11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Hanukkah Dreidel Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

6th December 2015:
Spinning around through the HPFF Archives I go, but I landed back in the Chai series as it's no secret that I love this series and all four of them have just made me smile so much.

ooh, i love tamarind chutney! This fic, like all the ones that preceded it, made me so hungry. :p

I loved the reference to Neville's struggles with ikea furniture as well :p

Just so you know, Indian Hannah is totally my headcanon now. You've given so much depth to her character in such a beautiful way, and I just LOVE your portrayal of her, and the way her love for food and cooking have such an impact on her life. And your Neville is so adorable, as much of a dork as he is. :D That really was the worst proposal haha, but it all ended up all right in the end!

This review wouldn't really be complete if I didn't mention how much I loved the details you add in here - a lot of time has passed since the previous instalment and you give these little glimpses of what their life is like together- I particularly loved how you described that they have a nice dining table now but it has books and potted plants all over it. That says so much about their life XD And of course this chapter really shows how supportive they are of each other's passions in life, as Neville is willing to be superfluous in the kitchen, and Hannah's willing to put up with plants attacking her hair (or whatever was going on there :P )

Anyway, I just loved this - wonderful writing!

Author's Response: Aww! Thank you so much! I'm glad that you've enjoyed the Chai series.

Tamarind chutney is the best. It is the queen of all chutneys out there.

Teehee. Ikea bamboozles us all - including the great Neville Longbottom.

Yayayay! I am so honoured to have someone adopt my headcanon as their own. That means so much to me. My heart is bursting. And dorky Neville is the best Neville, tbh.

The dining table definitely isn't from Ikea :P And only the plants really know what on earth is going on with them. Maybe they really were jealous of Hannah...

Thanks so much for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

18th August 2015:
Hi there!

I'm here for our review swap! So sorry it's taken me so long to get to this.

I ADORE THE CHAI SERIES!!! These are so beautiful and uplifting and funny to read. I don't think it's too fluffy at all and I'm completely in love with Hannah and Neville. You've perfectly characterized what I envision an older Neville to be like. He's caring and passionate, but has grown into himself so much. He knows who he is and doesn't rest on his laurels. Deep down he's still a tiny bit unsure of himself, but for the most part, he has it together.

And then there's Hannah. We don't have a lot to go on from the books but your version of her is my new head canon. You've created such a perfect match for him. The two of them are so kind and thoughtful but I think what I adore the most about them is that they each have found their own way in the world. She's putting her culinary talents to use at the Leaky Cauldron and he's got his dream job as Professor of Herbology at Hogwarts. I'm a firm believer that before you can share your life with someone else, you first have to find something for yourself - something that is only for you.

There we so many great, humorous parts to this and the proposal is so perfect. It embodies Neville and I was doing a facepalm the entire time, watching him bungle it up more and more. And then when I realized he actually had a ring, I was like "HANNAH! HE'S SERIOUS! GO FOR IT!!!"

You might want to adjust your Author's Note because it says this is the final installment but I see you've got a Cup 5 up already - so that might get confusing for your readers.

And as always, I appreciated your educating us on the Indian terms for the food and spices!

Thanks for doing a swap!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: THANK YOU SO MUCH. I'm sososo happy that you like Neville and Hannah. All of the story depends on people liking these two. I was really worried about writing Neville. It was hard striking the balance between the dork that he was in school, but with the self-confidence he developed through the war (and I imagine, after). Neville Longbottom has done really well for himself :P

I loved writing Hannah for the reason that we know very little about her - I could do whatever I wanted with her MUHAHAHA. (Also I'm totally blushing that you've adopted her as your headcanon.) She's just so great to write because she's kind and hardworking but she does what she wants, always choosing what's best for her. There's a lot I admire about her.

I was giggling as I wrote that proposal scene. It's just so dorky and adorable and it felt the most real to Neville's character. I loved writing it, and I'm so glad that you enjoyed it as well.

And oh yes! That's a really good idea, actually! Thanks for pointing that out to me.

Thanks for the lovely review, Beth :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by MuggleMaybe Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

2nd August 2015:
So, I know it's bad form to favorite a story without leaving a review, but I just couldn't review the 2nd and 3rd stories in this series because that would have required me to stop reading in between them, and I absolutely wasn't going to do that!

All four of the Chai stories are going on my favorites list! This is definitely my head canon now. I don't even know what to say except that these stories are very well written, and fluffy in the best possible way. You capture both character's emotions amazingly well. It was impossible not to empathize with them.

I absolutely love this series!

