Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Artistic Liberties
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Girlforeverlost Wild Nights

13th March 2016:
I loved it! The party was fun, I'm glad Lindy got to cut loose for a little, I feel like she's so wrapped up in her responsibilities she doesn't get to be a teenager often. James bribing them upstairs with presents was funny, and getting a healer for a beetle is great too. Can't wait for them to get back to the forest!

Author's Response: I think sometimes it's hard for me to think like a teenager so I forget to let my characters be one! James might just be the smartest of them all with his bribery skills! We will be back in the forest next chapter and hopefully the underlying plot will thicken like some good gravy! Thanks for leaving such a thoughtful review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Anonymous Wild Nights

13th March 2016:
Just read this entire fic in one sitting, I'm in love, can't wait for an update!

Author's Response: I'm so, so glad that you liked it. Reviews like this definitely motivate me to get up and write so hopefully I'll get the next one up soon! Thank you for the lovely review and the impressive feat of reading all of it in one sitting!

 Report Review

Review #3, by grednforge217 Art Class

15th December 2015:
Thanks for the shoutout! I love your story, please keep writing it. Lindy's burgeoning friendships are excellent - I like her and Rose as buddies, it's very sweet! And Lindy bargaining with Neville is excellent - that girl is brave. :) Can't wait for the next- Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely reviews! I'm working on the next one as we speak (well not literally because I'm answering this review, but y'know). I know. I don't think I'd try to haggle with Neville. I just feel like after painting his wife for him as an emergency present, she kind of owns him. Thank you for the review and happy holidays! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by grednforge217 Pretend Dementor

15th December 2015:
I love how you used paint as a metaphor for Lindy's need for control - it's so cool! And Freddie encouraging them is pretty much adorable. And the dementor is such a great POA throwback - I'm so glad that you included it. Good luck on your thesis!

Author's Response: I'm very much like Lindy in that I'm a complete control freak, so it was easy for me to write that part! ;) I want Freddie to seem more dynamic than just James' sidekick. Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by grednforge217 Paintbrush Wands

15th December 2015:
Isolating them is the perfect way to get them to clash, and I love that you did it in such a clever way! Their mutual interest in magical creatures in such a cool touch, I'm really enjoying it. And the weird Fairy/Imp thing (Fimp? Iairy?) is an excellent find! Are the two of them going to team up and study it further? :) Here's hoping!

Author's Response: Oh, the fimp (I'm using that term from now on) will definitely be studied further! I like to think that James isn't the kind of person to truly stay mad long, but he tries anyway. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by grednforge217 Coffee Burns

15th December 2015:
I love that she's creating this guide! And James is so into magical creatures - in most incarnations of him in fic, I usually see him running a bar or being an auror. So this is such a cool departure from the James that I usually get, and I'm really digging it!

Author's Response: I like to think James has more depth than just following his father's footsteps, no matter how noble it is to be an auror. Thank you for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by grednforge217 Biting Gargoyles

15th December 2015:
Binns is still teaching? Well, he would do. And James reminds me so much of his grandfather, I love it. And partnering them up? Oh yes. I can tell that Lindy will have a really fun semester. I love that she's good friends with Hagrid, as Hagrid is the best.

Author's Response: Binns will never retire! lol. James thinks he's sneaky, but he's not. I like to think that since the Weasleys and Potters were cool kids (most likely) a lot of other students would also want to be friends with Hagrid (obviously that's not Lindy's reasoning though). I like to imagine he becomes the most popular teacher. Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by grednforge217 Snogging at Sunset

15th December 2015:
Okay, so I love, love, love this story. Lindy is adorable - I love her voice in this story! And the backstory about her family is really interesting, I like reading about characters that experience Hogwarts in a different way than Harry did - her worries about money are so realistic! I also love the details about the magic portraits - I had never really thought about how they came to be until I read this - it's so cool to think about all the different jobs there are in the Wizarding World that we don't really get to see!

Author's Response: Six reviews all at once! I was sooo excited to log in today! ;) I'm really glad that you like the way I write Lindy. I think a lot of times we only think about jobs at the Ministry when there must be plenty of other options out there! Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Girlforeverlost Art Class

14th December 2015:
Awesome! I loved it. I'm excited for the gala, and I want to know more about the creepy forest people! So glad you got a chance to update, I love this story :)

Author's Response: I'm about halfway done with the next chapter so it should be up before queue closure! :) I'm really excited for the gala and the creepy forest people aren't gone for long! ;) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Leah Art Class

12th December 2015:
Im sorry I just realized Ive never reviewed this story before! I love your interpretation of James as being nerdy and adorable but also still famous, which is to be expected from the son of harry potter.Probably one of my favorite interpretations of him! Also, I love how unique your story is, and how 3-d your characters are! Please update soon!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you like the story! I'm on winter break for a month so I'll definitely be writing loads more! :) Thank you so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ebeneezer Scrooge Snogging at Sunset

11th December 2015:
Snogging? At Sunset?!! Bah Humbug. I was sure that was when the ghost of Christmas past was due to arrive! Why bless my soul, what a wonderful story and all in one night! Hey you boy, you with the sleigh, what day is it...

