Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Historically Accurate
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dumbledore_wannabe The Fifth.

8th September 2016:
Hi there! Just thought I'd let you know that there are still people out here loving this story and hoping you are still working on it. :) :) :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you so much! I've just put in a new chapter (not technically new, I've had a fair chunk of this story written for quite a while haha)! Uni has just been horrible all year and I sort of forgot for a bit, haha. Hope you enjoy though, and thank you so much again! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Frankie05 The Second.

26th August 2015:
This chapter was great. I enjoyed meeting the twins and seeing them interact. It's hilarious hearing their conversations (your dialouge is very good by the way). I wonder what house they are in(did you mention that?) anyway. Also your wit had me cracking up. " being exposed to so much Optimism in the morning can make anybody a pessimist." Gold.

And then we move into history of magic. I like that you say the subject is fascinating but the teacher is boring. That is so true of so many classes. But poor Vivian. Making her life in herbology class and leaving her friend behind. At least Albus is there to keep her company. Makes me snigger at whatever is coming. And whoosh that is embarrassing for a teacher to comment on grades like that when another student is present. Ouch. But an Agreement! They are going to tutor each other. I bet this is going to get really juicy.

Frankie

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Saule and Epona, they're fun to write (and both in Ravenclaw :) ) and haha thank you!

Ahh Viv, I don't think Clio realises their similarities! And yes, Hainsworth really has no tact at all! Unfortunately I've met a few teachers like that who talk to you about an essay or a test at a volume that allows the entire classroom to find out how you're doing in a subject...so embarrassing!

Thank you again for such wonderful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Frankie05 The First.

26th August 2015:
Hey there,

Next Gen fics are my jam right now and I'm always curious to see others OC and the creative juices that flow!
I am very intrigued by Clio and Albus. You don't find many characters who are interested in History or Magic so that is refreshing with how original it is!

Albus makes me curious about why he was crying. I really liked how you described him. His hair in disarray so much that he looked like an animal. He was a bit hesitant to accept help but I am glad he did

The common room nonsense was wonderful. I loved seeing the dynamics of kids in a school like that. They just act like sisters which is nice. I can't make any judgements on their personalities or characterizations because I don'tknow them very well. I think G is going to be hilarious to watch as the story goes on. For a first fic it shows promise!

Frankie

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you so much for both of your reviews, they're so lovely and made me smile!

I'm glad that you liked the Hufflepuff interaction - I always thought it was strange when after living together for that many years you wouldn't be that close to your roommates (though of course there are conflicting personalities and disagreements).

Thank you so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Willow_Lupin The Fifth.

20th April 2015:
Man...G is my spirit animal...I love this story I really hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad you like G! And yes, the next chapter should be up in a few days! Thanks for reading, and thank you for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by AlecJamesCaius_ The Fifth.

18th April 2015:
Hey it's me again! I'm the author of "A Weasley Vacation" and you've reviewed a few of the chapters already, and i've reviewed some of yours. Just noticed you had a new chapter up, and i'd like to continue the tradition of leaving a review on it.

I have to say I really like how the story is progressing so far; Actually in your situation I would have probably handled the writing of this chapter about the same. First there's got to be some training for the big tournament, which leaves space to get us aquinted with the main characters. This chapter in itself was good for what it was: the beginning of getting ready for the tournament. Atleast this is my impertation of what it was. There's some character development and motivation in there which is nice and I liked the writing as always.

What I didn't like was something I have mentioned before: The chapter wasn't very meaty. Not much happened really and that sucks because, this way, this story could take forever to get going. Ofcourse, don't take this the wrong way, you're the writer and I don't know what's in your head and what you have planned ;)

But I'm very excited for when the tournament will begin, because right now I haven't got a clue how it will be and how you will make it entertaining. I've got a new chapter up on my story as well, and I would love for you to review it! Since you've reviewed since the beginning, I value your opinion alot :)
So the the title of the story is "A Weasley Vacation" and the newest chapter is called "The Fury of the Flaming Fiendfyre" But like always, my story is rather complex, contains alot of different perspectives and layers, so I'd advice you strongly to read the last few chapters before reading the new one to get into it again.

In conlusion, nice read like always! Waiting on the next one.

Don't Forget To Be Awesome,
AlecJamesCaius_

Author's Response: Hello again! Thank you for reviewing :)

Yeah, I admit that's definitely a problem of mine when writing! I often never know when to end the chapter so they always end up being shorter than I'd like :/

I've written the next few chapters and can confirm that the first round of the Tournament will happen in chapter 10!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by long_live_luna_bellatrix The First.

