Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Not Fade Away
  
135 Reviews Found

Review #1, by scorprose How Many Roads

29th May 2017:
Hi. Excellent story but very sad that we wont be able to read it. However, i do understand the reasons and would like to wish send you a huge thanks for letting us into your world of fantasy. Loved every chapter every character and every moment of all your stories. Be assured you are highly talented and a gifted person to ever write on this potter world. Will surely look forward for any of your other stories with the same hope and enthusiasm

 Report Review

Review #2, by whykay How Many Roads

22nd May 2017:
I read the plot. I must say it's breathtakingly exciting, even the summary / sketch / outline gave me goosebumps. I think it is outstanding and I really wish you didn't feel the need for it to be a more Marauder centric story - in my opinion, it needn't have been. There are such great characters in there - some of the storylines tugged my heart.

I simply loved Graham. All the other characters too - Hargreaves, Marlene and Jack, Mary and Dory - OMG, Mary's murder gave me the CHILLS, Dory too. Mckinnons. Emmeline Vance. Fletch. Poor poor Jack, coming back in the end. I like how you planned to portray Randal as pathetic, it really rings true. I am sure your ideas for Alice and Frank would have really shone through as well. And of course, Mary's bike. It HAD to be hers. It doesn't make sense any other way.

Honestly, there are so many more hero stories out there than the ones that made the headlines. It was really a war and everyone did their part, up front and at the back too. I think that has been the strength of your writing throughout!

Hogwarts era, you created a parallel canon fiction that rang so true. I truly believe Tanith, Gabe, Cal, Toby and Nat existed in the periphery of HP and that they did what they did, especially Tanith and Gabe.

This ability to cut through cliche and carve out superb characters who have fatal flaws and moral dilemmas has been your greatest gift and I think this makes for an EPIC marauders ERA story. I really really hope you would reconsider. But I am also thankful and glad that you published the storyline, for my sanity's sake. I woudl have agonized over this for years to come and would have probably haunted you with questions in all these fora.

And I say no, NO SLIDE OUT. Never say never ever. :)

Please do consider converting at least this story into regular world fiction. Because the plot is amazing and I am pretty sure and confident you can take the magic out and yet retain the magic.

 Report Review

Review #3, by deepdesire23 How Many Roads

18th May 2017:
Hello! I just want to say how amazing your work is and I have so enjoyed it over the years! I've just been over at your blog to read your posts about leaving the story, and while it is super unfortunate for all us readers, I very much understand your reasons for it, and have a huge respect for you for sharing these reasons and not just abandoning! I've long since left the fanfic world, only checking once in a while for your updates. If you end up finishing the other story, great, I look forward to it! And if not, rest easy your readers worlds won't end! I do hope you have plans for your own novel, I'm sure it would be amazing- you've already proven what a great storyteller you are.
On another note, thankyou for sharing the details of the rest of the story, had it been finished. I've had a hunch for a while that Jack would survive, but end up leaving the magical world, and sadly this would have been true, yet it makes sense, he would have been the last man standing.
Thanks again for all the entertainment over the years and best of luck!
-Jen

 Report Review

Review #4, by hedwig Another Lonely Day

12th May 2017:
The Order! I was wondering when that would first pop up. I love all the attention to detail and politics in this story, but it's nice getting some major plot movement as well.

 Report Review

Review #5, by scorprose Another Lonely Day

9th May 2017:
OMG! That last line ooops. How she actually goes bringing down the dark lord. Cant wait for more. Excellent writing dear.
One complaint though - We need more of Potter-Lily conversations. They do end up more short than the others.

 Report Review

Review #6, by scorprose Rain and Snow

6th May 2017:
Hi. Loved it again. Was dreading in your absence of updates.

Author's Response: Good news is that my last exam is on Thursday. Which means, with my next update due Monday/Tuesday, I am HOPING that if not the 15th then by the 22nd to move to a weekly update schedule for summer. I really want to get first year finished this summer, it's been ridic.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Annabel Mare Rain and Snow

5th May 2017:
AMAZING. Would like to see more of Hargeaves though...

