Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Like a Multiverse on Fire
  
36 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan Cafe

18th May 2017:
I'm so glad that Millie and Lily have become friends, Millie is such a hermit she needs an extroverted friend to like keep her in the loop with everyone else her age. I've always wondered how people like Lily are just so comfortable with going up to someone and making conversation like I don't have the courage to do that. Lily, what is your secret?

I'm going to need everyone to just own up to their feelings like you know it, your friend knows it, the strangers around you have probably picked up on it so like just admit your feelings. I'm so excited for when things really hit off and everyone comes to the realization that they like each other but I'm also really excited to see the build up and where it goes.

I'm just generally very excited.

Author's Response: Millie is the ultimate hermit. She really needs someone like Lily in her life, for sure. I am also not sure what Lily's secret is. Perhaps, she will tell us some day...

Owning up to feelings is for n00bs. Besides, if everyone owned up to their feelings, where on earth would we get our daily dose of drama?

Yay! Excitement! Thanks for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan Spider

18th May 2017:
I'm not gonna lie, I'm squealing in excitement. Your writing has improved so much since Like a House on Fire I'm shook and also very excited for what new stories you come up with.

Sirius was cute, I admit it, it was adorable that he was frightened of a spider and immediately went to Milly for help. For two people who are absolutely losing it internally at the site of the other I'm very impressed by how together they're managing to keep it. Like the other person can't even tell that they're freaking out internally.

I love this kind of Hogwarts AU sort of setting because I feel like for a lot of people you kind of get the best of both worlds in a sense like you get the university trope but you also get the Hogwarts magic and stuff.

Anyways, I'm just very excited.

Author's Response: I know! Six years is a long time!

Sirius is the best, isn't he. Being scared of spiders is somehow just icing on the cake.

This Hogwarts AU has been a lot of fun to play around with. I'm glad you're enjoying it :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Spider

2nd April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi! Oh my goodness, I really, really need to read more of your writing. I know I only read the first chapter of Like a House on Fire yesterday but this story is already amazing and I'm so glad that I got to read it.

Honestly, this is everything I could ask for from an AU story. I would love to see the Marauders (or most of the characters from HP) in college/university and this was just brilliant. I couldn't help laughing out loud at some parts - Sirius as a frat boy? :P (I mean, we don't even have fraternities here in the UK, but just the image is so hilarious.) Anyway, I loved the point of view switches and the way that we got to see the relationship building up between the two characters, and their perceptions of each other. Neither of them have any clue at this point how the other actually thinks and feels about them, which makes me smile even more about their interactions.

Millie seems to think he's kind of distant and unattainable, like Sirius will never be the sort of person who moves in her circles - and so while she probably likes being asked out by him, she doesn't think he means it. Sirius, meanwhile, is absolutely adorable with his crush on her, and not knowing what to say or do for fear of looking pathetic.

Sirius being afraid of spiders is just brilliant, though! I'm more like Millie towards them myself (probably because I haven't ever come across any as dangerous as Acromantula) but his reaction was adorable - running to her for help when he's only dressed in a towel :P It made him vulnerable but was also kind of hilarious, and it worked really nicely as a way to get the two of them to spend time together.

Since this is AU, I'm really hoping that the rest of this story is all happy and fluffy and I get to keep smiling. Sirius/OC stories are so often sad because of the way we know that everything ends for them, so I'm hoping that there's more fluff and happiness here!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Haha! Yesss! Read more of my stuff, because I love hearing from you!

This AU is everything I want to see in an AU story, too! What ARE the odds? It's fun writing my favourite troublemakers making trouble in college. Plus, I get to draw on my short American college experience, which is always fun!

It's fun playing with Sirius' image, here. Everyone thinks he's this super cool dude who has to be admired from afar, Millie included, and Sirius is here like "pls be friends with me".

I'm Australian, so I have the proper respect for spiders. Writing Sirius' reactions to spiders is great fun.

Yes! You will get to keep smiling! I am not a fan of angst, so that's one more reason to write a Marauders' AU because NO ONE HAS TO DIE.

Thanks for reviewing, Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Pixileanin Spider

2nd April 2017:
Hi there! I'm here to check out your multiverse version of the cool story I read a while back. Firstly, I'm pleased that Millie is focused on maintaining her excellent GPA and finishing her degree, instead of "other things". I tend to enjoy the more mature characters to rabid teens. So I'm very interested in how things will play out between the two characters in this new setting. So far, it's fun. She knows of Sirius Black, but she's just been too busy with important things to care about anything regarding him. Good on her. Now he'll have to work harder. :P

Ah, but the initial attraction is set up well. Millie doesn't want to care, but there are these niggling things about Sirius that are already getting under her skin. I like how you don't make them hit us in the face, that they're subtle, but unmistakably present, and very hard for her to ignore. I love that Sirius is neat and tidy. That would be a big turn on for me as well. :)

"Hells bells, was he fifteen?"

lol. It's nice to see Sirius unbalanced. I don't know why I get this insane pleasure from that, but I do. And the way he keeps talking, like hanging out would somehow translate into a date, but Millie blessedly doesn't fall for it so quickly. Good on her. Your snappy dialogue is always a pleasure to read, you know? The quickness in which the scenes move, and the way the sparks fly around the screen... nice opening chapter!