18th March 2015:
Hi there! I'm stopping by to review for the HPFF Fundraiser.

This was a neat start to a story. I think you some strong ideas and some strong characters in the making. For instance, it's really cool that your main character is a History of Magic nut. There's something you don't see everyday! But it makes sense, because even if Binns is known to be the most boring professor on the face of the Earth, the subject itself must be fascinating. I would caution, however, that when your main character is a diehard fan of one subject, it becomes less enjoyable when other character pop up as massive fans of another subject. For instance, I like that Clio is a fan of history; I was nervous that Viv was obsessed with Herbology. I feel like most teenagers tend to be decent at two or three subjects, and only a few are ever fanatics for a single one. Already having two characters who identify extremely strongly with a single subject stands out as a little unrealistic to me. I'd rather see all the focus on Clio, and have her friends display different defining characteristics. (I suppose this is just a general thing you might want to keep in mind in the future, and it's not a massive issue at all, I just figured I'd point it out)

I'm curious to hear about the competition that Clio and Al will enter; I also like the idea, because it breaks away from the mold of "girl tutors guy, they fall in love" a little. I'd hope to see lots of interesting, original wizarding history in there, courtesy of Clio.

One small mechanical thing– when you have lines like this, “ 'Yes, thank you for that reminder!' He snapped" you don't need to capitalize the "he". It should remain lower case. There are lots of helpful lists in the Writing Resources section of the forums regarding dialogue formatting, as well as pretty much anything else you'd need to know about writing rules. But overall everything else was grammatically and mechanically sound.

Lastly, I really liked the tidbit about the troll clubs in the library! Those tiny, vibrant details are often what turn good stories into great ones, in my opinion. And that was a hilarious detail! Definitely keep those up.

Overall, an interesting first chapter. Good luck with this story!

-lllb

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for this review!

Yes, I totally understand what you mean. I probably just didn't think that through enough, haha! Though later on in the story, the differences as to why they're fanatics for their respective subjects will hopefully make it a bit more realistic!

Yes, I have grand plans for the Tournament! And of course - there'll be a few historical facts sprinkled in here and there (some canon by J.K. Rowling and other's my own headcanons though I try to make them seem realistic for the HP world).

And ah, thank you for the correction (I'll admit grammar is not my strong point, haha)! I'll go back through the story and edit in changes :)

Again, wow! Thank you so much for this lovely review, I really enjoyed hearing your opinions!

Thank you!

- Anni :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by AlecJamesCaius_ The Fourth

23rd February 2015:
Hi, It's me again! I'm the author of "A Weasley Vacation" and I just noticed you have posted a new chapter of your story, so ofcourse I had to read it and as long as you appreciate my thoughts on your stuff, I'll leave reviews (you did seem to appreciate my first review). Anyways, on to the review.

This chapter was as straightforward as can be. (Which I don't see as a bad thing, allthough my chapters tend to be a tad bit chaotic) Basically, 2 things happened:
1) The tournament got explained.
2) We met the contestants.
I personally prefer it when chapters are a bit longer than this, because you gave us so little :( Now we have to wait another few weeks for a new chapter! But atleast it served it's perpose. At first I thought the Tournament was like the Tri-Wizard one, but it seems its a completely new concept. To see this concept played out is what's holding my attention. I already told you most people prefer reading about canon characters in fanfics, with good reason in my opinion, so its an interesting choice to make most contestants non-canon. Don't misunderstand, it's your story and I don't really mind, but you kinda make it harder for yourself. You see, with canon characters, the reader already knows the characters and already likes them beforehand; with a non canon one its basically a blank page. You have to write alot about his/her personality and appearance and write him/her into the plot in a fun way for us to care about him/her. With a canon one alot of work is already done for you. Finally: You asked at the ending if your readers maybe already have a favorite character. Perfectly understandeable; I asked so too in one of my first chapters, so I really thought about it. The thing is, I don't feel I really know any of them to any degree yet. All those non-canon ones are still blank pages at this point, and the canon ones haven't really impacted in any way. For now I'd have to choose the main character simply because she is the only one I somewhat know. She seems like the perfect romantic-comedy lead,(sarcastic,awkward etc.) So my message is, i'd advice you to work alot on making us care for your characters in the following chapters, and make the tournament fun and awesome!