Author's Response: Hargreaves is an important character of NFA - one of the most important non-POV characters along with the other Marauders and Dory, and we will absolutely start to see more of her. In some ways she wrote herself out of being a presence at the current point in the story; her interactions with Graham were meant to continue but she came out too stubborn, opinionated, and principled to call him out and distance herself from him any later than she did.

But things will change and she will be closer to the centre stage again, and soon.


 Report Review

Review #8, by whykay Rain and Snow

28th April 2017:
Graham. Now you also know that standing by the side is as good as doing it yourself. Still you can't get yourself to move. It's sad.

Emmeline is a great character. I would love to see how she challenges them further.

I am glad Marlene put a stop to Jack's moping and sulking. That was unexpected and very thoughtful and welcome.

Lily and Wick will have a semi showdown about the incident. I am waiting to see how James and Lily will interact too. Considering she did mention both Wick's and James' names when distressed.

Hope everything's going well. So used to faster updates from you! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jane Lane Never Gonna Be the Same

14th April 2017:
Great! Would like to see what Hargreaves is up to in the next few chapters...

 Report Review

Review #10, by whykay Never Gonna Be the Same

13th April 2017:
This was great!! I can see so many signs for the future . Never going to be the same again. True words.

Fate of Dearborn
Attitude of Jack
Black family disapproval of Sirius and Marlene
Wick and Lily
Lily and James

I admire Marlene in this - she has really shown her true colours and they are good. New friendships are likely to be formed.

Now, who was behind the attack? I don't think its Randal - does he have that much clout to get dementors?? Or .. it might have been him if someone higher up wanted him to prove himself at no extraordinary cost to themselves (meaning, muggles and poor muggleborns)..

I feel for Jack, who has to remember seeing his friend's soul sucked out of his body and dying. Mr.McKinnon did try to put a better spin on it, but yeah, Jack has lost his muggle friends and doesn't have many magic ones either. I suspect he is going to alienate Lily & Co. and go to blaming them for a while.

Lily, is only going to get stronger, more resolute and I think, more clever. What doesn't kill you makes you stronger. I think this has sounded the death knell for Lily and Wick, hasn't it? Sure, it's not going to be right away and just when Lily's been attacked, but it will get there eventually.

James has wizened up, I think Sirius is going to do the same, at a horrible cost to Marlene, I suspect and fear. :(

And as for Dearborn - I don't think he is going to last in Hogwarts for longer after this. A pity.

 Report Review

Review #11, by whykay Gone Any Day

23rd March 2017:
OMG.. take good care!!

This chapter and the previous one somehow didn't feel very authentic to me, they don't click as well as your other writing and plots do. It just feels a little too grim and tidy, if I may say so, and nothing like the feeling the other dementors in your others fanfics inspired. I am hoping that the next chapter will prove me wrong! It throws the plot around a lot more.

 Report Review

Review #12, by hedwig Gone Any Day

20th March 2017:
Oh. My. God. I don't even know how to respond to this chapterit was so incredibly written that I feel like I'm in shock after that ending. I knew this was going to be a darker, more raw look at the marauders era, but this was at another level. You are so talented, and I'll be eagerly awaiting the next chapter no matter when that is

 Report Review

Review #13, by zira Writing on the Wall

7th March 2017:
This is really exciting! I'm relatively sure Marlene is behind Gutters, and it's nice to see that she's started to take a stand in different areas of her life (of course, I could be wrong about Gutters, in which case it's still nice but I'm assuming there's more behind the scenes than there is) and I hope she and Sirius don't last much longer (I'm not sure you intended the Sirius and Wick scene to be super flirtatious but that's how I read it and I thought it was hilarious).
Amy and Fletch... I have a feeling they're both going to die. I love Amy, she seems like the type to go out in a big explosion since she's already having trouble containing herself (she seems passionate and principled underneath her shell) and Fletch... was never mentioned in the books, which does not bode well for her. I love the dynamic between Amy and Graham, and I think it's going to push them both to commit. It's definitely elder Mulciber who is features in the books, so Graham... might die as well?
I can't wait for them all to get back to school!

