28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dreamgazer220 Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

11th March 2016:
Hello, here for our review swap :)

So, I've been meaning to check out your Chai series for a while, so I figured now was the perfect time to start with the first one. I'm so glad I did!

This was so adorable and wonderful. I loved the way you wrote Hannah, and I can completely understand her getting burnt out after just three years of being a Healer. It really makes so much sense, and her passion for cooking shined through this story so well. I loved all of the details you used, describing exactly what she was doing with her hands and what she was making, but not going into so much detail without it being boring or overwhelming. You had just the right balance.

And NEVILLE! He's so adorable, especially with Hannah. This is my first Hannah/Neville story, and I'm glad that it is. I really loved how Hannah didn't shoo him away, but just kind of quietly accepted him and let him help her in the kitchen, and it seems that they can work quite well together :)

I also really loved how you did little things to show that Hannah was a healer, just with the language you used. You did a great job with her, and with this piece overall.

Thank you so much for the swap, I'll probably get around to reading the others in this series soon! :)

~Jill

Author's Response: Hola! And welcome! Thank you for reaching the end!

I wanted Hannah, above all else, to be real. She's someone who's been through war, but has come out on the other side changed but still relatively well-adjusted. So she has normal problems, like getting sick of her job, and normal hobbies, like cooking, and a normal home life.

NEVILLE IS JUST GREAT ISN'T HE? To me, Neville turns out to be this amazing person, and I really hoped that when I wrote him, I could convey some of that awesomeness. And Hannah is just so great too, so really, they deserve each other.

Thanks so much for the review and the swap :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by protego_totalum Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

1st February 2016:
This is so cute! I'm definitely a Hannah/Neville fan. I keep rereading. I love how you made cooking such a main theme, that's so unique! Amazing job on the chai series.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yay for more Hannah/Neville fans! Cooking was surprisingly fun to write about, so I'm pleased you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Musing Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

26th September 2015:
Hello!

I am here for our review swap. So, I thought I would read and review the recent entry of the Chai series, but then I figured I should start from the very first one. Since I loved this one, I am going to read and review the others in the series too, hopefully. ;)

The way you wrote this one-shot is amazing. You are wonderful with the descriptions, be it of the scene and situations or the method of cooking.

It seems you are an experienced cook in addition to being a great writer. ('She kept a keen eye on the consistency of the dough as she trickled water into the bowl, making sure that it didn’t become too sticky', I can connect to that ;) )

The phrases and sentences which made me laugh:

'Hannah had had to physically restrain her hands from grabbing her wand, some extra-strength antiseptic mouthwash, and a toothbrush, and give this man a lecture in dental hygiene.'

'the metal birdbath' I laughed really hard when I read this reference to the utensil we use to knead our dough.

The phrases which forced me to say "WOW!":

'lumos in his eyes' This metaphor is simply magical.

'the only real secret was in knowing when something was done cooking. Hannah felt that this was true for a lot of things in life; it was easy to start things, but the real trick was knowing when you were done.' This one is just so deep, it left me thinking for a few seconds.

The best part is, just when I had started to forget that Hannah is actually a healer, you threw in the word 'phalange'!

You definitely built a bond between Neville and Hannah by 'their shared experience of filling cones made of flour.'

Thanks for the review swap!

- Emm ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you for picking something from the Chai series! I love hearing about people's thoughts on this series!

I had a lot of fun with the descriptions, so thank you! My secret is writing when I'm hungry. All I can think of is FOOD.

HAHAHAHAHA! I am laughing because you think I am an experienced cook! Whilst I CAN cook, I DISLIKE DOING IT A LOT. Every time I knead dough I am like WHY CAN I NOT GET THE WATER TO FLOUR RATIO RIGHT?!?!!

Thank you so much for this lovely review! And double thanks for showering some love on Neville and Hannah!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Deets Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

5th September 2015:
Awwh this was so cute. This fic was so relatable; Hannah's cooking reminded me of watching my mom and grandma cook. And Neville was so sweet! Can't wait to read the rest :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I wrote Hannah like I remember my mum cooking samosas as well, so hi-5 for weird coincidences. Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the series :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jayna Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

2nd September 2015:
Hi! This was just adorable. I realize now that I accidentally read the second (or was it third?) installment of this series first, but anyway, this was just adorable. It was a total feel-good story and I loved seeing Hannah as the main character, especially one quite a bit different than I had imagined. Somehow, in my head she wasn't Indian, but it was really interesting to see a different perspective on her. I don't really know why, but one of my favorite parts was that you mentioned Neville's grandmother. Another thing I really liked was your description of the Puff common room. It's never really addressed in the books or movies, so it was interesting to see how it might have been.

2 things I adored about this one-shot:

1. Oh my god the FOOD COMPARISONS!! "She felt as light as fluffy egg whites" and "like folding melted chocolate into whipped cream". That was the cutest thing ever!!

2. All the Hindi words. It was super immersive and made me believe she was really Indian. It was great.

Lastly, this story made me so HUNGRY. Seriously, as I was reading I felt my mouth watering. Even better, just as I was finishing reading, my mom called me down to eat samosas!! Not even kidding. Seriously. Talk about perfect timing!

Overall, I really enjoyed this story and am super excited to take a look at the other four when I get a chance.

-Jayna

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! I don't think it really matters in which order you read the installments in this series - I hope I've written them as stand-alones. Before I wrote this story, I didn't really care for Hannah all that much, but once this started, I couldn't help myself. She's become one of the characters that's nearest and dearest to my heart. And the Pottermore description of the Puff common room is GREAT. I am ready to move in there right now. I'm glad that some of that excitement came across.

Unsurprisingly, I was very hungry when I wrote this story. Probably for all the reasons for food comparisons #sorrynotsorry.

I'm so pleased you liked all the Hindi. I took a bit of a risk with it, but hoped for the best. Glad it worked!

