Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Stuck on the Puzzle
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dark Whisper It Concludes

5th February 2017:
This was adorably fluffy, well-written take on the pen pal storyline. I believe my favorite part was the 5th Marauder, Feather. This was incredibly clever and funny to read of his deep and humorous thoughts.

I loved your descriptions of James being elated and downright bubbly with happiness. And you captured Remus and Sirius antics and thoughts really well too! Loved that you mentioned the motorcycle and James' thoughts on how it could NOT make his friend "cool." LOL!

Congratulations on finishing a really cute story and being nominated for a Dobby!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #2, by GinnyPotterForever It Stalls

18th November 2016:
I'm sorry about the really sorry reviews, but that's more my style. I love how they started at Emerald and Raven, bypassed Emmy and Rav-Rav, and descended straight into Green, Beaky, Sparkly, and Caw. That was just hilarious.

 Report Review

Review #3, by GinnyPotterForever It Continues

18th November 2016:
I haven't reviewed anything in a long while, but the quick quotes quill was just too funny to not mention! Seriously rolling on the floor laughing.

Also I wonder how long it'll take Lily and James to figure out they're writing to each other.

Good story! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by teh tarik It Concludes

9th October 2016:
Awww aww aww so much fluff! ♥

Loved this chapter, and I thought it was a wonderful way to end the whole story. You wrote the scene (though Lily's journal) where Raven and Emerald finally meet face to face incredibly well. It was beautifully done with a lovely light tough. There was a light-heartedness to the scene, and humour, but not too overdone, and there was enough seriousness that really made me appreciate that James and Lily were being serious with each other. And honest about their feelings for each other.

I absolutely love that James taught Lily to perform her Patronus; it's something that they've been talking about in their letters, and of course it means a lot to Lily.

These are my favourite lines:

Iím still not sure of everythingĖ I still have no idea what Iím doing after graduation. The future is as murky as ever. But itís starting to look like I have a few things to hold on to, like the inevitability of illegible handwriting staying in my life for a long while to come, and someday laughing about how the most romantic night of my life involved a boy dressed up as Albus Dumbledore.


Perfect way to end the fic.

There were a lot of other things I loved about this chapter as well. I think Padfoot and Moony getting the merpeople and the Giant Squid to do an interpretative dance about the life cycle of a squid was genius. :D I would have loved to see that, and I thought McGonagall's detention note was hilarious. She's torn between being very impressed with the boys and very irritated that she's impressed. :P

Aww poor Wormtail again. :( :( Also, if anyone had gone back and reread Feathers' transcription and noticed his reaction, they might have questioned things with Pettigrew a bit more. But sadly, Wormtail was ignored as usual.

And Feathers' existential crisis is over! Good lord, this is the first time I've read a fic where a Quick Quotes' Quill is given such wonderful characterisation, to the point of it becoming the fifth Marauder!

Anyway, I absolutely LOVED reading your story, and I'm so glad I finally got down to doing so. Apologies once again for the huge delay in reviewing, and in posting the results. Thank you for this wonderful story, which kept me entertained for quite a while, and thank you so so much for participating in the Epistolary Fic Challenge. I will do my best to post the results as soon as I can (just a few more stories to go...).



-teh

 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarik It Accelerates

9th October 2016:
Feathers quoting Kierkegaard may just be the best thing ever bahaha! :D

Ooh, the final showdown is close. And Padfoot and Moony are busy plotting behind JAmes's back. I'm king of sad to see that Wormtail isn't there with them. In fact I don't think he appeared much in this chapter, only in the beginning, and even then, he was subjected to a sarcastic remark by one of the others. Poor Peter. :(

I'm really curious to see how this all turns out, and if there will be any big revelations with the other characters and their penpals.

Lily made a list of things she's deduced about Raven. She may have got one thing wrong (the Ravenclaw bit) but everything else is correct. I thought the pranking thing would have been a dead giveaway, but no. :P

Off to the last chapter!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #6, by teh tarik It Stalls

9th October 2016:
HAHA oh this chapter ♥

So many things I adored.

SO DUMBLEDORE & MCGONAGALL are playing an elaborate game of matchmaker after all!!! Or something like that. How devious of them...are they just having a bit of fun or do they have actual reasons for doing this...reasons to do with the war? Or are they just mad Jily shippers? :P If it's the latter, then they're not the only ones, because it sounds as though Remus and Sirius are sailing the Jily ship as well. As do Desdemona and Bea, from Lily's entries.

