29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ReeBee Darkness

10th December 2015:
Hey there! Here for our swap!

Okay, I was going to do chai number 4 but then i saw this and idk why death is always so interesting to read about like how they write it and this was no different!!

First of all your description in this piece is so amazing, like really its SO GOOD. like this line: "The distance between you and your body yawns into a chasm." is hands down the best description of death I've ever read, both in real novels and fanfic. Like thats such an interesting way to put it and i sort of really really really love it!!!

And I love the kind of 'ha you didn't get me' feeling regulus feels when he realises that Voldemort didn't in fact get him? And the comments about endless falling, it was sort of interesting how he saw it as not that bad because for a lot of people including myself falling is just about the worst kind of hell you could put me through? but i loved how to him it was sort of a bright side, like well, yeah okay i might be falling forever but at least I'm not being tortured and that was just such an awesome character quirk.

And this was super dark but I love how Regulus' character still shone through like a lot of pieces dealing with death are super dark and descriptive and they're beautiful but sometimes it can get monotonous and this wasn't like that because characterisation was really evident? and i really like regulus. also it made me sad when he said that regret and bitterness were old friends even though he was only 21. putting it that way made me sad about the wizarding wars all over again like its just *so* sad!!!

and please tell me the end for regulus is nice and cozy and happy? because he was wearing socks and everything was warm therefore its a good ending, no?? i hope so!!

thanks again for a fantastic swap!!

-Curie xx

Author's Response: Thank you! Description is always something I struggle with, so it's really nice to hear that you enjoyed it. And goodness! The best description of death ever?! I'm so flattered!

Regulus Black cannot help but be smug even when he's dying. #goals

One day, I will finish this story. He gets an... interesting ending.

Thanks for the review, Curie :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Lostmyheart Darkness

25th October 2015:
Hi!

I'm sorry I'm a little late with this, but it's still October :b
I LOVE this story! It's so beautifully written, I am obsessed with your descriptions. 800, you are a very talented writer. I just can understand how you made this so soft and yet it's so tragic at the same time. It's such a sad ending for Regulus but you made it seem so peaceful to him - despite the coldness - and then to end it on a positive note still. Wow.

I love this, I absolutely love this and I wish it was more than 3,000 words! Like, I could just gobble up your writing forever and ever.

- Avi

Author's Response: HAHAHAHA FOR ME BECAUSE I'M REPLYING TO THIS IN MARCH I HAVE NO SENSE OF TIME SO WE'RE EVEN.

Thank you so so so much! I had to look around and check to make sure you were talking to me about enjoying my description because usually, I am SO BAD at it. So that really means a lot *hugs*

And there will be more of this story I PROMISE. As soon as I find the time and energy to write regularly again...


 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16 Darkness

17th September 2015:
Hi! I am here for the Slytherin Review Tag!

This one-shot is so different from all the super happy and fluffy stuff I've read of yours recently. I love the brevity of it and the short sentences. I love how Regulus is dying but doesn't seem to care. Honestly, he seems fairly content if I'm being honest, even if his body isn't there yet, like he's done his task and he's pleased with himself having outwitted the Dark Lord. Of course, he doesn't know that Kreacher fails to destroy the horcrux... I have to wonder who "she" is though? Does "she" make an appearance in Not Normal? I have not read that yet so I feel a bit unsure of what's going on at the end, but it's very curious. I love the idea of writing about the afterlife which I am assuming is what Not Normal is about, but I don't actually know, but I might just have to go read it find out soon.

Anyway, this was a great one-shot and very well written! I thought you did a great job with the trope, too, for the challenge this was written for.

xxNix

Author's Response: This opening chapter is probably one of the darkest and weirdest things I have ever written. I am both incredibly proud of it, and also a bit creeped out by it myself. I think you've captured Regulus in this chapter perfectly - he cares about nothing anymore. And "she" doesn't make an appearance in Not Normal, but IS a character in one of my other stories *smirks evilly* I'm not sure if I'll mention her ever again (but I probably will because ANGST).

Thanks for the lovely review as always, Nix :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Darkness

17th September 2015:
Hello my lovely! I am finally here because the oven is deep cleaning and I have some time to put my feet up. :D Anyways! I am so glad that you commented on my status because I love your writing so much.

This story instantly caught my attention and I'm quite excited to read it :D

I love how you got into Regulus' head with this, making me feel like I'm the one going through it as well. I feel like I'm the one that's drowning with him. So powerful!

