Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Trying My Patience
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by carter_m16 Trying My Patience.

7th January 2016:
Hi Wolfgirl, my name is Sabrina. At the beginning of last year you posted on my reviews offered in Forums, but I kind of left the whole fanfiction thing for a while so I never got back to it. Well I have decided to get back in and thought what better way than to start reviews again.

So in the thread you noted that you were worried about flow, plot, and characterization. For starters, everything did flow together and I was never confused about what was happening. I understood what was happening and why. I understood that before the start of this one-shot (?) that Scorpius and Rose had hated each other, or at least Rose hated Scorpius.

Secondly, your plot foundation and development were all really good. You introduced the characters and the main problem before starting with everything else, which helped me understand everything. One thing that did through me for a loop was the tree at the end. I didn't really fully understand why you added the tree. Not that it was bad, but it was just a little confusing.

Finally, you were concerned with your characterization. I really enjoyed how you portrayed Rose. She seems a lot like I would picture Rose, and the way she act with Scorpius is just a tad more violent than I ever thought of, but it is still really good. I enjoyed how you wrote James and Albus in there as well. I liked how you made James the crazed quidditch captain we all know him to be, and I liked how you also added James and Albus's rivalry into the story. I really liked how you had a scene with her and Albus talking. That was also a really funny scene when Scorpius flew by them, flicking them off.

Overall, this was an enjoyable thing to read. I hope you are satisfied with this review. I am so sorry that I am just getting to it now.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Tinkabell Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
This looks like a lot of fun. I like that "Ridiculous" Rose really doesn't care that Malfoy was hurt. Too often in Quidditch scenes Rose (or someone else...) finally realises their love for the hurt player which is so predictable. This Rose seems to have plenty of spunk which I like. Do continue!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #3, by ObeliskX Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
It is a pity very few few fics with romance describe quidditch in details. Keep wriiting, please

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Chirpy B Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
This awesome! Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #5, by hatty Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
I love it, please keep posting

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #6, by mika Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
hey! I really liked this, i hope you update soon 3 :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #7, by blue21 Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
Yay!new scorrose fic!:) those are my favourites) hilarious start, can't wait to read what happens next...I'm thinking hospital wing scene with both if them in adjacent bedsXD
Always
Bluechocolate21

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #8, by glamorouspirate Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
Thoroughly enjoyed this first chapter! Love the way that you wrote the match. Can't wait to see what happens next. More please!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #9, by daisy Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
ack I need more! It's good to see you write another good story. Please please to keep the update!xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #10, by guest Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
Omg love it so far :) really excited for this next story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #11, by JustMeMarissa Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
Yay! More Scorose :) Love it, especially because you have a talent for these two :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #12, by seelieprincess Trying My Patience.

21st July 2015:
Are you planning on continuing this story? You marked it as complete, but I want to know what happens next!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like the story enough to leave a comment!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Alicelost Trying My Patience.

28th June 2015:
please pick this up again i liked the beginning

Author's Response: Hey Alice,

I'll think about it. This was written as a request for someone on the forums and I got a little bummed when they didn't both to read it because they don't like Next Gen or Quidditch fics, even though they were really vague with their request.

I will see what I can do about continuing it, as I did lay the ground work to have it turn into a longer story. We'll see what I can come up with. I'm pleased that you're enjoying my Next Gen stuff. I haven't written a lot of it, so it's nice to know it's a hit.

xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #14, by MargaretLane Trying My Patience.

8th March 2015:
You do a good job of explaining what positions Rose and Scorpius play without making it seem forced, which can be difficult to do.

I'd be inclined to put a comma after "Merlin," in "Merlin, how she hated him." Same with "for Merlin's sake," when James shouts at Rose.

And you explain their joint academic ability well too. The way she mentions it sounds natural and not like you're dragging it in because we need to know.

*rolls eyes at Lily's comment* That's no excuse. Annoying somebody you fancy is no better than annoying somebody for any other reason. In fact, it could possibly be more annoying, because then you've also got to deal with the awkwardness of knowing somebody fancies you when you might not fancy them AND for some reason it's considered less acceptable to call them on their behaviour.

Love the comment about him being so in love with himself.

You've given us a good deal of insight into James and Rose's personalities in the first half of this story. And sort of Scorpius's, but that might not be ENTIRELY reliable, as Rose clearly has strong feelings about him and might not be the most reliable judge of his character.

I'd be inclined to say "the amount of weight he put ON winning the game" rather than "in."

And again, you show us the house Albus is in and the relationship between him and James very effectively. Those kind of things are hard to slip in in a way that doesn't come across as forced.

You've written Albus was "not doubt shouting to Malfoy." I presume it should be "no doubt."

