Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Center of the Sun
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Emcnary The Center of the Sun

21st August 2016:
Well, that was fun! I love andromeda/Ted:)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Felpata Lupin The Center of the Sun

3rd June 2016:
Hey, Renee!
I'm on a reviewing spree (sort of) today, and after hearing so much about this from Ysh and B, finally I'm stopping by! :D

And, wow! This is really incredible! (But I shouldn't be surprised by the quality of your writing anymore... Still, I am every single time...)

I loved your characterization of Andromeda here, how she's torn between feelings and duty. I love how she finds Lucius annoying. I love her thoughts about Ted, how he seems to always be around and the fact that she tries to push him out of his thoughts by dating other boys.

I so loved the scene at the station, her wondering what it would be like to prove real affection for her family... that was kinda sad, but so fitting for her character.

One thing that disturbed me a little was Regulus courting her. I mean, I know it wasn't strange in the Black family to marry cousins... I still can't see Andromeda and Regulus together, not even for a pleasing-their-parents thing... but don't mind me, I'm probably being just weird...

I loved how you wrote all that happened in the changing room! You managed to make it so poetic, so beautiful! The image of the sun was just stunning! It was so beyond perfect!

This was an incredible piece, love! I know I say it all the time, but you're such a talented writer!!!

Love you, sweety!
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #3, by SilverMoonFairy The Center of the Sun

5th May 2016:
I love how you wove the story. Tonks (that is, Nymphadora) is certainly her mother's daughter. I liked the family angle and it's a blessedly good set-up to be blasted off the family tree! I very much enjoyed this story!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Dinthemidwest The Center of the Sun

29th March 2016:
Wow-I really wish you'd take this & run with it! Development was good, & Andromeda & Ted are 2 of my favorites. Will you write more? I'll be watching!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm not planning to write more for this story, but perhaps I will return to Ted and Andromeda someday.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dinthemidwest The Center of the Sun

29th March 2016:
Wow-I really wish you'd take this & run with it! Development was good, & Andromeda & Ted are 2 of my favorites. Will you write more? I'll be watching!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm not planning to write more for this story, but perhaps I will return to Ted and Andromeda someday.

 Report Review

Review #6, by BellaLestrange87 The Center of the Sun

11th March 2016:
Hello! This is your first of five reviews from my Review-a-Thon pledge!

I really enjoyed this! I loved the gradual development of their feelings, from Andromeda being attracted to Tonks to *happening* to be in the library at the same time to being.um... naughty in the Quidditch building. It seems just like something that would happen in high school - staring at each other covertly, going somewhere they know the other person will be, and unintentionally seeking out the other person's name everywhere.

I love Andromeda's characterization here. Her character development is very realistic, and she seems just like she would at this stage of her life: starting to question her family - the line "What would that be like, to actually love your parents? She couldn’t fathom it." was particularly sad as she doesn't know what a healthy familial relationship should look like or actually is. But the whole obedience thing is still there - as is shown when Narcissa tells her to go fetch Regulus from the Quidditch building and she goes meekly off (to Ted :p).

That final scene! Just from your description of Tonks and his towel. *tries to calm self* Your writing at the end was so good, too - I love the descriptions you used.

I'll be back to read more of your writing soon!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi Olivia, you wonderful person!

Thank you so much, first of all, for offering to give reviews! That was so generous of you! *hug*

Second of all, thank you so much for your review of this story! I'm so so pleased you found Andromeda's characterization realistic, especially since I'd never written her before.

I know, her family life seems so sad. :( But eventually she has a new family with Ted. What a hottie! ;)

THANK YOU, lovely!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #7, by princesslily_36 The Center of the Sun

5th March 2016:
Hello Renee!

For the HPFF Review-a-thon.

So I read this stoy long back, and I loved loved loved it. Was planning to leave a review this weekend either way :D

So, you're totally making me ship Teddromeda! I mean, the way you have written both of them - I can only picture why our Nymphadora Tonks was such an awesome person!

Andromeda's feelings about Lucius only highlight her resentment towards her family, because she knows they wouldn't approve or accept of the one she wants to be with - both because of his parentage and his monetary status, like you have highlighted.

I loved how you portrated Ted Tonks through her eyes. This - So why did her own eyes stick to him like honey, and why did she find the sight every bit as sweet? was just so poetic!

