Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by menna v. The Tragedy of Being Best Friends With a Weasley

4th August 2017:
Write more please.;)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Loverliy The Tragedy of Being Best Friends With a Weasley

20th April 2016:
Oh my goodness! You are killing me here!! Please update!!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Mirrormirrorlove The Tragedy of Being Best Friends With a Weasley

21st February 2016:
YOU ARE KILLING ME! I swear I am two steps away from the grave. Every day I get filled with excitement and is emptied with disappointment. For two months I have waited and my patience is wearing thin. I NEED to find out what happen so PLEASE update this!!
Your loyal but crestfallen fan,
Eli

 Report Review

Review #4, by MessrsMarauderette  The Tragedy of Being Best Friends With a Weasley

3rd February 2016:
you NEED to keep updating this !

 Report Review

Review #5, by Littlepotter The Tragedy of Being Best Friends With a Weasley

7th January 2016:
How come your not updating?

 Report Review

Review #6, by Purplenotebook The Tragedy of Being Best Friends With a Weasley

14th December 2015:
Thank you!
Ok so I'm glad Lucy and hortensia are friends again that fight seemed a little to over dramatic
I absolutely love rose. She is like the epitome of her mother, like if Herminoe never met Harry or Ron, this is exactly how I picture her to turn out so well done. And I'm glad that hortensia is friends with her but remember to keep it in check because rose can be a bit overbearing at times.
So for now I'm really enjoying this story but your reaching the moment where everything is taking a sort of passive side and everything is just floating by. No central conflict really is occurring rather just minor inconveniences and blank conversion that do not really move the plot along
So make sure you having a plan for what you are doing and not just writing as you go.
But very nice and I cannot wait to see how this goes
Eli

Author's Response: Thanks for the comment. I do have a plan... this was just kind of a "get something written coz it's been far too long!!!" chapter. I love writing Rose; she's such a hoot! Rose and Hortensia will not be without their problems, I promise. Thanks for keeping on reading! :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Purplenotebook The Tragedy of Having No Friends. Literally.

19th November 2015:
Are you ok, did something happen? It's been 2 1/2 months since you last updated.
I really enjoy reading this story and i think your a fantastic writer
But I follow you because I like how you typically update frequently and I don't need to wait an extended period of time for the next chapter to follow
Please update soon

Your disheartened reader,
Eli

Author's Response: Hi Eli!
I'm fine! I'm so sorry; I know it has been AGES... I've been drowning in work and studying but I should be back on track now! I'm working on the next chapters of this one and Persuade me this weekend, and I will get the next chapter in the queue the moment it is ready.
Please bear with me!
Mel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Penelope Inkwell The Tragedy of Having No Friends. Literally.

18th October 2015:
People don’t always have time to think in times of disaster.”
...but they have time to find Binder T37, Article 4, Subsection A? (Sorry! Am I being meant to Rose! I'm not trying to be mean to Rose. Just a voice of reason).

Also? CALLED IT! And I'm really glad to see her getting on well with Rose. Her idea about the secret passageway really was clever.

You really picked the perfect name. Hortensia is awful. Hor, Tense, and Sia, are all awful. But Tensia is much nicer. Nice job, Al.

I was also glad to see Albus be the one that pulls back. It kind of breaks the stereotype. Boys don't have to want to have sex *all the time* any more than girls are always clutching their pearls, aghast at the very idea.

It was nice to see a bit of a conversation between them, and I'd love to see more. I'm inclined to ship them, but i feel like I don't know Albus quite enough yet.


CC:

over the Summer
--I don't think Summer is usually capitalized


Poor Hortensia. I hope she gets her friends back soon. But I'm glad that she isn't just constantly lonely, and is managing to form new relationships as well.

I wonder. If Rose because Hortensia's new best friend, does that mean that she can insist that Scorpius can't date Rose? Maybe they can work out some kind of deal with that.

--Penny

Author's Response: Remember they have magic, which might help with locating Binder T37, Article 4, Subsection A just a little bit faster. :P

More conversation between them is to come! I hope you'll be shipping them soon enough... I am!

As for the CC...

Arggh capitalising the seasons was something I was mistaught back in primary school, and I always do it out of habit. It's funny how something like that can stick with you...

You may possibly have called it with the Rose/Scor/Hortensia thing... more to come!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell The Tragedy of Being Scorpius' Sister

18th October 2015:
Wow. That was a romantic 0-90 in .3 seconds. There is definitely chemistry (what do Hogwarts students even say instead of chemistry? They have...potionry?)

