Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Confession
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lady Asphodel Confession

3rd April 2017:
Hi! Here to jail-break Melian for the CTF: Gryffindor.


First time I've ever read an entry with just strictly dialogue - and you've done it so well here. It's so cool how you included what the character was doing by mentioning in the dialogue - like having Albus mention how Scorpius appears to him - nervous because of he's admitting that he has a crush on him, and even moreso that he's a guy, which I'm sure it's not easy at all to bring up in a conversation. I like how Albus mentioned the eye-rolling - it made me laugh. A nice little humor to it to break the tension. Then with Albus waiting 'impatiently' for Scorp to speak up - encouraging him through humor too. Makes me wonder if he knew what Albus was gonna say already... or like maybe Rose spoke to him either before or after Scorpius. You did well too with explaining what is happening at that moment too, like them stressing from studying for OWLs. As a reader, you made it easy for me to interpret as well when it came to silence or let me be able to fill in the imagination my own - such as the kiss!

Glad to see that, despite Scorpius nervousness (and again for good reason) in confessing his feelings to Albus, Albus had feelings for him as well. It's great that Rose give Scorp that push. *winks*

This was really nice and sweet overall. Again good job in being able to tell a narrative through dialogue.

 Report Review

Review #2, by melian Confession

3rd April 2017:
Aw, Meg, this is really sweet! I've been meaning to read some of your stuff for a while, but sometimes it takes something like Capture the Flag to get me off my rear end to actually do it. Anyway, I loved this. It's got just the right amount of awkwardness that a couple of 15-16 year olds would have in this situation, and the pauses, the hesitations, got me right in. This would be a really hard conversation to have - it's bad enough telling your crush how you feel, but when it's a same-sex one you've got that additional hurdle to jump. With boys, even in this day and age, you also have the very real possibility that they're going to feel so threatened by your admission that they'll deck you, so there's not only your dignity but also your personal safety to consider.

I liked how Rose was the arbiter, albeit completely absent from the story itself other than in a passing mention. I get the impression Rose was good with things like that, even though we don't really see much of that side of her (or really any side) in the Cursed Child. Are you counting that as canon? I guess it doesn't really matter, does it, because this scene would fit in regardless.

Really nice job, and I look forward to getting the chance to read some more of your stuff. Even if it might have to wait till CTF has finished!

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #3, by mymischiefmanaged Confession

27th September 2016:
Meg! I can't believe I haven't read this before because it's so many things that I love. I'm so impressed by stories that only use dialogue, and Scorbus are my favourites, and eee it's just so cute and well written and well done you!

I'm really impressed by the way you've given them each their own voice, and their character comes through in the way that they speak. And the dot dot dots for kisses were adorable.

I want to see you write more of these two! You do it brilliantly.

Hope everything's going well for you in real life. Let's catch up properly soon :)

Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by Squirtle Confession

16th July 2016:
Squirtle squirtle!

Squirtle squirtle squirtle, squirtle!

Squirtlesquirtle squirtle SQUIRTLE! ;)

Squirtle...

♥ Squirtle

Author's Response: SQUIRTLE!!

I'm so happy that you've stopped by to review! I don't know if you know this, but you've always been my favorite. (Shhh don't tell Pikachu, I saw he was around, too)

This was the cutest thing ever! Thank you so much for this!! *squishes*

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Confession

17th June 2016:
Hey, Meg! It's been so long since I read something of yours, and I couldn't wait to get back to your lovely writing!

I haven't read as much Scorbus as I should have done (because there are so many great writers writing it) and I was really intrigued to see what people wrote for the dialogue challenge, because it's so difficult to write a story with just dialogue. You did such a good job, though!

I honestly loved this story - it was so sweet and fluffy and I don't think I've read anything that made me smile this much in a long time. I'm so impressed with the way that you managed to capture this moment so well without any narrative at all - I could still picture the whole scene in my mind, even though there was no description in it to paint the picture. You painted the picture just using the dialogue here ♥

Albus and Scorpius were just so cute! I loved the way that Scorpius was so nervous when he tried to have the conversation with Albus to tell him that he was in love with him, and then he didn't actually need to be nervous at all because Albus felt the same all along. You just wrote the whole scene so well and I was so happy for them once they'd got over their nerves and admitted how they felt for each other. And I love the idea of Rose trying to help them both along and knowing that the two of them are in love with each other but too afraid to do anything about it. I'd love to see you write more of these two!

Sian :)
LGBTQA+ Review Event

 Report Review

Review #6, by dreamgazer220 Confession

25th May 2016:
Hi, Meg!