Oh wow! This is an amazing start! You have really sucked the reader in with this, how is this only 600+ words?! You've put so much into this!

I can't wait to find out what is going on with the afterlife and who it is he wants to meet, and who in fact has met him.

This is wonderful! I can't wait for you to update this :D

Author's Response: Deep cleaning ovens - the universal excuse to write reviews the world over :P

This chapter was weird for me to write. I'm glad that comes across. Regulus is going through some weird things in his afterlife for sure.

Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by magnifique11 Darkness

13th August 2015:
I feel like Regulus is usually a character who is written about as an afterthought in the background of a Sirius story or talked about in a forum post. There aren't a lot of just-Regulus stories and I don't think I've ever seen one about his afterlife or even about when he betrayed Voldemort and got the locket.

All that being said, I'm so so glad you're writing this story. This first chapter is so short but it works because it has to be with the style you're using and it's positively captivating. Really well done and I'm very much looking forward to more from you! :)

Author's Response: I agree with you! I've written Regulus before, and he's always been a supporting character - just a dude who I needed whenever, but he had enough of an interesting backstory that I didn't need to invest a lot of time into fleshing out when I wrote him. That's why I'm really excited about this story :)

Yeah, the style gets really old really fast when one writes it any longer than it is. I'm really glad that you enjoyed it :) Thanks so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Frankie05 Darkness

12th August 2015:
This packs a mighty punch for such a short story and I. Loved. It. It is so beautiful with word choice, flow, point of view. I'm beginning to love second person and this story confirms it!

Regulus is so interesting to me. A lot is left to the imagination from canon with him and therefore paves the way for brilliant writers such as yourself to give us beautiful words. It was such a small scene you described here but it was so powerful. Regulus' death was very brave- but eerie. The description of the water and the inferi made me cringe it was so creepy. I hate that he died but I love that he died because he was trying to take down Voldemort. He had constant faith in his elf and showed that here. I practically experienced his death along with your words. Well done.

But the last few lines- you pop back into first person. Was that your intention? If so, what is the reasoning behind it? It's an interesting idea that you give the afterlife some sort of meaning that may not have been thought about before. I also like that you used the word clarity when describing it. Great job. I shall peruse more of your works to see even more into your brilliant mind :)

Frankie

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm pleased that you enjoyed it. Even though the subject matter is quite depressing, I had a lot of fun writing it.

He's a really interesting character to me as well. There's just so much that could be done with him. I'm glad that it comes off as eerie. I wanted it to read like an out-of-body sort of experience. He's dying, but he's experiencing everything from very far away.

Yes! I move into first person on purpose. It was to highlight his reconnection with himself. He's definitely dead - but something shifty is going on. This is the point of the story where things really start. Regulus is going to do a whole lot of living whilst he's dead!

Thanks so much for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Felpata Lupin Darkness

9th August 2015:
Hello!
So, I'm a week late, but I thought I would still stop by to tell you...

HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!

I'm not sure how I can comment on this, except saying that it was just painstaking and beautiful!!! Your writing was wonderful, so witty and so poetic at the same time, your grasp on Regulus' character just perfect, your use of 2nd person absolutely impressive and flawless! Everything about this was perfect and so moving! I loved every single bit!!!

I didn't pay attention to the story summary and I thought that this was a one shot... Only at the end I realized it was a longer story... And now I'm very curious to know what's going to happen. What will Regulus find in the afterlife? Who is this person who welcomed him? You mentioned a "she" while he was drowning, is it her? Maybe I should read your other story and more details would be clearer...

Anyway, this was really wonderful job!!! I absolutely adored it!

Hope you had a great birthday!
Many hugs,
Chiara

Author's Response: Aww! Thank you so much, Chiara! No sweat about the belatedness - there's plenty of (virtual) birthday cake to go around!

It was really painful to write, so thank you! I'm glad all the crying I did over just five hundred words was well worth it. Balancing sass with death was a new experience for me, for sure. Thank you so much for all your enthusiasm and lovely words!

Not a one-shot! Yayayay! Which also means that I have to get a crack on writing the second chapter... What will Regulus find in the afterlife, indeed!

Thanks for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dirigible_Plums Darkness

2nd August 2015:
Hey!

