Tom fics (and boy some kind get risque), but I think at the end of the day your Tom is the best Tom. He just feels right and true and wonderfully evil.

I'm enchanted by the arrival of Albus Dumbledore. Not going to lie. What I want to know is if Dumbledore actually saw him or not. I mean I feel like he'd save the memory and go back and check and I feel like he'd make at least a few sweeping glances just to be able to do so.

OH HOT DOG. I'm getting some major Draco parallels. A dark family, not a whole lot of say in his life, trying to do too much for him to handle, a big mouth, a bit of a bully historically, AND tasked with killing Dumbledore. B, you're a genius, I'm telling you. These kinds of details totally helps me connect with him even more (even when he's a starkly different character than Draco).

"And I know about your filthy habit" why is this the best line I've ever read? Also, being compared to Hero here reminds me a lot of back in the first chapter (I think) of Hero where her parents seemed set on comparing her to him and my how the tables have turned.

So I know that our boy Finn isn't exactly known for his communication skills, but I can't help but wonder if a lot of head ache would be resolved if he just told Brindley a bit about what was going on. Especially the Potter stuff and the price on her head.

Ah, I love the santa joke right before the terrible revelation. The banter is so easy and simple and I'm just so happy for him.

(side note: will you be killing off every strong, brilliant female I love in life?)

“I haven’t.” *SOBS INTO THE VOID*

YEAAAH. "Trying to study." He has it bad. I love him.

Oh man the moral dilemma we are facing here at the end is just too much in all of the best ways. Also poor, poor Hills. She won't know what hit her. Goodness, will this girl end up being killed to protect Brindley? I hope not. I feel like Brindley would be peeved if she ever found out.

As always, I loved it. This is probably my favorite story of all time. And no, in the history of all of my reviews, I've never told anyone else that. This is the one.

Author's Response: You literally have me a sobbing mess! You're the absolute best, P. Thank you so much. I love you beyond words ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by Felpata Lupin The Beginning of the End

7th May 2017:
Shake-what??? Was your goal to break my heart? Because in this case, you managed it!

Poor Finn... :'( I just want to hug him tight and never let go! He shouldn't have to deal with all that, he shouldn't be involved, he's just a kid! It's not fair! *more hugs*

Was it Sebastian who told Dumbledore? I have a feeling it might've been, but I guess I'll find out later... and did Tom give him the Dark Mark? Why? What else is he planning now?

Oh, my Shakespeare! So now Finn has a new, impossible task and Brindley is in even more danger... And she's dying??? What???

“It’s okay, Finn. I’ve come to terms with it.” “I haven’t.” Oh, Merlin, this killed me. You have no idea how much... :(

It also really killed me the way Jameson talked to him, but I can see where he was coming from... he just don't want to lose Finn as well... still, he was rather cruel...

On one hand, I'm glad Finn is trying to get Tom off track, on the other I find it awful that he would put him after some random, innocent person... I just hope everything will turn out to be okay in the end...

Sorry for another disconnected review, but I really loved this chapter, despite it being heartbreaking! And now I can't wait for the new one!

Lots of love, my little B!
Chiara

Author's Response: Shake-what, Chi?! No, that wasn't my goal and I'm sorry! ♥

It was an early version of the Dark Mark. As to what he's planning... well, you'll find out! ;)

I'm sorry if this was a bit emotional, but thank you for reading, Chi! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>