Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for when we were young
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoy you sound like a song

6th March 2016:
Hi there! I'm here for the HPFF review-a-thon!

I've been meaning to stop by and review this ever since I read it for the Writer's Duel, and what better opportunity than now, when it can help HPFF out, right?

The first thing I remember about this is just the bittersweet feelings of love and loss between Rose and Scorpius. It's obvious that, at one point, those two loved each other VERY much, and in a way it kind of felt like they still do. I'm not going to lie, when Rose's HUSBAND stopped by I was just completely FLOORED. I think the fact that she even had to tell him "you have nothing to worry about" in the first place, kind of indicates that there definitely IS still something there!

I love the fact that you've made Scorpius an artist in this, and that he can "still remember the exact colors to mix to create Rose's hair color". That's just SO sweet... are you an artist as well?

I kind of hoped those two would somehow wind up back together by the end of this, but you did a great job of conveying this emotion that it's kind of "too late", if that makes any sense.

Anyway, your description in this, as well as the emotions you conveyed, was absolutely breathtaking! Really, REALLY well-written, dear! Thank you SO much for writing this, and for participating in the Writer's Duel!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for the review! I'm so happy you liked this. I loved participating in the Writer's Duel.

There is definitely a feeling of loss here. Rose and Scorpius had something real I think, but they were young and it didn't last. Yeah, telling her husband that he has nothing to worry about does seem a little suspicious! Haha, I kind of wanted to capture that a little bit. Nothing happened between Rose and Scorpius here, but there's some lingering feeling.

I love Scorpius as an artist. This story is in the same universe as my other artist!Scorpius story, "Rose Tinted Glass" which shows them in the aforementioned coastal region.

I'm not personally an artist, but I am an art historian. I just love writing about artists. Rose is a painter in my one shot 'Colors.'

I'm so glad that you liked this story! Thank you again for the lovely review!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #2, by Aphoride you sound like a song

6th March 2016:
Hey there - dropping by for the HPFF Review-a-thon! :)

This is amazing. Seriously. It's so so lovely, and a take on Scorose I haven't seen before, which just makes me love it even more :P (I'm always a fan of things which go against convention or the normal, haha.)

I love love love how you write them, and you say so much without actually saying it in so many words, which is so clever and so good, and I just adore in writing of any kind. How there's this kinda implication throughout the whole thing that there was something there, maybe it was as far as love (at least for Scorpius) but maybe not, and there's the hint that something of that - care, wistfulness - has kinda remained, like what could have been. And how they've both moved on - they're happy with other people now, and there's something almost kinda bittersweet about that, even though they're happy with others. Really, it's so well done and so beautiful, there's just... gah, it's just beautiful, okay? :)

Also, I love the way you've characterised them. Neither of them are in any way cliche or overdone: I love Scorpius as an artist, and her kinda as his original muse in a way, and how she's a teacher, researching in Transfiguration, so far away. It's so brilliant, and it sets them up as this kinda study in contrasts, you know.

(At some point, I'm going to run out of synonyms for beautiful. Imma apologise in advance for that :P)

Your writing in this is so beautiful, too - the way Scorpius notices colours so much and so easily; the colours of her hair and how he describes them were especially vivid and real and so gorgeous. I loved everything about this - every word was so well chosen and placed exactly so, and all the dialogue was so good, so tense at times and it just really jumped off the page.

Seriously, this was amazing. A real work of art.

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi Aph!

Thank you so much for this review. I'm so glad you liked this story.

There's a lot implied here. I imagine that Rose and Scorpius had a long history together. I think they were quite happy before they broke up. Maybe in another life... But things are different now.

I love imaging grown up Rose and Scorpius in different careers. I also love writing artist!Scorpius. Rose is absolutely his original muse. He's grown up since then, but you never forget your first. She teaches transfiguration now, which I think, is like a science in contrast to Scorpius who does art.

Colour is very vivid for me, so if often does seep into my writing. I'm glad you liked it!

Thank you again for this wonderful review!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #3, by princesslily_36 you sound like a song

25th February 2016:
I love your work! Seriously! I had picked out this story for the swap but then realized you had requested for it on the review thread, so I'll be giving you two reviews!