Pix

Author's Response: Rabid teens! Hahaha! To be honest, Millie was like this in her teen years, too, but I didn't write about it all that much. And I'm pleased to see that you're still pro Sirius!

Those first inklings of attraction are always so subtle, aren't they? And neat and tidy Sirius just makes him more perfect, tbh.

Unbalanced Sirius is the best Sirius, in my opinion. Thanks for the lovely review, Pix! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Dirigible_Plums Spider

2nd August 2016:
Hiii. I know it's technically not our birthday anymore in your timezone, but it is in mine so this birthday review is completely on time. :P

While I love love love the Marauders, I actually don't read Sirius/OC fics that much (apparently I gravitate towards Jily), but the fact that this is a college au attracted me straight away because I love au fics. Like so much. And since I love the Marauders too, this is a v. attractive fic.

(Warning: I will probably use the word 'love' a lot because apparently I love everything.)

The fact that Sirius is scared of spiders is actually glorious. I can empathise with him a lot - I mean, I suppose small stationary spiders are okay, but I'd rather just not. Therefore, his immediate reaction to practically break Millie's door down is completely understandable, half-naked or not.

I suppose his crush on Millie doesn't hurt either ;)

I loved seeing their different inner monologues and how they viewed each other. It's interesting to see how they automatically assumed they looked more ridiculous than they were actually being perceived. Like Millie saw Sirius as everyone sort of sees him, as "unattainable" while he felt deranged (lol). She feels like they're not on the same level, he's completely into her. Interesting stuff.

Speaking of which, Sirius is such a guy. Checking out a girl's butt while she's helping you out? SHAME ON YOU, BLACK.

But no, this was an excellent first chapter and I really enjoyed reading this. Hope you had a great birthday!!

Plums xo

Author's Response: The birthday buddy bonds transcends such paltry things as time zones.

Sirius/OC fics are often quite sad, so I also gravitate more towards Jily. But they sure are fun to write! I'm new to AU, so we'll see how this little experiment goes.

(I am glad that you love everything.)

Spiders are scary! I live in Australia, so I completely understand this fear. Even little ones can be terrifying.

The half-naked thing is a bonus, really :P

Crossed signals are such fun to write, especially when there's crushes involved. It livens up any scene.

Thanks so much for the lovely birthday review, Plums! I was totally not expecting it, so it was a wonderful surprise :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Crush

23rd May 2016:
For a second I thought that it was Sirius that she noticed, because his hair is beautiful and poetry could, and probably has, been written about it.

Who is this golden haired adonis? I am intrigued now. For many things... the main one is Sirius' reaction to it. Although I do really want to know who this guy is.

Gilderoy?


James definitely has stalker tendencies that he should work on... IMPROVING! BECAUSE THIS IS AMAZING STUFF! STALK AWAY JAMES! IT'S BRINGING ME JOY!

Look at James having good ideas! That boy has grown! I'm so proud! :D

This chapter is full of staring contests! I love how similar they all are without even knowing it.

Ooooh not Gilderoy, but a Scamander. :D This is good!

I love Frank!

I agree though, it's all very pineapple.

Another wonderful chapter! This story is so hilarious and I love it so much!

Author's Response: One could definitely write poetry about Sirius' hair - I myself, may or may not have... :P

We all know Sirius' reaction right? "Why don't nice things happen to nice people?!?"

Haha! I think everyone enjoys James' stalking - with the exception of Lily and Sirius. And he's just full of them good ideas.

I also love Frank.

And pineapples. I also love pineapples.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Bacon

23rd May 2016:
:O Lily made out with Potter? I thought the guy was too absorbed with finding different coloured cups!

YES! he found the cups! I'm glad that his quest was sucessful, this brings me much joy.

Hahahahaha that is the but that was coming indeed.

I don't think that Lily can get away with ignoring it happened, James is going to stick around like a bad smell.

Talking is definitely the way forwards.

Another wonderful chapter! Now to the next! :D

Author's Response: Of course Lily and James made out! Who can resist those multi-coloured cups? Thanks so much once again for continuing the epic reviewing bonanza :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Cups

23rd May 2016:
:O Go Millie! You get the number of that cute barista! :D She'll be batting them all off with sticks soon.

I would say that Millie is strange... but I would totally do the same as her and do my laundry at 1am.

OMG YES! GYM SELFIES AND INSTAGRAM! YES! I LOVE THOSE IN AU FICS! All I need is for you to feature Snapchat and I shall scream in happiness. Early morning selfies from a Mr. Black just for Millie. :P


I would wear those t-shirts too, Remus is an adorable chap!

I love Millie so much, she's so different and so wacky and I love her! She says what we all think! :D

Oh those boys and their adventures! :P

Sirius is so adorable with his crush on her, it's so sweet!

Ah Sirius was shot down instantly, poor guy haha. At least it was because she was just surprised by it.

Ahhh she's playing hard to get!

I am going to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha! Millie is definitely the type to literally be batting them off with sticks.

We are all a little like Millie, I think, even if we don't admit it.