Making everyone hungry is my grand plan for taking over the world. MUHAHAHA! Also yay for samosas!

Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by MuggleMaybe Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

2nd August 2015:
Happy Happy Birthday!

This story is SO SWEET! (Also, I really, really want a samosa now.)

Neville is one of my very favorite characters. Just the thought of him makes me smile. And you've written both him and Hannah so well.

Neville has more confidence here than I sometimes see, which I like. And I love that even though she wants to be alone, Hannah can't help but let him in.

You've done a good job keeping the reader grounded in a story with a lot of dialogue. That's no easy feat!

So, what I really disliked about this story: When it ended! I think I need to go read the 2nd one!

Wishing you a wonderful birthday!

Author's Response: Ah! Thank you so much! You are too kind! (And I am too horrible taking so long to reply *drops head in shame*)

Mission accomplished! All I really want people to be after reading this story is hungry for samosas! I can happily take a nap now because my goal has been achieved!

Neville is one of my favourite characters, too, and I've been hesitant for so long to write him (and then I go write five stories featuring him, lol). I'm very pleased that you thought the characterisation worked.

Dialogue is way easier for me to write than description, haha! Thank you for enjoying it and forgiving me any lame puns I may have accidentally made and forgotten to edit out.

Hahaha, well at least there's four more right?

Thank you so much for this lovely review! It really made my day extra special *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #7, by DarknessIsMyOnlyFriend Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

12th June 2015:
I must say, I rarely read stories with Hannah in a prominent role. So it was fun, since I've got a clean slate so to speak, not really having a set image of her in my mind.

And you started so good. One can only understand that after everything, she needed a change. If only she had known it would lead to cleaning tables at the leaky cauldron. Though I do love her attitude towards it...bills need paying and work needs to be done. And I like that you incorporated the Hindi culture. Especially for Hannah, since I'm sure it's not done very often if ever at all.

While Hannah seems very in character, I do wonder if a hufflepuff would use someone else’s kitchen without asking. Is that weird, to think that? Yet I do love her 'stealing' pots and pans from her mother. As if a mother wouldn't notice:P A mother knows.

Your words create a clear image of the surroundings and actions of the characters! I applaud you on that. And you actually know your cooking. See I steer clear of things like that since I can cook probably no more than 5 dishes :P But in your story I truly believe it's done right. Of course you could easily fool me there :P. I would have loved more information on the spices...but only so I could imagine the taste of the food she was making...it surely wasn't necessary for the story.

I love that you took such time to introduce Hannah. It gives the story a better foundation.
And Neville seems so confident. Which is exactly how I envision him after the final battle. He changed the most I think, of all the characters. He has every right to gain confidence.

Loved the quote: it was easy to start things, but the real trick was knowing when you were done.

And the subtle hints to their demeanour around one another was really great. It showed that they were at ease enough because there was nothing there, yet, but enough tension that someday there could be something. I could totally see them having nights like this more often and having their relationship grow from there.

Great story!

Author's Response: There aren't that many stories with Hannah around, especially where she's a main character. I'm just happy to add to the small collection.

Yes! I think you've grasped that yes, she can't deal with being a Healer anymore, but she's practical enough to realise that she still needs a job since it'll provide her with a way to take care of all necessities. And yes, the diversity aspect was super important to me, but hopefully it comes across as just a natural part of who she is, which was even more important.

Mothers always know when you steal their kitchen supplies! And hmm... I don't know if anyone would use someone else's kitchen without permission. But is it even more difficult for a Hufflepuff? An interesting question to ponder...

Ah, thank you! Description is not my strong suit, so that means a lot. And haha, if you ask my family they'd laugh at my cooking! I don't particularly enjoy doing it, but it was fun to write!

I really wanted to establish Hannah as a character first before I introduced any sort of relationship into it. Since we know so little of her from canon, it's basically like writing an OC. So I'm pleased that you feel that it was time well spent. And yes, Neville deserves all the good things!

I'm happy that you found their relationship to work. It's the foundation for the next three stories, haha! Thanks so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by SunshineDaisies Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

2nd May 2015:
I read this the other day when I wanted some fluff and it worked PERFECTLY. It definitely cemented Neville/Hannah as a new OTP.

AND YOUR HANNAH IS EVERYTHING I'VE EVER WANTED OUT OF LIFE. Burnt out Healer who just wants to cook and avoid moving back in with her mother? SO MUCH YES.

And aside from that, she's just so delightful. I want to read more about her. I want to get to know her better. She's captivating.

I love Neville too. I think it's kind of adorable that he came down to the kitchen and just stayed there, despite the rather obvious social queues to leave.

That sounds like he's a creeper.

He's not. But I am very curious to know why he didn't leave. I'm hoping to learn a little more in the next installments :)

I absolutely LOVE the food related metaphors (or similes, if we're being technical)

It was a lovely sound, rich but light, like folding melted chocolate into whipped cream.

She felt as light as fluffy egg whites, a way she hadn’t felt in… a long time.


It's adorable and adds so much to Hannah. It's like she thinks in food. It's SO CUTE. And so creative! That is such a cool thing to do in writing and I'm really so impressed with it.

And just worth noting: this made me hungry! The college I used to go to served somosas on a regular basis and IT WAS DELIGHTFUL. I haven't had them since. I'm actually really happy you were so detailed in the process, I might be making some myself at some point.

This was a really, really lovely read! It definitely lifted my spirits :)

Author's Response: Yayayayayay! I adore writing fluff, and I am just so happy when people are happy after reading them! Thank you *hugs* And new OTP! Woohoo!

I'm just so pleased with the feedback I've received on Hannah's character. Thank you so much for loving her as much as I do!

I write Neville as a big teddy bear. I'm happy that he worked for you. His complete disregard for social cues does make him seem a little creepy, but when read in context, I hope he comes across alright. He's not doing it on purpose - crushes can be horrible that way ;)

I'm usually terrible with description, so I really tried here. I'm very happy that you enjoyed all the food-related descriptive shenanigans! That means a lot.