 Report Review

Review #14, by scintillated Whatever I Want

5th March 2017:
Your Graham point of view is really descriptive, like it just seems so airy, in a way. It's very different than some of the other POV's, and his point of view just seems very...dreamy, in a way. I really like it, though. Like about Amy and the doors - I thought that was a great comparison.

I'm surprised that they don't think that Lily is that much of a threat. It's probably because of their huge egos and prejudice, but still.

That part about Alecto was worded really nicely. I really liked it, especially since you know, I hate Alecto. And I'm not surprised that Saul treats women that badly.

Well I guess at least Randal's taking Lily seriously. He's in quite a predicament there, but he's the most serious about this whole blood purity thing than the most of them. Graham is on a much lesser degree than Randal, and it's obvious in their argument. But Graham is smart.

I seriously don't know what to think of Emmeline. She's very complex, that's for sure. But I want to learn more about their past, it seems to be tied into Graham's emotions immensely.

Wow, that Amy and Graham scene was something. The way you wrote it was amazing, especially this part: "He could feel the pressure of her fingertips through his thin shirt under the heavy, open-fronted robes, feel the warmth of her touch, feel, despite all her quavering poise, the lack of hesitation, the absolute certainty as she reached out. His breath caught, head spinning even further, the heady sense of escape, of freedom, of utter surrender to the whispers of the wind hed tried ignoring his whole life -" Like I don't even know what to think anymore.

I think that Sirius is far from the war in terms of blood status. Like Remus is a werewolf, which makes him a target. James is a blood traitor, which makes him a target. Peter - well I don't know about him. But the Death Eaters could think that Sirius has a chance of turning back. But I think that soon enough he is going to get extremely involved.

Poor Remus. I feel bad for him now, too. I always feel bad for him, but I feel like so far in this story he hasn't been much of a focal point?? But I still love him.

Oh man, Fletch. I don't know what to think of her anymore. But I can see her viewpoint, and I think that her and Sirius, if she ever fesses up, could make good friends.

 Report Review

Review #15, by scintillated My Name is Called Disturbance

5th March 2017:
I'm glad that you show some of Marlene's bad qualities - like how she really doesn't like Jack. And now I just feel bad for Jack, for the breakfast thing. I always feel kind of bad for Jack.

I love this line!!! " Hes the prince of poncy wizards, aint he? Heir to the hair fortune. " It's actually so great. Especially when Jack then compares Lily to a queen.

Marlene is revealing a lot. I like how she doesn't like Jack that much, even though she's really nice and all that, it makes her a lot more realistic. And how Jack doesn't like her, either. But Jack really is loyal, that I can say.

I feel bad for Jack. Like a lot. I love how you manage to portray the characters differently from different points of view, like the James here has a different vibe than in Lily's point of view, but he still feels like the same character, you know?

With this conversation, I still feel bad for Jack. Like he's so used to being lonely, and Lily isn't even spending that much time with it, and well, I just feel so bad. And how he thinks he's the worst of the worst, just because he's poor.

I actually love Jack like so much. He doesn't really like James, but he's willing to play nice just so that Lily doesn't have to deal with fights between her friends. There are some people who wouldn't do that.

I'm glad you're portraying Hufflepuff in a different light. How not all people find it some sort of happy, cheerful place.

Jack is a really aggressive guy, and when combined with his loyalty - well I certainly wouldn't want to be Clagg. I don't like any of these Hufflepuff boys except for Jack, they all seem like a bunch of pansies, plus Travers who is just a jerk. Although they're all jerks.