I think including modern pop culture references and blending the real world a little more into the Wizarding World is one of my favourite things about writing this story. I'm glad you like it too!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by alicia and anne Cafe

23rd May 2016:
I remember reading the first chapter of this and getting excited, so I am here to read more! :D YAY!!

I love that this is a muggle (magic) AU, it brings me such joy!

Aw look at Lily spending her break with Millie. :D

Oh James and Lily have an electrical gaze going on. They so want each other! I can tell :P

I think that Lily and Millie are going to be the best of friends. :D

I can just imagine that James isn't descreet in the slightest, that he's the worst at trying to sneakily look at someone.

Ahhh! I think that Sirius is going to have a bit of a chase on his hands for Millie's affections, and it is going to be so fun to watch. :D I'm so excited about this.

Oh those friendly neighbour winks... I get them regularly from my neighbours... can't go five meters without receiving one. Oh Millie! :D So precious.

I love coffee shop scenes! I think they are definitely a requirement in a college AU.

Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Yay that you're back for more!

Haha, yes indeed! A muggle (magic) AU is proving to be a lot of fun.

Of course James and Lily want each other. Electric gazes mean nothing else.

Oh, Sirius is in for a bumpy ride! Sirius probably isn't going to enjoy all of it, but I hope everyone else does :P

Thanks so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheEmotionalTeaspoon Spider

10th May 2016:
I think pineapple. (is that good? I hope that's good, I like pineapple.)

I've been meaning to read this for a while, and thanks to hot seat I finally got my bum over here, and I'm so glad I did. This chapter was loads of fun!

“Forget about the hanging out part – just the date. Would you like to go out on a date? With me?” Sirius felt like banging his head against a wall. Who the f*ck would she have thought he meant? Nearly Headless Nick? - Oh my goodness, I definitely giggled at this part, among others.

I think this is a wonderful first chapter, I just love how you write Sirius; he's so fun and sweet! I can't wait to see how the relationship develops; I think this is just the perfect feel good story. And what a treat that you opened with a shirtless Sirius, I mean, could I really ask for more?

At first the Hogwarts college concept was a bit jarring, as I'm very British and I kept catching references to GPA's and getting confused for a moment, but after a few paragraphs I was totally on board! I think this could be a really carefree, fun way to put a fresh new take on things!

Great job, I love your writing style and I'm really excited for this!

-Kate xx

Author's Response: I think pineapple is often the right response, in any given situation. It is good. I also like pineapple.

I'm so pleased to have made you giggle! That is the aim. Giggling is definitely a pineapple sort of trait.

Yay! I LOVELOVELOVE writing feel-good stories. Another pineapple trait unlocked! As is a shirtless Sirius Black.

I am not American either, so I understand where you're coming from. I'm pleased that it does get easier though as the story goes on.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Kate :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by victoria_anne Cups

4th May 2016:
Lily's excellent bladder control? Sirius dating a girl called Marissa Painsley-Bumbershuffle? Instagram accounts? What's not to love about this chapter?!

The Real Witches of Salem! You are just hilarious, I am honestly so in love with this story! The characters are amazing, I especially love Lily (hey - just realized that rhymes with Millie!)

... Is gingivitis actually contagious?

Oh Merlin - the cups!! There is just way too much brilliance in this chapter for me to list all my favourite things but this story is just incredible!

Aaand I just pictured Newt Scamander having a David Attenborough voice, ha ha ha!!

God I love Sirius. Like so much. So so much.

You have astounded me once more with your writing - the characters, dialogues, descriptions, everything! This is a hilarious story and know that I am enjoying it very much indeed :)

♥ Bianca

Author's Response: Yayayay! Things to love in this chapter! Woohoo!

Aww, thank you so much! I like being hilarious *feels squishy inside*

I'm 90% sure that gingivitis is contagious and that is a little bit terrifying...

The cups are probably my favourite part!

Newt Scamander DOESN'T speak like David Attenborough? Impossible!

Sirius is great, I agree. I love him too.

Thanks so much for this fantabulous review! *hugshugshugs*


 Report Review

Review #12, by Penelope Inkwell Crush

4th May 2016:
Slytherin Hot Seat (Review 5)

...Nope. Didn't manage it. You dragged me back in. It was just too pineapple to leave behind. Or maybe it is too pomegranate. I feel like this story stole me away, and I had just a taste, and now I may not be able to leave for a long while.

I have to say, as glad as I am for Millie that she got to be all happy and excited, I am decidedly not in favor of this crush. I'm very interested to see how Sirius is going to handle it, though. Also how Millie is going to handle it. Talking to him and everything. That should be an interesting experience.

The image of Lily and Millie hunkered down behind the counter, hiding from boys, with Frank chiming in in the background, was hilarious.

Favorite quotes:

"You know who is here.”
--wonderful reference


- “It means that she doesn’t hate you!”

- “I can see how that is a beacon of hope in your view, given how much Evans despises you –”



- “Then make her want to date you! Use your charms!”

- Sirius sat back in his chair, incensed. “I am not Confunding her!”


I think at that last one, I actually snickered. Loved it!


CC:

Millie was sceptical.
--spelling = skeptical

James just brushed this off. “I’m sure Lily will come around.”
“How? She hates you.”