I think my favourite reaction from people to this series is that it makes them hungry. YAAAS. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED. Go forth and experience all the somasas!

Thanks for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

27th April 2015:
This is so cute! I loved it. I told you I was going to have to check out your chai series, and I'm so glad I did. I love that your Hannah is Indian--that was one thing I always felt the books were lacking. I mean, there were a few people of color around (Dean and Padma and Parvati), but never any of the main characters, so I always love reading fics with an actual minority presence. It's just more like the real world--I don't feel like something really obvious is missing. Also, this made me hungry. I LOVE Indian food. I just wanted to sneak into Hannah's kitchen and beg to taste everything!

It was really adorable, and I enjoyed reading about Hannah. I never really have read much about her before. But I love Neville so much, so it was nice to see him maybe beginning something with an actual character that I could know something about. I like her already. I think it was brave of her to leave a career when she knew it was only going to drag her down in the long run. I hope she pursues cooking to whatever extent she decides she wants to : )

CC: I saw one thing. "and sautéed them until the seeds had gone from there dull brown, to a brighter, redder colour.
--I think "there" should be "their".

Thanks for the story! I enjoyed it! I'll have to read more.

--Penny

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! The books do lack diversity, which is mostly a reflection of publishing in general. But never fear, for fanfic is here! And I am so pleased it made you hungry! Mission accomplished!

Hannah isn't a character I've read much of either, and I think that really worked to my advantage here, since I was free to imagine her as I wanted, without the accidental influence of someone else's interpretation sneaking in. I'm very happy that you like her already. And Neville is just too cute, I agree!

Gah! The worst of all typos! The dreaded mix-up of "there" "their" and "they're"! Thanks for pointing that out! Also thank you for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by The Equinox Enchantress Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

2nd April 2015:
On one side of the earth, leaves turn red and are blown from trees. On the other, buds on sweeping boughs burst into blossom. On one side of the earth cold and darkness are settling in, and on the other everything is coming alive again. The ebb and flow of tides rises higher and falls lower. Everything is changing.

You wouldn’t believe how difficult it is to keep the balance of everything.

Today, though, the distinctive smell of cumin, coriander, cardamom, cloves, cinnamon, bay leaves, and nutmeg (did I miss any?) drifted my way on a soft summer wind. I didn’t think I had ever smelt a garam masala quite like this one and so decided to investigate. I was very surprised when it led me to your story.

What a delightful story! I must admit that I started to feel very hungry while I was reading it – I have been terribly busy since the solar eclipse and haven’t been eating properly. The description of the food here was beautiful, and left me craving roti and samosas . I’ve never read anything in which the main character has such a rich cultural heritage which she maintains even if she’s living in a different country. And you intertwine magic and cooking beautifully

And Hannah – I felt so sorry for her at the start, not knowing what she is doing with her life. She seems so brave and so strong. I like how you describe how she trained as a Healer, but quit and had to find another job. I love her passion for cooking. I think it is incredible how she slips into the big kitchen at the Leaky Cauldron after a busy day of working there and cook. She seemed to be struggling with such a lot, but still keep going. If she ever gets bored of wiping down tables and stacking chairs and finds herself in need of a different job she should contact me – several nymphs and anemoi quit last week, and I need all the help I can get to keep the world in balance.

I adored the interaction between Hannah and Neville – it felt awkward but natural at the same time, and your writing and dialogue flowed beautifully. She teaches him how to cook samosas and they talk about their Hogwarts houses and lots of other things. They start off as acquaintances, and Hannah isn’t sure she wants him there at all, but he stays and is helpful and cheerful and she shows him how make the samosas , and by the end they are friends and she offers him chai and they are friends , and for some reason that is incredibly important to me.

I think my favourite line from this is: “He laughed at that. It was a lovely sound, rich but light, like folding melted chocolate into whipped cream.” It is such a gorgeous piece of description. But I also love how you tied the closing line to the opening, and to the title: “She didn’t know what she was doing with her life, but at least she had chai, samosas, and a friend in the wee hours of the morning.”

This is a fantastic story (with a beautiful flow and balance – these are very important). I’m afraid I have spent rather longer than I should here – though I am glad to have done so – and I must head back to a glen in Scotland where several hundred daffodils are waiting for me to coax them out of the ground.

Author's Response: Ah, I am so sorry for how long it's taken me to reply to this! Since you posted this review, the solstice has come and gone, and the next equinox is almost upon us. How the time has flown.

Ah, the wonderful smell of garam masala is in the air! It's a smell that fits in at any time of the year, but admittedly, I prefer it when it's combined with the promise of samosas.

Mission accomplished if you felt hungry! I was really hungry myself whilst I was writing it, so I think some of that carried over. And, of course, Hannah's a really good cook. Who wouldn't want to eat something she's made? And yes, I really wanted Hannah to be connected to her cultural heritage. It's often easiest to accomplish through food.

Hannah is one amazing lady. I would definitely not be brave enough to leave an entire career behind, but go Hannah! I'm so pleased that you liked Hannah so much. This story, more than the rest in the series, is about Hannah. It was really important to me that people should be able to connect to her, even though they might not be familiar with all the food. And I shall pass on the message for the job offer ;)

Hannah and Neville are just two dorks being dorks together. It was a lot of fun to write. I'm so happy that you think it flowed well. It can be something that's a challenge to achieve sometimes with dialogue. And their friendship is just so important. All friendships are, but both of them are going through a bit of a rough patch, so they'll help each other along.

There's some lines of description in this story that I am so proud of. I don't think it's something that I'll ever top. I'm so glad that you liked them as well!

Thank you so much for this lovely review, and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to read this story. I hope your endeavour with the daffodils was a success :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by eunoia Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

30th March 2015:
Hi, I'm here from the review tag on the forums!