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #16, by mymischiefmanaged Anarchy in the City

5th March 2017:
I love this chapter. Jack's such a wonderful character and you've already given him so much depth, but seeing him here with the people he grew up with just increases that complexity and warmth inside him. I love that he has these people who are part of his history and who still care about him even though they know he's not being honest with him. And I think it goes some way to explaining just how much he resents the wizarding world - Hogwarts has given him a home but it's taken him away from these people he feels safe with.

I also like how strong you've made Lily. She probably is overreacting a little bit to go rushing off into London by herself when she doesn't really understand where she's going or know anything about the area, but she shows such genuine love for Jack and it's such a poignant moment when she insists that she's going to help him. He clearly doesn't expect her to stay, even though he should know by now that their friendship is something special, and it must mean a lot to him to have his two worlds join up like this.

Also I loved Lily using her Monopoly knowledge to understand London.

Wonderful chapter - I look forward to whatever comes next xx

 Report Review

Review #17, by scintillated Heart of Stone

4th March 2017:
James seems to be growing up a lot, like he actually feels a lot different from the beginning of the book. It's kind of sad, really, how tragedy causes someone to grow up so fast. Like most guys his age are normally so childish and you know, teenagery - but here, everybody's being forced to grow up.

I really like this James/Lily dynamic. Like not as a friendship or a relationship or anything like that, but just the two of them and the way they interact. It's just really fun to read and I can really picture their conversation.

Poor Dory. I could only imagine how she's struggling with her feelings about Mary and not endangering her. I can see why Lily was so light about it though, from what I've seen about her character it seems like the kind of thing she'd do.

"Lilys heart sank as she soaked in his white shirt, red tie; how very Muggle he looked as he approached. " This really made me realize that the Slytherins aren't going to take anybody who doesn't reek of wizard seriously. This whole section just made me sad, especially since this buildup is so realistic, like that could happen.

The conversation between Jack and Lily really shows the difference between a Hufflepuff and a Gryffindor. Jack is loyal, and Lily is brave. Like Jack will fight for whoever he cares about and Lily, you know, and she'd fight for anybody (even if it's a bad idea).

Oh man, I feel bad for Wick. Like he tried so hard to stand up to the Slytherins, but now that the Muggleborns are being attacked, he's blaming himself.

I really hate Professor Abernathy. He is way too prejudiced to be a professor.

Wow, the Slytherins are getting more and more brash. I'm glad Lily stood up to them, though, and that her lessons are actually helping. Plus, I really like this line: "Oh, Im sorry, Lily drawled, not feeling courageous so much as drunk, like bravado had robbed her of wits and gone straight to her head." It's a really good description.

That final scene was really uplifting. How people united against the Slytherins - it's the biggest piece of resistance so far. The consequences are going to be bad, though. I'm worried for Lily.

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #18, by scintillated Trouble on the Way

1st March 2017:
I really like your descriptions - they're so beautiful, like when you write this: "...the woods quivered with fear. The Forbidden Forest could never grow accustomed to these forays; no creature, no matter how deep they ventured, stood their ground easily against a werewolf." It's not necessarily a description, but the way it's worded is very good!! All your descriptions in the full moon are so beautiful, really.

What I like is how your writing changed a bit - like when they're animals, somehow I can sense the difference. It can't pinpoint it, but it's more - animally?

The argument between James and Sirius highlights Sirius' irresponsibility and James maturing. Is it also some sort of foreshadowing, for when Sirius accidentally leads Snape to the Whomping Willow? ;)

But then afterwards - James/Sirius is like the best bromance in the world.

Oh man, Gutters is back! I thought it was going to be a one-time thing, but I guess it isn't. Now that's getting me even more curious!

I feel so bad for Marlene. Like she obviously cares, and her heart is going to be broken. Poor Marlene.

Wow, Abernathy used to be part of the Knights of Walpurgis! No wonder he's so anti-Muggle, he could have been a Death Eater. Even if it really was nothing but a "rather melodramatic gentleman's club" at the time.