How do you write Scorose like that? So much emotion, so amazing... A romantic like me just laps it all up. When you described Scor looking at Rose as he got up to give the toast, and the image of him painting her in the sunlight - pure heartmelt!

I love how the story began at one point and ended at the same point but took us through a million emotions in between. Despite this being one of those sad fics where they don't end up together, I really felt them, you know.

I loved how you described their every sense in proximity with each other - the sight, the smell, the touch... And weaving that in between their retrospection it was all so beautifully done!

I do wish they had ended up together. You leave me with the feeling that they were once so wonderful and they probably could be if given a chance again. It's really wonderful that they don't harbor feelings of bitterness or resentment against each other, but choose to focus on the good times when they met. That's something that really made me ship them even more - wonder if now that they've grown up would they be able to work it out again? Too bad she's already married :(

Lovely read, and yet another amazing story from you Stefanie! It's always a pleasure to review your work!

XOXO
Ysh

Author's Response: Hello Ysh!

Thanks so much for the wonderful review. I just love Scorose so much. They're in pretty much everything I write. Haha.

I think they could have been in another life, but circumstances broke them up when they were younger and now it's kind of too late. She's married and very happy.

Thank you again for this lovely review Ysh!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #4, by ravenclaw_princess you sound like a song

23rd February 2016:
Hey. Here for BvB

This story is amazing and took me on such a lovely journey, ending somewhere I didn't expect but in a much better destination than I ever could have imagined. You certainly nailed the nostalgia and totally immersed me in the world of these two almost lovers.

You instantly know that there is a backstory to Rose and Scorpius. They are very familiar with the mannerisms of each other as they remember the time of the past. I like how the story implies the relationship they shared rather than tells it, it makes it more subtle, and heightens the nostalgia of it all as it keeps us, the reader, in their memories. The clearest memory seems to be when Rose said goodbye.

I imagine what they shared was powerful, and in another life, they were meant to be together, but Rose had dreams that not even love would sway her from. And Scorpius had his own dreams. You can tell there are still feelings there, that nostalgic feeling you have for someone that you never stopped loving, but life got in the way.

The moment they shared together on the dance floor was very sweet, and it transported them both back to their days at Hogwarts when they could be together. I like the changes that they noticed in each other, such as the smell of Rose's shampoo, its simple detail but shows the changes that have occurred, and while subtle, it also highlights that they are not exactly like each other remember. It felt like everything was gearing up for them to reignite their love...but as the song ended, so did the moment, yet they were both happy in the respective lives that they had.

You're writing is very eloquent and I was immersed in every word and emotions. This is simply a stunning piece and I'm so glad I chose it. Well done and a beautiful story.

Jacqui

Author's Response: Hi Jacqui!

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

I really wanted to capture history in this very brief moment between these characters. I wanted to show the idea that they have a very long history and though it didn't necessarily end badly, they did fall out and move their lives in different directions. They've been brought back together by chance though, so their brief encounter is full of a sense of nostalgia.

I definitely wanted to give those hints in the beginning that they would end up together again and then blindside the reader with Rose's marriage at the same time as Scorpius. So yes, we see that Rose is happy where she is now. Scorpius, well that's up to your interpretation.

Thank you again for reading this story and saying such kind things!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #5, by BellaLestrange87 you sound like a song

22nd February 2016:
This is for the Blue vs Bronze review battle!

I really loved this! I enjoyed all the subtle references you put in at the beginning to Rose and Scorpius's relationship (or whatever it was called :p) in the past, before the story started.

I really love how Rose is working in the Congo, and married a man she met there. That's something that I've never seen before and it's really original.

Speaking of marriage. I definitely was not expecting the ending. I thought that they would end up getting back together and restarting their relationship. I never thought that they would each be married (I'm assuming that the brunette woman is Scorpius's wife?).

*awkwardly* I'm sorry this review is so short. I meant to review as I read but I got so engrossed by your lovely writing that I had to keep reading. ♥

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi Olivia!

Thanks so much for the review! I'm so happy that you liked this story!

Rose and Scorpius definitely had a relationship in the past that ended when Rose moved to the Congo. I just had to have her go to one of the newly revealed schools, I just love them! And Uagadou was my favourite of them.