Author's Response: lol! Thank you for the lovely review, Scrooge! I hope the ghost of Hogwarts past isn't too rough on you!

 Report Review

Review #12, by HPFantasticks Pretend Dementor

6th December 2015:
hi,
thank you for this story!! I got here through your Squad, which I loved, and I read this in one go. Addictive and different take on James than I have seen. Great characters and also, good humour! I hope that you do well with your thesis and wish you great holidays, and a lot of time to write:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked both of my stories! As much as I love the devastatingly handsome quidditch addict I usually read, I like to think James might have been a bit of a nerd too! Your review definitely lifted my spirits!
Happy holidays! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Girlforeverlost Pretend Dementor

25th November 2015:
Ok, I'm totally hooked on this story. Seriously, I keep rereading it, and I'm loving it more and more. I can't wait to read more- I need to know whats going on!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm such a bad person and I've only barely started the next chapter. Finals and the holidays, you know! But I'll finish writing it on my drive back home, I swear! I'm so glad you liked it! Your review is my new motivation to finish! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by pottered  Coffee Burns

28th September 2015:
aww james is so passionate and adorable. he's the absolute /cutest/. i also loveee lindy; she's so effortlessly witty and funny. also: really cute! james and her have so much chemistry c: i especially loved the ferret part aha it was hilarious! xx

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you like it! :) Thank you for the fabulous review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by beka_wotter Coffee Burns

24th September 2015:
I really loved the dynamic between James and Lindy!! As well I think the guys are funny, the sentence about Brett and Freddie arguing for an hour over their made up backstory for Peeves made me laugh a lot and I really love Rose too, she is just how I picture her and I like the arguments she has with the professor, basically I really love all your characters! I can't wait to read the next chapter! x

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! You may have just inspired me to finish writing the next chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by veila Coffee Burns

17th September 2015:
Just read the new chapter and thought I would leave a review. After only three chapters I can't say that much just yet, but so far I really like it. Lindy is fun and I am glad to see a slighlty different James, than just the usual devastatingly handsome heartbreaker. Already looking forward to your next update.:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you like it. The next few chapters I'm hoping to do a lot more character development on both of them! Thank you for the super awesome review! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by pottered  Biting Gargoyles

5th September 2015:
this was such a cuteee chapter! i love love /love/ lindy so much. her characterisation is so lovely and witty. also, rose and potions situation was so funny but true!
aw jealous james is so adorable lol he so fancies lindy and lindy's so clueless about it. cuties.
can't wait to see how their partnership in care of magical creatures will turn out aha xx

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like it! I'm not going to lie, their future relationship may take a little while to develop because I think the chase is the most fun! I'm about halfway through the next chapter but I'm out of state right now so it might be a few days before I put it in queue! It should pick up shortly though! ;) thanks for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by beka_wotter Biting Gargoyles

3rd September 2015:
I really really like this story so please keep updating because I can't wait to keep reading!

Author's Response: That gives me warm fuzzies! I'm glad you like the story! I'm about half way done with the next chapter. There should be some actual action coming up! :) Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by LadyG Biting Gargoyles

2nd September 2015:
Wonderful chapter, and I'm glad that James took Lindys advice seriously, those statues were a bit creepy :)
(You do know that Rose is in the same year as Albus, not James? (And as of yesterday we now know that it's 2 years between them) But what year Rose is in isn't an issue that will put me off reading.)
Good luck with the next chapter, hope to see it soon!

Author's Response: I am aware that she's with Albus, but I thought she'd be an excellent contrast to some of Lindy's character flaws that will start to show up pretty soon and I can't imagine many teenagers hanging out with kids two years younger! I'm glad you liked the chapter! I know, I know, they were creepy. But you see some of the weird stuff people do for celebrities and I thought it would fit. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Leah Snogging at Sunset

29th August 2015:
This is really good! It's an interesting idea and the main character seems really interesting. Can't wait force next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the words of encouragement! :) Chapter two is in the queue right now!


 Report Review

Review #21, by pottered  Snogging at Sunset

29th August 2015:
hiii.
so i just /had/ to check this out because, firstly, the story title seemed too good to ignore aha. also the summary! and maybe also the fact im sort of obsessed with james/OCs .-.
im sooo glad i read this because it was honestly really good! i loveddd the OC lindy and the artistic plot. i really didn't expect the james statues thing but it was hilarious! i loved it aha also lindy being friends with woozy is so cute! the way fred and james kidnap her??? but she outsmarts them; yes! i love her. plus your writing is sooo good. your descriptions are amazing. so yes, basically, i really liked this aha.

P.S. just a piece of advice (??), i think you should also tag this with James/OC in the 'pairing' category. it'll probably attract more attention because some people mainly browse the james/OC thread, i think?? so yeah ;p

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the tip and feedback! I changed it to James/OC immediately! :) I have another chapter up for validation! I hope you really like the story and I'd love to have your feedback and expectations as it continues!

Thank you!
Paula


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login