Reading Reviews for The Modern Slytherin
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by thehiddenface There and Back Again

25th February 2018:
Obsessed! I am obsessed with this story! I love Al and Greer so much I can hardly contain myself. Please please please update soon!

Author's Response: Ugh you make me so happy! Update coming soon! I decided to be crazy and start another story so I’m switching off updates but this one is next!!!

Thank you!!!

Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #2, by MalfoyMannor There and Back Again

4th February 2018:
I just found your story and I absolutely love it :)

can't wait till the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Happy to have you aboard :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by BBHP There and Back Again

31st January 2018:
I'm loving how this is progressing. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Should be coming relatively soon!

Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #4, by BBHP Trees and Group Outings

31st January 2018:
I love the different narratives. Each character is so good and funny in their own way.

Author's Response: Yay! I love my characters so much, and I love when other people love them!

Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #5, by BBHP The Holy Terror of Hogwarts

31st January 2018:
This is so enjoyable. I love how Scorpius is just so completely heart melting-ly sweet. The best friend someone could ask for. And sweet Al. The best.

Also, I don't see how anyone would be offended by casting Hermione, and therefore Rose, as black. I think it makes a lot of sense, given how Hermione is described and acts in the books, and I love the idea of Rose looking a lot like Fred II and Roxanne.

Author's Response: Aww thank you!

You would think that would be the case, but sadly there are a lot of (racist) people out there that do not like it and have been very vocal about it, so I sort of feel the need to put my stance out there. As a way to ward off any reviewers who maybe don't like this take on the characters.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #6, by jenna There and Back Again

30th January 2018:
Glad your back! I like the vibe between the four of them, and I'm relieved that Greer knows the truth about what happened between her and Albus. BTW love Albus.

Author's Response: Thanks, it's great to be back! And I also love Albus... although I can't decide if he or Scor is more my type... you'd think I'd be able to since I write them, but alas.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Potter 434 There and Back Again

30th January 2018:
I read your response
and immediatly came to read the rest

its so good!

poor alexa

i love this story- esp Scorp in it

update as soon as possible, i need to know who did it

from me xxx

Author's Response: Yay! Thanks fore reading! And even if I update, you won't find out who did it for a WHILE so hang tight!

Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #8, by BBHP The Sorting and the Pairing

29th January 2018:
I enjoyed this! And I'm looking forward to reading more. So I shouldn't keep reading until the next update?

Also, I 100% agree with you about Cursed Child. Awful.

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for reading! And I apparently said something strange in my authors note (I will look into that) but you can definitely keep reading (and reviewing)!! Please do! I just meant I will be updating more often now that I'm past a tricky writers block/crazy life events.

And dear lord thank you because Cursed child is some Bull!

Thanks for Reviewing!

XX Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #9, by Violet Potter 434 The Sorting and the Pairing

29th January 2018:
I like this so far!

you say in your authors note that you're updating and not to read further yet, does this apply to me now or was it past thing and the next chapters have since been updated?
just don't want to confuse myself

oml tho! I've been trying to write my newest story in the perspective of a Scottish girl, but I can't work out how much I should change ("you" to "ye" , "to " to "tae", "yes" to "ay", "no" to "nae") and because I've never seen it in a hpff I haven't wanted to over emphasise it but this has shown me it can look okay and not be confusing
like I said
this is great so far
I love her name btw

please update soon!

from me xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! As to reading further, I posted this at like one in the morning and clearly need to go like read what I said! Lol, you can keep reading no problem, Everything is there and ready to go! I think what I was trying to say was I am sorry for not updating in so long, because I had awful writers block and just needed to Power through. however, I am over my writers block and hopefully will be back to a real updating schedule! I won't post the next chapter for another few weeks as I am wrapping up a term here in college, but I will be updating pretty regularly from now on!

And thank you! I also struggle with how to demonstrate Greer's accent because i don't want it to look cluttered. I only write it out when she's actually using a Scottish phrase, or she's agitated and her accent gets thicker. I'm glad it's coming off well! And thank you! here name is actually taken from the TV show Reign. The Greer on that show is really awesome and I just loved her name and how she really forges her own path. I wouldn't say I based my Greer on her per say, but I really thought the name conveyed a certain strength and ambition that I wanted.

Thank you so much for reviewing!

XX Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #10, by jenna Snakes in the Halls

4th May 2017:
Hello, just found this story, loving it so far. I have an Albus "thing", and I love reading well written stories, with him as a central character. Hope to see an update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I also have an Albus thing haha. I should be updating soon I've just been so wrapped up in stuff at school but I'm back haha! Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by LittleMissAutumn Snakes in the Halls

26th April 2017:
Ooo I really like your story so far! I desperately want a friend like Scorp, that boy's a trip! Greer is such a great protagonist too! She's feisty, won't put up with anyone's shenanigans, and still maintains a genuine heart. I wish people were nicer to her but at least her and Scorp still manage to make the best of the situation AND now they have Rose and Al. They need support and can lean on more people. Hopefully with this new turn of events, Rose and Al will prove their loyalty and still stick with them without falling under everyone else's
fallen misconceptions. I think this chapter showed some depth for both Scorp and Al. Albus, finally, was able to see more of how Greer's life truly is and we see how deep Scorp's feelings for Greer go. He knows that they need to help Yaxley but will do anything to protect Greer, even if that means the wrong thing. Either way, now they're stuck so we'll see.