Amy's been skipping Care of Magical Creatures?? Wow, what happened with Graham really affected her. Fletch is also really not one for emotions, I can sympathize with her on that aspect.

Also, did I ever mention that I like how you use the word 'racist'? Because I think that in the books, they just called them purists - this makes the reality of the situation much more evident to us, the readers.

Avery scares me quite a bit. He's honestly very scary if you pay attention; even in Graham's POV, where they are friends, he is scary. Especially here. He's so good at manipulation as well. That, I think, is even scarier.

"shed spent so long making herself there to soothe the insults and ease the needs of these kinds of rich boys that it was inevitable, she supposed, it would backfire some day." I actually feel bad for her now, especially when from this point of view. Like this section really made me sympathize with her so much more.

Wow, the Slytherins are even more cruel than I remembered. Just because Aubrey was singing - and I can tell you that you've done an amazing job with this chapter. I really feel with Fletch - like if I'm being truly honest with myself, I would probably do something similar to what she did. Especially when they did something like carve the word "mud" into Bertram's chest.

Amazing chapter!!

 Report Review

Review #19, by scintillated You Can Run

27th February 2017:
Well, we're seeing Graham start to care about Amy. A friendship between the two would do wonders, I think, and I'm really excited to see how you develop the relationship between the two throughout the rest of the story.

And that moment between Graham and Amy, while it lasted, was glorious. I really liked how you wrote it; your descriptions of setting has always been really great. But what Amy said was true, about how he still treats Muggleborns relatively badly and doesn't stand up for them. Hopefully this moment makes Graham realize a few things!

"Are they? She looked up. Or do we just say that so we dont have to pretend were better?" This quote really stuck to me. I really do not know what to make of Cornelia Fletcher.

Sirius doesn't suspect anything, and it makes me so frustrated. I really hope that he realizes something. But is Fletch feeling something along the lines of guilt as well?

I like Lily, and I like Wick, but I don't like Lily and Wick. At first, I was happy for them, but I don't know, the more I read about them together the less I like them as a couple. But I still really like Wick, and I still really like Lily, so.

And I'm so glad that Mary finally got to become the Seeker!

I really wonder who wrote Gutters. Maybe it was Wick all along.

Also I love how you're including a lot of the Potters' background in this. Like James Fleamont Potter and the whole haircare thing; all these tiny canonical details just make me squeal every time I see it.

Aw, Dory's reaction when Mary hugs her! That was so cute!!

Author's Response: Graham does care about Amy, for various reasons and in his own way. But it's be a disruptive friendship if it would develop, as she has no tolerance for being the Exception, for him treating her differently to any other Muggle-born if he's going to treat others awfully.

Fletch wants to do right by her friends but her code tells her to look after her own skin first. But it's one thing to think that when it's just school and money; when it's lives and LITERAL skin, it's harder to be so selfish and be comfortable with it. And yes; Sirius is one of the few people who doesn't treat Fletch awfully, so she's feeling pretty guilty for using him.

I definitely wanted Wick to be likeable, but he and Lily can't be perfect together because she'll be perfect with James!! So we'll see them together and we'll see them apart and the relationship will be important for them both, especially for Lily's arc.

Poor Dory. Such a crush.


 Report Review

Review #20, by scintillated That's How it Goes

26th February 2017:
Fletch - Fletch is a complex person. I dislike her, sure, but that doesn't mean that I can't appreciate her character. I think you've done an extremely good job with Fletch; the neutral characters are often the ones that you have to keep your eyes out for. Those are the ones with the most conflicting ideas.

Like Amy, Amy's starting to show her Muggleborn pride and spirit a bit more. She's starting to become more honest. And Fletch, well her point of view actually makes a bit of sense. Like the more I read of her, the more I understand her. I don't necessarily like her more, but I do see the way she works; and wow, is she one heck of a character.