It ALWAYS tends to happen that the more you want to avoid someone, you tend to start seeing them everywhere! Poor Andromeda, all she wanted to do was push her feelings down and pretend she never had any (lol!). Instead she had to endure the obviously disgustingly public display of affection between Lucius and Narcissa. May I say Lucius seems far too big for his shoes?

Oh, I should have mentioned - Ted Tonks being a Quidditch hero AND a sex god... damn that's a great headcanon! The way you wrote him... the trail of light brown chest hair, and the towel... my my! *fans self*

Achingly beautiful - I love your choice of words here. Some of my favorites include 'vanilla mixed with smoke', and the comparision she drew between Regulus Black and another Quidditch player...

That little deluctable scene was so... *yum* I can't begin to put into words how really truly amazing it was!

You're a wonderful writer Renee! I love your work :D

XOXO
~Ysh

Author's Response: Ysh! Hello, sweetie!
May I just say that you were a force of nature during the review-a-thon!?

I'm flattered this was on your review list - and I'm so pleased you liked it! :)

I know, right? I ADORE Tedromeda. I never realized it until recently, but they're a really interesting pairing, almost like Dramione, except without the implausibility. (*hides from Dramione fans*)

Yeah, Lucius is annoying. (And also a bigoted jerk. Obviously.) I'm glad you connected Andromeda's resentment of him to the bigger picture.

You're so right - how do people always show up right when you're hoping they won't? It's like human beings have a 6th sense for this!

Ahhh, Ted. I may have gotten a little carried away while writing this ;) It sounds like you thought the main scene (so to speak), was enjoyable. That is SO reassuring, yay!

Thank you so much - your reviews always put the biggest smile on my face!
xoxo back,
Renee


 Report Review

Review #8, by victoria_anne The Center of the Sun

3rd March 2016:
Omg. Oh my god. Oh. My. God.

I don't even know where to begin, but let me start by saying I enjoyed this oh so very much.

I could practically feel the tension in Andromeda even before she met him. It flowed through the whole piece.

And did Ted Tonks just become a sex god in my headcanon?

Yes. Yes he did.

I know it's in the summary, but "So why did her own eyes stick to him like honey, and why did she find the sight every bit as sweet?" is such a fantastic line!

I love this too: "...she could’ve sworn her very pulse beat the rhythm of his name." You have an amazing, beautiful way with words!

And comparing him to an eclipse! Ugh I'm so jealous of your writing style! So many wonderful lines I could continue to pull out!

Thank you for a great read!

Author's Response: Hello! What a great surprise to see you here! :D

I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and I'm definitely glad you felt the tension in the story! Yay!

Ted: I know, right? He's a hottie.

Aww, thank you!!! *blushes* I like both of those lines, too. I kind of didn't want to "give it away" by using the honey line as the summary, but it works well. I dunno.

Don't be jealous. Your writing is WONDERFUL! *emphatic nod*

Thank you for your super sweet review!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #9, by ABlack The Center of the Sun

5th February 2016:
First, I need to tell you I loved that you picked Andromeda and Ted. It’s lovely to read about the dynamics between Andromeda and her sister, and what Andromeda felt about Lucius. This presents the perfect backdrop for what she feels about Ted.

Clever inclusion of the two objects. I really was curious how’d you handle the instruction book since its subject matter was up to you.

As for the smut, you sure know how to steam up the locker room! You hit all the senses, from the way Ted tasted of vanilla and smoke to the cold metal lockers against Andromeda’s bare back. Great analogy to a Quidditch game, played hard and fast, and make Andromeda soar higher.

Overall, you did a great job. Well done!

~Alexis

Author's Response: Hi Alexis!

I just love Tedromeda - it's such a romantic pairing! I'm glad you approve :D

I actually thought you might be bummed that I took a rather "tame" approach to the instruction book. ;) But Quidditch was the first thing that came to mind and it gave me this plunny, actually.

Thank you so much for the kind review! And double thank you for hosting this deviously fun challenge! I had a hard time with this story, but once I found my stride I totally enjoyed writing this. A very rewarding challenge! Plus, all the other entries I've read are just AWESOME!

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #10, by notreallyblonde44 The Center of the Sun

5th February 2016:
Whelp, I've got competition in this challenge~~~

What a hot story, with enough plot to get the wheels turning towards infinity and beyond. Love a good locker room scene. Excellent location choice and excellent pairing choice, one of my all time favs!