Let me start off by saying this is the most adorable one-shot I've read in a really long time! I loved reading every word of it.

I really liked how you interpreted Hannah. I guess I always imagined her how she is depicted in the movies, but it was really interesting to read your portrayal of her. It's nice to see some ethnic diversity and you've really done it justice. You made her very relatable and I love the fact that cooking seems to be her escape, I think it really suits her character. And oh my gosh the way you described the food was amazing, my mouth was watering just reading it!

Your characterisation of Neville is so perfect, he's so adorable and so genuine. He's definitely still the guy we know and love from canon. I also loved how they were both a little awkward at first but then they just relax and enjoy each others company and ahh it was lovely to read.

This was a wonderful read and I'll definitely be back to check out the rest of the series!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm incredibly happy that you enjoyed it :)

I wanted to try something a little different for Hannah. I'd always seen her as she's shown in the movies as well, but I was like "why not?" That's what fanfiction is for, after all. I'm glad that you found her relateable. And yeah, cooking seemed like a good fit for her. My aim with descriptions in this series is to make people hungry :P

Genuine is such a good word to describe Neville! I wanted some of what he is in canon to come through, but it's been some time since he was seventeen - he's done a little bit of growing up since then.

Thank you so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by ScarlettANDJames Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

9th March 2015:
i really liked this story, i think its very well written and cute. i will check out the other parts of the story.
take care xx

Author's Response: I'm glad that you enjoyed it! You take care, too!

 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshp Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

3rd February 2015:
Hey! Here for Slytherin review tag =)

Omg I loved this, loved this, loved this! Now you've made me all hungry for Chai and Samosas :D Incidentally, I just had samosas earlier today but not as good as the ones you just described (because we can't get them that amazing here in UK).

By the way, I'm not sure whether you know (or have guessed) or not, but I am an Indian, and I think you did a great job of explaining all the things and getting the recipe right xD I also love how your Hannah is Indian (and her grandmother lives in Delhi eep - I am from Delhi too xD) and you have cast Alia Bhatt to play her (in the banner). It's just all awesome ideas and it's very refreshing and pleasuring in a way to see Indian terms and Indian faces on HPFF!

Anyway, I've strayed too much off-topic xP The point is, I totally loved this. Your characterisation of Hannah is adorable and I enjoyed the interaction she had with Neville. It was also interesting to see how she was unwilling to 'let him in' at first and how by the end they had become such nice friends. I guess cooking really brings people together eh xD

All in all, this brought a huge smile to my face (and hunger to my stomach). Your writing style was amazing, the descriptions super awesome, no grammar errors at all, and perfect plot. I had such a great time reading this. And my goodness, I've gushed a lot in this review! This review is probably not helpful at all but I just can't find faults with this story and I am too excited and happy after reading this, haha.

GREAT WORK! 10/10

Cheers,
Aditi

Author's Response: I'm always hungry for chai and samosas. Like, seriously. I can eat them at any time at a moment's notice. I don't even care. They are too delicious to resist. And the UK doesn't have good samosas? That is so disappointing to learn :( That should be against some federal law!

*Indian hi-5!* I believe we may have had an in-depth discussion about rotis once! Although I don't live in India, I'm surrounded by these foods. A lot of the confusions that I feel Hannah must have experienced (I think I mentioned one or two as a sort of joke) are similar to the ones I've felt. And again, I must hi-5 you since I am also from Delhi! Maia made this banner for me, and I'd offered a few face claims for Hannah. I'm very happy with the selection of Alia. She works remarkably well.

I'm so happy that you liked the characterisations. These two were fun to write, as was this story. It was something a little off the beaten track for me which I like to do every now and again. I think cooking has a way of making or breaking a relationship.

I'm happy that this made you happy. That's all I really wanted to achieve with this story. Smiles and hunger! Thanks so much for this wonderful review :) Here's to better samosas in the future!


 Report Review

Review #14, by EnigmaticEyes16 Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

25th January 2015:
Hi! I'm here to review all of your Chai and a Friend stories for the Hot Seat that you are in right now! I'm super late but I am finally here! Yay!

So, I've never been a big Hannah/Neville shipper but already, from the moment Neville entered the kitchen, I thought they were so adorable together. I love how he just sort of ignored her rudeness in the beginning and stayed with her until she finally began to include him in her cooking.

I also thought the whole cooking scene was fairly easy to follow. I'm no cook, and I had no idea what samosas were previously, but now I have a fairly good idea of what they are and would also like to try them. This is my problem with watching or reading something with food involved though, I think they should come with free samples, lol. Because they make me so hungry.

I wish I knew the rest of the sentence where Neville trails off and Hannah lets it go! I hope we find out more about this in the next couple of segments. Although is Hannah Indian in this story? I have no issue with it, I'm just curious because I never really pictured her as Indian, like I did the Patil sisters, and her name doesn't really suggest it either. Maybe she just grew up there, as you do mention the pre-monsoon season, as I doubt Britain has one. Or judging by your faceclaim maybe she's half Indian and that would explain her last name.

Again, though, this was so freaking cute and I can't wait to read on to the next one! Talk to you again soon!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hola! I should probably answer reviews in the order that I receive them but oh well! This is fun too!

Ah! That's great! A non-shipper thinking that the story worked is a really good thing. Neville's the type just to soldier on. And he wears her down rather quickly, so his technique obviously works.

I'm not a huge cook either - it's much more fun writing about cooking than actually doing it. And that is excellent news: now when you see a samosa you shall be like "aha! I want to eat it." I hope there's a spike in samosa sales because of this story.

Neville's insecurities and hangups are explored in the later installments. I wanted to include some of that, but I stuck to showing him as this confident person in his introduction. You tend to show the best of yourself when you first meet someone. And yes, Hannah is Indian in this story. I tried it on almost a whim and I was rather pleased with the way Hannah's character worked out because of it. And it was a cool way to add a different kind of description to how I usually write it.