Scorpius. Dude. You're gonna have to relax. If my brother ever tried to pull that crap with my love life--well, first of all, I'm highly unlikely to ever date one of his friends, to to sizable differences in both age and taste in companions--but IF he did, my fury would probably annihilate a city block.

Poor Hortensia. She was just thrown into a bad situation all the way around. It isn't her fault that Lorcan liked her, or that she didn't like him, or that Lysander felt the need to blurt it out! And yeah, she shouldn't have said that about Lucy, but at that point everything else is on the table, so we might as well have all the secrets out where we can see them.

Still, that's rough. I wonder if she'll have to hang out with Rose and color-coordinate binders?

--Penny

Author's Response: Scorpius is a bit annoying, isn't he? In this story I'm enjoying making my characters into slightly exaggerated caricatures which means they will go overboard sometimes. :P



 Report Review

Review #10, by Penelope Inkwell The Tragedy of Having Curly Hair

18th October 2015:
YESSS! I approve wholeheartedly of this development. Which is weird, because normally I wouldn't this early in the story? But I approve anyway this time! They're so cute!

How long has he liked her? I get this vibe that it's been a while, but it's hard to say. Oh well, I suppose we'll find out!

--Penny

Author's Response: You will find out indeed. ;)

Thanks Penny!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell The Tragedy of Being a Hufflepuff

18th October 2015:
Bahaha! I am enjoying this so much. Hortensia--can I just call her Juliet, too?--has one of the best comedic voices I have read in a while. I can't even pick a favorite quote! I have so many!

That was the moment that I realised my best friends’ love triangle had a fourth corner. I’d just been dragged into a weird, polite, Hufflepuff love square.
--this is terrible and wonderful, all at the same time. Poor Hortensia-Juliet! Poor Lorcan-or-Lysander! Poor Lucy-Who-Really-Needs-to-Get-a-Second-Name-If-She's-Gonna-Hang-with-This-Crowd!


"You’re a good person. I see now why you belong in Hufflepuff.”

I pulled my wand out and aimed it at him.

“You take that back!” I hissed.


--This was glorious. I love this.


“I don’t see why I have to choose,” I said. “Why can’t I be loyal and ambitious and smart and courageous? Why do I have to be just one thing because a stupid hat told me when I was eleven?”
--Girl, tell 'em! This was such a good point. And I personally thought that Albus' comment was very insightful. Even though possibly I would have made fun of him, too. But then, I'm a Slytherin, so...

I was really glad that you gave us that glimpse of kindness into her, though. I can relate to Hortensia-Juliet. I like to bluster, but at the end of the day I can't stand to hurt someone who doesn't deserve it. And often I even hate hurting their feelings when they do deserve it. I think it was great that she stood up for Crazy Rose.

I had held on to the bitterness for five years, and I wasn’t about to let it go… that would just prove I was a Hufflepuff.
--I relate to this statement so much. When it comes to things that I enjoy complaining about, I'm like, "Nope. You can point out how it's not so bad somewhere else. Do not ruin my fun. I take great joy in my griping, thank you very much!" ;)


CC:

where Rose Weasley sat pouring over one of her binders.
--I think that in this case "pouring" should be "poring".

As much as I didn’t fell like I belonged
--"fell" = "feel"


Another great, amusing chapter! I'm having so much fun reading this!

--Penny

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review all my chapters! Sorry it took me a while to get around to responding...

I'm having so much fun writing Hortensia. The thing I like about OCs is being able to give them completely new personalities. I find them so much more enjoyable to write than say Harry or Hermione or Ginny because I always feel like I just can't get those characters right.

As for the CC...

Oh my gosh you are right about pouring/poring... I had to google that. I guess it's one of those words I've always heard and never actually seen written down...

Fell/feel... oops, typo! I'll fix that!

Cheers for a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Penelope Inkwell The Tragedy of Having a Horrible Name

16th October 2015:
Hahaha! This is so fun! So I saw this story listed in the Best Next-Gen section on the archives (congratulations on that, btw), and I thought I'd check it out. It really put a smile on my face. Hortensia is a very likable MC. I love her Shakespearean bits and tendency towards being a *trifle* overdramatic (really, it's to be expected in a Malfoy). I enjoyed the way you've written the Malfoy family, as well.

Bahaha! Rose is crazy. The *binders*! Although it sounds like Lucy is a bit uptight herself. I loved it. I almost can't wish her on Scorpius, but I think a relationship between them could be hilarious enough that now I really want to see if it could happen.

And she is right--that is an awful name. It's a good thing that she and Frankie Longbottom weren't meant to be. However, perhaps Albus Severus Potter could relate to her problems?

