Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Corner
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by May The Corner

8th December 2016:
This story made me cry but I loved it

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan The Corner

31st July 2016:
GIFT TAG FOR YOU MY LOVELY TALENTED RENEE ♥ (This is Part 1 of 2 of your gift. Check your forum profile for part 2)

Okay but that scene when Harry and Dudley are actually having fun together, playing a pretend game of knights and magic (looks like Dudley is King Arthur and Harry is Merlin? haha) ... this is too cute for words. One of probably VERY few times they ever actually enjoyed each other's company, when they were still too young to hate each other. It's so adorable that they're just playing a game and just being silly kids, and the fact that Harry's in the corner while Dudley gets to eat Fruit Loops on the sofa doesn't matter to either of them.

AND THEN PETUNIA HAS TO RUIN IT BECAUSE SHE LOOKS UP. Gah, couldn't she just have kept doing her nails?! But really, this was so well written, especially for the kids at this age. Harry is confused why his aunt and uncle don't like him, and Dudley hasn't learnt to hate Harry yet - this is just about the instincts of kids before they have fully absorbed all the dynamics of their surroundings.

Sometimes the dragon set fire to the house, or the mouse got caught in a trap. Other times, one of the geniusí inventions went terribly wrong, or the warrior died in battle -- The way Harry's imagination gets the best of him and he's really there and things are just happening in his world while he forgets that it's his own imagination - this reminds me so strongly of all Calvin's adventures with Hobbes in the comic strip. Half the time Calvin uses his Transmogrifier he ends up doing something he didn't intend and horrible stuff happens. And that's what this paragraph made me think of :P

I think you used the song really well, too. Perfect choice.

Like everything else you write, this was amazing. I am always in awe of your writing.

♥ ♡ ♥ ♡ ♥ ♡ ♥ ♡

Author's Response: KRISTIN! ♥

Thank you for the gift!!

Children seem to make friends at the drop of a hat. Honestly, that's one of the things I most love about kids. Like you said, they're "still too young to hate each other."

Everyone hates Petunia in this story hahaha. (You'll see the humor of that to me, when my main WIP is all about her :P)

OMG. Calvin and Hobbes is so amazing! What a wonderfully nice thing to have this compared to!

You are so nice to me Kristin! *squish* Thank you for this super sweet review, as well as the awesome Avatar hug you left for me!

all the hugs!
Renee


 Report Review

Review #3, by TreacleTart The Corner

15th May 2016:
Hey Renee!

I feel like we did a review swap awhile back and I forgot to leave you a review. If that's the case, I'm so sorry. If not, here's a random review!

As soon as I read the title of the story, I knew which musical you were using for inspiration. I must've watched that movie a million times as a kid. Like I could hear Brandys :a singing as I read the title. :)

I thought this was a cute, but bittersweet story. At the beginning I loved seeing Harry and Dudley playing together. It's so nice seeing them getting along and I wish they could've retained that relationship as they grew up.

Petunia is awful as always. I just can't seem to understand why she hates Harry so much. I mean I know what her reason is, but I find it atrocious that she could be so cruel to her own flesh and blood. It makes it worse that Harry's just a small child and yet she's being so cruel.

I like that Harry has such a vivid imagination. It seems really fitting to a child that age. The ending was really sad. Safe doesn't always mean happy. :(

Good job!

-Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #4, by pointless_proclamations The Corner

1st May 2016:
Renee,

You break my feelings with this story.

I like the idea that there was a time where Dudley and Harry got along--their parents' disagreements were not theirs, but then the thought of Dudley coming to hate Harry as the years went by as a result of his parents discouraging them from playing made it all the more sad. It reminds me of conditioning: for instance, when your dog ruins, say, a shoe, it's a better idea to punish the shoe rather than the dog because punishing the dog is never a good idea nor will do anything constructive, but punishing the shoe will help the dog associate bad memories with the shoe and avoid shoes in the future. Although in this case, the dog is Dudley and the shoe is Harry. . . I'm rambling.

Petunia's extreme reaction and her seemingly irrational fear are written so well. It served well to shatter this dream-like scene of Dudley and Harry getting along and give way to something more nightmarish.

Harry is so easy to empathise with--I JUST LOVE THE WAY YOU WRITE HIM HERE. He displays such innocence--his imagination; he's just a little kid--he has no idea what is going on. My heart breaks for him. Even more so when his idyllic alone time is disrupted by sadness of his own imagination.