James and Lily are indeed oblivious!! But I'm loving how you've got Moony figuring things out and passing info to Padfoot...do I detect quite a bit of Wolfstar there in that last section?? :P That last segment with the scribbled notes between Remus and Sirius made me laugh quite a bit. But poor Remus, having his essay defaced like that bahaha!

On a more serious note, I do feel quite sorry for Wormtail. In the last chapter, his punctuation issues were the butt of many jokes among the Marauders, and as a reader, I found these to be funny as well. But Wormtail must have been quite negatively affected by them, because he actually went to seek help...from Mulciber. I guess this is the start of him being influenced by the Death Eaters. :( :(

Anyway, another great chapter! Can't wait to find out what's next. :)

-teh

 Report Review

Review #7, by teh tarik It Continues

9th October 2016:
My absolute favourite part of this chapter is the Quick Quotes' Quill's existential crisis. :P LOVE what you've done there, brilliant segment. It's the kind of silly absurd humour that I adore, and that entire part was just a delight to read.

I love how you're changing things up and mixing in things like Wormtail's notes and the QQQ's fancifully detailed-transcription with Lily's usual journal entries.

And hahaha James is appointing Emerald/Lily to be his Official Love Guru for when he asks Lily out. And Lily telling Raven/James that his handwriting is not as bad as James's handwriting! Love the humour of this chapter. I can't believe these two haven't figured each other out yet.

I'm really enjoying this! I'm off to read the next chapter. :D

-teh

 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarik It Begins

9th October 2016:
Hello!

I don't know if you remember, but long long ago you submitted this story as part of the Epistolary Fic Challenge on the former HPFF forums. Well, I'm now here (finally) to read and review your story as promised, so I can post the results. I'm so sorry that it's taken some eight months or so *hides*

I'm so glad that someone submitted a complete multi-chaptered fic for the challenge!

Already, I love the premise of the story, and I think this is a great first chapter. :) You've established Lily's voice so well through her journal entries. I love her self-consciousness, her fastidiousness with formatting each entry in the exact same manner no matter how tiresome it gets, and her self-aware comments on her own writing.

Most Jily fics portray James with more than a little immaturity, but your James (according to Lily's observation) seems to be more serious, and it does make sense, because he definitely straightened himself out in seventh year, when he and Lily got together.

The penpal idea is such a lovely one! And hmm, I know Dumbledore has his reasons for setting such a challenge on the seventh years, but I also do wonder if he's up to a bit of mischief...I can totally imagine him casually manipulating people into place...it's mighty suspicious that the Head Girl & Head Boy end up writing to each other.

...they are writing to each other, aren't they?

Well, I'll have to read on to find out! That's what I love about secret penpal stories - that little element of mstery.

Great start! I'm off to the next chapter.

-teh

 Report Review

Review #9, by girly1393 It Concludes

1st August 2016:
I truly enjoyed this whole story. It was funny, clever, and appropriately adorable, with an extra dose of sap right at the end to send you away smiling. You made this so engaging and so, even though I knew how it must ultimately end, I was still absolutely delighted to discover the path it took.

 Report Review

Review #10, by girly1393 It Accelerates

1st August 2016:
Okay, I completely love your voice. I am so completely engaged and am able to so easily suspend disbelief while reading, and that is such a rare gift with fanfiction. You're awesome, and I can't wait to read the conclusion.

 Report Review

Review #11, by girly1393 It Stalls

1st August 2016:
Well, I'm glad someone from the outside is figuring it out! Your writing is really enjoyable and keeps pulling me in further to the story. I can't wait to find out what happens!

 Report Review

Review #12, by girly1393 It Continues

1st August 2016:
I hope we see the quill again, because that bit was golden. I also appreciate the insights into both of their minds, and the ways that you can see how they care about each other, even without truly knowing it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by girly1393 It Begins

1st August 2016:
This is absolutely adorable! The penpal idea made me a little nervous at first, I'll admit, but you've done it so well so far, and I can't wait to see what else you do with it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Alexie It Concludes

31st July 2016:
I just read through the story in one go. It was the first story I've read on HPFF in a while and it was a great return to the site!

You managed to capture a hilarious story with likeable characters while still writing eloquently and beautifully. This was totally funny-smart, and I appreciated the subtle nods certain things (like Wormtail tripping over the mention of Death Eaters, or McGonagall and Lily hinting at Sirius/Remus.)

I'll be honest, for a moment at the end, I totally thought that James and Lily weren't going to be pen pals and was freaking out. Sure, they'd be together in the end . . . But how would they get there?!