CC:

As a rule, I try to always give a but of CC. But it's just my opinion, and obviously you can take it or leave it as you will.

“That’s your middle name, Precious? I thought that was just some stupid love name your Dad calls you!”
--in this case, "Dad" should be lowercase, as "your dad", since the title is only capitalized when used to directly address one's father, himself. "your dad" or "my dad", or "his/her dad" are never capitalized.

That girl had it deep.
--this isn't, like, wrong, but as far as I know, the phrase is usually, "had it bad" rather than "deep".



This is a really fun story, and I look forward to reading more! So glad I stumbled across it. Expect to hear more from me soon!

--Penny

Author's Response: Hi Penny! Thanks for dropping by!

WOW! I actually had no idea my story was recommended! I had to go to the archives just to have a look... and now I feel bad because she even comments on how I update regularly and I have gotten so behind on my updates! Oops! Hopefully that will give me a push to get back on to them anyway...

Anyway, thanks for the awesome review! When I started writing Rose my primary focus was on making her different from the Rose in my other set of stories ("Unlikely" and "Uncharted")... but she was just SO much fun to write like this. I guess my justification is that Hortensia only sees bits of this girl, and what she sees leads her to think of Rose as this incredibly exaggerated caricature... but I think as the Hortensia gets to know her better, she'll see her as a much more rounded person, and of course Rose will develop to become a more rounded person too (hopefully!) After all... It has to be believable for her to end up with Scorpius!

I certainly do think that good old Al Sev can relate when it comes to having an awful name!

As for the CC...

I can't BELIEVE I didn't catch that capital D in "dad"!!! You are absolutely right and I will fix that straight away! You'd think being an English teacher I would know better right? Haha so thanks for that one!

"Had it deep" vs. "had it bad"... To me "had it bad" sounds pretty American, though I'm not actually sure if they use it in Britain too... I tend to write how I speak and I have never really thought about this one before...

Anyway thanks again for the review! I will be updating as soon as I am happy with the next chapter (I'm ridiculously fussy and won't update until I'm completely good with it!) so I look forward to hearing more from you soon!

Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by MessrsMarauderette  The Tragedy of Having No Friends. Literally.

22nd September 2015:
FINALLY!!! It was awesome ! Now you just need to update your other story and then everyones happy YAY!

Author's Response: Thanks! Sorry about the wait! And that it's been a longer wait again... I'm working on both of them, I swear!

 Report Review

Review #14, by merlins beard The Tragedy of Having No Friends. Literally.

7th September 2015:
Hey, sorry it took me this long to get here.

Wow, I'm really enjoying this story, thanks for updating.

I really like that Rose is kind of coming into it now, it's going to become really interesting soon. I really enjoyed the having fun part with Albus and Tensia. (It's still a weird name, but it sounds loads better). I'm really glad Albus stopped her, and he was really nice about it too, he really explained himself well. I like the question and answer game. It's definitely a way to get to know stuff about each other. I can't wait to see what scorpius does when he finds out. All this sneaking around is rather dangerous.

I'm really looking forwards to the next chapter!

See you there
~Anja

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Anja!

I'm glad you're liking it. I'm planning on being better with my updates over the next few months now that life has settled down a bit.

I think we will see more of Rose over the next few chapters. My aim will be to develop her as more of a well-rounded person and less of the slightly ridiculous caricature that Hortensia kind of sees her as now. I think as the girls get to know each other better and Hortensia realises the reasons why Rose is the way she is then she will come to understand her better and see her for who she really is... that's the plan anyway!

The question/answer game is something I love doing with people I'm getting to know, and I think it worked well for Albus and Hortensia too. Obviously as they get to know each other if they keep playing the game they might come to learn some deeper and more meaningful things about each other.

You won't have to wait too long for Scor to find out I think... I haven't planned it exactly yet but these secrets do have a way of coming out sooner or later I think.

As always, keep reading, and I will get the next chapter up as soon as I am happy with it. :D

Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Meadow The Tragedy of Having No Friends. Literally.

2nd September 2015:
Thank you. I was looking for a fun story. Most are so dark and this is perfect. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Purplenotebook The Tragedy of Having No Friends. Literally.

1st September 2015:
No. No way. I wait so long and that's it!! That was way too short. Well it was of course amazing as usual and I like that hortensia(seriously how do you come up with that name?) and rose are friends but come on just apologize to Lucy it wasn't that big of a deal
Please write more soon!!!