It's a beautiful story, beautifully written.

Cheers,
Em

 Report Review

Review #5, by BellaLestrange87 The Corner

11th March 2016:
Hi there! I'm here for your second of five reviews from my Review-a-Thon pledge!

This was really cute and I loved this. I just... it made me really happy and thank you for that.

It makes me really happy that Dudley and Harry were playing in the living room under Aunt Petunia's nose. It shows that Dudley being the way he was in the beginning of the series wasn't due to him but to his awful parents. I just... why, Petunia and Vernon, why.

I don't like the fact that Petunia and Vernon made him sit in a corner. The fact that said corner only has a chair in it, and is intentionally far away from everything makes me mad. I'm happy that both Harry and Dudley ended up being decent people after the brainwashing that they were put through as kids. Seriously, did no one ever call social services about Harry or something?

I really like his fantasies, too (and how some of them are things that happened to him later. For example, falling from a great height). I guess, of course, what else are you supposed to do when you're forced to sit in a chair all day. *glares at Petunia and Vernon*

I really like the way that this was written. It sounds like something that a four-year-old would say (not that I really know what I'm talking about there *nervous glances left and right*).

I'll be back to review more soon!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Olivia!! Hi!

First off: "Seriously, did no one ever call social services about Harry or something?"

I KNOW, RIGHT??? Everyone in their neighborhood and school must have been total jerks not to say something! Poor Harry!

Petunia is just the meanest in this story. I hate it. (I know I wrote it, but still. She is so mean! :P)

I'm so glad you like Harry's day dreams and the childish voice of the story. Thank you so much for another lovely review!

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #6, by Musing The Corner

6th March 2016:
Hey Renee!!! *hugs*

I'm finally here to leave you a review for the HPFF Review-A-Thon!

I need to read your stories more often. You put in so much emotion that I'm left speechless. This story had the same effect! It was full of children's innocence and was so cute, but was heart-wrenching at the same time!

Harry is isolated to just a corner in the Dursleys' home. We know he gets to sleep in the cupboard under the stairs. How much more insensitive can the Dursleys get!? Poor Harry! He had to sneak a peak at the Telly from behind the curtains because he probably realised that as soon as Petunia saw him he'd have to go back.

Harry and Dudley playing together in their childhood- this is totally my head canon too!! Dudley must have caught onto his parents' indifference to the boy only some years later. Till then they would have been playmates whenever Vernon and Petunia were not around.

The part where Harry touches his scar and sort of knows that magic feels right to him is such a great moment. Little Harry knew where he was headed to. All his fantasies were cleverly thought out! They are connected to his past and future in some way or the other.

The ending was lovely as well. 'he was glad to be where he was, even if he knew that safe did not always mean happy. ' It shows how Harry has sort of accepted where he is. That is what makes his welcome in the Wizarding World so special, doesn't it?

I ADORED this one-shot! I'm so glad I read it!

Lots of love,
Emm

Author's Response: Aww, Emm, thank you so much for this super sweet review!

I'm always nervous people won't find this story interesting, so it means SO much to me that you picked up on all those little nuances. And, that you felt the emotion came across well.

I think even the opportunity to live like a normal English boy would have been magical for Harry because of the Dursley's cruelty, so yeah, you're absolutely right. It makes Hogwarts and the wizarding world even more incredible for him.

Thank you again for your wonderful review!! *hug*
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #7, by TearsIMustConceal The Corner

30th January 2016:
Renee! Sorry this has taken me forever! It's been a busy week and I actually got writing chapters so I was distracted but here I am!

Oh Renee, this was just so sad and heartbreaking and cute and beautiful, all at the same time. At first I was smiling and then I wanted cry by the end. So many feels going on for such a short story, you really killed it Renee but I'm not surprised because your writing is just magical!

The joy I felt when they began to play. Kids aren't born to hate or be biased and this really showcases that fact. Here they are, mutually fascinated and amazed by a children's tv show and that brings them together. There's no feelings of hate or dislike, they simply see each other as children playing a game, completely engrossed in the fun they're having. I found this part so cute and its simplicity really works here Ė you don't need anything else because just the description of them playing together, when in reality we know this kinship obviously doesn't last, is just so lovely and it makes my soul feel fuzzy.

