Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for What's in a Name?
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoy What's in a Name

12th September 2015:
Oh my goodness!! Once again, you have completely floored me, Ellie! You are SO talented!! *Adds to favorites*

First off, combining the 'What's in a Name?' quote with Draco Malfoy is. just. BRILLIANT. It's made obvious in the books that Draco and all of the Malfoys see themselves as better than everyone else because of their name/family/blood, and so it was amazing to see you explore that here.

It was incredible to see Draco's transition, to see him start questioning whether his name really made him superior to others. And I think it's very realistic and accurate to say that Draco was fooled by his father - I highly doubt Lucius would have told Draco "Yes, I served the Dark Lord" - I think Draco would have been lied to, just like everyone else - and certainly evidence from the series seems to support that idea. So again, I can't tell you how brilliant it is to see you exploring Draco's disappointment in his father and his family name.

Also, I could be wrong, but I think this is the first story I've read that showed Draco sitting in the chair, waiting for his trial, having been in Azkaban and feeling broken, so a HUGE kudos to you on that for originality and pulling out a key moment from the series and making a story about it!

And I LOVE the ending - it definitely explains how/why things changed for the Malfoy name after DH.

I can't tell you enough how well-written this is, or how much I enjoyed it! Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm so pleased yo liked it! It was a lot of fun to write this one

 Report Review

Review #2, by awesomepotter What's in a Name

14th August 2015:
Hi! I'm so sorry that it's taken so long for you to get this review, but here it is now!
I really love this one-shot. I have to admit that I love Draco as a character, and I thought you wrote him really well in this. He was completely set in his ways even when people started to question them, because he just put it down to jealousy and carried on believing his father's prejudice, but it was only when he couldn't find an excuse for something that he started to doubt it. I thought that this was very true to Draco's character, and I really liked the way he was written in this.
The section towards the end, where Draco is in front of thw Wizengamot after the war - the description and imagery was so vivid it gave me a serious case of the feels :( even small things like the fact that he didn't want his son to be crying in a prison cell implies that he did, and that mental image nealy made me cry! I have such a soft spot for post-war Draco, and your writing - just - aaah. I'm sad now.
I really like what you did with the prompt, too - your writing showed initially how important the Malfoy name was, both to Draco and his family and to the rest of the world, but then also how it meant that he was hated and treated badly himself because he was a Malfoy. And the bit at the end? Are you trying to kill me with feels today? Really, that's not cool.
I loved this! You're an amazing writer xxx
-Grace

Author's Response: Hey Grace,

Thanks so much for hosting a great challenge. The prompt was a lot of fun to write for, so I'm pleased you enjoyed the fic.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #3, by pinamouse What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
Very well done! Thanks for writing this.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. Your support is appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #4, by pinamouse What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
Very well done! Thanks for writing this.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. Your support is appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #5, by 4fan.ci What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
Love it! Love that Draco is contemplating the value of his name from Azkaban. It delivers a hefty punch. Thank You.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. Your support is appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Don't Trust The Silver Eyes What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
I loved it! It was so nice to see Draco understand his mistakes and visibly grow up and mature. I love your happy Draco stories the best, but this is magnificent. =)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. Your support is appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Alea Thoron What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
Marvellous story. I love your Draco and your insight into his character.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. Your support is appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #8, by niknik0201 What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
Interesting concept. Loved Draco's internal monologue

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. Your support is appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #9, by zoesheppard What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
Excellent story! Very enjoyable.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you enjoyed the story. Your support is appreciated.

 Report Review

Review #10, by MuggleMaybe What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
Hi Ellie,

Finally made it over for the review swap - and I'm so glad I did!

I actually wanted to read this story anyway. I think I saw it in the challenge thread, and I was impressed by the direction you went with the quote. I never would have thought to use Draco, but it works PERFECTLY.

You have some great prose here. My 3 personal favorites:

1) It had taken him a long time indeed to figure out that by some people’s approximation he was a jumped-up snivelling little git.

2) It had taken the branded stinging burn of the Dark Mark into his young flesh to teach Draco that what’s in a name doesn’t necessarily reflect what’s in a person.

3) As he was asked to provide the names and associations of any and all people who’d in any way supported, followed or sympathised with Voldemort, Draco knew he would live up to his name.

I think that last one is especially important. As the story progresses, Draco seems to be rising up a moral high road as he gains insight on his name and his identity. It's cathartic to undergo that process with him, but it also gets a bit lofty. Just at the right moment, the mention of consequences like these brings us back to earth. He's still Draco,the Slytherin. He'll still sell another man's soul if it means keeping his own.

Structurally, it's really cool and interesting how the story circles around to end where it begins, with the idea that being a Malfoy is a good thing. You execute that cycle well, so by the end the same idea actually means something complete different, nearly the opposite of its original meaning.

I have a piece in the queue for this challenge right now... Eek! You are tough competition, girl! :D

Wonderfully done!
Renee

Author's Response: Hey Renee,

Thanks so much for swapping with me. I really enjoyed your story and I'd never been by your page before, so it was wonderful to come across a brilliant new author. Thanks so much for all those lovely things you said about my story. I was worried it might be a bit dull, so it's good to know you enjoyed it and found it realistic.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #11, by darkkid What's in a Name

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

I really enjoyed the last story I read from you so I'm back for more! Thought I'd drop by for your newest story and leave you your first review on it!

I'm a huge Draco fan. Anything Draco and I'm happy.

I like that Draco has some inner turmoil almost about his surname. Being a Malfoy means something, maybe not to him, but to other Purebloods. To his father, especially. A Malfoy must do this and that and be great and. blah. I can't imagine how annoying that could be.

And growing up feeling like you're above everyone else, which is surely what Lucius taught him, before a harsh realization sets over when he goes to Hogwarts.

I like how Draco is determined to make sure his own son doesn't have to face the same harsh reality that he did. Malfoy WOULD be a good surname, in a way he will undo what his father had ruined.

I like that

Super great read!

-raisha

Author's Response: Hey Raisha,

I'm so pleased you liked it. I've been nervous about this one as I worried it was a little flat and tied up a little too neatly. Thanks for checking it out.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login