Since you left a review on my one shot, I figured it was only fair to leave a review for you too. After all, it's your birthday too! (Happy birthday by the way!)

Regulus Black has always been someone I'm interested in. I once went through a small phase where I hunted down fics solely about him and so this was the obvious choice to read. I love how you haven't lost sight of the fact that he's still a Slytherin even if he was a hero.

And ooh, second person present for most of it. It's rare to see fics written in that and even rarer for me to read them, but it works with his death. I'm not quite sure how to describe it - I feel as if the style maintains a distance that reflects how Regulus was yet another life lost to Voldemort, but the personal pronoun also singles him out as an important figure that died.

Great job!

Love,

Dirigible_Plums xo

Author's Response: Birthday buddy hi-5 again! I was inexplicably excited to find someone on HPFF who shares my birthday with me, lol. I hope you had a great day though!

Ah, Regulus Black. One of the most difficult characters I have written... which is probably the reason why chapter two hasn't been typed yet. And I'm so pleased that you found the characterisation to work. It was difficult to convey here because I was focussing on other things.

I don't like reading this way of writing most of the time too, but for the mood that I wanted here, it worked, you're right. I don't think the rest of this story will be written in that style though. So exhausting.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, birthday buddy! (You now have this unfortunate moniker, I apologise.)


 Report Review

Review #9, by rosiful Darkness

28th June 2015:
I haven't actually read 'Not Normal' by I should definitely check it out! (Hopefully I remember once the cup is over)
I love Regulus, I think he is such an interesting character. He sort of breaks the norm of the Slytherin purebloods, without fully destroying the standards like his brother. So I am interested as to how you will develop his character in this story!

It was quite spooky reading from his perspective as he drowns. It's really well written, so well I got slight chills. Your descriptions of this moment are wonderful.

It's also quite interesting how it goes from second person (Which I think you did really well, and I hate second person!) as he's drowning, to first person as he wakes up.

So interested to see where you go with this!

-Rosiful
Slytherin House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hello, Rosiful!

No need to read Not Normal before this! They're very separate stories happening at very separate times and deal with very separate things. This is more of an origin story for Regulus who just so happens to pop up in Not Normal too. He's definitely super interesting, and I'm really looking forward to exploring what he's going to be like now that he's not around all those things which have led him to behave in a certain way. Since he's dead.

I'm so flattered you found this well written! I don't really write dark and angsty scenes such as this because they're so difficult for me. Also description scares me.

I don't usually enjoy second person either, haha, but it works here for some reason. I'm pleased that the change in person wasn't jarring or anything!

Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by kenpo Darkness

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Hello! I think that I've read the first couple chapters of Not Normal... I should really go back and read more of that, shouldn't I? I remember liking it a lot, but then my review request thread sorta died and I stopped being able to keep track of what I was reading!

This was a short intro, and it really leaves me wishing there were more chapters posted!! Origin stories are always fun, and even without having gotten more than a few chapters into Not Normal, I already want to know more about him. WIthout even reading that, just off of these 600 words or so, I want to know more about him.

I liked how sort of... muddled this was. That's not usually something that I'd say is good in writing, but in this case it worked to make the reader feel what he feels.

Great first chapter! I hope you update!

-Georgia

Author's Response: Origin stories are so much fun! I've never written one before, so this is uncharted territory for me, but I'm excited! Reading all of Not Normal isn't even necessary for this story, since they're quite separate from each other. I'm glad you're enjoying it.

It is very muddled. I wanted to show that he's losing grip. Or more like blasting his grip on reality into smithereens. I'm pleased you thought it worked.

Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by UnluckyStar57 Darkness

27th June 2015:
For the House Cup 2015--Ravenclaw!

Hello there! I'm here to review this quite interesting and very short beginning. :)

Okay, I immediately wish that there were more chapters posted, because your Regulus Black from Not Normal is one of the most vivid ghosties that I've ever had the pleasure of reading. He's so snarky and sarcastic, and the way you write him there is just brilliant.

Here, though, he's very grim and dark, and that's terribly understandable. This is pre-ghostie Reg, and while he may have been a SnarkMaster 3000 at Hogwarts (when he was alive), towards the end of his life he must've been going through some dark stuff. I love how you explored Reg's acceptance of his fate as he plunged downward into the darkness of the Inferi, and how his last thoughts were about how Voldemort was going to feel pain because of him. Reg is DEFINITELY a better and more valiant character than Sneeverus Snope (misspelling intentional), and it is so cool that you're giving him his own story!