Thanks for the wonderful review. I'm happy that you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by pointless_proclamations Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

24th January 2015:
800 words of heaven,

You've reduced me to the consistency of Phirni. This seemingly unfortunate state of mine is the aftermath of reading this sweet story. Hannah and Neville are sweeter than Gulab Jamun, your style of writing shines about as much as Barfi (the ones with silver varq), it's as heart-warming as a really good masala chai, and I'm finding it all as refreshing as Mango Kulfi. As you can see, I have become 1) hungry and 2) a massive fan of yours! :D

I absolutely adore everything about this one-shot! Hannah's character was so easy to emphatise with and Neville was just so kind and lovely--AHHH I LOVE THEM SO MUCH! IT'S SO ADORABLE!

You've done such a wonderful job of writing such a flawless story.

Cheers,
Em

Author's Response: You're copious use of sweets is giving me a cavity. I'll have to go to the dentist. Then you can explain to him why I have a hole in my tooth ;P

I'm so so so glad that you enjoyed it! And not just Neville and Hannah as a couple, but also individually. They're too much fun to write.

Thanks for the achingly sweet review ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by alicia and anne Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

24th January 2015:
I love the detail you use in this, all of those ingedients are making me hungry :D

Oh Neville and Hannah are just too adorable together! Comparing their phalanges! :P

Of course he wouldn't have minded being in Hufflepuff hehehe.

I'm seriously smiling and giddy with excitement as I fangirl all over the love and cuteness that is Hannah and Neville! I love them!!

I can't wait to read the others because I know that they'll be as fantastic as this one!

Keep up the amazing work!

Author's Response: Thank you! Description is always annoying for me to write, so I tried just throwing in a recipe and seeing how that worked out. And it's a good thing if it made you hungry - it means that it's working!

I'm happy that you found them to work together. They're a fun couple to write.

Haha, of course he'd be cool with it. That was my little nod to that canon info about him.

Ah! So happy that you're happy! Thanks for the wonderful review ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Maelody Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

20th January 2015:
Howdy, friend!

So I think this little idea you have here is wonderful! :D I love Neville and Hannah, and I think you put a nice twist in really adding the background of Hannah's life. How she was a Healer and then just sort of stopped. It made her come to the Pub and those sort of details I just love! :3

Can I just say that when Neville first walks into the kitchen and she turns to see him, I picture Matthew Lewis perfectly and my heart swooned! Or, I swooned. My heart stopped. Seriously. Perfect!

Do you cook? I get this sense that you cook. :p If not, you do a good job of pretending you do. ;) I wish I had magic to help me cook! I don't mind cooking, but the long hours it can takes really irritates me. Magic would help tons! Though I like that she does most of it by hand. I think everyone gets wrapped up in these characters having wands and always wanting to use them. After a while magic just sort of becomes second nature, and can become quite old sometimes (I would imagine). So I love this detail. I really do. Especially when Neville replies back that he takes care of his plants by hand.

Also, a full throttle phalange discussion used well? That was awesomely hilarious! "My phalange is bigger than your phalange." I laughed for a good minute before reading on. Though I do think phalange is phalanges. No one finger is a phalange, so I can understand his confusion. :p

(Correct me if I'm wrong, which if I am, I'm terrible embarrassed) but is Hannah a Hindi woman? Or at least half considering I think just her grandmother is mentioned? If so, that's a really cool take on her! She's never really described other than being a pink-faced blonde. It would definitely add to her character! :D It's also nice to see her mother alive in this version! :D You know, to steal pots from her and stuff. ;)

This is a great piece here and I love that I get to read to more! Great job! Here's to more success in your future! Cheers! :)

~Mae

Author's Response: Hello friend. *waves*

Hannah and Neville deserve more screen time. They were a ridiculously fun couple to write and I'd love to give them another try sometime in the future.

Haha, it was supposed to be one of those swoon-worthy moments! I read too many romances for the dashing hero's entry to be anything else. Although writing Hannah's reaction to his appearance was also fun. She was like "nope. Not having this."

I don't like to cook, but alas I must cook to feed myself. All the recipes I've decribed in this series is something I've either done, or helped my mother do. But having magic would seriously be amazing in the kitchen. I might actually enjoy doing it more... And yeah, Hannah does a lot of it herself by hand. It added more to the story, and also I felt that if she relied more on magic, it would have been boring to read. And then OMG Neville! He's just a sweetheart.

I've studied human anatomy. Of course I had to include something about phalanges! They're too fun a word to pass up! And this just goes to show that Neville has very little idea about how phalanges actually work.

Yes! Hannah is an Indian woman - or half Indian. I never specify, and I leave it up to the reader to decide. I'm pleased that you found the slight deviation from canon to be interesting. I haven't done something like this before, so I was worried about the outcome.

Glad you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Veritaserum27 Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

19th January 2015:
Review Tag!

Wow! This was such a great story! I'm glad I picked this one (I hope it is the first in the trilogy). I haven't read a lot of Neville/Hannah, but I can really see this being the beginning of how they got together. They were both characterized so well.

And the food! Gosh - you made me so hungry. I think I've had Samosa's only once, but I'm definitely going to try them again. You description was fantastic! I feel like I could make them myself! I loved how you italicized the Hindi words - it really made reading them a lot easier and they way you seamlessly gave the definition of each one really helped the story flow. I have to admit that while I had heard a lot of those words before, I didn't know what most of them meant - and now I do! It reminded me of "The Kite Runner" - Kahled Hosseini does the same thing with the (I think the language is Dari) words throughout the story to help the reader understand specific words.

The best part of this story is how their conversation grew from mild irritation (on Hannah's part) to a friendship. It was a natural progression and I love Hannah's back story about being a Healer and not being happy with it. She seems to be a little lost - even with her cooking and might just have found something at the end!