So I hopped onto your AP, and this story caught my eye. Apparently I'm starting to ship Scorbus now, because this was so adorable! I really loved the way you wrote their characters, and I loved that Al was either sarcastic or busy rolling his eyes because he was reluctant to tell Scorp how he felt. Which makes total sense, especially when you consider the fact that in this, they're best friends.

I think you also handled the confession really well. It's not easy to say, and Al's stalling makes total sense, and his remarks about the weather! Adorable.

It was also really easy to follow, I was never confused with who was speaking. And it was short and sweet, just the right length for something like this, although I certainly wouldn't have minded if you had developed this and moved them somewhere more private, y'know? ;)

So, in case you didn't catch it, I really loved this! Glad that this was one of the stories I decided to read :)

♥Jill

 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Confession

22nd May 2016:
Eeek! Scorpius needs to tell Albus something! I hope it's about how much he loves him! :D

Awww he's so adorable, stalling for time by mumbling and talking about the weather. :D It's brilliant.

Ahhh! I can't stop grinning! They kissed and they liked each other and I'm full of fluffy feels and those two are so adorable! I loved this and it was so easy to follow! I need more adventures of Scorpius and Albus! :D

(I've also just noticed that the two similar stories to this at the bottom of the page are mine! :D Love it!)

 Report Review

Review #8, by PaulaTheProkaryote Confession

21st May 2016:
Hi there! I'm leaving reviews for everyone that was online in the forums a few minutes ago for funsies and you happened to be on!

I LOVE your Scorbus and I especially love precious fluffy stories! It's so very sweet and cute! How did I ever live without it?

You're great with dialogue! It's definitely one of your strengths! I skipped the dialogue challenge because it was too intimidating for me but I really think you did an excellent job with it! It flows very clearly and definitely doesn't even need the descriptors!

All of the stammering and stuttering and nervous energy is definitely translated well and it just makes me ship them even more!

Eye rolling before confessing love. That's smart, Scorp. Butter him up! I love how he just sort of blurts it out and Albus is just like.erm. You should have told me sooner! That's just so precious!

I really think you did an excellent job with this story and once I finish writing reviews I'm definitely going to have to browse your AP! It's just such a great story even though it's so short!

 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshp Confession

17th May 2016:
Hey there! Just here to shower you with a little review fairy sparkle.

Aw, this was so adorable. You totally made me ship Albus/Scorpius here (though I'm more of a Rose/Scorpius shipper). Their dialogue/interaction was so adorable, it made me grin like an idiot. Aha I absolutely enjoyed Scorpius' confession. Despite the lack of any descriptions, his nervousness came through very well and I enjoyed how much he was afraid and was over-thinking, regarding the friendship bit especially. The "I'm a bloke-you're a bloke" line made me laugh. Sounded real xD

The way you showed us that they kissed with the lack of speech and the mention of it later was clever. And the ending dialogue was cheeky and fun to read - doing other stuff than talking haha.

All in all, I think this was great! I am a sucker for descriptions but you pulled off the only-dialogue thing wonderfully. Kudos to you for mastering the feat! Great little one-shot! Glad I could stop by! Don't hesitate to drop me links again for more review-fairy stories.

Love
Angie
(Lost Muse)

 Report Review

Review #10, by MuggleMaybe Confession

13th May 2016:
MEG! ♥

Iím here for your requested review Ė I'm so happy you requested it! I gotta say, I AM SO HERE FOR THIS FIC OMG. Things I love: Scorpius, Scorbus, dialogue, fluff, your writing. In other words ALL THE THINGS about this story. I am SO EXCITED and I havenít even started reading yet!

Okay, I should probably read it now. :P

Hehehe, YAY! Scorbus ♥

My two main reactions are that it was super cute, and that Iím never read anything quite like it before.

Reading this was like listening in with my ear against a locked door, and at times I really wished I could open the door and see what was going on Ė but I was WAY too fascinated by the conversation to abandon my post.

I think the big challenge about an all-dialogue story is that you arenít just conveying a scene through the dialogue, youíre conveying the characters, the plot, the tone, the setting Ė everything! Itís no easy feat!

You did a wonderful job guiding us through the plot, and I always understood what was happening. The setting was nicely incorporated, too. It flows well (whatever that means), itís utterly adorable, and basically I think youíve got something pretty fantastic here. *nods*

My absolute FAVORITE moment is when Scorpius talks about the weather to procrastinate. HAHAHA, oh, the poor boy!

In terms of CC, I think the main thing is to further differentiate the voices of Al and Scorpius. I could tell who was talking because of the back and forth structure, but I didnít get much sense of their personalities. I actually wrote a chapter for this challenge, although it wonít be up in time for the deadline, and I struggled with this same thing, so I definitely understand the difficulty! Maybe it would be helpful to think of a default attitude or emotion for each of them and let that guide you. Sarcasm, anxiety, affection, whatever.