That being said, I can see how the last part begins to lighten up, and maybe Reg will find his truest SassMaster form in the afterlife before he goes on ghost duty. :)

Catch ya next time!
~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hopefully there will be more chapters posted soon! I am super excited for this story and I really want to write more for it!

He's going to eventually get to his usual snarky self! I mean, he's just died, so it's a bit of a shock still. But yes. Hopefully he's going to be all sass and snark :P I agree with you on the point of Snape - I like Regulus more as a tragic hero.

Maybe the afterlife will give him an official title of SnarkMaster! That would be something, wouldn't it?


 Report Review

Review #12, by bittersweetflames Darkness

27th June 2015:
First off, I have to say that the sensory details on this is just wonderful. It reads beautifully and I can feel like I am him, I am Regulus Black. I see what he sees, almost feeling what he feels - the bitterness, the regret. I am glad that in those last few moments of his, Regulus Black has proven him. I love Sirius, don't get me wrong, but I find it so sad that he's the only one who gets praises sung about him. Regulus is just as brave and, when you think about it, even braver since he turned away from everything he had been cast to be, everything he believed so late in his life and with no one to support him but for a loyal house elf. This is real bravery, I believe. I felt myself falling with him, the experience of Death so vividly written that I can almost believe it is playing out, slowly, in my head. And then you write of the afterlife and with few words you manage to convey that it's different and you got me really intrigued as to who just welcomed Regulus into the afterlife. Perfect little story AND perfect ending.

Carla
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hey Carla! *waves*

I think it's one of the strengths of second person that it tricks the reader into thinking that you're the protagonist. It was a really good fit for what I wanted to do with this opening scene, and I'm glad that you found it to work! I love Sirius too, but yeah. Regulus deserves far more love than he gets. The afterlife is going to have quite a few surprises in store for poor Regulus! I'm looking forward to it a lot :P Thanks so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by maskedmuggle Darkness

27th June 2015:
Hey!

I did indeed enjoy reading this very much! I've never read Not Normal, but this is so intriguing that I kind of want to check it out now (and hopefully I will, sometime soon). I actually do like Regulus Black as a character, as despite all his flaws, he showed so much courage and proved what he really valued by defying Voldemort. I loved this insight into his last moment on earth, and I thought you wrote this so beautifully - it was just very deep, if you know what I mean... His last thoughts are very realistic and it made me able to easily visualise what was happening. This portrayal of death was very interesting, and I especially liked those last couple lines where I feel like it kind of ends on a cliffhanger - I'm like tell me more! So I have to say, this really did work fantastically as a stand-alone fic and as a prequel to your novel - I'm hoping to find out more in the future! All in all, I really loved this, you did such a fantastic job with it!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: It's not necessary to read Not Normal before this. They're actually quite separate stories, except that the Regulus in them is the same. Regulus is a fun character to write because of his complexity. And haha, I see what you did there! The ending is a bit of a cliffhanger - despite him waking up in a chair ;) Thanks so much for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by darkkid Darkness

27th June 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015!

I made your banner for this a while back (meh, please excuse my super old username on the archives omg) and I've had this on my read list since so I'M FINALLY HERE!

I can't pass up a Regulus story, and I'm so glad I've stopped by! The first lines really set the way for this. The darkness. Cold chilling darkness, which makes sense.

I got CHILLS reading as Regulus drowns. Further and further. I can feel the cold of the water surrounding him. Your descriptions are beautiful.

I think what I enjoyed most is that this is in second person. I've never been fond of second person but you really captured it here. And at some points I actually felt like I was the one drowning. Really nice and poetic!

I'd really love to read more. I'm so interested in Regulus' afterlife!!!

Author's Response: Ah! Yes you did! Thank you so much for it - it's super pretty and a perfect fit for this story *hugs*

With so few words, it's so important to set the tone really quick otherwise it throws off the pacing. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Ah! Thank you so much! My descriptive skills are my weakest point, so that means a lot.

Second person is weird to write in tbh. I don't write in it that often for that reason. There's something super creepy about it.

Thanks so much for this lovely review. And hopefully I'll post something soon :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by ginnypotter242 Darkness

27th June 2015:
Regulus Black gives me so many feels :( That's such a tragic death! And the fact that you wrote that in second person was amazing! It put so much more emotion into it, and I loved Regulus' thoughts. They seemed so real, and so true of what we know of his character. He had that smugness that Sirius did- the want for glory, but desire to do the right thing regardless of that. You nailed that characterization!

