Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Never Been Kissed
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal Philemaphobia

9th January 2016:
Hello,

I'm sorry it has taken me so long to get a review for you. Life got in the way of reading stories for my challenge but I haven't forgotten. This was a nice and interesting story.

You paced this nicely, I like your little inclusion of Geroge and your unique perspective. It is not often that I see a Next Gen story that is not focused on the child of one of the 'golden trio'.

Over all lovely job and I enjoyed the read you handled the classic mistletoe trope very nicely and gave it a unique twist. Again nice job.

Author's Response: Hey Marshal!

Don't worry - I take like 10x longer when it comes to leaving reviews for other people. :)

There are a lot of stories out there that focus on the golden trio's kids - and while I do write about them a lot, I'm with you - reading stories about the other Weasley's are a lot of fun, and I really enjoyed writing Lucy much more than I thought I would!

I'm so glad you liked this! I got a good kick out of coming up with the mistletoe bit, so I'm happy it worked out well.

Thanks for R&R'ing and for your awesome challenge!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #2, by Crescent Moon  Philemaphobia

3rd January 2016:
Loved this. So good and very funny.

Author's Response: Thanks! I had a blast writing it!

Thanks again for R&Ring!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Owlpost68 Philemaphobia

12th December 2015:
Aww this made me feel all warm and fuzzy! Such a good job, it was a really good idea giving her a legitimate fear of kissing and then her first kiss. Also, loved George. I wonder if he knew about her fear or not.
The beginning was a little confusing, but that was only because I clicked on Kenny's link on the advent calendar and went from the review to the story and didn't know who the main character was, but I just clicked the link for the story description and found out. I just never really thought of any of the Weasley families having a big important Christmas party so I thought (before I found out it was Lucy) it was at somewhere like Malfoy Manor or something lol. Anyway, You did a great job giving details about the characters without it being unnatural. It helped that they'd never had a conversation before. Really, it was super cute, you did a great job!
Personally, only found like one typo and it was only supposed to be 'It' starting the sentence instead of 'I', so good job if it was still rough around the edges!

Oh, and yeah, done for advent Calendar day number 12

Author's Response: Heather!!

*hugs* You're too sweet! I'm glad that you liked this. I think I mostly write a lot of fluff because I like giving people warm and fuzzies. :D

I think I found that typo you were talking about and fixed it... but I might've missed it... hopefully I found it!

Thank you for reading and reviewing my story, Heather! You're absolutely fantastic!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #4, by randomwriter Philemaphobia

8th December 2015:
Hello Lizzie! It has been months since I've left a review, and for some reason, I feel like I've forgotten how to write on! So I'm sorry if this turns out to be pretty meh. Oh, and before I forget, this is for the Red vs Gold Battle, and I do believe it is worth double points (so yay!).

So, I mentioned that I'm reviewing in ages, but I should tell you that it is also the first fic I am reading in quite literally, forever. I'm glad I started with this. It was light hearted, fun, an easy read, and it left me with a giant smile on my face.

Poor Lucy! She seemed so awkward and confused half the time, but I think she possesses more social skill than she gives herself credit for. I immediately connected with her though. While I may not be a socially awkward person, I do lack a mental filter, and I believe she is a bit like that, telling Lucas he's straight out of a fairytale and all that without thought. I also liked that she was at ease with him for some reason and not all the more tongue tied because she found him attractive and had once had a crush on him. I also really love that you've made Lucy unique. She's got characteristics of both Molly and her dad (and perhaps Audrey too though you haven't explored it here), but at the end of things, she's still her own person. And I completely agree that one should do what they're passionate about. So I like that she's taking her time to figure things out, no matter how much the confusion frustrates her.

As for Lucas, he was a bit too perfect, but I guess we could all use some indulgence now and then. Also, a one shot doesn't often leave us with much room to develop our characters and really put them through too much, especially one that all takes place in one setting and over a short time frame. However, yours description of him was absolutely dreamy and I did feel 'swoony' (swoony?) when I was reading about him :p Especially towards the end.