--formatting needs a line break.

And this one might not be a CC so much--just a question. I'm not really sure how it works in AUs. But we know that Newt Scamander's son was named Rolf, and here he's Rafe. Was that intentional? Does he have a brother? Just checking to see.


Very cute chapter. I am going to *have* to tear myself away and go to sleep. But never fear! I'll be back :D

--Penny

Author's Response: Haha! You are finally going to bed! Woohoo! I know I'm replying over a year later, but to me, it's as if you shall be perpetually awake until I reply. It doesn't make much sense, but there it is.

In typical Millie style, she is not going to handle this new crush well AT ALL. Stay tuned. Shenanigans are about to ensue.

Newt's grandson's name is Rolf. I have inserted Rafe as Newt's son. The dates probably don't quite match up but I don't really mind because it's an AU. I'm allowed to break a few rules :P

Thanks for the wonderful review, Penny :) Your bed is calling!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Penelope Inkwell Bacon

4th May 2016:
Hey there! Me again! Slytherin Hot Seat (Review 4),

So, I should really be going to sleep. Really! But someone had to write this super-cute Sirius/OC, and I came over here meaning to leave one single, solitary review before bed, and yet. Here we are. I've been sucked into the Sirillie vortex (Sirillie? Millius?), and I don't know when I'm gonna manage to extricate myself. It's messing with my self-control.

The primary thing I loved about this chapter was the make-out scene. Not between Lily and James, though that was good to hear about. No, I mean Millie's passionate affair with her breakfast. This is the beginning of two great love stories, and at this rate it seems possible that Jily's could be the lesser one. Millie's desire for her potatoes and bacon – we've never seen a love like this. ;)

No, but actually I was very happy to hear of this development on the Jilly front. Lily's taking it better than she might have done, all things considered.

Oh, and Millie's comment about how some people just manage to look more put together, even when they're wearing the same thing as you, is super relatable? Do you think it is yoga? What witchery is this?


“I made out with Potter.”
--I smiled so big it literally hurt my face. I knew that was coming!

If heaven existed, it would probably taste like this potato.
--I enjoy Millie's assumption that heaven is edible


No CC for this chapter. I didn't notice a thing!


Now, is my self-control going to kick in at long last? Will I finally go to sleep?

I suppose we shall see...

--Penny

Author's Response: Sorrynotsorry. (Please go to sleep, though.)

My favourite ship name, courtesy of another reader, is Sillie. Sums them up pretty well, to be honest. Second favourite is Snillie, because it sounds even sillier than the first. The more adorkable the ship name, the better!

HAHAHA! "Millie's passionate affair with her breakfast". I love it! She is a little enamoured with syrup-drenched breakfast foods, isn't she?

I do yoga, and therefore, I can confirm that it is NOT yoga. Some other sorcery is afoot when it comes to how some people are always just so together ALL. THE. TIME.

If heaven isn't edible, I want a refund.

Thanks for the review, Penny! I hope you eventually got some sleep!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Penelope Inkwell Cups

4th May 2016:
Hello again! I'm here nominally for the Slytherin Hot Seat (Review 3), but also just because I want to be. I'm really enjoying this story!

I'm proud of Millie for going out, even though it's not her thing. It's a good experience. Or at least that's what I told myself at most of my college parties. Hey, sometimes they were fun. And if I'd had Sirius Black talking to me, I imagine my enjoyment factor might have risen significantly.

A lot of times when I see Sirius, he's just constantly so "cool" and "detached" and "brooding". I like that here, he still has that reputation, but he also has this huge, awkward crush and is a total dork around Millie. And really, she can't even see it because of his reputation. It's crazy how what we've been told about people colors our interactions.

Overall, this chapter was just hilarious. I'm afraid the rest is going to be comprised almost entirely of my favorite quotes, pulled out for your viewing pleasure ;) :

She’d known that it was just the post-spider eradication high that had made him ask.

“I have excellent bladder control.” Millie didn’t know what to say to that. Congratulations? Your ancient ancestors must have some excellent DNA? May your descendants share the same good fortune?

Marissa Painsley-Bumbershuffle
--
what a name!

“What?” Millie asked, taking another sip of her coffee. “Gingivitis in my teeth?”

--I really do love her dry wit

“Brooding is just rich people talk for moping,” Moony said.

There was a nature documentary about the Pacific Ocean, hosted by her favourite naturalist Newt Scamander, airing in about twenty minutes.
--
Newt! Loved that little shout-out!

“I’m a teetotaler every time I’m given alcohol from a bathtub.”



CC:

“Not if Marissa’s story is true.”
Millie shrugged again. “So what? Bad dates happen all the time. We’re in college. We’re young. We’re stupid. We make out with people who probably have gingivitis!”

--the only thing I saw in this chapter was a little formatting snag. It looks like there needs to be a blank line between "true" and "Millie".


Another highly enjoyable chapter! This is so fun!

--Penny

Author's Response: Yayayay! I'm so happy that you're still enjoying the story. Woot!