The fact that this is in second person just astounds me. It's so difficult to write in second person without it being awkward or choppy or seeming like instructions, but you made this flow very well and it was very nice to read. Nice and incredibly sad of course :D For such a short story, I felt so many different emotions. I felt so bad for Regulus, and his thoughts as he was dying. He deserved so much better than what he got. I just love how you wrote him, and his thoughts were sort of in a stream of consciousness, but it wasn't awkward or overly wordy or anything. You did a really good job with this story! I want to see more of your Regulus! Great job :)

~Sara (Gryffindor, House Cup 2015)

Author's Response: ALL THE FEELS AMIRIGHT. I'm still quite new to writing second person, but it seemed like a good fit for this particular scene, and the effect I was trying to achieve. He's part accusatory, part contemplative, part out-of-body experience. And yes! I wanted an echo of Sirius' character in Regulus, too. I feel that they'd both have the same tendency towards arrogance, but perhaps with different motivations.

Second person is difficult to write! Halfway through, I found that I'd switched to third person, and then near the end I went into first person for a line. When I went back to edit, I was like WHAT IS THIS WHAT HAVE I DONE. Second person messes with your head! So thank you very much!

Thanks so much for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by LastMinuteLuna Darkness

3rd June 2015:
Hello! Hello!

I'm LastMinuteLuna and I'm dropping by to leave you a review for the Pass It Along Challenge! I know. I know, the deadline has passed, but they don't call me LastMinuteLuna for nothing!

But enough about me. Let's talk about your fabulous story!

I've been seeing a lot of stories about Regulus lately and I can understand why. He's such a fascinating character. His evolution from Death Eater to stealing a Horcrux provides a lot of material and his death is a hero's death, so there is definitely some appeal there.

I thought you made his death seem very poetic. The word selection was quite lovely and it flowed along very nicely. The pacing seemed just right, which is hard to do with a piece this short.

I'm curious to see where this fic goes. I imagine it will explore the afterlife, but each person has such a distinct view of what the afterlife might entail that it makes for some really interesting reading. I hope you get the next chapter up soon!

Uh oh! Times up. I have to run. I've got a few more reviews to leave and I’m already late! Thanks for such a haunting story!

From,
LastMinuteLuna

Author's Response: Hey, hey, hey! It's so sweet of you to drop by, since I know how busy you are, being all awesome and everything.

There was a bit of surge in Regulus stories around the time I posted this, and all I can think is YES because one can never have too much Regulus in one's life. And you're so right in saying that his character arc is ripe for the reaping by dastardly writers!

*blushes* Thank you. I am terrible at poetry, but I definitely aimed for some sort of flow since, you know, drowning = water = flow, even though his thoughts would be quite disjointed.

Hopefully I'll post another chapter soon. I'm super excited about this little story, especially about writing Regulus in a setting that's perhaps where you wouldn't expect him to be.

Thanks so much for this lovely review :) ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Dojh167 Darkness

16th May 2015:
Hello, stopping by for our review swap!

I may be back to review your AU Sirius story, though it's outside what I would normally be interested in reading. Looking down your author's page, I was very interested in this piece, both because it was the kind of thing that I would normally read, and does not look like the kind of thing that you normally write. If that's true, congrats on branching out, and I hope that you continue to update this.

In addition, kudos on giving 2nd person narrative a shot.

I was going to comment on the lengthy abundance of prepositions in "your only chance of glory scribbled on a scrap of parchment hidden in a fake locket at the bottom of bowl containing only pain sequestered in a cave carved of death." But you beat me to it. You have a tongue in cheek sense of humor in your writing that I really enjoy.

Because this story was clearly about Regulus after his death, I assumed that the opening passage and description of darkness was about the afterlife. If you had established that he was drowning right away, it would have helped ground the setting.

Your structure of the closing lines was perfect. The rhythm worked really well at communicating Regulus' fractured thoughts as he took in the world(?) around him.

"Not the end" was very funny. Well played.

Post more soon!

Author's Response: Hello, hello!

You're right in saying this is not something like what I usually write. Hopefully, it will be a little darker than my usual fare, but still humorous and enjoyable. We'll see how it goes!