Great story!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Yes! This is the first one in the trilogy-that-turned-into-four-stories-by-accident! There isn't much Neville/Hannah out there, about which I'm really sad, but it's nice to be part of that change.

I should never write when I'm hungry because I always write about food... which makes me hungrier. And yes! Samosas are amazing! You should definitely try them again :P Samosas are actually really tedious to make, something which I've sort of glossed over here, but I'm so pleased that you feel like you could make them. It's like a two-for-one deal: read a one-shot, get a recipe free! I enjoyed writing the Hindi words in with the English - it's quite similar to the way I think. I'm happy that you enjoyed it.

The best friendships start with mild irritation, right? I don't know. I'm glad you liked the way they worked out. Neville is just too adorable to resist! Hannah is a little lost, but the unique thing about her is that she almost revels in it. Thanks so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Aphoride Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

17th January 2015:
Hi there - stopping by from Review Tag! :) I've seen this story mentioned around the forums a couple of times, and its sequel more recently, but I thought it'd probably make more sense if I came and read this one first, rather than going straight to the sequel ;)

I really loved this - it's such a beautiful, heart-warming and incredibly unique one-shot. There's some to wonderful about such an almost simple scene, but so perfectly written and so sweet, and emotional - in a good way :P

You know, before I read this I'd never really thought much about Hannah Abbott, or what I thought about her, but I love love love your interpretation of her as having an Indian background, whether only through one parent or both. It's such an interesting idea, and I love how easily it fits into canon, and how well it fits with her - it's just great! I love finding little head-canon things like that, it's why this world is so much fun to play with! :) As well, I love how sweet Hannah is, with her whole demeanor, but also how she doesn't really want Neville there at the beginning, she's almost nervous with him there, and how she talks about being a Healer and how it was hard and stressful and almost boringly annoying with the wand stories (and omigosh, that is so true to life - I have cousins in medicine, and you should here their muggle equivalent stories! :P), and how she didn't mind working at the Leaky, even though it wasn't a particularly big or important job. There's something so nice about seeing a character who isn't massively impressive with a brilliant job, and it's so realistic too, which I love.

Neville is just love. He's so oblivious and so almost stubborn about not leaving, and the little moment when he tells her where his room is - haha, that's me when I'm nervous! Talking too much about random stuff :P He's so, so well characterised, and he really feels like the Neville from the books and films - the guy who's matured into the leader of the DA, and kills Nagini.

Your writing in this is amazing, too. I love all the little details in here - especially all the little mentions of Indian cuisine and all the Hindi words (it really makes me feel like I've learned something) - and your description is so, so lovely. Cooking is really hard to write, because it's essentially almost a list of actions, one after another, but you do it so well, with all the interactions between Neville and Hannah tucked up in it that it just is so, so great to read, and so fascinating. Again, I love how it's a small moment, not their first date or first kiss or wedding day or something, just an interaction between two people, and yet it's so heartwarming and so lovely. It's amazing, really.

So, yeah, I'm kinda in love with this one-shot now :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Heya! Thanks for dropping in :)

Ah! Thank you so much! I'm so so so pleased that you liked it!

I hadn't really thought much about Hannah Abbot either until I read something on Pottermore about her. I didn't really think about it much at the time, but somehow she stayed with me. I'm glad she did, because this one-shot was just so much fun to write. I've come to realise that a lack of information about minor characters is actually a blessing in disguise, because I can do stuff like this and that's just too amazing an opportunity to pass up. Hannah is a delight to write. She's hesitant to let people into her life, but Neville being Neville just barges in anyway. And again, Neville being Neville, is eventually accepted. And aren't mundane medical stories the best? I love them so much!

Haha, I'm glad you like Neville! I'm always nervous to write him but he's just been so well-received and I'm just so happy about that! I like to imagine that he just waltzes into situations and soldiers on until people accept his presence. And I'm a nervous babbler too!

Ah! Thank you so much! Description is a beast. I'm sort of flattered that you feel as if you've learnt something :P Cooking is hard to write, because essentially you're basically rewriting a recipe. It's weird, but fun. And yes! I toyed with the idea of making the moment more "significant" but I think the moment they meet and become friends is probably the most significant of all.

Thanks so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by toomanycurls Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

14th January 2015:
O.O

How did I not know about this?

O.O

I am speechless. Kind of teary-eyed too. I'm going to try keeping it together while I write this. Your author note was just incredibly touching.

I love Hannah in this. She's a bit wayward in life but has something to keep her preoccupied and at a managable level of stress. You really opened my eyes to the idea of so many Hogwarts folks we know having a tough go of it for years after school. Hannah's relationship with her parents is such a common situation for any young adult with their parents.

Neville's appearance at the Leaky Cauldron had to be quite the shock. I liked how their subtle reactions played off each other. There was such a great dynamic between them. I loved Hannah letting Neville help her out after a few minutes of persistence. I also got hungry reading this. Possibly, this is my favorite line: “Your phalange is just fine, Neville.” Their common stance on doing some stuff without magic, it was so touching. the fact that Neville just went down because he smelled something nice is a bit brave and makes me think he knew Hannah was down there. I love that you ended it with them having tea in the early hours of the morning.

I can't thank you enough for writing this and dedicating to me!!

-Rose

Author's Response: ^.^ I'm very glad you enjoyed it! *hugs*

Yeah, Hannah's relationship with her parents is a common one. I wanted to write them realistically, even if they're not physically present in the story. One's family has such a huge impact on one's life, and with Hannah's parents, they love her and want what's best for her, but don't quite get what she's doing. I'm glad you liked her, though!

Neville basically pops out of nowhere, doesn't he? Their dynamic was the trickiest to write in this story because I wanted them to be friends but have all this potential to be... more. I hope that came across. And I can imagine Hannah catching Neville's eye one day and then he "casually" cases the place to learn of her patterns, and then "just so happens" to come down at the smell of something cooking. Or not. I don't know. I'm so pleased you liked their interactions, though! And it's a very happy bonus if this story made you hungry - I was sort of hungry when I wrote it so that might be why...