I'm quite introverted myself, so I understand where both you and Millie are coming from. They can be fun, though. Part of it is just getting used to them, and learning the social norms, like any social situation. It gets easier after that. Millie's taking steps in the right direction! Of course, if I had Sirius Flipping Black talk to me, I, too, would want to spend more time at them :P

I love playing with that dichotomy in Sirius. He's actually just an average dude. He has insecurities, and hang-ups, and angst like the rest of us mere mortals, but his reputation, precedes him. He's been using it as armour for so long, that now when it's becoming cumbersome, it's suffocating it. It doesn't help that the object of his affections is actually oblivious when it comes to him.

Haha, I was giggling writing this chapter. Glad that translated well!

Thanks for the wonderful review, as always :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Penelope Inkwell Cafe

4th May 2016:
Hey there! Here for The Slytherin Hot Seat (Review 2)

I don't even read AU's generally, and even I know that coffee shop scene's slash au's are iconic, so I'm glad you included this. I feel like I'm really getting the whole AU experience, here ;)

Lily! Lily and Millie are going to be friends! I'm am very on board for this. Also, getting sections of Lily POV was a pleasant surprise. I think you gave her a really fun, believable voice. I do wonder why Millie doesn't seem to have any friends, but it looks like Lily is going to worm her way in there one way or another, so that's good.

Sirius is such a flirt he doesn't even realize that seeing him flirt with another girl might be a turn off for Millie *shakes head incredulously* Kids today, amiright?

And James with Lily's "luminous beauty". Adorable.

I wonder what the Quidditch situation is here. Intramural? Club? College level? It's fun that this is a college au where it's still a magical college. That way we still have a lot of the fun spirit of the books, but it's still something different.


CC: Minor stuff here. Both just extra commas. And as I am the superfluous comma queen, I feel ridiculous pointing it out, but I will, since I know it would probably help me if all my extra punctuation was pointed out to me more.

Lily dropped herself in the seat across from Millie, and smiled encouragingly at the girl sitting across from her, her tall paper cup, sans lid, raised back to her mouth.
--that first comma after Millie isn't needed

Their eyes met for an electrifying instant, before Lily broke their unwanted connection and returned her attention to Millie.
--no comma needed in this sentence.


This was a short scene, but a cute one. I enjoyed getting to see a bit of the Jilly dynamic, as well as some tentative steps toward a firmer friendship between Millie and Lily. Say that 5 times fast: Millie and Lily Millie and Lily Millie and Lily Millie and Lily Millie and Lily. ;)

Author's Response: A big part of why I wanted to write an AU was because of a coffee shop scene. I love cafes, and I've really wanted to write a story that uses them as a setting. Given Millie's deep love for coffee, we will be spending a lot of time here.

Lily is so tenacious! She's quite different from my OCs, and I struggled writing her POV. I'm incredibly pleased that you enjoyed her perspective! Perhaps I shall push myself to write from her point of view once more.

Sirius is incorrigible, isn't he? To be fair, however, Millie did say no. But I enjoy the accidental tension this has caused!

James Potter is forever and always adorable.

Commas are my weakness, I must admit. Thanks for the CCs!

Thanks for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Penelope Inkwell Spider

2nd May 2016:
Hey there! Penny here, reviewing for the Slytherin Hot Seat!

Is Pinepple more or less than loved it? Is Pear negative? Is Pomegranite "I want to be trapped in this world 6 months out of the year?" I need to understand the fruit-based scoring system before I'll know how to properly respond ;)

So, I've been meaning to get over to Like a Multiverse on Fire for ages now! You remember how much I was enjoying LAHOF before. Then the Slytherin Hot Seat finally gave me the kick I needed to get over here and get to reading.

Can I just say HOW EXCITED I AM about this?!

I almost never read AU's. Usually it's just not my thing. But I adore this idea. First off, I usually get sad during Marauder's fics, but an AU means that it *doesn't necessarily* have to end in utter tragedy! WHOO!

Besides which, the idea of Hogwarts as a magical college is a really fun idea. I'm already really enjoying the little hints of how you're going to turn it collegiate, like the mascot, their living in "Gryffindor Hall", and likening the Marauders to frat presidents, so I can't wait to see how you incorporate other aspects of collegiate life into this!

Millie and Sirius are as cute and funny as ever. I liked Millie's dry sense of humor and deadpan delivery. And Sirius' crush is cute!

and Sirius was plenty mighty, he knew.
--this guy *rolls eyes forcefully*. Well, that sounds like Sirius, all right.

“You never mentioned it was an Acromantula,” she replied evenly.
-- this! This is the kind of Sirius Black mockery I am here for.

And Sirius had no doubt in his mind that the spider considered him prey. Why else would it have been lying in wait for him to return from his shower, unarmed and vulnerable?
--Sirius' POV is so quirky, but I really buy into his voice. It seems like a younger, more carefree Sirius Black than could ever have existed in the Potterverse, but like Sirius Black nonetheless. I actually really like the way you write him. It's lighter and less angsty than a lot of Sirius fics, and I find the change of pace refreshing.

These crazy kids and their antics. Good gracious, considering how much mischief the Marauders managed in middle and high school, I cannot imagine what they'll get into in college. But I'm certainly eager to find out!