Thank you! It's only my third attempt so I'm still trying to get comfortable with it.

Ahaha, thanks, I think? I was going to change the sentence, but then I was like nah. He's in a weird frame of mind, so he's going to have weird sentence structures. I'd never say that out loud though.

Thanks for that CC! I'll see if I might be able to work that in somewhere if I ever edit this :)

Thanks so much for this lovely review! Hopefully I'll get a new chapter out soon :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Godric’sFamulus Darkness

15th May 2015:
Thank you for sharing this story. I’ve been travelling, searching for the story for Regulus Black. My Mentor, Godric Gryffindor asked me to find a real brave wizard’s story. I could find some of them on my journey in the past. Many authors have written about Severus Snape. Yes, he was brave but few authors revealed the story of Regulus.

Your each word is a gem. I can report this to my Mentor. It passed many years since J. K. Rowling wrote the book 7, but your skillful description reminded me of the scene in the cave of the DH book vividly. Harry Potter was brave but Regulus was a real hero though nobody noticed that how he sought to end the evil act of Voldemort.

For the afterlife, my Mentor prepared a better life for him as you mentioned in the end of the story, a brighter life. The bravest man deserves a better life. I wonder the death visits us suddenly, and the next moment, we feel nothing. When your eyes snap open, the afterlife visits you like the new bright morning.

A human being is destined to die in the end. You cast a question ‘what is the life?’ and ‘What is the death?’ to us. Your ultimate question made this story more challenging, intriguing for readers.

Author's Response: Ah! Thank you for reading! Honestly, you've been such an amazing Spring Secret Santa, I am truly thankful. *hugs* And you're completely right - Regulus is nowhere nearly as popular as he should be.

Thank you so much! I tried to get the atmosphere as close to what it would've been, and I'm pleased that you liked it.

And there are many surprises in store for Regulus In the afterlife. Like there's no rest for the wicked, there is no rest for the brave.

Thanks so much for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Flower n Prongs Darkness

30th April 2015:
Hello. I'm stopping by for review tag.

I have been thinking about Regulus more lately, so naturally this caught my eye when I was scrolling through your stories.

You make excellent use of description in this. It is short, but you have managed to make it very vivid and I was able to picture exactly what was happening. I think you captured Regulus's personality and thought process around the time of his death beautifully. The fact that he was okay with drowning and even willing to speed up the process gave a very clear picture of his mental state. The acceptance of nothingness as a good thing because at least it wasn't an eternity of pain was very moving.

I'm interested to see where you go with this. I have not read Not Normal but my curiosity may get the best of me now.

I enjoyed reading this. =)

- Rhaenyra

Author's Response: Hey, hey, hey! Thanks for dropping by.

There are far too few stories about Regulus in my opinion. I'm glad that he's experiencing a sort of surge in popularity in recent months, though.

Thank you so much! I struggle with description, so for this story I stuck to only describing things, just to see if I could do it - a sort of personal challenge. I'm very pleased that you found it to work.

Thank you so much for this lovely review. Hopefully I'll be posting the next chapter in the near future :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Lady Rose MacClare Darkness

22nd April 2015:
Hello There.

I am Lady Rose MacClare. You may have heard of me from the series Downton Abbey, where I eventually come to live with Crawley Family. I have been told my a close friend from the forums that you like the series. Is that true? Because that is why I am here to review your story, to thank you for watching it. I hope you will like my review. If not, I'm truly sorry.

Anyway, over to the story. Oh my, this was was horrific in a good way. I cannot imagine a worse death than drowning. It is said to be the longest death of them all, the worst death, that you are alive for several minutes before it all comes to an end. I feel sorry for this boy/man for having to die in such a horrible way, but I am glad it was not the end for him. He does not seem like a horrible man, so I imagine he deserves another chance, that it is deserving that it is not the end of him.

As you can probably tell, I do not know much about this world you write about. I do not what an inferi is, for example, but I have heard a little about it from that friend over at the forums that I mentioned earlier.

I think it was very interesting to see Regulus' last moments. Even here in the early 1920s do we wonder about what goes through people's mind as they pass on to the world beyond, and I have been told by my friend that is still something you wonder about. So I suppose there is no possible way of finding the correct answer to that question, is there? You have to die to know, and if are dead you cannot tell the living. But we will all know in time, I suppose.