Thank you so much for this wonderful review - and also just for being this great person. You've read some of my not-so-great stuff and still liked it (which is amazing). So thank you once again ♥


 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

24th December 2014:
I'd like to start out by pointing out how completely delicious everything in this story sounded. I actually just had Indian food for dinner this evening hah so fanfiction matching my real life yay.

But really to the point of this review: this is one of my favourite representations of Neville and Hannah that I've ever read. I just... love it so much! ♥

I really like how you wrote Hannah's love of cooking into everything. The way you wrote out each step of her cooking process in the beginning showed her attention to detail and how involved she gets with her cooking - and I could understand her being slightly irritated when someone comes in to interrupt! (but of course then she likes the friendly company. And that scene with the silly jokes about fingers made me laugh!) Ahh, and I just loved when she mentions she feels as light as fluffy egg whites, and compares Neville's laugh to chocolate :D Such wonderful descriptive phrases that reinforce Hannah's love of cooking in such a beautiful way. I just loved it.

I really like how you wrote Hannah's personality and background as well, how she started out as a Healer and then quit, and is still figuring out things and trying to be an adult while she works at the Leaky Cauldron. I could really connect with her too, being in a similar 'what-am-I-doing' phase. But as you so wonderfully pointed out through this story: it doesn't matter in the long run, does it - as long as you've got chai, samosas, and a good friend - those are the important things! ;)

This story was PERFECT. I absolutely loved it!

Author's Response: Ahaha! Thanks so much! My aim was to make people's mouths water, since I made the mistake of writing this story late at night whilst feeling a little peckish. Never write food stories on a full stomach! And I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it. They're quite an uncommon pairing, but I feel as if they have a lot of options as to how their relationship blossomed.

Hannah really does love cooking! I've never really written a character where their interests manifest so obviously into their entire lives, although that is the case in real life - everyone who knows me knows how much of a nerd I am. And I'm just so proud of Neville for being so smooth with that finger joke! I think I fell a little bit in love with him at that point :P

I really wanted to write about how hard it can be to be an adult sometimes. Molly in my other fic is finding that out, but she's quite cynical about it, whereas Hannah takes that in her stride. She understands that life has its ups and downs, and she just rolls with it. Life goal: to be more like Hannah.

Thanks so much for this wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Pixileanin Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

16th December 2014:
Okay, so since I didn't see an update for Like a House on Fire, (BIG big hint) I thought I'd see what else you've got cooking. LOL! This was so adorable!

Normally, I don't use words like "adorable". It's not in my general vocabulary, but really, what else am I supposed to say to this? I've grown to love Neville/Hannah fics over the recent past, and this one I think is up there with my favorites. I even love how it starts, like she has no idea what she is doing, but she does, just not exactly what her future plans are. Very natural sentiment, especially for a late-night muddled brain.

The thing about needing to quit a job is, you sort of have to get another one, unless you're mooching off someone. I'm so glad Hannah isn't like that, but she sees the sense in getting a job that’s not quite her skill set, but it's enough to get away from the one she was beginning to hate. Life's too short for crappy jobs, but a lot of people don't get the chance to escape that kind of torture. Luckily, Hannah did.

All the cool descriptives about cooking and the kitchen were so vibrant here! I could almost smell things, and I think I'm a bit hungrier than I was when I sat down to read this, so excellent job on the setting! It's no wonder that all the smells got Neville to come downstairs and see what was what in the kitchen. All the flirting was so cute, and you managed to pull it off with Neville too. His lines just seemed to fit his character so well. Loved the phalange bit!

"She felt as light as fluffy egg whites" and his laughter sounding "rich, but light, like folding melted chocolate into whipped cream" were perfect! Her thoughts relating to food brought out the subtle passion she had about cooking. I had that warm, satisfied feeling at the end of this, like a perfectly risen loaf of bread that's still steaming, right out of the oven. All in all, I think this was written as the perfect (re)introduction of these two characters who will probably end up spending a good bit of their future in the kitchen together.

Author's Response: The final chapter of Like a House on Fire is actually in the queue right now, so it should be published in the next day or so! So yay about that.

My love for Neville and Hannah is also recent, and I wanted to give writing a story about them a go. I also wanted to write a romance before it becomes a romance, since that's something I've never done. And I'm so flattered that this is one of your favourite Neville/Hannah stories! That means a lot ^.^

You really do need your next job lined up before you quit your first, especially with the current job market as it is. I'm very proud of Hannah and sort of inspired by her for making this decision though. I imagine it isn't easy becoming a Healer, and then making the decision to change your career after spending so much time on it is very brave. Go Hannah! More power to her!

My weakness is still description, but I really wanted to take advantage of all the cooking that was going on to "paint the scene". It was a good way to mix things up, and I don't think it really helped that I wrote this in the middle of the night when I was weirdly craving samosas :P So happy that I made you hungry though! Share my pain, muhahaha! I wasn't sure if the flirting was too toned down, but it seemed to fit them both the best. Glad you enjoyed it!

I wish I thought in terms of cooking all the time. Alas, I'm not a very good cook, so that doesn't happen all that often. I'm so happy you felt like freshly-baked bread after reading this! Considering the theme of this story, that's very high praise indeed! I'd love to write more about these two someday - we'll see. Maybe they can cook something else next time...

Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Lululuna Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

1st December 2014:
Hello! :) Sorry I took so long getting here - I read the story last night and loved it but got distracted by the massive evil essay that is my life, haha. But all done now so I can properly review! :D

I love this story, really. It was just amazing and made me incredibly hungry so you should be proud of the descriptions and how perfectly everything was described. I love stories like this which focus so much on the little details and it really shows how Hannah truly delights in the small things about cooking. Samosas yummm!