CC: So, you'll remember that I'm a great Millie/Sirius enthusiast as well as, quite possibly, the worst nitpicker on HPFF. All of my suggestions are just that--suggestions--and obviously they're yours to take or ignore as you will. :)

she focused on her annoyance and asked, “Can I help you?” as cool as the liquid nitrogen they used at the ice cream store in the town.
--(1) I believe should be a comma before "as cool" here, since it's a comparison rather than an adverb, like "cooly". I can't explain the grammar rule for it, but I think that's correct. (2) "the ice cream store in town" might sound more natural than "in the town."

It seemed a *little* odd that Sirius would be so concerned about making a good impression by not stuttering or being rude, but didn't seem all that concerned about crawling to his cute neighbor's door at 3 a.m. because he couldn't handle a spider. Like, most guys I know would be at least a little self-conscious about how the girl was going to see them. It seems like he'd be angsting a bit more over looking like a coward in front of Millie.

Sirius followed Millie around his room, as she looked in every place a spider could possibly hide.
--no need for comma

He’d dragger her away
--dragger = dragged

that she only liked to study in the common room downstairs between the times of nine and one, and that her favourite teacup featured their school mascot, Boris the bumbling dragon sleeping belly-up.
-- (1) "between the hours of nine and one" might sound a bit more natural than "between the times". (2) there should be a comma between "dragon" and "sleeping".

Millie’s eyes widened, before she gave a little gasp and closed her eyes tight.
--(1) There's no need for the comma in this sentence. (2) Since we already are talking about her eyes, it might flow a little better to say, "Millie’s eyes widened before she gave a little gasp and closed them tight."


This already looks like so much fun, and I can't wait to work my way through these chapters and be eagerly awaiting updates! So glad the Hot Seat reminded me I needed to come over here! You really know how to right humor well.

--Penny

Author's Response: Hello! First of all, I want to thank you for your insanely detailed and insightful reviews. They've meant a lot to me, especially since I've lost my mojo for the past year or so.

Pineapple is definitely more than loved it. Pomegranate is "I've been FORCED to stay here for six months every year". Pear I guess reflects however you feel about pears. Personally, I am rather fond of them.

Your excitement is deeply appreciated! I am also very excited for this story. I imagine it's going to be as fun as LaHoF was writing.

The upside of Marauders AUs in my opinion is that NO ONE HAS TO DIE.

If Hogwarts were a college, I'd attend in a heartbeat, not gonna lie. I hope readers have as much fun as I do!

I always regret that we never as readers really got to see the angst-free side of Sirius. He seems like a seriously fun dude (pardon the pun). Another bonus of AUs is that you can take existing characters and shove them in new directions, and see what happens. So far, I'm enjoying where Sirius is going.

Nitpickers unite! Thanks for the CCs, as always!

Thanks for the lovely review, Penny! You've reminded me how much I love writing this story.


 Report Review

Review #17, by victoria_anne Cafe

28th April 2016:
*comes sprinting in*

I AM HERE. FINALLY.

HelloooOOOooo there! I'm standing here mixing a cake as I read this. It doesn't affect the review, I just thought I'd let you know.

Hm, I would have picked Millie as being a cappuccino kind of girl, but there you go.

Ha ha I love how you have Hogwarts needing everything to sound grand!

♥ Lily! ♥

(reviewing as I read, in case you didn't know)

I will never get over how cool the idea of Hogwarts being a college like this is. You make it work so well!! Especially with the canon parts of Lily and James' relationship. I love what you've done with this!

OMG I only JUST realised their last names! Black and White! Ha ha that's awesome!! You sneaky writer, you.

Okay so I'm really loving this so far! You've written the characters extremely well (I'm having to hold back from throwing myself at Sirius, who was unfortunately wearing clothes in this chapter) but placed them in a completely different world, it's so great!

Keep up the good work, my dear :D

Love B

Author's Response: I don't think I've had anyone come sprinting in. I am a little flattered!

It only affects the review because I do not have the cake.

She probably drinks cappuccinos just to mix things up. But she's definitely a chronic black coffee drinker. I am worried for her caffeine intake.

LILY. Millie is halfway to being one of her fangirls, I swear.

Thank you for liking the idea! College AUs are usually sans-magic, but I'm enjoying including all the magic I still can.

Hahaha! I always giggle a little when I get to write their last names close together!

I always throw myself at Sirius. I have no self control. I am pleased to have another fangirl.

Thanks for the fantabulous review! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #18, by EnigmaticEyes16 Crush

22nd April 2016:
I love reading Millie, she's hilarious. I'm also very excited about this new and famous crush! But at the same time I'm just over here, flailing my arms around at the screen like "But what about Sirius!?"

I'm very curious to meet this Rafe Scamander though when the time comes. I wonder how him and Millie will meet... And I'm even more curious as to how Sirius will react when he finds out Millie has a crush on someone else... Oh boy...

I also love how James is trying to help Sirius with Millie. I mean he does have a point. Millie's only ever technically turned him down because of circumstances. So, really he does have a chance. And she finds him attractive, but of course, he doesn't really know that. I would like to see him woo her though and show her that he's a real person under all the pretense.

