Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Teddy and Lumpy
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan Master Adventurer

9th November 2014:
I remember seeing the banner for this a while ago and laughing, and thinking I should come back to read it at some point. So it was very fortuitous that I happened to be stalking your AP this evening and found it again. Hooray!

This was just... the cutest. There is no plot, but none is needed; it just focuses on all the great things about being a kid. I love all his interactions with his new mushroom friend - how he tries to feed it and protect it from the gnomes, and even gives it a name. What this story really made me think of was my own childhood - when I was about that age, my cousin and I used to go explore the meadow behind our grandma's house and look for weird slugs and insects and things, and, gah, this story makes me all nostalgic! So I really love the way you set the tone and it just exudes the blissful freedom of childhood.

The one thing that struck me as a possible error: in the beginning Andromeda says to wait until Teddy's grandfather Ted gets home, but if I remember correctly, Ted Tonks died in the Deathly Hallows book? (I'm pretty sure. Might be wrong though) But that's a really small error. Overall, it's an adorable story and I loved it.

Best line: How could it not be happy with such a creative and superb name like Lumpy.

Author's Response: :D

Yeah, I ended up changing this to an AU so Ted could live on. :) It was initially an error, but I wanted him there (even if it was only a mere mention of him).

I'm super happy that you like this! I got lost in the nostalgia of my childhood as well! Exploring is a thing that every kid needs to do!

Thanks so much for your super spectacular review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Hori Master Adventurer

26th September 2014:
Hori here with your Slytherin exchange review!
If I had to say something negative about this, I'd say it's that you ended it right when it was getting really good. I'd definitely read a continuation of this fluffy little piece, and I don't usually go in for positive, sunny, feel-good stories at all. I bet Teddy and Lumpy could really get into some mischief.
You write a child's perspective very well. The self-affirming, somewhere rhetorical nature of the perspective certainly captured a part of the way kids think and interact with what they encounter, especially if that thing is new.
If anything, I think you could have taken some more space for Teddy to share more of his thoughts on his surroundings. As I said, you wrote the perspective very well, and I would have been happy to read a more detailed account of his first encounter with the garden gnomes, for example.
I'll be sure to venture back and read one of your longer pieces soon. :D

Author's Response: Hey Hori :).

:D Sorry, I had a restricted word count on this. It would have been fun to turn into a longer story. I'm positive that Teddy and Lumpy could get into mischief!

Thanks! I spend time around kids a lot, and Teddy is in one of my favorite age groups!

You're right, there could have been more focused onto his surrounding. Kids are full of imagination.

Thanks again, Hori :D.

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #3, by Moonyxluna Master Adventurer

19th September 2014:
Hey, thanks for swapping with me!

This one just looked way too cute to pass up. I love stories with kids. (which is weird, since I don't want them.) but I had to pick it!

I like the concept you guys picked for this, the 'show that all experiences with magical creatures aren't bad' - I feel like Hagrid would be proud :)

He's very cute, the way you write him, with the being annoyed in his grandma for calling things 'grown-up' and his good stick. And of course the little change of hair color was a cute little addition to his character.

You should capitalize 'Horklump' as it's something that J.K. Rowling invented. :)

I like the innocence here. The Horklump seems like it'd be a little bit of a menace (unwanted mushroom in a garden type), but it's very sweet that he goes immediately to making it his friend.

And the name. So cute.

He changed two of his own spikes to match the colors of the flakes and laughed-- aww they're bonding! dying in cuteness over here.

Aw, just imagining all of the little adventures they'd get on. :D

This was very sweet and fun to read. Good work with it, and thanks for swapping with me!

Julie

Author's Response: Hey there!

There's a major difference between reading about kids and having one of your own. When they start being too much for you in a book, you just stop reading :p.

Awe! Hagrid would be proud!? Go, Rumpel, go!

You're right, I should capitalize Horklump.

Thanks so much for the lovely review :) ♥

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jen Master Adventurer

11th September 2014:
Lovely story. Thank you

Author's Response: No, thank you ;). I'm glad that you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #5, by LightLeviosa5443 Master Adventurer

20th August 2014:
Okay. I'm here for our swap. I was going to read Everto, but I have to re-read it so it's probably something best done with a huge chunk of time so I can surprise you with a load of reviews :)

Didn't this win in the HC? If it did, congrats! If it didn't, I'm going crazy.

First of all, I'm a paragraph in and I love his narration. It's totally something ten year olds say and I hate when people refer to things as "grown up" things now and I'm an adult! (almost, lol kidding). But yeah, basically I love this. I love that he's calling himself a master explorer, yet all of the places he's been to are so commonplace. It's definitely one of those things where kids think they've discovered the world when it's something so simple. You've conveyed that beautifully.

Oh my gosh so cute! This is SO cute! THAT WAS SO CUTE. I COULDN'T EVEN REVIEW AS I READ BECAUSE IT WAS SO CUTE. THAT WAS JUST ONE BIG HUGE BUNDLE OF LIKE ADORABLE CUTENESS. I CANNOT EVEN. I can't.

This was lovely, I can see why you won... If you won. I don't remember, I'm too lazy to check :P (not even ashamed to admit that, haha)

Thanks for the swap, darling!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Hello!