I cannot stay for much longer. My father and mother are coming to visit us today, so we need to prepare for it. Things are rather busy here in Downton Abbey, you see. But then again, you probably already know that, since you have been watching our show. It is strange to think that people will watch our lives in the 1920s unfold 1000 years after it happened on something called a "Television" (that was the correct word, right?).

Would you say hi to my friend for me. She does not come by very often, because she needs to travel back in time in order to do so. So I would appreciate it if you would contact her for me. She always uses a different name when she is with us, than the one she uses on the forums. But she did give me this clue once, in case I were to meet another from the forum that could contact her:

Your clue:

While I do love the show
The clue is not my name
You see, I am more than you think
But everyone's the same

Hope this might help you find her, if that is what you wish. Best of luck and may you have a wonderful life!

Yours Sincerely

Lady Rose MacClare

Author's Response: Lady Rose! What a pleasant surprise! I most certainly wasn't expecting anyone from Downton to drop in and leave such a wonderful review on one of my stories. I must humbly apologise for my tardiness in replying - the sheer unexpectedness of it threw me.

I have also heard that drowning is not a pleasant way to go. I think, all things considered, that Regulus took it rather well. And there's something special in store for Regulus in the afterlife, rest assured!

Pondering death I think is a timeless pastime for humankind. No matter how advanced we become as a society, or whichever distant star we choose to make our home in the future, the enigma of death will always fascinate us.

I completely understand that you must rush off now, Lady Rose. Your parents really do require the most rigorous of preparations :P

I shall most certainly thank your friend on the forums for suggesting this story to you. And I thank you most ardently for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Unicorn_Charm Darkness

25th March 2015:
Hey there! Here for the swap!! :)

Regulus seems like he's become a hot topic on the forums lately, so I've been wanting to read a Regulus story and was so glad to see you have one here! :)

Oh I love this line so much! your only chance of glory scribbled on a scrap of parchment hidden in a fake locket at the bottom of bowl containing only pain sequestered in a cave carved of death. Chills.

Gah! This was amazing! I could vividly see the dark lake and almost see Regulus just sinking lower and lower. My heart was actually racing while reading this! I really, really love how you've written this moment, honestly. Regulus just accepted his death, did not seem scared and knew he died for a noble cause. You've really done justice to the hero's death that he did have. He willingly embraced it.

I really loved that one line, too, about Voldemort. And to think the Dark Lord deemed himself worthy to taint such an heirloom of his House.

This was just amazingly well written and so very, very vivid. I truly enjoyed reading this! Thanks so much for doing the swap!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Yeah, there has been a spike in Regulus interest, which is great since more stories need to be written about him. I feel like it's a bit of a revival period for him, since he got quite a few stories right after Deathly Hallows was released.

That line gave me so much grief! It's so long and there are so many words so when I went back to edit, I swear I read that sentence like twenty times to make sure all the words were where they were supposed to be and that I hadn't skipped any. I'm glad it was worth the effort :P

It was fun writing a piece where a character was simply being. It's a little different to stuff I've written before and I'm not sure if I could pull it off again, haha! But yes, Regulus is very much accepting of his death. He knew what he was getting into this time.

Thank you so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by adluvshp Darkness

2nd March 2015:
Hey! Here for the Slytherin Review Exchange. I'm sorry it took me so long!

Wow, this is very, very interesting. I love what I've read of Not Normal so far and I'm glad you decided to give Regulus his own little story here. The idea of afterlife is very interesting and not one I've seen explored properly in fan fiction before. This is a very promising plot and already you've built the setting wonderfully.

Your descriptions were just superb. The drowning part was really surreal and the endless falling was almost haunting. You captured the darkness of it very nicely. The ending bit, with the switch to first person point of view, was smoothly done and intrigues me that I want to read further to know what's going to happen next.

Great job all in all! Excited to read more of this story =)

Cheers,
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Heya!

I was surprised by the love Regulus received in Not Normal, so I couldn't help giving him his own origin story. Writing about the afterlife should be interesting - especially since in Not Normal I describe it from the side of the living, not the dead.

Thank you so much! Dark pieces always feel a little odd to me, but they can be fun to write from time to time.

Thanks so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by tangledconstellations Darkness

25th February 2015:
Hullo there :)

Wow...