Author's Response: Hi there, thanks for the review. I'm working on the next chapter now. Just gotta get my other story updated first. The name hortensia is actually a flower - it's another word for hydrangea. It was also a name used in Roald Dahl's "Matilda". She'll make up with Lucy soon, don't worry. :) I'm hoping to do a longer chapter next time - just wanted to get this one published ASAP.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Purplenotebook The Tragedy of Being Scorpius' Sister

20th August 2015:
Ok seriously you promised to have the next chapter out by the beginning of August!!! That's long past now! Please don't give up on this story, I need to find out what happens
Stop making me suffer!

Author's Response: Sorry sorry sorry :( :(

But... good news! I have the next chapter in the queue! I'm so sorry for making you wait so long.

Your suffering will be over very soon! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by purplenotebook The Tragedy of Being Scorpius' Sister

13th June 2015:
Ok seriously its been over a month I swear your making me suffer!! Please update!!!

Author's Response: And now it's been like 2 months. :'( I'm so sorry. I'll have an update for you I'm hoping by early August.

 Report Review

Review #19, by purplenotebook The Tragedy of Being Scorpius' Sister

31st May 2015:
Its like you want me to suffer
Please update!!

Author's Response: I'm sorry!!! Life getting in the way. Soon! I haven't forgotten it; just been busy with some other stuff. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by merlins beard The Tragedy of Being Scorpius' Sister

15th May 2015:
Hi again!

Your stories always make me so happy!! Thank you so much for making the good days great and the not so good days a lot lighter than they would have been without your brilliant writing.

I think Rose is hilarious!! I can barely contain myself every time I read something about her in this story. She's a little OOC here but I don't mind because she doesn't have a huge part. (She sounds much more like Percy's kid than Ron and Hermione's)

Scorpius is a git sometimes. I get that he wants to protect his sister but he's taking it a little too far.

I love that Albus can't keep his hands off Hortensia (oh, how I LOVE that name!!!), and her insecurities are so cute!! They'll make such a cute couple! (Says me, wo still adores and misses Gypsy... I can now fully accept her 'replacement' (for lack of a better word) and embrace the new story - especially because Albus is different, too)

I can't wait for the next update!!

Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Thanks Anja!
I tried to make all my characters really different so it wouldn't seem like I was just removing Gypsy and slotting Hortensia into her place. I am having so much fun writing Rose here... I know she's a bit crazy but there are reasons why she is the ay she is, that hopefully will come to light a bit later on. I almost feel like at this stage most of my characters are almost caricatures... they all have a lot to work out about themselves I think. ;)
Thank you for the lovely, long, and shiny review. :)
Hugs,
Mel


 Report Review

Review #21, by MessrsMarauderette  The Tragedy of Being Scorpius' Sister

14th May 2015:
I absolutely love this chapter x

-xMMx-

Author's Response: Thanks! :D and thanks for reviewing as always

 Report Review

Review #22, by purplenotebook The Tragedy of Being Scorpius' Sister

14th May 2015:
Oh my god I love this storu so much I cant even process it
I cant wait until scor catches albus and hortensia together
Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yeeesss I think Scor's reaction will be very interesting. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Violet Potter 434 The Tragedy of Having Curly Hair

30th April 2015:
i love this story
its so good
when is the next chapter out! ! !
from me x

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Working on it. Hopefully a week or two. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by skylarpumpkins The Tragedy of Having Curly Hair

21st April 2015:
Hey what's up, why are you not updating? ??

Author's Response: I'm sorry... Travelling at the moment so it's a little hard to find the time to write. I'll update ASAP! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by merlins beard The Tragedy of Having Curly Hair

14th April 2015:
OH MY GOSH THIS CHAPTER IS SOOO CUTE.
I feel so sorry for Lorcan (and Lysander)... they both seem to have a tough time...

I love that when Hortensia runs off, Albus is the one who finds her. They are so perfect together. I love how he carries her back and how she makes him stay with her. It seems like Albus has to be the responsible one. I'm glad that he stopped Hortensia before they went too far. This has to develop slowly I think.

I really like this story a lot, but I still miss Gypsy. This story is very different from Unlikely and Uncharted. It feels strange to read a story without Gypsy and Genie and Lizzie in it...

I think I might be able to get used to this story... i really like the character you have created.

Until next time.
Love
~Anja

Author's Response: Haha thank you for the review! It almost feels like betrayal to write Albus with someone other than Gypsy, but I've tried to make all the characters really different so it's not just like I lifted her out and popped someone else in in her place. I agree that the Albus/Hortensia thing will be slow. Things with Lorcan and Lysander will have to get a little more messy before they get sorted too I think.
Thank you so much for checking out this story too! I'm having so much fun writing it and I hope you enjoy reading it just as much. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>