Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Christmas Magic
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by YourRavenclawLoverGirl Jagged Edges

19th December 2016:
That was really touching and absolutely adorable. O really like it! Will you write more like these?

~YourRavenclawLoverGirl

Author's Response: Ahaha hopefully soon! but thank you so much for the review! xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Marshal Home

10th January 2016:
Hi sorry it has taken me a long time to review the story. I love your descriptions. You painted a very clear picture of the world just before Christmas. You have painted an interesting picture with showing different kinds of relationships at the time of Christmas than the classic ones. Your writing is quiet lovely. Thanks for entering my challenge!

 Report Review

Review #3, by blackzero Jagged Edges

25th December 2015:
It was quite good.Keep it up

Author's Response: Thank you! Your reviews are lovely and super unexpected so thank you!!! :D hope you had a wonderful Christmas! xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by May The Family Name

25th December 2015:
I loved this chapter its was very moving

Author's Response: Thank you so so much! Hope you had a lovely Christmas!! xx

 Report Review

Review #5, by toomanycurls The Family Name

23rd December 2015:
Curie!

Sorry for taking so long. Babies are hard to schedule around.

I really like the theme in this - family, dealing with Potter Privledge, and coming home. I was surprised how much James was impacted when he learned that people favored him because he's vicariously famous. I guess mainly I thought that he'd figure that out earlier in life if it was that big of a deal. Going off for a few years seemed like quite the reaction though. I'm curious if he didn't contact his family at all in those years because that's kind of what Albus' reaction led me to believe. You did a great job showing how Albus and James get along very well and are/were very close. The baby brother exchange made me laugh, mainly because Al asked not to be called his baby brother but didn't comment on the virgin part. Dunno, I thought it showed some of Al's character in a humorous way. The trunk purchasing flashback felt very fitting for a story focused on the travel James did - his trunk was a companion of sorts on all his adventures so it's nice he put thought into picking it out.

I would have liked to get more info on how the family reacted to James taking off. I mean, Harry would have put some resources into making sure James was okay, right? I was also a bit unsure until the flashback who the MC was for this which was just a touch longer than I like to not be sure.

Really good chapter!!

-Rose

 Report Review

Review #6, by bigblackdog The Family Name

23rd December 2015:
hello Curie!

all of your holiday imagery is so inviting! i love the description of the rows of lit windows on the second floor and the "the shadows of families through thin curtains"-- what a great line!

i loved the straight romance focus of the first chapter, but it's refreshing to have a chapter that focuses on the relationship between these two brothers. i thought it was sweet how they started out joking a little bit and then got into the heavier emotional stuff, and then went right back to joking!

i think my favorite part of this chapter is the flashback to james' going to diagon alley and picking out his trunk. it was so lovely, flashing back to a time when james felt so excited and saw so much potential in the trunk. and then seeing how the years and his experiences changed his perception of the trunk. i think a lot of people have something in their life like that, something that seemed golden and chronicles a period of your life. and then the imagery of the beat up and dinged trunk- a beautiful metaphor!

it's not CC so much as just a suggestion: i think you could pack more of an emotional punch if you clarified if albus feels the same pressure. he's very comforting toward james, but does he maybe also deal with the same pressure and that's why he's so understanding? i feel like it's hinted at but could be expanded a little more.

thanks for the swap! it was such a nice Christmas-y read!

elise

 Report Review

Review #7, by TearsIMustConceal Home

16th December 2015:
Hey Curie! Here for our review swap!

So, since its Christmas, I figured I would read this cute little story because sounded so sweet. Now first off, I must say I am not a ScoRose shipper, nor am I a Teddy/Victoire shipper I am pro Teddy/Rose but I must admit, I found this pretty cute and I really enjoyed it!

The beginning was lovely! Your descriptions and narrative was beautiful and vivid and I could picture everything clearly! It really set up the rest of the story and it made me want to read on! I read it in my head like it was the beginning of one of those cute hallmark Christmas movies (but not in a cheesy way!), where they set up the story and make you super invested before youve even began!

The Rose and Scorpius scene was heartbreaking I may not be the biggest fan of the ship but you did it all so beautifully. It was so realistic and I could really feel her confusion love is obviously confusing at the best of times so its easy to relate to her worries and fears! I hope in the next chapter Scorpius will answer her though and shell work out why she loves him!

Onto Teddy and Victoire. I particularly loved this scene everything about it was beautiful and magical and just amazing. I love how their awkwardness just melts away the instant they realise theyve been stupid and they belong together and all it took was a memory in a box the way you did this was sweet and I could imagine every moment so clearly! I just loved that this scene was about memories and all the feeling evoked from them, from the house to the boxes it was so lovely and cute!

Im super intrigued as to who the next couple will be! I cant even think of who it could be but no doubt it will be just as amazing as the first two! And I hope that ScoRose fix their relationship in the next chapter too! Thatd be such a cute story!

I loved this and I cant wait for the next chapter! Youll have to let me know when its up and well have to swap again

-Vicki

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Home

14th December 2015:
Yay!!! A Christmas one shot! I am already so happy!!

It's started so happy, and I really hope that it continues that way *fingers crossed* I'm craving a happy story and it's christmas... what could go wrong?

Either way, I love how the beginning of this is like a fairytale story and I'm excited about the three relationships that we're going to see :D

Oh no! This is already sad beginning for Rose and Scorpius, I wonder what they're fighting about? and hope that they don't break up. Awww she loves him!

Oh no! Victoire and Teddy are broken up! Are you starting all of these all sad so that I will be sad too? :( It's nice that they can still be friends with each other even though they've broken up, I really like that, although I'm sad about that box. I WANT THEM TO GET BACK TOGETHER! I AM SHIPPING SO HARD RIGHT NOW!! IT'S TRUE LOVE!!