It's funny to see Rose and Albus as such rivals here, since in my own story, they are best friends and well, Albus is rather in awe of Rose. He rarely argues with her.

The line about how it would be better if she maimed Scorpius made me laugh.

Gosh, she was rather unsportsmanly towards Scorpius. I guess Quidditch is a rather brutal game though, and it's no worse than hitting Bludgers at people, but still!

Oh, yikes, poor Rose at the end. Hope she and Scorpius are both OK.

Author's Response: Hey,

Thanks so much for getting to all these reviews so quickly. Super cool of you. I'm glad you liked it and I will be sure to include those edits you mentioned. I'm always terrible with commas, since I usually feel like I use too many.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #15, by marissa lily potter Trying My Patience.

20th February 2015:
Hiya!

This was really fun to read! I love stories where Rose and Scorpius have an unfathomable amount of tension between them. Sometimes, it gets a little ridiculous and super cliche but it didn't feel like that at all here! I think the fact that you set the scene on the Quidditch pitch to start off, making the tension and rivalry more justifiable was a great thing to do! It really made me excited and nervous and antsy reading because not only did I want to read more about Rose and Scorpius, but I also wanted to read about how the game would end!

You have an amazing foundation for a plot here. There's so much that you could do with this. You've set the beginning scene up beautifully and I feel like there are a million different ways you can go with the story and they would all fit. This chapter was vague enough to let the readers go on and think of the future for themselves but also descriptive enough to really set a good foundation!

I am very impressed at how descriptive you are. I really felt like I was watching the game. When Rose squinted, I felt myself squinting as if I was really in the thick of it all. xD It makes me so happy when an author has such a strong effect on me as a reader. I love it when I'm able to get excited about a story and feel like I'm a part of it. That's what you did for me here and I'm very grateful for it. You really do have a way with words because not only did you excel at grabbing my attention but you kept it.

You had a very good flow to this chapter! It was very easy to believe everything that was happening and when the scenes changed, I didn't feel like they were abrupt at all! The transitions were smooth and I couldn't even feel that they were happening, which was the best part! One moment I felt like I was still at the beginning of the chapter and the next, James is yelling at Rose and right after that, Albus is trying to distract her.

Speaking of Albus, he's such a funny character. Albus is probably one of my favourites in the next generation era to read about. He's always so interesting because there are SO many different takes on him. I'm very happy with the way you've set him up so far! To be honest, I like all the characters you've introduced so far. They're unique but I can see why they would get along with the people they do get along with. They're similar to one another but their own people at the same time. And they're definitely very relatable!

Winning a game can make people do crazy things. xD I could definitely see all of this happening for real! I really did enjoy reading this chapter and am glad I got a chance to read it. I ♥ Next Gen and you've done them justice! Great work! ^.^

~Marissa

Author's Response: Naw, thanks Marissa!

Now I'm grinning like a fool at work and my colleagues are shooting me funny looks. lol.

Thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review. I feel all warm and fuzzy now. I've tried my hand at Scorose in the past on another site, (the fic will soon be posted here too) but I wanted to do a different take on them this time so it's nice to hear that so far it's engaging and interesting a likable.

Thanks a bundle for reviewing for me.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #16, by harrypotter310 Trying My Patience.

18th February 2015:
I'm into it! I can't wait to see how it develops. I also follow you on FanFiction so try not to make it the same Take the Tumble - however, I also love that fic so trust your instincts! I'm going to follow and I look forward to updates! Can't wait!

Author's Response: Hey,
Don't worry it's not going to be too much like Take the Tumble, simply because there can be no frick frack on this site like that, and so rather than steamy love scenes, they'll have to develop their relationship and interactions with each other via different means. I promise it won't be too same-same.

Thanks for reviewing. I should be updating again soon.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #17, by Japans Arc Angel Trying My Patience.

18th February 2015:
So, I've only recently stepped into the world of Next Gen fictions, so it was nice to be able to read another side of this era, and I must say, I was impressed by this! I'm already looking to read on with this!

A few general comments:
I like you interesting twist with Slytherin and Albus, and am interested in seeing where this is going in contrast with other characters.
There's a good chemistry between characters here, not always super friendly families as is per norm, so it was nice to see a relatable situation between characters.
I feel as though the chapter was of quite a good length, not too much, not too little, there's just enough to ready the reader for the next chapter.

Your writing style is very similar to that of JKs, so congratulation on following on and giving your writing a certain continuity to it. It is easy to follow and provides the right balance of characterisation, scene setting and action.
I can see that there are lots of places for this to go, although you don't give much away, which I enjoy as I've always been a sucker for suspense and a bit of the unknown.