The brunette woman is, I think, not Scorpius's wife. She's a girlfriend in my mind, though whether it's a serious relationship or just a casual one for him is up to you. I felt like keeping Scorpius's fate a little open. It's clear that Rose has fallen in love with someone else, but Scorpius, as he says in the beginning thinking about Albus's wedding, has not yet fallen in love.

Thanks again for the review!

I'm so glad you liked this!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #6, by oldershouldknowbetter you sound like a song

19th February 2016:
This is beautiful and sweet and oh so nostalgic - so way to go meeting your prompt.

I'm here for a bit of BvB and also to check out a Scorose, which of course I love. I have often said that I like the pairing just as much in the breach as I do in the observance. The way that JKR set it up in the epilogue the pair of them just had to have some sort of relationship - be it good or bad; that it starts with love or with hate; that it eventually works out or doesn't. So if I believe that, truly accept that I believe it in my heart of hearts, then I have to be able to read something like this with equanimity.

I do, in the cold light of day I do, but that is not to say that it doesn't also break my heart.

In the beginning the soft gentle way you bring your readers into the story works so well. The story washes over us like a gentle tide at the end of a pleasant summer's day. The swirling party at a counterpoint to the almost stillness of the two characters who are both walking their own paths.

When the two meet there are a few bigger waves, breaking upon that shore of their mutual journey. They stutter back into a familiar path for a moment and the waves lull us into believing a certain happy ending to the tale is simply inevitable.

But then gently - no heaving earthquake, no violent sundering of the ground upon which they stand - we realise that their paths are on two very separate promontories and that the waves that are breaking upon each come from an ocean that separates the two.

As much love and history as the two obviously have together, they cannot be and it breaks this readers heart to even acknowledge that the resolution has a beauty to it that transcends my desires.

The nostalgic elements are what make this story. They emerge organically out of the basic setting, reaching a crescendo that hints of a different resolution than you allow. Very well done.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

Author's Response: Andrew! Thank you so much for this just beautiful review! I always so look forward to reviews from you!

Yes, I was definitely hoping to lull the reader into this sense of security with this one. Make it seem all along that Rose and Scorpius will get back together and then surprise them with the ring at the same time as Scorpius. Rose is married and quite happy with her life.

I'm so glad you liked this!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #7, by UnluckyStar57 you sound like a song

18th February 2016:
Hey Stefi! I'm back for BvB, and I'm not in such a Christmas-y mood, so I decided to check this out!

Okay, so while I love shipping, I also love it when ships don't quite leave the harbor. Ya feel? I think you do.

This story perfectly captured that nostalgia that you feel for old significant others. I loved that it was Scorose--such an easy ship to do the Romeo-and-Juliet thing with and then "happily ever after." Actually, I was expecting something to happen, but the moment fizzled out like a wet firework, which gave the story a resolution that was both unexpected and satisfying.

Wow, characterizing Scorpius through Rose's view of him was a really great move! It was cool that she already knew all of his quirks, like running his hand through his hair and stuff. You also really emphasized the passage of time with things like Scorpius's haircut, which probably suits him now that he's older.

Ooh, I also love that you didn't totally give a huge explanation of their careers. Rose's teaching Transfig required some explanation, but it wasn't overwhelming and didn't interrupt the story. But Scorpius's job really stood out to me as well-intertwined with the story as he thinks about how to paint Rose's hair. Does blue normally go into hair? That was a cool fact that I learned from this, because I am no artist at all. Anyway, great example of showing, not telling!

Aww, the dance was quite cute! I like how they're somewhat nervous around each other but then get into talking about what they've been doing. I do wonder, however, why Rose broke up with him and what significance the meadow has to their relationship. I mean, obviously they went there a lot, but where was that coastline? Were they in France or somewhere in England? This detail is not something the story needs, but I am curious about it!

I do like that Rose and Scorpius are both adjusted and happy in their adult lives without each other. The underlying moral of this story, I think (if it has a moral, that is), is that "happily ever after" from first year to age 100 is not necessarily realistic. However, you can look back on old relationships without cringing...at least, not too much. :)

Really brilliant story, with great descriptions and imagery! That image of red-headed Rose in a green dress is just striking!

