Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for A Zinnia By Any Other Name
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by mayflower Smoothing Out the Course of True Love

16th January 2017:
I don't know why i expected a lot more but the ending was pretty boring tbh.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ash Smoothing Out the Course of True Love

22nd October 2016:
I read this all at once and I just wanted to say that I think this was a Great story! I loved the ending!

 Report Review

Review #3, by WitnesstoitAll Smoothing Out the Course of True Love

7th September 2016:
This was a lovely short story made all the better by the fact it ended with Zinnia turning down an offer to dance and the revelation that James drinks fruity drinks. I enjoyed this journey through the realization of love and the light tone in which it was told.

 Report Review

Review #4, by WitnesstoitAll The Pretense of Being a Gentle-Wizard

7th September 2016:
Gubby. I don't know what brought me back to the archives this past weekend after being away for 3 years but something did, and I couldn't pass on one of your James fics. I enjoyed this opening chapter and think I'm fond of Zinnia this far.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Sonia Emote Like a Human

27th June 2016:
It's good...but your writing is very confusing at times. The phrasing and structuring of sentences feels unnecessarily verbose and I think it undermines the points you're trying to make. I think if you simplified your writing, it would be a much cleaner read.

I really do like this story though! I'm just giving my honest opinion. Please keep writing :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by HarrietHopkirk Love and Only Love and Not Even True Love

3rd April 2016:
I take it back (maybe). He liiikes her, he's got a cruuush, he lurrrves her! Adorable.

As ever, I'm floored by your characterisation and development. We met these characters only three chapters back and we've already got such a good picture of them, and a nice look into their backstories as well. Beaut. Also, your dialogue! That last scene about the origami eagles and their different views of love was amazing. And the forehead kiss! *Swoons*

Update soon!

 Report Review

Review #7, by HarrietHopkirk All Fluff All the Time

3rd April 2016:
I assume that Zinnia will grow to feel the same? Maybe?

Also just a teeny weeny bit sceptical of James - was he actually telling the truth? Does he actually like like her? Or is it all a game? Or maybe I'm just used to glossy evil fic.

I like Jess! She's ace. On I go!

 Report Review

Review #8, by HarrietHopkirk The Pretense of Being a Gentle-Wizard

3rd April 2016:
How you do the prewritten thing? So impressive!

And I'm obviously already enjoying this, so onto the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sunshine&Daisies Love and Only Love and Not Even True Love

19th March 2016:
Oh I can't wait to see where this goes! Wonderful story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Amanda, your biggest fan x Love and Only Love and Not Even True Love

8th March 2016:
This, thus far, is totally different. By that, I mean that when James makes his confession, Zinnia does not turn into a besotted fangirl puddle. I hope the story ends with them together, of course, but i love the way you're unfolding this plot.

I've read quite a few of your stories (& reviewed none until this one-- im so sorry!!) but i adore your writing style. You're quite the author! Your page is in my bookmarks and i check for updates frequently. So. Thank you for the numerous journeys and escapes you've given me. Much needed and much appreciated!

Best wishes!

Xx--
Amanda

 Report Review

Review #11, by Val All Fluff All the Time

6th February 2016:
I love how you manage to personalise every single character you write, and this goes for all of your stories. This fic has been very intriguing so far, I already adore Zinnia and I can't wait to see where you go with this. I'm also looking forward to getting to know all the other characters better. Something about the way you write really draws me in. You have an amazing talent please never stop writing! And please update soon!

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you so much! I worry a lot that all my characters are variations of a certain type and my plots are also different iterations of the same idea. Especially with all my dumb fun next gen romcoms starring Potters. But I'm really proud of this one, and I'm delighted that you like it. Zinnia is such a darling, and the rest of the cast is similarly zany. I have no plans to stop writing, I assure you, and updates are never too far away, I hope. Thank you so much for a great review, and I hope you continue to enjoy :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by coolcoolcool The Pretense of Being a Gentle-Wizard

10th January 2016:
I liked it! Can't wait to see what will happen next :)

Author's Response: There is much yet to happen, I promise. Thank you for reviewing and I hope you continue to enjoy~

 Report Review

Review #13, by naughtforreal The Pretense of Being a Gentle-Wizard

4th January 2016:
I would be lying if I said I didn't get hooked by Lily James and Richard Madden on your banner. (Gina did do a fantastic appealing job)

BUT as I read on, I just realized that I am still internally SCREAMING BEC I LOVE IT /(*u*)/

I love wedding scenes especially when it's not about the bride and the groom! And pfft, dessert metaphors are not cliche, James. They're perf. -->Basically I loved all the metaphors especially the radioactive lemon because Zinnia probably knows those hideous dress robes would be probably explode sooner. Hah.

Oh and the Pandora and the box metaphor was face-scrunchingly perfect. I loved it! Also, I didn't expect James having the guts to actually drop the bomb on her but what's the use in waiting? I like that upfront (or I mean, right up in this first chapter), you wrote the confession and that it didn't lose the intrigue of the whole story, y'know?

Oh and this killed me:

>I watched him back away with what was probably an immensely idiotic expression, mouth agape and eyes wide and eyebrows furrowed and cheeks probably very flushed, and wondered idly, once he turned around and took the doorknob in hand, if I would ever be all right.<

Alright, Zinnia, we'll give you time to deal with James' feelings and most importantly, yours.

ANYWAY OVER OVERALL, IT'S AMA~ZING! CAN'T WAIT TO STUFF MY FACE ON THE WEDDING CAKE-->I mean, READ MORE, huehue

Author's Response: Ahh, hi, Dianne! I am so delighted you made it all the way to my humble page, and this story in particular :)

Hehe that exact Lily James-Richard Madden picture pretty much demanded that I write something for it. Something, /anything/. Indeed, I figured out pretty quickly that my original idea was not working out, but I kept changing it, because Gina had already showed me this picture (so ashamed and shocked I hadn't already seen it) and I could not, just /could not/, give it up. Its inclusion was my only requirement for the banner too (the rest, as usual, is Gina's genius). Honestly I am very easy to please, especially when it comes to banner casting.

Hehe I have a long history of including wedding settings in stories, whether the main characters are the couple or guests. It's one of my favorite situations in which to throw characters and see how they deal with all of it. Zinnia... does not deal well, obviously. I do tend to agree with James on the cliche-ness of dessert metaphors, but they're just so effective in cases like this one, there's no point in avoiding them.

Not going to lie, I did want that part to come seemingly out of nowhere. Burying the lede and all. It was a surprise to me, too, honestly, because this was not in the original incredibly convoluted idea, but the James we see in that beginning was just so much more instantly compelling to me, and his friendship with Zinnia more fun to think about, that I just wrote that scene, and suddenly had a totally different (and I think better) story on my hands. That Pandora paragraph was one of my favorites actually, so thank you for pointing out that bit~ I'm really relieved that this, uh, development doesn't kill the momentum, as that's an obvious danger to pulling this card so soon, but you're totally right, we can now see how everyone deals with everyone else's feelings :D

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, and I hope you continue to enjoy :')


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login