Well, I most definitely did enjoy reading this. I thought it was absolutely beautiful. I love that you've created a really spatial distance between us and Regulus, suggested through the format on the page but also the theme. I'm really, really interested in your story Not Normal now, because I love Regulus as a character, probably because there is so much speculation about who he could really be.

As a prequel this definitely works because your writing really makes makes me want to read on and to develop this idea further in my mind. And, "Not the end." - I LOVE that this is the last line. It's so captivating, it really makes you not want to leave this piece. It feels like poetry, it's so abstract and flowing. "My eyes snap open" - snap is such a good word choice, it's almost a contradiction to the way eyes operate, how normally they're, y'know, a bit squishy and human-like. But that line just gives you such a clear image, suggesting the sound and the way he almost can't not do it. Ugh I'm rambling, and I probably could ramble for every single line here. They're all so beautiful, they all work together so well.

One thing I think is really cool about this piece is that there's no real mention of time - like, I have no idea how long Regulus is drowning or falling for. And it doesn't feel relevant - you don't need to say at all. It could be a single moment for all I know. Or it could be for ages. The piece has been manipulated in such a way that it doesn't matter, its not your focus, just, Regulus is. And it's done so, so well. His thoughts are so abstract, too, just bouncing off one another. While I was reading it I was thinking about synapses in the brain, just like passing messages on and on leading on to the next thought and the next thought. It's such a cool effect.

Anyway I rambled a lot just there - I'm sorry I couldn't be more constructive. But I am totally in love with pieces like this, pieces that are just like poetry and manage to so expertly use a little number of words to create a huge and expansive picture. This was wonderful!

Laura ♥ xxx

Author's Response: Hello!

Ah! Thank you so much! This piece is a quite a bit darker from my usual stuff, so I was a little concerned about how it would be received. I really wanted to focus on space as part of Regulus' death experience. Playing with our perception of it was a lot of fun, actually.

I'm glad it makes you want to read on, haha! Not Normal is quite different to what this story will end up being, but I hope you enjoy both if you do read them. Snap is just a great word in general. It's so versatile, like I can use it to describe frozen peas to the way people open their eyes.

Not mentioning time was a conscious choice. For him now, time has no meaning. He just is, like you said. It tied in with the way I manipulated space - you can tell I'm a bit of a physics nerd, and a Doctor Who fan besides :P And OMG! Yes, random synapses is exactly what I pictured his thoughts to be like! Just neurons firing as they please, manifesting as this slightly disconnected thought process.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, Laura :) ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by Debra20 Darkness

17th February 2015:
Hiya there! Thanks for joining my challenge! I am sooo excited to be reading this story. I am even more excited about the fact that you chose to center it around Regulus, which is not that popular in my reads although I find him intriguing to say the least :D

I love how you've managed to establish some facts about Regulus' personality even in this short a piece. First off, we get to see a glimpse of his immense bravery to stand up and defy Voldemort and betray his trust like this. I guess he was more like Sirius than we all knew *sniff*

And second, I really appreciated the fact that he doesn't kiss the earth Voldemort steps on, nor trembles in fear at the thought of his name like the other Death Eaters do. I mean, to even have the thought that the great Dark Lord is not worthy of having the locket of his House speaks a lot about him. Maybe it's just youth recklessness but I can't brush it off just like that. You have to have blood in your veins to stand up to someone as powerful and frightening as Voldemort and that can't be attributed solely to youth.

Can't wait to see what you're going to do with this! I am intrigued by this Department of Spectral Affairs and what it's role is. Love love love :D

Author's Response: Heya! I'm super excited about this challenge, too, although I've kind've let this story go more than I like. But it shall be finished come hell or high water! Regulus really is a character who should have more words devoted to him. There's so many places you can take him as a character, and hopefully I can take him in a direction that may not be expected.

Ah! Thank you! I wasn't sure how much of his personality comes through in this first chapter since he's so detached from everything. But I'm glad that some things get through. And yes! I really want to write him as someone who's similar to Sirius.

He probably should be more scared of Voldemort than he is, but 1) he's dead so he doesn't really care about anyone, and 2) it's just a touch of arrogance. Voldemort may not be as scary as he likes to pretend, but he's not someone you want to cross either!

I hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the story! Thanks for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by ScarlettANDJames Darkness

16th February 2015:
quite excited about this story! i always loved regulus and this seems quite non cliche and interesting, so bring on the next chapter xx

Author's Response: Ah! Thank you so much. I hope you continue to enjoy it :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>