Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Like Sunflowers
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Like Sunflowers

5th March 2016:
ďFor the HPFF Review-A-ThonĒ

Since some of us didnít make it. Thatís what he was going to say. Since we didnít all survive.

For some reason this part really gave me chills.

ďBecause they always turn so theyíre facing the sun. Itís like they have this connection, and itís just part of nature. Itís just part of what they are and how they live. Weíre like that. Connected, and always moving to find each other, like the sunflowers move to find the sun.Ē

I LOVE THIS.

Heartstrings.

Pulled.

Ugh.

I have to admit I got a little teary eyed as we went on through the years. I also really got teary eyed when she talked about her mother with her father. Ice cream for dinner is such a fun and cute idea and I think thatís something special everyoneís parents do for them. For me it was never ice cream but pizza for breakfast! I still love pizza for breakfast. Yum.

I thought it was nice to read about the progression of the DA reunion. I liked the mention of Harry giving a speech and being nervous, of George talking and then finally all of them there and having a good time with their significant others. Thatís really what you need when youíve gone through something so massive. They survived a war together when they barely knew each other and thatís remarkable.

Hannah and Neville stole the show though. This was fluffy enough I squealed once but somber and sweet enough that I found myself smiling madly after I finished reading it.

The sunflower at the end was a nice touch. What a great read! Thanks for the wonderful story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by lostgirl1991 Like Sunflowers

21st February 2016:
Hey Cassie it's Kay here for your February Review Exchange!

That story was so cute! I loved the characterization of Hannah and how her relationship with Neville was portrayed! I loved the sunflower reference it was actually perfect for the story and for Neville since he loved Herbology and sunflowers are of course plants and I think it also fits Hannah as well.

I liked the progression of their relationship. It was nice that it went slow and they didn't start dating right off.

It was such a cute, fluff piece! Her dad and her relationship was adorable too!

PS. The face you picked for Hannah is ace

Author's Response: Hi Kay! Sorry for the late response to this!
I'm so happy you enjoyed this! I love Neville and Hannah as a pair, and don't think they get written about enough, so I really enjoyed getting to explore their characters here. The sunflower metaphor was where the idea for this story sprang from, so I'm glad you liked it!
I think they would both be the type of people who want to build a friendship before anything else. They want to enjoy getting to know each other and growing closer before dating.
That's Carey Mulligan! I've always pictured her as the adult Hannah for some reason, so I'm glad you liked the choice!
Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Mr Penn Like Sunflowers

20th February 2016:
Hello Cassie.. This is Penn with the promised review swap. I know it's too late, health and real-life didn't allow me to do much. Sorry for that.

Coming back onto your story. Neville and Hannah are one of my fav ships and to read a story about them was something I had been looking out for since a while.

The best thing about your story was the fact that you took their courtship slowly. Many times we see the love happen real quick like a atomic mushroom cloud and you can't help but wonder if it's gonna dissipate. It was taken slow and steady and kuddos for that.

Having DA reunions as the backdrop for the love and giving little insights into the ways everyone was trying to cope with the tragedies of war was a real nice touch. I also liked the relationship Hannah seems to share with her father. Sometimes after great tragedies, people just need to let go.

Overall, its a real great story and I would love to read more from you.

Sorry once more for the delay.

-Penn

Author's Response: Hi Penn! Don't worry about this being late, it's totally fine!
I adore Neville and Hannah, and wish people wrote about them more. I know I had a ton of fun with them in this story!
I think they'd both be the time to take their time when dating someone. They want to establish a firm friendship before anything else, and really just enjoy getting to know each other before dating.
I really liked exploring the idea of DA reunions, and how everyone would heal together after the war. As for Hannah and her father, I loved writing that relationship. Like with the DA, I think the two of them would get incredibly close, because they went through the tragedy of Hannah's mother dying together.
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Like Sunflowers

15th February 2016:
Oh Neville! Don't look so sad :(

I think it might be good for them to get everyone together again, especially because they had to be close to each other during the war.

Look at them agreeing to owl each other :D

Hannah and her dad are so cute! I love that they're having ice cream for dinner! and now I want ice cream for dinner. I love how you've written their relationship, it's easy to see how close they are.

They're writing to each other! I'm so excited about this! I loved their little date (they can try and deny it, but it was a total date in my eyes!)

I absolutely love the idea of them meeting, and how the meetings had gotten better and better with each year.

AWWW NEVILLE COMPARED THEM TO SUNFLOWERS! I AM A BIG PUDDLE OF FLUFFY GOO! He's so brilliant!!

Cassie this was so wonderful! I loved this so much! I need more about Neville and Hannah! They're so cute and you write them so well!

Author's Response: Hi Tammi!
After going through something so huge like the war, and living in the Room of Requirement for the whole year, I think they'd all get incredibly close.
I'm glad you liked Hannah and her dad together! I loved imagining their relationship, and had a ton of fun writing the ice cream for dinner moment.
Oh, it's totally a date! Even if neither of them know it. Haha.
Like I said before, the experience that they all shared would lead to them being very close, so I think having a reunion every year would help them heal and move on from what happened.
Yay sunflowers! No one appreciates a good plant metaphor like Neville... Except maybe Professor Sprout.
I'm so thrilled you liked this so much! I definitely want to write more Neville and Hannah in the future! Thank you for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Gabriella Hunter Like Sunflowers

11th February 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie here, stopping by to be all awesome and stuff and gush about your writing! There are a ton of things on your page that I need to get back into but I don't have a lot of time lately so I just decided to pop on over here.