On first glance, it might seem that jumping between the different writings (journal entries, letters, minutes from meetings) would get confusing, but I think you did it masterfully. I found engaging and not at all confusing.

Can't wait to read more from you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by anonymous It Concludes

23rd July 2016:
I really really enjoyed this. Thank you for writing something that was so incredibly entertaining.

 Report Review

Review #16, by sweaterweather21 It Concludes

19th July 2016:
Ah, this may have been the cutest thing I've ever read. I loved the pen pal idea, as well as the variety of ways in which this story was told (the existential Quick Quotes Quill was a nice touch by the way!). Jily is my fav pairing of all time, and you definitely did it justice :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Toni It Concludes

19th May 2016:
Great story, I loved it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Emily Bla {Its My real name. Siriusly. [For reals]} It Concludes

13th April 2016:
AMAZING! I am speechless!! You really are a good author. I can see the thought put into the story and I love feathers! Such a great humor to the story! If you are up to it... Can you write a part 2? I know that may be much to ask, But this has been my fav Fan-Fic of all time and Im sure that many people will enjoy this too! I really hope you submit this for a writing contest because its really good. Enough With My Love Letter!

 Report Review

Review #19, by merlins beard It Concludes

22nd February 2016:
Hey, I'm back for the ending of this :)

This was adorable and cute and perfect and maybe a little too sappy... but that's okay, sometimes that's exactly what we need.

I LOVE the idea of a charm making Feathers include more description, that's so perfect! And it went really well, your description was beautifully done. The only area where I would have liked some more was the costumes.

I especially love the ending, and the way James tells Lily he loves her. It seems so fitting. That James showed Lily how to cast a patronus was really cute, and I love that he really shows her how much he knows about her.

This was great, I can't wait to read more of your stories.

♥ Anja

 Report Review

Review #20, by merlins beard It Accelerates

19th February 2016:
Hey J!
I'm here for BvB again. Funny how I keep ending up reviewing this story.

Feathers reminds me of one thing Arthur Weasley once said: "Never trust anything that can think for itself if you can't see where it keeps its brain." (CoS - Chapter 18, pg. 329, American edition)

For that reason, I distrust Feathers. A lot. I understand that it can write. But read philosophy???

I love the letters between Lily and James. I can't believe they're still so dense... Thank god for the rest of the Marauders and their plans, otherwise those two would probably end up having some kind of misunderstanding and Lily would go back to hating James. I like that they are throwing the party during the week, although more for Remus' reasons than the others' :)

I can't wait to read the rest, this is one of those kind of predictable stories that just makes you smile and demand more.

I'm unfortunately cutting it short here, I have to run. But I'll make it up to you by reviewing the next chapter when I get back home. Sorry :(

♥ Anja

 Report Review

Review #21, by alicia and anne It Begins

8th February 2016:
I absolutely love that you've begun this by the means of a diary entry, especially Lily's!

Oh god I want to cry because of her reasons she wants to keep a diary. If only she knew *sobs hysterically*

Lily you will fall in love with him and you will love it *sings and dances*

Poor Danny though, I can just picture James swaggering in and just showing off his badge. I bet absolutely noone expected him to be head boy.

Lily is so awesome, it's brilliant to see her thought processes and what she's thinking.

That scene between Remus and Lily is just perfect, absolutely perfect and is now the only way that I imagine that Lily told Remus she knew about him.

Oh, penpals, I wonder who they're going to write to and why? That's a good bit of magic though, I agree with Lily.

OMG OMG OMG JAMES IS HER PENPAL AND IT'S GOING TO BE EPIC!! YES! A MILLION TIMES YES!

I love this so much!!

Author's Response: Heya Tammi! Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a wonderful review! :)

OMG I KNOW EVERY TIME I STARTED THINKING ABOUT WHERE THIS STORY IS GOING IT KILLED ME. THEY'RE GOING TO DIE. AND LILY WILL NEVER GET TO BE THE WONDERFUL GRANDMOTHER SHE WOULD BE. :'(

Haha I'm so glad you like the characters! And the Remus/Lily scene-- it makes a lot of sense to me, so it's nice to see other people accepting that idea too. :)

Ahh I'm so glad you like the story and the setup so much! I hope you get a chance to come back and check out the rest of the story! Thanks for this review! You're so kind.

--J


 Report Review

Review #22, by cherry_pop94 It Begins

7th February 2016:
Hello! I'm here for Bvb!

I loved this! The letter format is so much fun. I really love Lily's journal entries. She writes and time and date and location so specifically, I love that. It's just a small detail, but I feel like it tells us a lot about who she is.