YES! GET THEM BACK TOGETHER!!!

Awww yay! I love how this ended! and I am so excited about the next chapter to find out what else happens.

Wonderfully written my lovely! I love reading your stories so much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon Home

13th December 2015:
Howdy! I'm dropping by for Day 12 of the Advent Calendar and after a simple search for "Christmas" yours was the story that most appealed to me!

I think what I liked best about this story was the way that it captured a broader picture of the idea of love within relationships. With Scorpius and Rose we get undeniable emotion, but also ambiguity - perfectly reflective of the oft inexplicable nature of not just attraction, but why we choose those we do and what it is that ties us together - and also the possible reality that acknowledging the lack of answers in that regard after a period of time can reveal a lack of depth that kills the emotion in one party or both and thus the relationship. That one was shorter, but kind of masterful in that way as you could read it through a number of different lenses and I think different readers would interpret it differently based on their own experiences and beliefs. Then there was Teddy and Victoire and the majesty of pain. Love can make us fly, but can also be devastating and sometimes, as with that duo, we have to experience the pain of misunderstandings, insecurities, and even separations to understand how much it truly means to us - sometimes more than we ever really knew or were willing to admit before. But a love so strong CAN survive.

I also liked that beyond those conceptual layers, you didn't shy away from things like arguments in the confines of a holiday story (which truly is a time that love is tested, for better or worse, for many people). That gave the whole piece the honesty that I think separates stronger pieces in the romance genre from mere fluff.

The only things I'd pick out for CC are: (1) at the end of the first paragraph you used "its" instead of "it's", (2) you mentioned three relationships, and unless I'm missing something, we only saw two, and (3) I thought there were some additional opportunities to layer in the holiday season more strongly with descriptions of the locales and maybe some background setting.

All in all it was very minor though in a story that I thought was quite well done!

Thanks for sharing this with us and good luck with the challenge!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Shadowkat Home

12th December 2015:
Here for our swap!

That was so sweet! Though I am a bit confused about the first part. I have a idea of what was happening, of course, but I feel like there should be something more. A lead up? A hint of what triggered it? You could tell they both had doubts about the relationship, but it would be nice to have a bit of background like you did in the second part.

Speaking of the second part, I loved it! I love this pairing, and you really set it up nicely. I didn't notice any problems, so it's solid there. It was great seeing the conflicting emotions, and how it all was sorted out like that.

I'm curious about who else will be covered, but I guess I'll have to wait and see.

 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan Home

10th December 2015:
Hi Curie! I'm here for our swap!

Aw, I really like this, it kind of reminds me a tiny bit of Love Actually, with the three separate stories going on (well, two so far, but I notice it's a WIP so I assume the third is to come!) Right from the start it feels so Christmassy, with your lovely description of the snow and the happy families. And maybe it's this joyful opening that really sets a contrast when you start talking about the first couple in the story - a couple that's falling apart as the rest of the world is celebrating. it's sad, but I found it really pretty, in an odd sort of way.

What I like most about this so far is that you've showed two very different sides to relationships, particularly at a time of year when everyone seems to be happy or in happy relationships (or maybe it only seems that way when you're single.. haha). Here, you've shown two broken relationships -one in the process of breaking, and one that takes steps towards mending in this chapter. I just really liked the way you touched on these two relationships in various stages of disrepair and that you linked them so seamlessly! That transition between the two was really lovely, as the first section ended with falling apart, and then the second bit began with an already fallen apart relationship, building up from there.

The Scorpius/Rose section was so sad and I hope they are able to work out what their feelings are for one another. I think their inability to convey their feelings into words seemed pretty realistic, as they're young and confused and it just seemed very normal for teenage love. Aw. Hopefully they figure it out.

And then Vic and Teddy, I could just feel the unsaid things and the kind of awkwardness between them as she visits her old flat for the first time in months. I think you wrote this scene really well, how it starts off in kind of stilted dialogue because neither is sure what to say, and then that old box of memories just opens everything back up again and they're able to talk freely again because they're both so affected. So the Christmas magic worked for them :) I can only hope the same for Rose and Scorpius later on!

Thanks for the swap, this was a really lovely start to your fic! :D

 Report Review

Review #12, by Rumpelstiltskin Home

10th December 2015:
Hello, lovely! Sorry for the delay!

Oooh, there's so much in this that I love! The introduction is fantastic -- you really set up the wintry feel. What I enjoyed most about it is that it has that disembodied narrative feel to it, like the voice-over at the beginning of a Christmas film, as it takes us into what's happening. I was already excited to see what was going on with the three relationships.

Reading about Rose and Scorpius was heartbreaking, but I understand her confusion. Love is a ridiculously confusing thing, especially in those teenage years. I really hope that, when the story progresses, he'll be able to answer her question (about why he loves her) and she'll find an answer of her own. I love the idea of ScoRose, so hopefully that ship will sail!

Then, I loved the transition from what appears to be a crumbling relationship (or at least a rough spot) to a relationship that has already ended, but becomes mended again ♥ ! It's really a brilliant transition.

The way Teddy and Victoire got back together was so lovely! A fond memory can certainly ignite such strong memories! It really was sweet, and I love that their love was reignited. Maybe Rose and Scorpius need the same kind of dose "of a little Christmas magic.

Anyway, I'm definitely interested in seeing who the next couple will be and what will be going on with them, and I also hope that there's more on the ScoRose!

Thanks for the swap, dear, and great job!

-Rumpel

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login