Also, I'd like to give a quick shout out too and say that I understand what you mean with the depressing feelings that come with the unfortunate state of our current government. I'm American too and have been taking this new leadership especially hard. I honestly feel like we're living in a sci fi novel, it's insane. I know this is quite privileged to say but seriously on the day that the official polls came in, I began applying for uni elsewhere and am now happy to say that I'm moving to England in hopes of catching my own train at the platform of nine and three-quarters. I'm glad that writing has been helpful for you. It's definitely a stress reliever and you're also really good at it so keep it up. Ok. My serious talk is over. But really, I hope you continue this story! Best of luck on your exams. x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I can't tell you what it meant to find such a thoughtful and detailed message on my story! I want to first promise you that i have NOT given up on the story, I've just been crazy busy, and two say congratulations on your uni acceptance! Thats such an amazing adventure and I hope you have the best time doing you in England. I'll be coming at you soon with an update, please keep reading and reviewing, because I love your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #12, by AccioTeddyLupin The Holy Terror of Hogwarts

3rd March 2017:
The Scorpius quotes are always the best!

Author's Response: Haha thank you! He's sort of my favorite, and I got too much pleasure out of the Monopoly money Joke! :)

Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #13, by AccioTeddyLupin Life among the Serpents

3rd March 2017:
I love love love this! The dynamics of each character is superb, although it's hard to think James Potter would be so unkind to a muffle born, however, I'll keep reading to find out more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I love reviews especially three! And I think it's important to remember that James was very young, and he will get a chance to redeem himself. It also goes to show you how different Gryffindors can be from each other.

Abby Rose :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by AccioTeddyLupin The Sorting and the Pairing

3rd March 2017:
Well this is different. A good different, mind you. Can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: Thank you! In fan fiction, different is what you want to aim for :)

Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #15, by Lux_Klara Trees and Group Outings

27th January 2017:
Love your story!! Greer is fantastic and so is Scorpius. I seriously adore those two. I like yours Albus and Rose, they haven't win me over yet but I am quite sure that they are going to. I look forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reviewing! I'm glad you like everyone and I hope Al and Rose win you over in the end! I think they will, especially Al :)

Love Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #16, by pepperspicer The Sorting and the Pairing

23rd January 2017:
I love this, the conversation seems so natural and really believable, and I love the Scottish accent :') it always makes me think how annoying it would be if you lived in Scotland and had to travel to London just to get the train back to... Scotland (where I think Hogwarts is) hahaha.

Can't wait for the rest :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you think the dialogue is natural, I sometimes feel like its all I do! Keep reading definitely! As for Greer, luckily she and her father relocated to England, but they haven't lost their accents yet. Greer's softens now and then when she's at home, but it gets incredibly thick when she visits her family in Scotland.

Much love,

Abby Rose:)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Seltas The Sorting and the Pairing

21st January 2017:
I actually found your story through TDA when you requested a banner and the banner pulled me in so I thought "You know what, I'm going to check this out." and in the name of all that is sweet and magic, I'm hooked. I really love Greer so far, she's such a great character and she's relatable to and I'm praying you come out with new chapters soon because I love this story :D

Author's Response: Ah!!! I knew that banner was a good idea! Jordan or @amoretti is a goddess!! Thank you so much for reading, it's always so nice to hear someone likes your story!! I'm really excited about this story and where it's going, and I currently have one chapter in the queue and then next one almost done so don't worry, plenty of updates coming!


Abby Rose

 Report Review

Review #18, by Sunflowers The Holy Terror of Hogwarts

17th February 2016:
Love it. Different than anything else I've read, yet so amazing! Thank you :-)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and for the review :) keeps me going!

 Report Review

Review #19, by the_brunetteWeasley2206 The Sorting and the Pairing

8th February 2016:
I really liked this! It was brilliant and as a Scottish lass from Edinbrugh myself is found it all very entertaining (I may not have as strong of accent as Greer but I definatly swear like a Scott!) Anyway with the first line you had me hooked and I'm already in love with this beautiful story and currently coming up with ship names for Greer and Albus (So far I have Aleer? Not great is it? Sorry) Ok now i feel like I'm rambling so I'm going to stop. I loved this and I'm very excited to read the next chapter but decided this first one was so good I just had to stop and review!

Author's Response: Ahhh! I am so excited you like it, and enjoy Greer's lineage! Everyone creates either Brits or Americans I feel like so I wanted to try something a little different. if you find ANY inaccuracies or have any comments and feel like I'm doing something wrong DO NOT HESITATE to drop me a review, as everything I'm doing is the product of research and googling! haha but thank you so much, your review means a lot! I'm working on the third chapter now!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ash The Sorting and the Pairing

7th February 2016:
Really enjoyed this :) your style of writing is refreshing.
Looking forward to the rest!

Author's Response: You're beautiful :) thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login