And then there goes Petunia ruining it all by shrieking and being very melodramatic when all they were doing is playing. It's not rocket science to know that it's both Petunia and Vernon who keep Harry and Dudley apart and they encourage the bullying. Her reaction, which I can understand to a point, is just so harsh and Harry's reaction breaks my heart because he just wants to play and they were having fun. He doesn't understand what he's done wrong and this is pretty much how he feels his whole life whilst at the Dursley's and it just kills me Renee, I am feeling all the emotions right now!

And then his corner, where he can imagine another life and magic and everything he ever wants it just soul-destroying. You portray his thoughts and feelings so beautifully here; of his joy at being able to imagine everything he wants to, from magic to warriors but then his realisations that he's safe where he is, despite not feeling loved or welcome, when his imaginations go too far.

Then, for once, he was glad to be where he was, even if he knew that safe did not always mean happy.† - this line broke me and shattered my heart. A little boy should never have to feel that and I just want to hug him and make him feel better and tell him he'll be loved unconditionally, he just has to wait to find the right people to care.

As for you concerns, this whole thing is perfect. The simplicity of it makes it work and honestly, if you added more, it would just overwhelm it. It works in its simplicity and this whole piece of writing is just incredible! You have nothing to be concerned of and I really hope this wins in the challenge!

Once again Renee, you've outdone yourself and I cannot wait to read more of your writing! I could continue to praise all of this forever but I'm running out of adjectives and it would eventually end up as a whole load of jumbled words so I'm going to go!

-Vicki

Author's Response: Hello love!

I have a terrible confession to make: I picked you for this review request partly because I knew even if you hated it you would be super nice about it. *hides* Your reviews are just SO NICE! *happy feels* Like, honestly, how can you be so nice and amazing and kind and sweet and... did I hear someone say "I'm running out of adjectives"? (OMG, thank you!)

It's a relief to hear you didn't think it was too simple, or rather that the simplicity is for the best. That's kind of what I thought, but I was really nervous because this was a gift for Lizzie and I was afraid she'd read it and think, "huh, that's it?" (Of course she was very kind in her reply as well, because she's lovely, but I worry about these things.)

I really didn't mean to make this quite as sad as it is, but you are so right to point out that this is basically how Harry would feel throughout his whole childhood, and I guess that does make it quite sad. Sorry about that! And when you said he just needed to find the people who would love him unconditionally, I thought immediately of Molly and now I am having all the Mrs. Weasley feels. :,)

Thank you so much for this amazing review. You are such a wonderful reviewer, I hope you know!

lots of love! Renee


 Report Review

Review #8, by looneylizzie The Corner

24th January 2016:
Renee!

I canít believe I havenít reviewed this story yet! Itís absolutely shameful. Thankfully Iím finally here so I can tell you HOW INCREDIBLY WONDERFUL THIS STORY IS!!!

I mean, you know how much I love that song, and then youíve written this sweet, yet absolutely heartbreaking little story for ME?!

*dies*

I mightíve cried. Once. Or twice. Okay, EVERY SINGLE TIME Iíve read and reread this story.

How could I not? Youíve got this adorable little Harry getting so excited over this TV show and the magic he sees and he has this little moment with Dudley thatís not actually terrible until Petunia comes along and ruins it all while ripping my heart out because Harry doesnít understandÖ Itís just SO SAD!

But the way you describe his little corner towards the end is SO perfect. Itís not only true to the song, but true to Harryís character - I can just picture Harry sitting in the corner for hours on end, imagining a world so much better than the one he lives in, while still having a safe place to come back to when those dreams go wrong.

That last line - Then, for once, he was glad to be where he was, even if he knew that safe did not always mean happy - is SO PERFECT.

Itís so true and such a poignant thing to leave the reader with at the end of such a short story. Itís so profound, although it does make me sad that Harry has learned this at such a young age. Kids really shouldnít have to worry about being happy or safe. Thatís something grownups are supposed to do. :(

Anyway, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for dedicating this amazing story to me! Itís definitely on my top five favorite stories on the archives now!

Keep writing my dear!
Lizzie

Author's Response: Lizzie! Hi! *hug*

I'm sorry I made you cry! I didn't mean for it to be so sad. Then again, Harry's childhood wasn't exactly a fairy tale, was it? (But... you've read this more than once? More hugs for you!!)