George initially seemed a little out of place, both in character and placement, in terms of the story. You introduced him right out of the blue. I wasn't expecting him to show up. But then I got the sense that he was there to create mischief. But he was being so nice and saying all these really mature things, which made him seem slightly off to me. But you redeemed him with that mistletoe thing. A slight aside though, Lucy makes a valid point about the cons of it, and I was curious to see if there was a solution :p

About the actual kiss, it was a little cliche, yes. But it was enjoyable and it made me fluttery. I'm not a huge fan of fluff, but if it must be done, this is a good example. :p

I also like how you've seamlessly incorporated o many challenge briefs into one story. I'd struggle, honestly.

As for CC, I mentioned a couple of character inconsistencies before. I'd like to add this, though it may only be a pet peeve. I don't think George would say 'Toodles'. Sorry if it's just me though!

Also, when Lucas asks if Lucy would trust him, I felt like Lucy would be the kind of person who'd point out that they'd just met. I don't know why exactly, but that's the impression I got from the rest of your story.

Your writing has come a long way since the first time I read it! The flow of this piece worked really well. It was easy to read and nothing seemed choppy. Overall, the story was very 'feel good', and it was a good way to re-start things for me. Good work, and I look forward to reacquainting myself with your stories :)

Author's Response: Adi!!

Gah! I feel pretty lucky that you're deciding to read and review MY story as your first story in a long time! It makes me feel so honored! :D

Hehehe, Lucy is pretty much me whenever I talk to people - especially cute guys. :P It's like, instead of getting all tongue tied because there's a cute guy, I just get even more blunt than I normally am. It's kinda sad, really.

But Lucy isn't sad, which is a good thing. :P

Ah, Lucas IS a bit too perfect, isn't he? Oh well, it's only a one shot and I kinda like him being perfect for at least one night (I have evil plans for that boy in another story of mine... mwhahahaha!) - I mean, it's fluff, right? :P

Haha, yeah, George is kinda weird here. I wasn't originally planning on having him in the story, just mentioned, which is probably why it comes across weirdly. At some point in time I'll go back and fix it though... :D

I did fix the "Toodles" thing though. I figure "Ta Ta!" is slightly less weird. I don't think it should be something that George normally says because I kinda feel like he's going out of his way to embarrass Lucy, and saying something ridiculous as he walks away totally adds to that. :D

Anyway, thanks so much for leaving such a fantastic review, Adi! I really am lucky!

Keep being amazing my dear!
Lizzie

(Sorry this response is kind of short... I'm kinda short on time at the moment. :P )


 Report Review

Review #5, by Frankie05 Philemaphobia

6th December 2015:
Lizzie Lizzie Lizzie!!

Holy Moly this was fantastic! I can totally see why it placed in the first kiss challenge.

I havent really read much from Molly's point of view. I think I have such a huge aversion to Percy, I just ignore his whole family. BUT you've made me really interested in Molly and her life. I like how you set things up for this story.

I like the slow build up from seeing this extra sexy man, to talking to them, to George's cameo, and then the kiss. It all was so good! The dialogue was believable and I actaully enjoyed reading this story the entire way through:)

The quote was perfect holy moly. I loved that he used that - speaking to her to calm her down from her fears. Like all the yeses in the world!! and then the kiss! I was squealing. I didn't know how much I wanted that until you showed me that's what I wanted. And he was a Hufflepuff. All the yeses.

I think you used the quote so nicely and it worked so well with the story, and I really really enjoyed it.

I will say I liked George's part in the story, it's completely relevant, but I think he kinda popped on the scene pretty quickly and it confused me. Like OH HEY my uncle's hanging out in the bushes and comes out right as I'm talking about him. But that was the only thing I think I really saw that was confusing to me.

Good luck with all the challenges :)
Frankie

Author's Response: Frankie!!