This was super fun to read, although having read TFO and knowing how absolutely AMAZING a writer you are (I mean, OMG ♥ you are talented), I do think you could make this stronger.

Thank you so much for requesting this review Ė I love reading your stories, definitely request *any* time! Iím trying to improve my reviews, so if you have any feedback for me on that note, shot me a PM ;)

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Gah Renee!! You're the absolute sweetest person on the planet!! ♥

Ok. Totally blushing here! But yes, ScorBus is the absolute bestest pairing in the history of pairings! You're excitement to read this has me grinning like a fool. :D

I can't help but to write fluffy fluff-ness when it comes to these two. They're the cutest!

Ah! I LOVE that you said that! I kind of did write it as if I were eavesdropping in on their conversation, so that you felt like you were standing there with your ear against the door is just the most perfect reaction I could have hoped for for this story!! *flails*

No. No this challenge was not easy at all. Probably the most difficult challenge that I've participated in so far.

Eep! Renee! I don't know what to say. Thank you!! ♥ ♥ Haha I just meant, by flowing well, that it didn't seem choppy and the dialogue all fit together nicely.

XD I'm glad you liked that part!

Yeah that is totally difficult to do without descriptions, but I'll go back through it and see if I can work on that. I don't have much faith in myself, to be honest haha.

You are seriously WAY too kind, my love! Thank YOU for this amazingly sweet, kind and lovely review!! ♥

Much love and many hugs,
Meg


 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella Hunter Confession

11th May 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks for the swap! :D

I think this was a really interesting challenge! I don't think I would have been able to do it because I rely heavily on description and all that stuff. You did a good job though because I was able to picture the boys very well.

I got so much about their characters just from this dialogue. There's this really great bit of depth that you have here, you get so much about their relationship. I would love to read more about them and gosh, was Scorpius just the cutest person in the world?

I love how nervous he was and I really like how Albus was so patient. It's clear that this is a thing that has happened between them for sure and I just found it so adorable.

The actual confession between them was just the sweetest too. Scorpius was so worried that Albus wouldn't feel the same and thank goodness he listened to Rose. Hahaha. I hope Albus passes his OWLs and I also hope that there are going to be more kisses. :3

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie!!

I know what you mean! I never realized how much I do rely on description, or even dialogue tags, until I did this challenge. It was not easy at all.

I'm so happy that the nervousness and the tension was portrayed clearly enough through only dialogue.

ScorBus is my OTP for life, so I'm thrilled that you found them cute! As soon as I saw this challenge, I immediately thought of this moment and I was really hoping that I'd be able to do it justice. I'm so happy that it worked! ♥

I'm sure there will be many more kisses to come ;) And I think Al will do fine on his OWLs, too. :p

Thanks so much for the sweet review, Gabbie!! ♥ ♥

Love and hugs,
Meg


 Report Review

Review #12, by TreacleTart Confession

10th May 2016:
Hey Meg!

I'm here for our review swap!

So I've read almost every single entry for The Dialogue Challenge so far and it's been quite interesting to see how each person handled it. The idea of writing an entire chapter without description seems terrifying to me, so congratulations on having the courage to attempt it and the follow through to get it done!

I thought that in terms of being only dialogue, it flowed pretty easily. It was easy enough to follow who was talking and what was going on. I liked that occasionally you had them saying one another's names so that I could sort of remind myself who was speaking. With long strings of dialogue, it can be easy to get lost, so the occasional name dropping solved that. (and still seemed natural within the conversation)

In terms of the actual plot, I thought this was a sweet moment. It was cute seeing Scorpius so nervous to tell Albus. And Albus reassurance was very sweet as well. The two of them are just adorable together.

I thought you did a really good job conveying the feelings through the dialogue. Like the way Scorpius is muttering and stalling really helps create an image in my head of him standing in the doorway, fidgeting with his robes or kicking the ground with his foot. I can just see how jittery he is.

Anyway, I felt that this was a good, fluffy little one-shot and I think your use of solely dialogue worked well. (Particularly when you consider this is the first time you've done it)

Good job!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hey Kaitlin!

This challenge was SO difficult! Not having description or anything else besides strictly dialogue was probably one of the hardest things I've attempted to write, so thanks for the kind words on this! ♥

The name dropping thing was completely intentional and I'm glad that it seemed natural in the conversation. I was worried that it might have felt forced.

I know you're not the biggest fan of fluff haha, so I'm glad that you ended up liking this. :)

Thanks so much for the feedback on this, Kaitlin! You're the best!! *hugs*

Tons of love,
Meg


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login