You're so right, kids shouldn't have to worry about being safe. Now you're making me sad! Are you after revenge? ;)

I was really trying to write him as his cannon-self might have been at that age. Thank you so much for saying you thought he was in character!

It was completely and 100% my pleasure to write this for you because you are amazing and you deserved it!

But, umm...
"It's definitely on my top five favorite stories on the archives now!"

--> LIZZIE WHY ARE YOU SO NICE TO ME? Top five??? SURELY NOT. YOU ARE SO SWEET.

Thank you thank you THANK YOU for you super lovely review and also for being such a wonderful HPFF member and friend.

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #9, by kitcath The Corner

18th January 2016:
Where do I begin?? This was brilliant! I love how you managed to depict Harry's everyday life so well; I mean, it's really realistic and totally in the same spirit as what JKR created.

I particularly liked the fact that Harry and Dudley played together, because it mirrors a bit the end of their relationship in DH, so kuddos for that!

Also, I think that Harry's thinking about how the chair is normal and safe and clutching to this agains magic and imagination is really well thought, because it's also, in a way, what happens in the books (well, mainly PS, of course), so again it draws a nice parallelism.

All in all, I'm really happy to have read this oneshot! (do you plan on writing more? Your story's description says that it's a WIP, and if so, I'm excited!)
Usually I don't really like to read about Harry's past because it tends to be quite badly handled, but this was perfect!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I really extra appreciate that from TDA artists because I know you are so busy already! I'm so glad you thought this was in the spirit of the books! :D

I honestly haven't read much dealing with young Harry. I'm sorry to hear you aren't usually impressed, although in a way that makes your review even sweeter!

Yeah, I accidentally left the shell as WIP... I need to go back and change it because it's really a one shot. Sorry :(

However, if you like childhood stories the first few chapters of my actual WIP, Beyond Repair, might be up your alley. (*coughshamelesscough* *hangs head*) It's about Lily and Petunia.

Thanks you so much for this! You are just lovely!

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #10, by carry on with your knitting The Corner

13th January 2016:
Hello!

Katie here from the forums! (carry on with your knitting), I'm in the middle of reading through all of my entries. Thank you so much for taking the time to enter, you have created such a sweet little one shot here and I wish it had more chapters! :')

I thought the way you described Harry's imagination was really touching, especially that parts when his imagination turns a little darker. I felt so sorry for him, but I thought it was really interesting that you mirrored his character to Cinderella, because they are very similar when you think about it!

I also loved the description of Petunia and Dudley at the start; with her admiring a small child who you littleraly made me picture a a pig :') hahaha!

A great entry that I really enjoyed reading, well done! :D

Katie :)

Author's Response: Hi Katie!

I didn't really think about it until I started to write this either, but YES, Harry and Cinderella have weirdly similar childhoods! I'm so glad you created this challenge because I never would have written this otherwise and made that connection. :)

I'm glad you thought this was sweet, even though it is a bit sad. Thank you so much for the challenge and the lovely review!

xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #11, by alicia and anne The Corner

10th January 2016:
:O AM I ABOUT TO READ ABOUT A TEENY TINY HARRY?! BECAUSE IF SO MY HEART IS GOING TO SWELL IN HAPPINESS AND I WILL WANT TO HUG HIM!!!

AW IT IS!!! HE's hiding behind the curtains... so adorable!

They're playing together! Dudley and Harry are getting along and playing a game and it's so sweet! Why did Petunia have to ruin it? *cries*

He has a corner? :( That makes me sad now, they were so happy and getting along with each other. Although I love Harry's imagination, I wish he was a dragon that would spit fire at the Dursleys - maybe not Dudley at this age - and stop them from putting him into a corner. If only he knew just how true most of the stuff he imagined would be.

I loved seeing Harry at such a young age, and if you totally want to write more young Harry I would so read it! I loved this so much!! :D

Author's Response: Hi Tammi! I'm so glad you liked reading about little Harry. I am normally too intimidated to write him, but as a four year old it wasn't so bad :P

It was weird portraying Petunia so negatively in this, because I have a more sympathetic version of her in my WIP.

Yes! Harry gets to do so many of his imaginings. Maybe that makes it a bit less sad?

Thank you so much for your super amazing review. You are so fabulous with your reviewing sprees! *hug*

xoxo Renee


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login