This was just such a cute little story and made me so happy to read. When they compared the lengths of their hands - aww! But so realistic for how people flirt when they're just getting to know one another. I liked all the explanations for why Hannah chose to work at the bar - she had other options, but it's what felt right to her. That's very inspiring, in a way. Neville was great too. I'm glad he's gained confidence since leaving school, he certainly deserves to. :)

I also love how you wrote Hannah as biracial. Her Indian heritage was clearly very important to her and I loved how she explored that heritage through her cooking and relationships with her parents and grandmother. She was so much fun to read about. Thanks for writing this awesome story! :)

Author's Response: Evil essays will be the death of us all. I completely understand. I still have to leave my review on your story but real life is always like NOPE. YOU CAN'T REVIEW TODAY.

I wrote this story in the middle of the night, and it is the absolute worst to start craving samosas in the middle of the night. I'm so pleased with the way the descriptions came out here - I think they're my favourite descriptions I've written so far. And Hannah was such a delight to write.

I was like "how do you make two people flirt with each other completely by mistake, but also make it really obvious that they're flirting?" I'm so lucky that Neville just turned out to be that way. And Hannah's motivations are something to which I aspire. To be mature enough to make the right decision for yourself is difficult.

Hannah's heritage is a part of her but I didn't want to make the story all about that. I just wanted it to be like the way it is in real life - it's always there and colours the way you do things and think things without it being in your face about it. Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by 1917farmgirl Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

26th October 2014:
You know, I've always admired your writing. Every time I read something of yours I remember this. You have a way of cutting to the heart of the matter and expressing simple truths in a beautiful way.

I really loved this story. Now, I've not read my Harry Potter for a long time, so I don't remember if I missed something about Hannah being partly from India, but I do have to say I really liked it a lot in this story. It gave an otherwise sometimes unremarkable character from the books real life and personality here in your story. And I loved how you wrote about what for a lot of us is unfamiliar objects and foods with such familiarity. I might not know what it all was, but Hannah did and through your portrayal of her I still felt perfectly at ease with everything.

The real reason I loved this story though? It was just sweet! Such a cute and fun way to start off a story we know happened. Neville was adorable, and Hannah had such a strong "character" voice, I feel like I know her so well now. And I loved the humor as well. Very nice.

My favorite line was the one about knowing when things are done. Brilliant insight there.

Thanks so much for sharing. This really was beautiful.

Author's Response: Aww! That means so much to me! Your writing is great and I love it a lot, although I don't get the time to read fanfic all that often anymore, so coming from you... just, ugh. Thank you.

No, Hannah isn't partly Indian in canon, but it seemed to fit her somehow. And family and culture has a way of manifesting in our everyday lives in the most subtle of ways, and I wanted to write Hannah that way. I'm Indian, so all the stuff I talk about is things with which I am familiar. Hannah's struggles are to some extent my struggles. It was interesting writing from personal experience in that way - something I've never done before.

I'm glad you found this story to be sweet! It was the sort of vibe I was going for - that feeling of finding someone new and you're just like "yes! You get this!" And of course, because in canon Hannah and Neville are married, it feels so much better because you KNOW what's in store for them.

Thanks so much for your lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by wolfgirl17 Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

23rd October 2014:
Hey 800 words of Heaven!

Wolfgirl17 here with your requested review.

I know you were worried that maybe you played down their relationship too much, but I think you wrote it really well. It's not over the top, and given that they've not really had much to do with each other since Hogwarts, not to mention Neville's shy nature, and Hannah's tendency to be a bit of a worry-wart, you've written it so that it's very believable that they might meet up late one evening and cook and pal around.

You hint at the idea that it might evolve into something more in future, and that's nice too.

I really enjoyed the story. Your description of the cooking process was spot on, and I liked the way you had Neville give Hannah a hand with it.

Cannonically Hannah isn't actually Indian, but I think for this story, it works that you've made her so. Your language is expressive and subtle, hinting at the possibility of a friendship and then perhaps later, a relationship, developing between Hannah and Neville.

I've not actually read a Neville/Hannah story before and when I first learnt that J.K. paired them up in the epilogue/potterverse, I was like, wait... What?

You've definitely convinced me of how a relationship between the two of them might've come about.

Kudos too on your perfect spelling/grammar. I didn't find a single mistake, and it was an absolute pleasure to read something without jarring inaccuracies. In fact, overall your writing skills are really strong. You have great sentence structure and your characterisation was great.

You definitely didn't tone down the chemistry between Neville and Hannah too much. It's perfectly done to make it entirely believable.

I'm definitely hitting up your author page to check out some of your other stories! Thanks so much for requesting a review from me, and for contributing this fantastic story to the archives. Feel free to request anything else you've written to be reviewed because your work is a delight to read!

Keep up the great work! 10/10!

xx-Wolfgirl17

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for taking a look at this story.

I'm glad you found it to be well-written. I wanted to write a friendship story, but also a start of something new and exciting story, and Neville and Hannah seemed like a good fit for that kind of thing. I've never written a relationship like theirs before though, so I was a little worried about how it came across.

I'm not one who really enjoys cooking, but I'm one of those who when does cook, gets super involved in the process, a little like Hannah. I'm pleased that the description worked!

No, I don't think she is canonically Indian, but it seemed to fit well for the Hannah I had in mind. And you're right - totally unexpected that they get together since nothing happens between them at Hogwarts, but that's pretty realistic. I mean, how many people actually meet the loves of their lives at high school? But I still wanted to give them a little backstory.

Haha! Yay for perfect spelling and grammar! I'm really picky about things like that, but things always slip through. *blushes* Thank you so much for your praise!

Thanks so much for your lovely review! I hope you find something of interest on my page - and feel free to let me know your thoughts if you do read something - good or bad thoughts :P


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>