Pen pals! Who doesn't love pen pals? And it's James isn't it? Lily is writing to James and she has no idea. HAHAHA. I love this so much already. I can't wait until they find out that it's each other and proceed to fall madly in love in real life. I really can't wait.

Thanks for sharing this!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Heya Stefanie! Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a kind review! :)

I'm glad you like the format! When I saw the challenge, this immediately popped to mind, and eventually I kinda word vomited this out. :P The headers for the journal is based on personal experience of when I've tried that out, but Lily is a lot more exact than I am!

I'm glad everybody's on board with how outrageously predictable this story is haha. I love these fluffy, obvious fics so it's nice that other people are enjoying my stab at it!

Thank you again for such a nice review! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story if you get a chance to check it out. :)

--J


 Report Review

Review #23, by merlins beard It Stalls

6th February 2016:
Hey there,
dropping by for the BvB again :) (god I'm glad I'm back in Ravenclaw! I missed this)

I want to start out with a tiny CC: It was really hard to tell when a new section started in this chapter - especially when James and Lily were exchanging the really short letters. Maybe you could do something about the formatting, like add a *~*~* in between each section so it's easier to recognize.

oh I already assumed that Albus Dumbledore had thought this little pen pal thing up just for James and Lily... I love that it's true, and I love that Minerva is in on the mischief...

The Quill's personality is developing nicely and making me laugh a lot, so thanks for amusing me, dear Feathers :)

you know, I have been wondering why James and Lily don't realize who they're writing to, but Remus' and Sirius' explanation actually makes sense - they'd still have to be really dense but it's still a likely scenario.

The fact that Lily is having a tough time writing her journal entries in public made me laugh - I feel the same way. I actually get nervous when people stay at my place overnight because they might see my journal :D (even though there is nothing scandalous in there)

I love that Lily tells James how to get his girl and that he follows her advice and that she STILL doesn't realize HE is the one sending her the letters. I mean, come on... you can't be that dense.
I can't wait to see how that goes, I have a feeling that there's still a lot more to come, and now that Remus and Sirius are kind of in there too, messing with stuff that no one should be messing with (as is Dumbledore), I'm pretty sure this is going to be a lot of fun. Keep going, this is awesome and I'm enjoying myself immensely here.

♥ Anja

Author's Response: Heya Anja, thanks for another great review! And we love having you in Ravenclaw, so I hope you stick around. :)

Thanks for pointing that out to me! I'll try to figure something out. I had a fair amount of difficulty doing normal formatting things to this fic, so that kinda fell off my radar as something to think about, but that makes a lot of sense.

Hahaha I'm glad you thought that! Dumbledore is basically one of the main characters of this fic, despite not actually appearing in it! That detail just felt too silly and fun not to include.

Ah I'm so glad you find Feathers funny! I think Feathers is absolutely hysterical, so it was basically just me making myself laugh, but it's always exciting when other people find my weirdness funny too! :)

I'm glad you find the explanation reasonable! That's something I spend a lot of time justifying, but it makes sense in my head. And yes, those two can be very dense when they want to be! :P

Haha I totally relate! I kinda hide my journal in my room even though there is nothing remotely exciting in there! It just feels private and I don't want others catching onto it. (Although Lily has written a lot about James-- what would her friends make of that? :P)

Hehe I loved writing the conversion of Lily's advice -> James's actions -> LIly's journal entries/confusions. She's so confused by it all when it's so straightforward!

I'm glad you're still enjoying it and I hope you continue to if you get a chance to read on! :) Thanks for another lovely review!

--J


 Report Review

Review #24, by merlins beard It Continues

6th February 2016:
Hey, I'm here for the BvB again.

Ooh girl time! I love girl time. the conversations don't have to be meaningful for it to be fun and make you feel good. Man, guys are really missing out here :)

I love James' letter! I'm so glad he said what he did about House elves. What's that I see there... did he LIE to LILY? (or I guess Emerald, since he doesn't know he's talking to Lily). No way can he seriously suggest that his animagus is a dog :)

You capture everyone so perfectly here, and I really am enjoying the format of this story. It's a little sad that they are making fun of Peter here, I wish they had been a little nicer to him, maybe things would have turned out differently for him. Can't wait to see what kind of prank can be created with just the knowledge of the existence of Merepeople in the black lake.

Oh, wow, Lily is having trouble with schoolwork. Makes her seem somewhat more relatable than what I have seen her to be in other stories - she can't be brilliant at everything after all.