Awe! Thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

I think there are a lot of people who have an aversion to Percy and his kids when it comes to Next-Gen characters. When I was coming up with this story though, I decided that it really worked for it to be one of Percy's daughters to have a fear of kissing. Somehow it just made sense. :P

Haha! The quote WAS pretty perfect, wasn't it? I love the way that it turned out!

Oh boy, you're absolutely right... he does kinda pop up out of nowhere. I'm torn between leaving it because it's kinda funny and changing it because it's a little creepy. Hmm...I'll have to come back to this at some point and see what I want to do. :P

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, Frankie! And for issuing such a fun challenge!

Keep being amazing!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #6, by princesslily_36 Philemaphobia

23rd November 2015:
Hey,

princesslily32 from the forums here.

First of all, I am really in awe of you, for writing a one shot that fits not one, not two but FOUR challenges! I must say i was intrigued when you told me the concept on the thread.Definitely original!

Crazy uncle George is just hilarious! That mistletoe prank - genius :D The whole exchange was just so natural and effortless. At no point I had to pause to wonder or scroll up to understand something. I simply have to admire how you have managed to combine four challenges in one. Lucas was so sweet, and Lucy was so.. original! The kiss in itself just blended with the story - didn't feel awkward or forced. In short, it was a really amazing read :D

Thank you so much for entering the First Kiss Challenge :)

Author's Response: Ysh!

Hehehehe, I think I've managed to write three one-shots that were each for four challenges at this point. I'm not sure why I do it, but it seems to work out okay! :D

The mistletoe prank came to me out of nowhere! I had no idea what I was going to do that was going to put Lucy in a position where she HAD to kiss someone until I came up with that. Then I just ran with it!

Thank you so much for issuing such a fun challenge! I really enjoyed writing for it! And THANK YOU for placing this story 2nd in your challenge! I was so excited when I found out!!

Keep being amazing, Ysh!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #7, by dumbelldor Philemaphobia

21st November 2015:
/slides in/ i'm sorry, did someone say LUCY WEASLEY? Honestly, if I read 'Lucy' I immediately am on red alert and need to read it Now. I don't know why or how, but I have this deep undying love for Lucy Weasley above all other next gen characters. Don't ask me why.

But anyway, this story is so cute! I made a couple of squeaking noises while reading it that's how good it was. It was adorable, and I love the whole first kiss with a fear of kissing. It's cute, and really original. It was really well written, and I loved it. Looking forward to reading more from you!

Author's Response: Hello!

Haha! Oh, Lucy. Not many people are big fans of hers, but I have to say, I quite enjoyed writing her in this story! I think I'll probably end up writing more of her at some point in time. :)

D'aw! Thank you so much! You're too sweet! I really liked the idea of the first kiss and a fear of kissing as well. It's such a weird concept so trying to put it all together in a story that made sense was kind of hard.

But I'm glad it paid off!

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! It definitely put a smile on my face!
Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #8, by The Basilisk Philemaphobia

18th November 2015:
NaNo'er, you've been bitten! And I'm happy to be the first to review this one-shot!

I adore awkward Lucy and weird Uncle George, though some parts of my propriety shivered when she did not call him Uncle and just referred to him by his first name (I'm an old creature, maybe too old for sssuch informal changes :P). Adorable Lucas man, is adorable. Ssseems like Lucy is "cured" of her fears, wonder what could possibly happen next. You selected an excellent POV for this one-shot and told us everything we needed to know to get your story across. I don't have any lingering thoughts or hangups about the plot, pacing, or characterizations. This was very well-written, I wish you much ssuccess with your NaNo project :)

Author's Response: Hello my dear Basilisk!

Ah! Thank you for stopping by and reviewing this story! :D

You have a valid point there, actually. I went back and fixed that up a bit, so she calls him Uncle more often.

I actually don't know if Lucy is "cured" of her fears. Maybe in that moment, yes, but not necessarily forever. Perhaps that could be an addition to this one-shot at some point... :P

Thank you again for coming by and reviewing!
Lizzie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login