♥Mallory

Author's Response: Hello Mallory!

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you liked this.

I also definitely like a good heartbreaking tale. It's kind of cathartic. Plus, a good cry is always good. This isn't quite that, but it's nice to have stuff that isn't so happy sometimes :P

Blue is not a common colour to use when painting natural hair. But I kind of picture Rose's hair colour to be pretty striking. The blue adds some body to it I think, just some depth and realism to the colour when on canvas I think.

The meadow I imagine is in a forest or on the edge of a forest near the coast in Ireland. I also imagine this story to take place in the same universe as 'Rose Tinted Glass' which is about young Rose and Scorpius lying in the grass while he draws a picture of her. It's not really explicit that these are the same universe, but it's just a picture in my head.

I like the moral you got out of this. I wasn't really thinking about morals when I wrote this, but I totally agree. 'Happily ever after' isn't always about forever, but it can be about cherishing what you have and being happy in your life. Which is what Rose and Scorpius are without each other - happy.

And the green dress just had to happen. I've always thought that Rose would be striking in green, I dress her in that colour frequently!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan you sound like a song

17th February 2016:
Not gonna lie, I clicked on this because I've had this song stuck in my head the past few days :P it's an incredible song, and always gives me chills! and I must say, you've captured that feeling in this story in a really wonderful way.

probably my favourite types of stories in the world are the ones that are just dripping with bittersweet and nostalgia and kind of breaks your heart and leaves you thinking about it awhile. Basically you've written everything I like in a story. With an excellent soundtrack. Your visual descriptions are absolutely beautiful, and I could visualize Rose and Scorpius so well, because you did this incredible thing where you wove their history into the descriptions of them - Rose always liked the colour green, Scorpius used to paint the colour of her hair - so visualizing the character also draws up images of young Rose and Scorpius in love and comes with this whole history. It's really amazing how you did that.

The end is sad but so beautiful. You never forget your first love, and them seeing each other after ten years, having changed a lot but still they know each other as if it was just yesterday - just aah, it was so lovely and it broke my heart a little. anyway, just wanted to drop by and say this was a beautiful story, very well done. ♥

by the way, i am finally dusting off my poor neglected review thread this weekend and i think you'd requested something from me... in November... anyway, I didn't forget - you should be getting that this weekend. Sorry for the massive wait!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for the lovely review! It was such a wonderful surprise to long on to see!

This song is great isn't it? Adele is just marvelous.

I'm so happy you liked this story! I sort of love heartbreaking stories. There's something very cathartic about it, I think. These two characters definitely have a lot of history together. They were once in love, they once knew everything about each other and now everything's different. Yet so much is still the same. They still know each other.

Thank you again for this wonderful review!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #9, by Marshal you sound like a song

12th February 2016:
Wow, this was not what I expected. In some way, it is super sad how they still have feelings for each other and so many fond memories. At the same time they have someone, and I respect that they are not abandoning the one that they had had come with. It is sweet, sad and romantic all at the same time.

So again lovely job. You do wonderful work Steph. I of everything I've read I can't say there is anything I dislike. I am glad I am having to do these reviews for you getting 2nd place in my challenge. It was well deserved and you are a lovely writer! Keep up the wonderful work.

Author's Response: Hi Marshal!

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked it and found it unexpected! I was definitely hoping for that reaction!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #10, by alicia and anne you sound like a song

8th February 2016:
Such beautiful descriptions, you've done a wonderful job with them and I can just picture it all so vividly in my mind.

I can't help but wonder as I read this how much of a history they have together, have they been together? Are they together? Did it end badly? So many questions! I'm eager to find out the answers.

Awww look at them being cute and adorable together! Gah I want them to kiss!! They bring me fluffy feels!

Oh wow, her job sounds amazing! What made you pick that for her?

NO! She's married to someone who isn't Scorpius! I am now sad :( And he has someone! Why are you doing this to me? *cries*

This was wonderful!

Author's Response: Hi Tammi!

Thanks for the lovely review! I'm so happy you liked this piece!