I would say that the relationship that is hinted at between Scorpius and Rose could be an interesting one and I like how you've subtly implied previous engagements between the two of them. It would have perhaps been nice to have seen more of him, though I understand that for this chapter and this particular style, it wasn't required. Though I look forward to getting to know more about him and his intentions towards Rose.

All in all, I would say a solid effort. And I would honestly like to read more from this. I think you may have actually converted me to this ship already!

Many thanks

-JAA

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing for me! It's nice to hear some encouragement for this fic, as I have another Scorose on a different site and so far everyone who's read the other seems more interested in expressing their hopes that I'm not going to write the same fic over again just because it's the same paring. (clearly they've not read my abundance of Dramione and don't know of my ability to vary characterizations and plots.)

Anyway, it's good to hear that I might have converted you. I will be back to re-request from you when chapter 2 is up so keep an eye out. Thanks so much for such a lovely review!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #18, by Hana Trying My Patience.

13th February 2015:
This was a great first chapter. Rose and Scorpius have a lot to work out!! But I love that!! The end with the whole karma and the tree, was great and unexpected, but I guess it's only fair, 'cause that was a long fall for Scorpius! I can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Hey Hana,

Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'll update again soon.

xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #19, by oldershouldknowbetter Trying My Patience.

12th February 2015:
Oh hell yeah!

Straight in and straight away we have some
delicious Rose on Scorpius rivalry and friction.

Ahem, let me start properly.

Hi there here for the requested review swap.

I just love me some ScoRose action as of course
ROSE/SCORPIUS IS THE ONE TRUE PAIRING!

I find it tres amusement that you have made the
pair both seekers - as you will discover if you
read my Next Gen fic, so have I. Being a Seeker is
such a lone position to have in a team sport. I
believe that it is a good way to highlight their
independent natures by having them both as
Seekers.

I love all your 'It wasn't' exposition. It is a
good and concise and humourous way to set up the
stage and the characters. I see you are not going
to stray terribly far from cannon, no that's
misusing the term as there is no 'cannon' as such
for anything much beyond the D.H. epilogue. I will
amend it to say that it appears to me that you are
not going to stray away from the major ScoRose
trope: both good at school; both attractive; Rose
detesting Scorpius; and a hint that he might
actually, secretly, like her.

OH YEAH. *as said by Barry White*

Oh James has the glasses - nice touch and one I
have not seen before.

Ah, I should add to the usual ScoRose trope, to
whit, Albus in Slytherin. So we first had James,
being very James and Qudditch obsessed and now
here we have Albus. He is in Slytherin house and
what I like, and I've been finding more people I
respect are doing it, is when they have a person
in a particular House -THEY ACTUALLY ATTRIBUTE
SOME OF THAT HOUSE'S ATTRIBUTES TO THAT CHARACTER.
Albus is often put in Slytherin ... because. It is
a neat thing to do and it is usually quite helpful
to get some inter-house unity happening or,
especially in these sort of ScoRose fics, to
catalyse the relationship between Rose and
Scorpius. But you have actually made him sneaky
and thus deserving the appellation of Slytherin.
He might be rose's favourite cousin, but that
doesn't stop her from clocking him one on the jaw

Rose catches the snitch - oh yeah. One up on
Malfoy - her being bruised by him was cancelled
out by his probably cracked ribs and falling off
the broom - and it's only the first chapter.

But there is a little fly in the ointment of her
otherwise satisfied victory. Unconsciousness?
Methinks that we just might see some Rose-forced-
to-stay-in-the-hospital-wing-with-Scorpius-bloody-
Malfoy action come the next chapter (one can only
hope)

Your language and description is a delight - it is
so easy to read and is thoroughly engaging. I just
love your inclusion of Rose using the phrase 'pull
her finger out'. All the characterisation is spot
on for the main trope you have selected. Very
enjoyable.

Thank you Bethanex for inspiring it and thank you
Wolfgirl for writing it.

Andrew (so impatiently awaiting the next chapter),
Oldershouldknowbetter.

Author's Response: Hey Andrew!

Thanks so much for reviewing for me. I'm glad you liked it so much. I have one other Scorose fic, also very trope central with the things you've mentioned, so you'll most likely enjoy it too when I get around to posting it.

I must admit that while I love me some Dramoine as an OTP I did fall for the Scorose ship first, so it's nice to be getting back into them. My other one (called Take the Tumble) is an absolute monster and so I went off writing the pairing for ages because I couldn't seem to top them from the other story, but I'm getting back into the swing of it and falling in love with the freedom their characters provide in regard to creativity and not having to fit any cannon constraints.

Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm on my way to work on your review right now!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login