So... number 5? ;)

Author's Response: You came back though! *AGGRESSIVE HUGGING*

*blushes* *dies* You are too sweet! I am just so... ugh. My feels. You've broken my feels. I don't even know how to respond to this review in a coherent way. And not only did I manage to make you hungry, but converted a HEADCANON?!?!! Wowee. Just. Wowee again.

And number 5 ;)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Pixileanin Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

27th June 2015:
Hi there! I read this a while ago and never left a review. BAD ME!!!

But I'm here now, so on with it!

Oh, and before I forget: House Cup 2015

Gryffindor

Okay. Story time.

First off, I love this opening where Neville lists off the significant things he's done in the kitchen. Now he's preparing himself for another one, a big one too, and it's so sweet and so very Neville. Awesome characterization!

Haha! I don't see stirring yogurt as something "manly", but if it makes Neville feel better about himself, who am I to judge? :P I love the idea of Hannah taking out a loan to allow Tom to retire. I'm so glad you didn't kill him off, that might have killed the mood of the story too... death and.. anyway. Moving on.

And I totally got that Swedish reference. I think I may have used that in a fic too. LOL! I also love the image of all of Neville's stuff on the dining table. He'll have to work on that, but it shows the haphazard state of their place, that they haven't completely settled yet. It's a lovely addition to the scenery.

LOL! I can imagine how Ron's proposal had turned out if Neville's having such a hard time with it. It's sweet though, how he finally makes it happen. Of course Hannah is thrilled either way. I'm glad he elaborates more on the reasons besides just a "Chutney recipe". But I have to admit, that was a brilliant line.

Such a sweet piece! I thoroughly enjoyed this series of yours!

Pix

Author's Response: Delayed reviews are still reviews, so it's all good ^.^

Neville was the hardest to write in this series. He's such a dork but I couldn't have him being too dorky because he's been through a lot and that changes a person, and I wanted to reflect that strength and quiet confidence. But OMG. So many dorky things, Neville. So many.

Stirring yoghurt has always struck me as a rather gender neutral activity. But, as you said, if that's what floats Neville's boat... And Tom is just too grumpy to die ;)

Flatpack furniture is a nightmare. Neville gets it. And yeah, I also wanted to show that they were comfortable with each other's presence now. Both their things are in places where they shouldn't be. I can imagine Neville searching through Hannah's underwear drawer looking for a like his pruners or something :P

I feel like Ron is one of those people whose proposal would be a total and utter disaster. Hermione probably said no the first time, just on principle. I really loved writing that proposal because it was like FINALLY GUYS ABOUT FLIPPING TIME.

Thanks so much for the lovely review :) *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #5, by Roisin Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

31st May 2015:
The story and chapter summaries for this were just too amazing and I couldn't not pick it!

Oops, but now I see it's part of a series--I suppose I should have read the others first. I'll certainly go back and do that.

But this story was just lovely. Really charming and engaging, and the language throughout felt really effortless. Your humor and characters absolutely shone as well :)

But it made me SO HUNGRY OH MY GOD. My sister is half Indian so I grew up with Indian cooking, and throughout your descriptions were really apt and specific and perfect. I felt like I could really smell and taste everything!

And I like the idea that Hannah prefers to cook without magic--that makes a weird amount of sense. That personal, human touch definitely makes food taste better!

Man, I just can't get over how CUTE this story is, but then it had just enough sharp wit to not feel overwhelmingly fluffy, you know? Neville and Hannah are absolutely adorable, and you manage to show-not-tell how much he respects her really well. Quite admirable, overall.

Thank you so much for swapping with me! I'll definitely be reading the rest of this series :)

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: It's funny, because you managed to pick the last one in the series - SPOILERS. :P

Thank you so much. I found it a little difficult at times to keep the voice of the characters the same across the stories, but still read as new and fresh. So that means a lot.

YES. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED. This is actually my favourite reaction from people to this series: the story leaves you feeling hungry. That's all I want in from this series, really.

My writing favours the side of fluff to an extent which is slightly worrying sometimes, but i tried to aim for a more balanced style here. I'm so pleased that you found it to work! Thanks so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

27th April 2015:
They're getting married!

And Neville is so adorably awkward. Let's get married because chutney. It's perfect!

And Hannah probably really will be excited to get those recipes.

I just love them. That was the most adorkable proposal I've read in ages.

"He needed to do something successfully to feel manly again, and stirring yoghurt seemed like a good option."
--stirring yoghurt to feel manly. Neville is a jewel among men.

I love your Neville/Hannah series and am really excited to hear that there could be an 5th installment of Chai coming! I'm so glad I came and read all these. They really made me smile (and hungry. Man, Hannah's cooking sounds delicious!)

--Penny

Author's Response: *wedding bells ring in the distance* That was the soundtrack that played in my head as I wrote this one-shot.