I have a new chapter up for my story as well, you already reviewed one before! :) So I'd greatly appreciate it if you'd leave your thoughts on it as well. I believe it's the 8th chapter now! I should say it's already up for some editting, I did make a few mistakes whom maybe you'll notice. Also I'd advice you to read the last couple of chapters from it beforehand, for you to get into the story again (maybe the last 3/4? ;p) The few mistakes shouldn't harm the overall chapter though. Anyways, your chapter was again a nice little read.

Have a great day and Don't Forget To Be Awesome!

AlecJamesCaius_

Author's Response: Hello again!!! Thank you for this review :)

Yeah, I know the contestants haven't really been fleshed out at the moment, but I'm planning some big moments of tension and disagreements to happen between the 10 on them around the middle of the story, which will hopefully give a larger insight into each character! Rose and Scorpius though will become more important in the next few chapters :)

The Hufflepuff girls (that is G, Viv and Panna) are definitely going to be more prominent throughout the next few chapters, and I'm going to be bringing in James and Lily to play a bigger role in the story (though of course Hermione will probably, apart from Albus, be the family member with the largest role) :)

Again, thank you for the review!! I probably won't be able to find the time to review your story for a few days as school's absolutely hectic this week, but hopefully it should be up by thursday/friday!!

Thank you so much :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Willow_Lupin The Fourth

21st February 2015:
aw this is so cool! i love everyone though i'm loving G right now!i can't wait to read about all of the different schools, that'll be interesting! can't wait!

Author's Response: Hi!! Thank you so much for this review :) Haha yes G's definitely a favourite of mine to write! The next chapter should be up in a bit, I hope you enjoy it! Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by AlecJamesCaius_ The Third.

7th February 2015:
I've just now read the first 3 chapters of this story, and since I'm a writer on this site as well, I figured I would leave my thoughts on this story since you'd probably appreciate it.
At first glance this seems like your typical fan fiction story -- 1 Original Character, and 1 Canon whom the story centers around. What caught my attention was this "Tournament" concept of yours, which could turn out quite well and I'm interested to read more. The characters seem interesting enough, but I advice you to not introduce to much OC's... This is obviously a HP Fanfic and that's for a reason. We want to primarily read about the HP characters we (kinda) know. Also, your chapters are all pretty damn short -- it'd be nice if you make them longer. The Hogwarts feel was perfectly portrayed, well done. Try to create funny and awkward situations, because this story perfectly suits that. Finally, I advice you to not make this just a typical OC/Canon fall in love Fanfic. We have millions of those! Be original. Write a (plot)twist.
Anyways, a fun little read, I'm excited for more! I have a story up as well, and I REALLY like it. I'm a relatively new writer on this site as well, and I would absolutely LOVE for you to leave a review on my story as well, with your in depth thoughts and constructive critism! We could keep reviewing each others stories and be friends :) I only have that one story up, so it shouldnt be hard to find! Anyways, good work, keep it up!
Don't Forget To Be Awesome,
AlecJamesCaius_

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review!
With the introduction of OCs, I'm trying to keep them (well, the Hogwarts kids) as either the Weasley/Potter children or (some) children of notable characters from the series, such as Katie Bell, Oliver Wood, Padma Patil, etc, though I have written in a few muggleborns. There'll also be a lot of Hermione and quite a bit of Percy, Ginny and Harry throughout the chapters (prominently during the Tournament though). The chapters will gradually be growing in length as the story goes on, this was my first fan fic so I was just sort of testing it out a bit, if that makes sense (I also tend to write chapters shorter than I'd like to, though I'm working on that haha).
There will absolutely be some funny/awkward situations coming up and this will definitely not be a typical OC/Canon fall in love fic (hopefully haha - I'm trying not to make it one). I'm focusing more on friendships, though there will be a touch of romance here and there and whilst I admit I do tend to fall into some cliches, I'm trying to avoid them! :)
Thank you so much again for this review, your thoughts have helped me with future plans for it and such, and I'll definitely check out your story and leave a a review!!
Thank you again!!
- padfootandmoony :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheEighthHorcrux The Second.

29th January 2015:
Really good start! I hope you update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! I've finished the next few chapters so it shouldn't be too long :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by TotallyAwesome The First.

23rd January 2015:
Wow! Off to a great start so far! I already love Clio (and everyone else), and I love how much detail you're putting in to the history facts.
Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you !! I'm glad you like Clio and the others :) I'm looking forward to developing all of the characters as the story goes on!
I've got the next few chapters written up already so the next one will be up soon!!
Thank you so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login