This story has your characteristic sweetness and charm, I was really in love with it from the beginning. It's a shame that I won't be able to chat long but I really enjoyed the relationship that you made for Hannah and Neville. It was very sweet and genuine, I was able to really love them together and I really, really wish that I could chat longer but I've got to run. Thanks for the lovely read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
I'm so happy you liked this! I love Hannah and Neville, and liked getting to explore their characters a little bit here. I definitely want to try and write them and again and think more about how exactly they got together and all that jazz.
Thank you for the sweet review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by maraudergeek Like Sunflowers

31st January 2016:
Here for our review swap!

This story was very cute :) I love reading about how Hannah and Neville got together, especially because I had always shipped Neville and Luna in the books and it's nice to be surprised.

I love all the cute quirky details that add into Hannah's personality, like having the ice cream night with her dad and how they danced to the Weird Sisters. And when she woke up and was talking to her cat :) I'm guilty of that as well. It's all of those little details that make her relatable and interesting to read about.

Neville was also a doll in this. I love how she was thinking about his smile afterward. I could feel my heart melting just thinking about it!

I would love more detail about them in between the reunions, like how they got together. Did Neville ask her out, or did she ask him? Where did they go? Maybe there can be another connection to sunflowers in there.

I really enjoyed this, so thank you for the swap! It was adorable :)

-Becca

Author's Response: Hi Becca!
I'm so glad you liked this! Especially since you usually don't ship Hannah with Neville.
I had so much fun thinking about who Hannah is as a person. Since we hardly see her in the books, I really got to make her my own, which I loved. It's lovely to hear that you found her relatable!
This was my first time really writing Neville, so I'm really glad you liked him! I've been thinking about writing him and Hannah again, to explore how they got together since I decided not to include that in this story.
Thank you so much for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Aphoride Like Sunflowers

29th January 2016:
Hey there - dropping by for our review swap! :) I gotta say, I do love Neville/Hannah - there's something wonderfully sweet about them, you know, and I love the idea that there's so much potential with them.

I love how you've written them here - with Neville being so down after the war, and Hannah kinda bringing him back from that, and how their friendship blossomed through the DA meetings. It's so realistic and I love the slow, almost tentative but kinda clinging pace of it - it makes sense that they'd be drawn to people with shared temperaments and experiences, and that they'd both perhaps not want to rush things, you know. It really sinks this story into the fact that this is after a war, you know, and that they all have scars from it - that they were all so young.

It was so sweet, and I loved it - you wrote them both so beautifully, especially Neville. I liked how he was more confident than in the early books, but still reminiscent of the beginning years, where he was more nervous and anxious - it makes sense that he'd perhaps slip back a little after the war. Hannah was amazing, too - I loved how she wanted to be friends with Neville from almost the beginning, and how she had such a great sense of hunour and things. She's such a lovely character.

The little mentions of the Trio were so good in this, too :)

Your writing in this was so lovely - it flowed so well and it's so clear and beautiful, and such a lovely style.

Thank you so much for the swap - it was so great! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hello there!
I really like Neville and Hannah together, and think that they'd really be drawn to each other after the war ended. Since we don't see them ever interacting in JKR's writing, that made me think that they really didn't connect until after leaving Hogwarts. Since they had both been through such a difficult, life-changing experience, I think that would immediately draw them to one another. They both know what it's like to fight for their beliefs, and to lose people because of it.
I think Neville would have really grown during the war. He's leading the resistance in Hogwarts, and has to be brave as an example for everyone else. I don't think he'd really lose that confidence, so I wanted to make him a little more sure of himself here than he is when we see him in the books.
I'm glad you liked Hannah! I really like her character, and had a lot of fun thinking about her personality and her family life and things like that.
Thank you so much for the swap, and for leaving me such a lovely review! I really appreciate it!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by MuggleMaybe Like Sunflowers

29th January 2016:
*squeals with delight*

Oh for cute! As soon as I saw you mention this story on the forums, I knew I had to read it right away because I love Hannah/Neville stories and also your writing. And sure enough, it's wonderful!

I love, love, love the comparison with sunflowers turning to the sun. You know I'm a sucker for sweetness and aw, it's PERFECT!

The way you wrote Hannah's life - her dad, her mum, her Muggle BFF, making ice cream for dinner - it's really nice and gave me such a clear idea of who she is, even in a fairly short piece. I feel like you really know her, even if you haven't written her before. And your Neville is quite well done, too.

As far as CC goes, the only thing I have is that I'd love to see more. The moment they became a couple, the first kiss, Hannah meeting his parents... there's just so much I'd love to experience about this pair! Maybe you could consider writing more about them? Perhaps? *shameless puppy eyes* Well, either way, I'm so glad you shared this lovely story with the world.

As always, you're fabulous! *hug*
xoxo Renee

Author's Response: Hi Renee! You're such a dear for reading and reviewing this! You always jump right on my new stories, and I really appreciate it!
I thought of that metaphor as I was coming up with ideas for a Neville/Hannah story, and I thought it just seemed to fit the two of them, so I'm glad you liked it!
I've thought about Hannah's character a lot, even though I have only written her a couple times in really short pieces. I'd like to write her some more at some point, though!
I've definitely been thinking about other Neville/Hannah stories I could write! I love the two of them, and this definitely isn't my last time writing them. I didn't want to stuff too much into this story, but there are lots of things about them and their relationship (like what you suggested) that I'd like to write about at some point.
Thank you for the wonderful review! I really appreciate it!
Cassie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login