I also love how perfect Millie and Sirius are for each other, both never really knowing how to open up to people, especially the opposite sex it seems. I mean, Sirius is a playboy but he doesn't seem too willing to open up to women if the Marissa fiasco says anything. And Millie just doesn't know how to talk to people in general. Except for Lily.

Also, will there be Quidditch anytime soon? You say James and Millie are both on the team. I'd love to see some of this incorporated in the story!

Also, I like Frank. I'm glad the male barista finally has a name. And I love how he's completely eavesdropping and putting in his own two cents on Millie and Lily's conversation while they're hiding behind the counter.

Another wonderful chapter! Thanks so much for updating!

xxNix

Author's Response: What about Sirius, indeed! But he's a big boy, I'm sure he'll be alright. More importantly though: DRAMA!

Drama, drama, drama! That's all I can say when those three lives collide.

You are very clearly Team Sirius. (I am also Team Sirius what am I saying?) James is a cutie, who just wants to see his friend happy.

Millie and Sirius are quite similar - but is it in all the wrong ways? Perhaps, perhaps...

I'm still on the fence with Quidditch. I've mentioned it a couple of times, now, but I'm not certain whether or not I want to write a Quidditch scene.

Frank is great. I also like Frank. May he cameo once more.

Thanks for the lovely review, Nix :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by EnigmaticEyes16 Bacon

21st April 2016:
AH! James and Lily made out! I'm so excited! I'm very curious to see how this will progress. And how Sirius will continue to try for Millie's acceptance.

Also, I'm glad James was able to gather all the different colored cups. Although it's kind of hilarious that he chose to wear them as a necklace. Also, this story is so very funny! I love all the little jokes and sarcasm! It's all very well done.

Thanks for posting another chapter! I can't wait to read more! I do hope you post again soon.

xxNix

Author's Response: I am also excited that James and Lily made out! So is Millie! And Sirius, probably. Basically everyone is excited that they made out except Lily Evans.

I am amazed at how James' personal quest for all the multi-coloured cups has meant so much to everyone. Both James and I are honoured and humbled by the support.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Nix :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16 Cups

21st April 2016:
Hi! I am here for the Slytherin Review Tag!

800! i'm so glad you're posting more chapters! Sirius and Millie are so cute! As always. I am squeeing hardcore right now and I don't know why! But this chapter makes me so happy!

I'm very curious about what happened with Marissa. It is starting to sound like maybe what happened wasn't completely made up but Sirius clearly cares more about Millie might think of him from what happened than about what Marissa thinks.

And I love how there are different colored cups for each party! I wonder if James will succeed in finding all of the different colors. I thought it was hilarious how he went off on his own like that since his friends wouldn't follow him.

I'm also just as happy as Sirius maybe that Lily was able to drag Millie out to the party. If only she was a little more willing to really participate in the fun. I can't wait to read the next chapter! Will be checking that out immediately!

Great chapter! Thanks again for posting!

xxNix

Author's Response: Sirius and Millie are indeed so cute - I think it's the reason why I can't leave them alone.

Sirius is a right drama queen. But of course he cares about what Millie thinks of him and his actions - crushes can be horrible that way.

James is crazy. Only time will tell if he is indeed, successful on his quest.

Drinking alcohol from a bathtub is dangerous! But yes, Millie has some growing to do in the socialisation department. Or not. Who knows.

Thanks so much for the review, Nix :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by victoria_anne Spider

20th April 2016:
PINEAPPLE

Hello my lovely ♥
(so excited for this)

I don't read a lot of AUs, but this seems like a cool idea, I like what you've done to Hogwarts! And the mention of the same subjects and ghosts and so on, it's great :)

OmgomgomgomgSiriusinatowelomgomg

*drools*

bfahVSydsABk. Sorry, was wiping the drool from my keyboard.

Ah Sirius, you're manly enough for me, fear of spiders and all.

Oh the tension. So much tension. This is exciting! It's nice to see that instant attraction straight away, so I'm looking forward to see more of their relationship, the school, and of course the rest of the Marauders!

It is ON like DONKEY KONG for the two of them! Eee! :D

♥ B

Author's Response: PINEAPPLE INDEED.

(I am excited that you are here)

There aren't that many AUs floating around the archives, I think, and I think that has to do with why I don't read as many. I'm glad you like Hogwarts the University! It's a lot of fun, mixing magic with modern technology.

Sirius in a towel is probably the crowning glory of my writing career. I don't know how I'll top that.

The tension gives me life, tbh. I'm pleased you liked it!

Donkey Kong indeed! Thanks for the lovely review :) *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #22, by MuggleMaybe Spider

18th April 2016:
OMG. OMG, DUDE, YES!

This is exactly what I needed tonight. I am so very pleased! I was thrilled that you were the one to respond for a swap because I love your writing, and you did not disappoint!

Sirius totally works as the brooding art school type. Despite the AU setting, I thought he was pretty well in character with humor, the suave demeanor that falls apart under pressure, and the soft underside. I LOVE that you made him afraid of spiders!