Neville is just too great. He tries so hard, but when it comes down to it, he proposes using a chutney excuse. Don't ever change, Neville.

And Hannah is almost more excited about the recipe than she is about marrying Neville :P

Hopefully I'll post Chai 5 soon. But in the meantime, thanks for all these lovely reviews! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #7, by ScarlettANDJames Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

9th March 2015:
my god hannah and neville are so cute and likeable and normal and not over romanticized and i love their cute little kitchen moments, very well done xx

Author's Response: Yeah, that was the aim for this series. How normal people can be cute to - there is hope for the rest of us yet! Thanks so much for the lovely reviews, and I'm glad that you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Infinityx Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

5th February 2015:
Hi! I'm here for the review swap! Sorry, it took longer for me to get to this than expected. :/

I know I haven't reviewed the other stories in this series but I did go and read them before coming to this one and they were so adorable! I wanted to leave a review on this final one but I'll definitely come back to review the previous ones as soon as I get time. :)

I absolutely love this. I've been living in India for a while now and I know how lovely the combination of chai and chaat is, as well as chai and samosas and everything else. :D Having the series revolve around Neville and Hannah's interactions in the kitchen was such a great idea and you've written them so well!

Do you cook? I presume you do because the descriptions are excellent. I could envision everything that was happening and I was familiar with the Hindi names so it was really funny to read about Neville's confusion! And if you don't cook, well, you've written everything amazingly that I could never believe that you don't. :D

I ADORE Neville here. The way you've portrayed his character makes him so endearing and I love how you've brought out his goofiness and clumsy way of telling things that are especially important. His love for Hannah was also so clear in this and it just gave me such warm and fuzzy feels!

I love the way the two interact with each other as well. It's so natural and perfect, and they really do seem to be meant for each other. All that banter and teasing remarks but obvious love for each other were written so wonderfully. :')

This was amazing! It was so light and fluffy, and had humour in all the right places. Your writing style is also brilliant and definitely suits the mood and tone of the story. Brilliant job here and i'm so glad I read it! You can expect reviews on the other stories very soon! :)

Author's Response: That's cool! It took me a while to drop by with your review too so hi-5 for that!

Aww! That's really sweet of you! I'm just happy that you wanted to read all of them. It's different to the type of stuff I've written before.

I'm Indian (although I don't live there) and if there's one thing its culture has taught me is that chai basically goes with everything and you can drink it in any situation. I'm glad you liked the setting too. I was scared that it might get a little repetitive.

I don't actually like to cook, but I do it because you know, eating is a thing. I definitely prefer writing about cooking more than the act itself. Having said that, all the food in the series is something that I make (or have made) or helped my mother make. And I'm glad you liked Neville's reactions. I drew on my experience from when I was younger and some words in Australian English would throw me.

Neville is great. I'm happy with my decision to wait for the right sort of story for him to come along before writing about him. And he's such a loveable dork. It gives the rest of us dorks hope. Our Hannahs are out there...

Neville and Hannah are the most compatible couple I've written so far, and that really shows in the writing. They came so easily to the page; I never had to force anything with them.

Thanks so much for your lovely review! I'm very happy that you enjoyed the series :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Maelody Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

27th January 2015:
It's over?! D: But it was so cute! And fluffy! And amazing!

Aww, but I have to say! This is one of the sweetest installments yet! Seriously! Could this proposal be any more canon with Neville than what you just made it? I think not! He's so adorkable! I just wanna squish him! :3

I think it's amazing that his proposal went so terribly wrong that it was just right for the duo. The way they are characterized, I wouldn't expect anything more from them. "I said yes didn't I?" *squee* It's just so unperfectly perfect! And, to be quite honest, pretty realistic for any average couple out there. I mean, sure, some get it just right. But then you have these adorkable moments!

Normally, I would say that I want to marry Neville just because he's so adorable and I lawve him, but at this rate, I think I want to marry Hannah, too. I mean, have you SEEN the way she cooks? Food is the way to my heart, man. And I think she's won it. ;)

Seriously, though. I love the fact that you came up with this series. It always makes me hungry, yes. But it is also so unique, so realistic, and so good! I envy you and your wonderful talents of being wonderful. I'm sad that the series is over, though. :( You should write more Hanna/Neville! I'll love you forever and make you chai! :D

Great installment to the series. Great series. And great work, as always! I miss it already!

~Mae

Author's Response: Alas! It is indeed over! I'm glad you enjoyed them!

Haha! Yeah, Neville is pretty adorable here. I just really revelled in his dorkiness. It gives the rest of us dorks hope, I think.