I'm glad that Lily really did get him over the match and into something else. Also the Marauder's Map! I'm actually liking James a lot more now: Like when he says: "I made this about the war. He tapped his wand on his hand, leaving inky marks on his palm from where hed been inscribing. So lets fight a war." That is such a powerful line. When I read it, I just thought about the beauty of the line. Your writing is really amazing, you know.

And in this chapter, we really see James maturing. I know he still has a lot to go, but he's different than in the beginning of the book. I actually really like this James.

Also, I actually don't hate Peter. Like normally, I always hate Peter. But you've made him into this real boy, not this cowardly, traitorous man that he doesn't become until later. I'm very glad you did this.

You know, in a way, I'm kind of glad that Gryffindor lost. It got James to lift his head out of his butt, and I would have been scared to see Mulciber's reaction if they had lost the match.

Whoo hoo, James/Lily development!! Honestly, I'm so curious about Gutters now, I can't wait to see who wrote that.

Dearborn and McGonagall's conversation was an interesting one. Dearborn is obviously younger, and he definitely has different ideas as of how to protect the students than McGonagall. I see what she's saying, but I still think that she should pay attention to the people being attacked inside the school. And so that is why Dumbledore isn't there, because he's leading the Order. That's what I assumed in the beginning, because it makes a lot of sense!

This chapter was really great, especially with all the James/Lily interaction. Onto the next one!!

(Also, I realized in my review on the last chapter, I misread the scene of the Slytherin party. And while I do think that Randal is very focused on the war, I do think that the other Slytherins are choosing to ignore it right now. But they can't forever.)

Author's Response: God I've been neglectful of these reviews!

Fletch is on the one hand complex, on the one hand... not? She has quite selfish motivations which are equally fairly sympathetic, and she struggles with that to varying degrees. And sometimes she's just fine and dandy staying out of things. She's not enormously likeable but she's on her own journey.

James has turned a corner, partly thanks to himself and partly thanks to Lily kicking him out of his funk. He's been struggling with all sorts and is now finding a direction to channel his frustration - and deal with it. I tried to make Peter real, too, while still canonical, which is... hard. Canonical Peter has always been a bit unbelievable as such a great friend of three enormously strong personalities.

In the grand scheme of things, the Quidditch game was just a Quidditch game. But it's definitely made Mulciber bolder, which is dangerous in its own way. And then again is also encouraging the writer of Gutters, who's a bit of a divisive firebrand with their behaviour.

Dearborn isn't actually younger than McGonagall (also I think our perception of McGonagall's age is often coloured by the great Dame Maggie Smith, plus she's much younger now than she was in the books - I think she's around 40 right now?), but he's been doing things very differently. While she's got to think about being in a school and how to manage that, while Dearborn is more blunt. Neither of them can do much right now, alas.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by scintillated Landslide

26th February 2017:
Hey, Amy came to visit Graham! I'd like to think that this is the start of a budding friendship :D I also like Madeline a decent amount, she doesn't seem good or bad, but she seems like a good sister, and that's enough for me.

I think that Randal and Graham are lying to themselves, in a way that not everybody is thinking of a coming war or a political statement. The war has taken over their lives just as much as the Muggleborns, because war is inescapable. Especially for the people starting it.

The losing ideal - that really struck a cord. Even if the political statement is something that is a bit less to the snakes, it certainly was huge to everybody else. And this is definitely having an adverse effect. Well, at least you have to go down to rise, don't you??

I really don't know what's going on with Travers. He's definitely a future Death Eater, but being friendly to Jack, a Muggleborn - if their friendship was an escape in the first place, then why is he doing it now? I'm looking forward to see how complex you make Travers in the future; the fact that he's a future Death Eater and ex-best friends with a Muggleborn is already plenty complex.

This Quidditch match really was James' battle, of what he could do inside of the school. And you've described his defeat, his reaction quite elegantly. The James/Lily scene was really great, and for the second chapter in a row my Jily shipper heart is sCREAMING. But even more than that, Lily is pretty inspiring. She's definitely one of my favorite characters, in the top three.