YOUR WRITING.

'and by the time the winter snows thawed she could’ve sworn her very pulse beat the rhythm of his name.' - this. is. so. good. I'm very sucked into your narrative and the build up comes with such great rewards, whew! *fans self*

Just wow!!! I hope they maybe had a conversation at some point before this meeting haha. But, it was lovely smut and I think the use of your items was really creative. If you ever write more, let me know!!!

ellie

Author's Response: Hi Ellie.

Thanks so much for stopping by to read this! I read yours too and even though I'm not really a Dramione fan I thought it was *excellent* - so that is high praise indeed!

You know, I hadn't really thought about it, but I suppose a locker room is rather cliche. Oh, well, the muse must have its way. :P I'm glad you liked the setting, regardless!

Tedromeda. YES. THEY ARE AMAZING!

Oh, gosh, thank you so much for saying those things about my writing and the narrative and everything. You are too kind! *hug*

I'm imagining this was their first encounter, but they'll talk later ;) (Also, there is something hilarious about the phrase "lovely smut" haha)

thank you so much for this review, it was an amazing surprise!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #11, by LittleMissAutumn The Center of the Sun

3rd February 2016:
OH MY GOD I HAVE CHILLS! This is amazing and so wonderfully written. I love how she's not confessing her love for him, but the pair both gave into desires that they've secretly held for awhile. Despite her family and Regulus, we know that this is the start of something and there's no way they'll give it up. After all, who can get rid of the sun? ;)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! Your review put a huge smile on my face! :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotter The Center of the Sun

31st January 2016:
Hi Renee!
Oh my gosh, this story was so good! I blushed a little reading the end though! But it really was well done. I loved Andromeda's character, and I thought you did a really great job showing the dilemma she was facing during this story. She's clearly still pretty close with her family, since she spends time with Narcissa, but she doesn't really share all their views. That in itself is difficult to deal with, but add on top of that that she can't stop thinking about a Muggle-born Hufflepuff, and her family would be really upset if they found out, and she's really dealing with a lot!
Snogging lots of boys won't solve anything since she has feelings for Ted. Oh, Andromeda, just find him and talk to him!
The end was pretty steamy! But written very beautifully. The pacing of the whole story was really nice, and I liked that you just focused on Andromeda and Ted without letting too much other stuff get in the way.
This was really nice, Renee!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! I was so happy to see your review!! I love Andromeda, and I am so happy you liked her too, and that you felt sympathy for her dilemma. I had a really hard time writing this, and I wasn't sure if that part was shown enough.

I know, she's so silly! But eventually she'll figure it out ;)

You thought the end was steamy? Yay yay yay! It always feels awkward writing scenes like that and trying to imagine would it would sound like to someone else. Yay! :D

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #13, by Unwritten Curse The Center of the Sun

30th January 2016:
I had to come re-read this when I saw you'd posted it. And ah! I loved it just as much as the first time I read it. I still get butterflies when they make eye contact and I still want to cry when they're, well, you know. ;) Which, again, is such a strange thing to feel when reading an entry for the Smut-tastic challenge but you write it so beautifully that it's no wonder they eventually marry. They're so clearly meant to be.

I'm going to make it a point to read more of your stuff now. If this is the writing you produce when you're struggling with a prompt, I can't wait to see what you can do when you're not struggling.

Thanks for letting me read this "in advance." I'm honored!

--Gina

Author's Response: Awww, Gina, it was so sweet of you to leave a review!

I know I already said this, but I can't tell you how much your encouragement helped reassure me when I went to post this. *hug*

Hmmm, I'm not sure how to feel about you wanting to cry, but you seem to think it's good, so I'll take it! :P Thank you!

I really love this ship, especially since I read Kill Your Darlings by Lavender Blue. (Have you read that? OMG it's perfection.) I think they're among my OTPs now. So, yeah, I definitely agree that they are meant to be!

Ahhh, what an amazing nice thing for you to say! Thank you! If you do read my other stories, I hope they don't disappoint!

You can quick beta for me ANY time, girl! Don't thank me - I should be thanking you! (And I do! Definitely!)

This review made me so so happy! *hug*
xoxo Renee


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login