Somehow things just work out for these two. I wanted to write them like that - both individually and together. They work hard, they're honest, and fair. And because of that, even life feels bad for the nasty things that happen because everything just works out in the end. Hannah didn't want to be a Healer anymore: she becomes the landlady of the Leaky Cauldron. Neville doesn't want to be an Auror anymore: he becomes the Herbology professor. Neville stuffs up his marriage proposal: "I said yes, didn't I?"

That's a really common opinion! Everyone wants Neville for themselves, but then they're like "but Hannah is also so perfect!" The struggle. I REALLY want to marry Hannah. She cooks all the food I like to eat, and she cooks it so well!

Aww! *blushes* Thanks so much, Mae! I'm glad you enjoyed the series! There might be more in store for these two - who knows? Thanks for all your lovely words :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFan Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

26th January 2015:
I can relate to Hannah so much, I absolutely hate chopping onions, I always tear up so bad that it gets to the point where I canít even see anymore because thereís so much crying and I have to put down the knife and walk away. My eyes burning just thinking about it,

I understand Nevilleís struggle with the pressure cooker, my momís old one used to drive me crazy because it would start whistling at the most random of times and it would always startle me. And then whenever I tried to take the lid off, or attempt to, I couldnít figure out how I was supposed to turn it, I donít like pressure cookers is basically the story here.

The minute that Neville said that they should get married because of a chutney recipe I just wanted to groan because thatís not how you ask someone to marry you and I thought Hannah was just going to eat him alive for proposing that way. But at the same time, I wouldnít have expected anything more from Neville to be honest, it was just so completely Neville that it made laugh. It seemed like the perfect way for him to ask Hannah to marry him.

Oh my God Neville, way to tell the love of your life the story behind her engagement ring, ďNot because she killed him,Ē oh my God, where did this boy come from. Heís so sweet, and awkward, and dorky. I would like my own Neville, can I have my own Neville. I think your Neville is perfect, I wouldnít change anything about him at all, you can still see the eleven-year-old in him but at the same time heís a lot more confident and a lot happier than his kid-self and I love how youíve wrapped that all into one person so great.

(Also, Iím sorry this took so long I got sidetracked kpop.)

Author's Response: There are people who enjoy chopping onions? I either get my mother to do it, or take out a machine. Technology was invented so that I wouldn't have to chop onions! I'm just a puddle of painful tears when I chop them.

I remember when I first learnt how to open and close a pressure cooker. I feel you Neville - the struggle is real. They're so useful but they're just so difficult to use!

I just loved writing that scene. He's just so NEVILLE about it all. He wants to be this really cool and suave guy, but marriage is just such a huge thing, and he kind of just muddles right through it. I do love how he just keeps going, despite how terrible it's all going. But the great thing about these two is that Hannah gets him. A big part of it I think is that she's in shock - how can someone ask such a question by using a chutney recipe as a segue?

So much of Neville's awkwardness is my awkwardness to be honest. I feel like this is the kind of story I'd tell. I can babble terribly when I'm nervous. I'm just so happy by how many people love Neville. People have really embraced the dorkiness!

Thanks for the lovely review. (And totally understandable - kpop is a black hole)


 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

26th January 2015:
Ah! These installments have been so amazingly cute that the fluff did not suffocate me. I probably couldn't write fluff to save my life, but it's so nice to read here and there. Neville is so darn cute in this story, I kind of want to take him for myself and forget Hannah! lol. But he probably wouldn't like me anyway, I can't cook at all.

I love it when he jokes with her about being a Hufflepuff, and it's so cute when he's too nervous to say what he wants to say. Again, I just love that this one is from his POV. And I love how she jokes with him about only wanting him around to help boost business and make sandwiches. And I love how the title is part of their conversation in each chapter, really connecting all the installments together.

They're just so perfect together! I know I've said that probably at least twice now, but it's so true. I have loved all of these one-shots, they've been so fun and adorable to read and now I'm probably fluff overloading so I'm gonna go...

xxNix

Author's Response: That is excellent news! I love writing fluff so much, but I'm always scared that others will find it too cloying and not enjoy it as much as I'd like them to. Neville is fantastic, isn't he? I feel as if he represents what I'd be like in such situations.

I wanted to do half the stories from Hannah's POV, and the other half from his. It allowed me to establish who Hannah is because we don't really know her, and then writing from Neville's POV allowed me to really show how much of a dork he is, and just underscore his insecurities. But Hannah loves him anyway, and I wanted that to come across to Neville. He KNOWS that she loves him.

These two are probably the most compatible couple I've written so far. They still have chemistry, though, which is also great. I'm so pleased that you've enjoyed them!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login