Poor James! I feel really bad for him now - and his dad is definitely dying sometime soon, after all, none of the parents are around for their deaths. And poor Lily! This just shows the isolation that Muggleborns face in wizarding society - it shows the things they have to deal with.

This chapter was really deep, and I loved it so much.

Author's Response: Madeline has been sheltered from the worst of the war by both Graham AND Randal, for what little good it's done. We'll see more of her. Same with Travers; his motivations aren't that complex, but they're not easy to see right now.

This really is where the James/Lily train gets started, and Lily is finally starting to show how she can use her fire to help individuals, not just causes. James has a lot of healing to do along with all of the growing.

This chapter is one of my favourites, so I'm glad you liked!


 Report Review

Review #22, by scintillated More Than One Day

26th February 2017:
This line: "This wasnt just about a Quidditch match. This had become, with Potters frenzied pledges, a political statement." This line sums up so much. Even I was tense during this chapter, which just proves to show how much you've drawn me into the story; I feel for the characters and feel as if I, myself, am with them too.

Sometimes, I can see James' genuine feelings about Lily, and it makes my Jily shipper heart scream. I can't wait until James grows up and Lily grows up and they both have an epic romance, knowing your writing, it will be great even if it is most likely a slow burn.

To be honest, I strongly dislike Fletch. Like not just from other points of view, even in her own point of view I dislike her. But I think that's what makes the story so interesting, in a way.

You know, I predicted a Graham point of view for the Quidditch match, but I didn't think that Sirius would have one too. I really like the way you wrote the ending of the first Graham scene, it was really beautiful. I feel like Sirius is also starting to be suspicious; I really hope he figures it out and stops giving Fletch the tactics. I don't understand how people trust her - as I think I've said many times before, she is so shady.

Not surprised that the Slytherins are playing so dirty; in a game where you'd do anything to win, it really shows the difference between the Gryffindors and the Slytherins. The Gryffindors are being honorable, the Slytherins are not.

Ugh, Fletch makes me sick. Like I hate her even more than I hate Graham, the almost Death Eater. And that's saying something.

AND NOW I'M REALLY UPSET. I really thought something was going to happen during the Quidditch match, that Gryffindor would beat the odds. I guess not. But is that italicized bit in Graham's section him praying? Imagine the statement this win is sending. I'm cringing thinking about the outcome.

But this chapter was so enrapturing - you switched POV's so artfully, I was at the edge of my seat the whole time.

Author's Response: You are very right, James and Lily absolutely BOTH need to grow up. Fletch is being an awful person here; she's not at rock bottom but this is one of the more distasteful things she'll do. People don't distrust her that much because it doesn't occur to them she might be spying; for them, it's just a fun little way of gambling with their pocket money. They don't realise that for Fletch, this is a whole flow of finances which helps her get by.

And yes, that italicised bit is Graham praying. Faith will also play a part in this story, as another thing to examine in the conflicting cultures.


 Report Review

Review #23, by scintillated What'll You Do Now

26th February 2017:
I feel a little bit bad for James, after seeing his reaction to Lily and Wick's date. Not that much, though, as we all know what happens in the end... ;) Now I feel bad for Wick!

I wonder who wrote Gutters - it must serve some other purpose than making Professor Drake look bad; those articles had to be written for a reason, about the Mulcibers and Dorothy and Dumbledore. I'm trying to think of somebody who has a grudge against all three of them, but really, I can't think of anyone.

The stress is really getting to James, isn't it? I feel bad for Dirk, and the whole team, really - they're going to lose, because of Fletch. Maybe she'll have some sort of change of heart, but I doubt it really. Or maybe - plot twist - Graham will. As in, he'll know what the game is about, and in some moment of heart, will let Dirk catch the snitch. I doubt it, though.

But right now, I like James a little bit more than I used to. Sirius' POV really gives insight into the real James.