Hm I don't quite agree on her choices of what to do on a deserted island - I'd go for a swim right away - but she's obviously being rational in every situation.

Oh a sassy Quick-quotes-quill, that's brilliant. Of course the Marauders would end up buying something like that. And what's that - it's questioning it's existance and purpose in life... very philosophical for a quill.

I'm really enjoying this story, I wanted to keep reading anyway, and then I saw that you posted in the BvB thread again, so that worked out perfectly. Nice work, I really like the way you write. I'll definitely check out your other stories when I have time.

♥ Anja

Author's Response: Hey Anja, thanks for coming back! I'm glad you're still liking the story! :)

Haha I totally agree! In canon, we learn so much about the epic broship between the Marauders, but I wanted to make sure that Lily gets her own group of friends too! Their discussions don't have to be crazy deep for them to have fun.

I think Hermione took over writing when I was talking about house elves haha! It just kinda came out but I can't picture James as being a huge fan of them. Ah yes, he can be sneaky when he wants to! (To be fair, how would you react if your pen pal was just like "oh yeah, I would totally be a stag"? It's kinda weird/maybe even braggy? Just a thought.)

I'm so glad you're liking the characters and format! The challenge was a lot of fun, but it made it hard to incorporate too many perspectives, which was something I worked at. The Wormtail side story is probably the saddest part of this story, I agree! Haha I hope the prank doesn't disappoint you!

You're right, Lily can't be perfect! I hope she seems more normal and relatable here, because that was one of my aims. And Lily's deserted island plans aren't mine, either! She's so lofical.

Glad you like Feathers! It's become one of my favorite parts of this story, ridiculous though it is!

So glad you're liking this story! :) I hope you enjoy it if you get a chance to read on! It's great to hear that you enjoy my style. Thank you so much!

--J


 Report Review

Review #25, by merlins beard It Begins

6th February 2016:
Hey, I'm here for BvB.

I enjoyed this chapter a lot! As a journal writing person myself, I completely understand Lily's reasoning. I also support her choice to be consistent in her format. (You wouldn't believe how many times I bought a new journal because I didn't like the way i started my entries anymore... let's just say I dropped all the unnecessary stuff - it's only the date now, and then i go straight to rabling on and on about stuff) wow, enough about me, sorry bout that.

I really like the way you're telling this story in letters and diary entries. I'm glad we're allowed to do that now. I don't read Jily much anymore, i kind of grew out of my Marauder obsession. Only wrote them once for the house cup.

Lily's journal entries paint a great picture, we get to know her a little in this chapter. I must say she's exactly how I expected.

The letters are cute, I like how James starts it, just rambling on and on about his life. It's probably really hard to not give yourself away (except if you end up talking about things you don't even tell your friends), and I think James almost gives himself away. The whole being in love with someone forever is okay, but is there anyone else at hogwarts who asks a girl out all the time? How many 7th years are there? That one little detail is a bit too much information i think, because lily is smart, she can easily figure this out.
I really like the way you write, it flows naturally and is easy and comfortable to follow. I really want to keep reading. I'll add this to my to-read list.

♥ Anja

Author's Response: Heya Anja, thanks so much for the lovely review! :)

I'm so glad you're liking this story so far! It's heavily inspired by my own recent experiences keeping my own journal, so I'm glad you relate. Like Lily, I had far too ambitious a header in the beginning, and now I can't not use it! Darn it, past self. I'm impressed that you've actually started over for that reason though-- that's a commitment to the cause! And no worries, I always like hearing about what people are thinking about when reading my stories! Keep the personal stuff coming. :)

I'm happy they changed the rules too! I actually ran into a few formatting issues, even with the new rules, but I'm glad this challenge let me experiment with the form a bit more! And we've had similar paths with Jily/Marauders stuff-- I started out reading only Jily fic, but then got bored with and moved on. It's fun to revisit it now!

I'm glad she fits your expectations! I've had problems in the past when people paint her as too boring/smart/intense and it doesn't really make sense for her to end up with James, so I hope they balance out here.

Ah yes, I agree that his letter is pretty revealing-- something that becomes emphasized later is how much they don't actually know each other, and neither interacts with people outside Gryffindor much at all. Also, Lily has never taken James's feelings that seriously, and the fact that he goes on and on about how much he likes the girl is different from how he's acting towards her now. Darn, I'm sorry for trying to justify all of this here-- I should let the story speak for itself!

Thanks again for the review! I hope you continue enjoying it. :)

--J


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>