They definitely have a lot of history between them. The story takes place ten years after they broke up, so ten years after they finished Hogwarts. Rose broke up with him when she moved to the Congo.

I think Rose's job is super awesome too. When I read about the new schools, I just had to throw in the new information somewhere!

Bahahahaha, they don't end up together!

Thank you for reading!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #11, by SweetMemories you sound like a song

8th February 2016:
I'm so sad this is only a one-shot. I thought it was beautifully written and was a great story. I loved seeing their past and what changed their relationship to put them where they are now. Great job overall and I can't wait to read more from you.

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! I'm glad you liked this and I hope you do read more!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #12, by RavenclawFTW you sound like a song

4th February 2016:
STEFANIE

WHY

WHY DID YOU DO THIS

That was honestly so touching and beautiful and sweet. You nailed the nostalgia theme so perfectly! I'm really blown away by how you unfolded everything in this fic and how well it was paced. As an intense Scorose shipper, I'm feeling somewhat bummed out by this ending, but I know that it's for the best and they're happy in their own ways. It's just hard not to want them to end up together!

Ugh, that was a mess. Let me be a bit more articulate. I'm in love with how you describe their reactions to each other, and how they fit back together so well, but it's clear that this is all they can have. They've clearly changed and their lives are going in different directions, but something from the past is linking them together. I'm much younger than them and don't have the history they do, but when I see former friends or people I have intense history with, I react exactly how they do, and you really captured that well.

I love the contrast of all of the relationships in the fic, of Al and his new wife against Rose and Scorpius's history and their new relationships– they all play off of each other really nicely. I also love the simple yet evocative descriptions you've included that really tie together the history of Rose and Scorpius, like her favorite color and where his hand goes on her waist. The details in this fic really help tie it together, and even though it's on the shorter side, you've really conveyed the depth of their history beautifully.

I also love how even though Rose is the teacher and Scorpius is the artist, she's the one who seems– well, flightier isn't the word, but less tied down, if that makes sense? That's a fun reversal of expectation. I also love Scorpius as an artist (as I have in your past writing!).

Anyway, great job! Thank you for sharing this! It's a great gift to HPFF! :)

–J (here for BvB!)

Author's Response: Hi J!

Thanks so much for the lovely review!

As you know, I'm an intense Scorose shipper too, so writing this broke my heart a little bit too.

They've clearly got a lot of history with each other. They're older than me too, but I can definitely also relate to the feeling of seeing old friends or people you aren't close with anymore. You think about how these people who are strangers now used to know so many intimate details of your life. It's definitely strange sometimes.

I knew from the start that I wanted this to take place at a wedding and I figured making it Al's wedding would be perfect.

It was actually originally going to be Scorpius who left Rose all those years ago to move abroad (as you say, he's an artist so it makes a lot of sense), but then I fell in love with the new schools on Pottermore and knew that Rose had to be the one to leave. Scorpius sort of feels things more intensely than she does, if that makes sense. I don't know, I felt while writing this that Scorpius felt more seeing her again than Rose did seeing him.

Anyway, enough rambling from me! I'm so glad you liked this and thanks again for the review!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #13, by The Masked Marauder you sound like a song

2nd February 2016:
I noticed this story while I was marauding on the forums, and I'm so glad I did because it is just wonderful! I assume this is for the nostalgia duel, in which case it was an absolutely brilliant idea to use this song for inspiration. Just perfect!
It's a bit sad in a way, because you paint (paint! haha, geddit?) this beautiful picture of their romance, and you really made me want that to be real again. But no, that was another time, and they're lives are different now. They've moved on. But I really want them to be together so much when I imagine the memories you've shown us. SCOROSE FOREVER!

In terms of it being nostalgic, you absolutely NAILED it! Well, actually, you nailed it in basically any terms. :)

Great work!

Mischief managed!
~ Masked Marauder

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! So glad you liked it!

This is for the nostalgia prompt in the duel! I thought this song would be perfect inspiration. And besides, when isn't Adele perfect??

I am a huge Scorose shipper, so believe me when I say it kills me to break them apart. But I wanted to write one where I guess they just weren't meant to be.

Thanks again for stopping by!

Stefanie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login