When Graham is running to the stable, I really can't tell if he's doing it for the grade, or if he cares about the animals. But later on, I can see how he cares about them a bit more - I find it funny that Graham and Amy are the only students to show up. Don't any of the others care about their grade??

Wow, this really gave a lot of insight into Graham's point of view. I sympathize with him a lot more, about not getting his culture and traditions wiped out, but I still wish he'd find some way to stand up to everybody else. Because to them, it's obviously not about their culture, as Amy kindly pointed out.

I have a feeling that Graham's like a wild card in this story. I have no clue what he's going to do, he could go either way. Just like Fletch, to be honest.

Amazing chapter!!

Author's Response: James will get over it. Or, not. WICK might get over it some day. Or, not!

The writer of Gutters - all I'll say is that they have some political agenda, some personal agenda, and also a little bit of an agenda of writing so as to deflect suspicion away from themselves.

Dirk can't quite cut it in James' team, and James needs to relax. He probably won't. I'm glad Sirius' POV makes James more sympathetic, it's one of the main purposes of hearing from Sirius.

Graham is absolutely heading to the stables for the animals. As for the other students, they either didn't realise the stables were in trouble (Graham almost didn't spot the roof coming off, after all) or assumed it wasn't that bad and someone else would take care of it. And yes, Graham could go either way. Sirius almost has it easy, being a blood traitor - he hates his family. Graham doesn't, but his family and friends are wrong.


 Report Review

Review #24, by scintillated You Started Something

26th February 2017:
I really like Jack and Dory's friendship! I don't think I've seen much of it, but from this first scene, it's really great :) And wow, I wasn't expecting Dory to like Mary, this should make some interesting complications. I really hope that Mary likes Dorcas back!! Also, every time I read Jack's POV, I just love him that bit more. That part where he compared his leather jacket with Sirius' made me sad for him, especially since Sirius is such a FOB.

Also, haha, Wick and Lily are such nerds! (I mean that in the most lovable way possible) And I was definitely not expecting that for Wick's family; I'm glad we got some background into his life. At least it explains why his name is Gerald!

Hmm I wonder what this paper is all about? I know that the Slytherins don't like Dumbledore, and that the Gryffindors hate Drake, but who would dislike them both? The only person I can think of is Fletch, and she wouldn't give her services out for free. Here's to hoping we find out in the next chapter!

Author's Response: This is the first real time we see just Jack and Dory; it's important to examine all parts of a trio! I thought it'd be interesting to draw attention to the class contrast between Jack and Sirius, not just the heritage contrast; Sirius is a bit of a poser, but he can do all the things the 'genuine' Jack cannot. Like pay for stuff.

This really is the chapter for class, though, because Wick is the other counterpoint to Jack; another Muggleborn, with a completely different experience of society. But yes, poor Wick, he has no desire to go by the name 'Gerald.'

Gutters shall continue to be a mystery for a while, yet. ;)


 Report Review

Review #25, by scintillated Can't Hide

26th February 2017:
Jily is my OTP, but somehow, in this story, I find myself shipping Lily/Wick a whole lot more than I do Lily/James. I hope that the Hogsmeade visit goes well; somehow, I have a bad feeling about it. But I'm glad that Wick asked Lily. (Also, I laughed when Lily mentioned the thing about not being able to imagine herself marrying a pureblood, because, well, James).

Honestly, I don't like Fletch very much. I know that she's very neutral in this war; she does whatever benefits her. But while I don't like Sirius that much either, I do feel bad for him, as she's duping him quite a bit. And she's just so shady, I don't think anything good is going to come from what she does.

I really liked this chapter, though!

Author's Response: James is not yet worthy of Lily, and Lily is not yet... empathetic enough to be a match for James. Wick/Lily plays an important role, but one of those roles is certainly helping Lily grow up and think more of others in means beyond just fighting for them.

Fletch is up to no good, really, no.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>