I like Millie too. I enjoy your no nonsense attitude, but then she's still nervous and sort of vulnerable in a way, which I really liked. I thought it was SO CUTE how they both like the other person and both think the other is out of their league. Just, AW. And while that may be a common scenario in fic, I thought the way you wrote it was extra adorable somehow. You just have a WAY with fluff. It's wonderful. ♥

the way they kept checking each other out made me smile. And then I was sad that Millie doesn't think Sirius would ask her out simply because he likes her, but also sort of proud of her for not being willing to do that? It made me empathize with her a lot, and also respect her. Definitely an intriguing OC!

I really enjoyed this so much - thanks for the swap!

xoxo Renee

Author's Response: YAY. YOU FOUND THE PERFECT FIC TO READ. WOOHOO. I have been there so many times, where you search through the internet looking for the perfect fanfic to fit your mood. I am honoured that you found what you were looking for in this little story.

Haha, I had too much fun making Sirius afraid of spiders, I think. Sirius is definitely displeased with me :P

And crushes are the worst, aren't they? There's all these mixed signals everywhere and you just don't know where you stand with the other person. I think Millie has the right idea - it's sometimes best just not to get involved. Of course, it makes for excellent fluffy fodder.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Renee :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Frankie05 Cafe

23rd September 2015:
Hey. I am finally getting around to your review. I'm the worst. I'm sorry it took so long! I like this alternate universe you've set up. This chapter didn't seem like a lot was going on but I like how you switched points of view. We had Millie, Lily, and Sirius. And I think you have got their personalities down. They are just in uni. I love it.

I love the kindness Lily shows Millie- like she wants to be there for her and wants to be her friend and wants to get to know her. So that's what she is going to do. I can totally see her and James getting together and Millie and Sirius getting together. Making them friends who date friends. It's going to be so good!

I wonder what went through Millie's head watching Sirius flirt with the barista. I think this is very good. You should keep writing it because I really really enjoy reading it.

Again. So sorry it took me a while to get to this. Lots of hugs and cookies to you!

Author's Response: I'm really terrible for taking so long to reply to your review, so I guess that make us even, haha! Not much does go on except for the introduction of Lily and the rest of the Marauders. And yes! They're just in uni, having a good time.

This is how I see Lily in canon - noticing the quiet people and befriending them in a somewhat forceful way. And yayayay! The ships are already apparent. Woohoo!

Oh, I'm sure she's trying to convince herself that she doesn't care about with whom Sirius flirts - but of course, she kinda does.

Thanks for the cookies and hugs and this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Frankie05 Spider

1st September 2015:
AU is interesting to me. And I like this one. You made Hogwarts a college but with some of the reminents of the book. Like Gryffindor Hall. Nearly Headless Nick. It was all done very well!

Sirius was wonderful in his towel. Millie can not be immune to his sex appeal in just a towel but that is until he asks her to help him fight off a spider because he is terrified. And the. They find out that they are similar in wit and banter. That makes it adorable.
You do a good job creating your own world with things like college and studying and dorm rooms. And the awkwardness of seeing someone accidentally naked. Oh my goodness I was cracking up.

Millie was doing some serious magic and it makes sense that she has a 4.0. She seems brilliant. And Sirius is enamoured by her which I love! If he has the same personality as the books then it takes a lot for a woman to make his nervous and tongue tied. I most definitely will be back for some more!

Frankie

Author's Response: I've never written an AU before so thank you!

Sirius is always wonderful in a towel ;) I'm very glad that you enjoyed them together. I have no idea how Millie resists him - I don't think I could! It was really fun writing a college vibe and accidental nakedness. I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Millie is brilliant - I'm very happy that came through. She saves people from spiders in style. I'm pretty sure he got heart eyes when she saved him with her boss magic.

Thank you so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by alicia and anne Spider

29th July 2015:
You had me at Sirius Black! *in love* Sirius Black/OC are my favourite kind of stories!

I love that her study break has turned into a nap! I could use a nap right now haha. Ooo a Hogwarts college? That sounds AWESOME!

I absolutely love this idea so much! It's brilliant!

:O *FAINTS* SIRIUS BLACK IN A TOWEL! MY DREAMS HAVE BEEN ANSWERED!!!

Awww he has it bad for her! He's so goddamn adorable! I love him!

Hahahaha he's there because of a spider in his room! I love him so much for being cute and adorable and needing saving from it.

They are totally a match made in heaven!

:O SIRIUS!!! *giggles* I so want him. I mean SHE so wants him.

He is so adorable in his fear. It's brilliant!
This is so amazing! I loved every moment of this fantastic story!

Author's Response: Sirius Black stories are the best kind of stories and Sirius/OC stories are even better, I completely agree!

I don't know why, but study breaks always turn into naps - or is that just me? And girl, after your review marathoning sessions, I think you deserve more than a nap! And yes please, SIGN ME UP TO HOGWARTS COLLEGE any day!

(My dreams were also answered with Sirius Black in a towel not gonna lie) *giggles* *blushes* *faints*

I'm so glad that I'm not alone in fangirling over Sirius here. And it's good to know that he isn't infallible. Even the great Sirius Black needs the occasional rescue from a spider.

Everyone wants Sirius. There is no shame in that :P

Thanks so much for this fabulous review. I enjoy a serious Sirius fangirling session any day!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>