That's okay, Everto's there when you're ready to read it ;).

Yes, yes it did! :D

Hahaha, this kind of cutesy-writing was new to me, so I'm glad that it came across write. Fluff...got it now!

Thanks for the sweet review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #6, by scars and broken hearts Master Adventurer

16th August 2014:
I really liked your story. It's simple and sweet, just as I imagine Teddy to be.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review, I'm glad that you liked the story!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Elenia Master Adventurer

11th July 2014:
Aww, such an adorable story! I had the biggest smile on my face throughout the whole one-shot!

Teddy is so cute! Such a great explorer, he really has that whole backyard covered! I loved how he was arming himself for the battle against the garden gnomes (x and the part where he thinks he's already big enough to hear 'grown-up stuff'. Kids really think that often!

Great idea to use horklumps! You don't see them often in stories so that was a nice change to your usual magical creatures (:

Your writing is really good and lovely to read. You had just the right amount of details and description!

One thing I'd like to point out though: Ted Tonks (senior) died during the seventh book, so maybe edit that part? Other than that, this story is perfect!

- Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey there!

This was actually really fun to write, as I haven't written anything quite like this before. Putting myself in the mindset of a ten-year-old boy instead of the many other character roles I've tried out was definitely interesting. Though, I do have to thank my young cousins for the inspiration.

Since Teddy is a master explorer, I thought it'd be fitting to have explored the entire back yard. Garden gnomes are tricky little creatures...can't go in there unarmed.

I thought that horklumps could be particularly adorable, especially in this context.

I do have to change this to AU, as I was hurrying to put these all through for HC! Thanks for pointing that out!

And thanks for the wonderful review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Karou_Marauder Master Adventurer

10th July 2014:
Awww!!! Cute. :) Hi.

It was really funny when Teddy said he hated it when things are called 'grown-up'. I remember hating that too. Adults have that annoying habit of forgetting that every child thinks they should be allowed to know the Grown-Ups' Business, and Teddy is clearly no different.

"Almost." Haha.

Those pesky gnomes, always causing trouble! Young Teddy's so cute. I like how he has to explore the whole garden, and then when the gnomes come he uses that as an excuse to go all over the place.

Horklumps are so weird. I'm guessing that the spikes are how it eats, and it senses stuff through the spikes? Aw, Teddy's changing his hair colour to match the Horklump. Cute!

Oh, and Lumpy is definitely one of the most creative and superb names I've ever heard. ;)

-Karou, 2914 House Cup Review

Author's Response: Hi :).

That is one thing I do remember from childhood, is just never being old enough to do grown-up things. Though, now that I am "grown-up", I'd like to be told that I'm not old enough to do certain things sometimes... ;).

Heheh, he clearly just HAD to find something to defend against the gnomes, didn't he? :p

Horklumps were fun to research, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them was a ton of help. Though, they didn't quite cover how exactly a Horklump ate...

Lumpy is an awesome name, isn't it ;).

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodore Master Adventurer

10th July 2014:
Hello there! I'm here reviewing some of the house cup stories in the reviewing task and I wanted to say congratulations on winning the prompt that this was written for! It was such a cute story and it really made me smile.

The only tiny piece of CC I'd suggest here is that in canon, Ted Tonks actually died during the second wizarding war - but I can understand you not including that detail as it's such a happy story. I liked the way that you chose to portray Teddy here and you managed to capture his childish nature really well, with all the excitement about finding the Horklump and making friends with it. I loved the name that he chose to give it, Lumpy - very unimaginative but a perfect name for a child to give its animal friend. I loved the friendship, of sorts, that you captured between them. It fit the prompt so well and I really enjoyed it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thanks so much...this was something that I haven't been able to explore before, so it was quite fun.

Yes, I'll have so switch this to AU. This was the third story I had written in rapid succession, so I think I messed up a bit ^.^.

I thought that a simple name would be best to give Teddy's new friend.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle Master Adventurer

10th July 2014:
Hey!

This was such a lovely story and it really brought a smile to my face, as reading about adorable moments like this does. I thought little Teddy was so cute, and I loved how you captured his childish excitement and naivety ("How could it not be happy with such a creative and superb name like Lumpy.") As such, I thought your characterisation of him was great, and I loved the way he interacted with the horklump! I've never even heard about this magical creature until now so it was really interesting to read about it. You did a great job providing me with a description of its features and integrating information about the creature's nature throughout the story. I thought this was such a nicely written story for prompt 1 - you definitely captured the magic of the moment with the interaction between Teddy and Lumpy!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey!

This was my first attempt at anything Next-Gen, so I thought it'd be easier to write from a younger perspective, which was fun, because I had some leeway to play.

I came across the horklump in Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and HAD to use it! It was just too cute, though it seems that these creatures are portrayed more as pests -- like gnomes.

Thanks for the lovely review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #11, by UnluckyStar57 Master Adventurer

9th July 2014:
Aww, little Teddy and a Horklump! So cute!

I was never clear on what a "Horklump" was, but I think this cleared it up for me. I liked the description of it--it sounds almost like an above-ground sea anemone or something. :D

Awww, Teddy turns his hair the color of sugary cereal. So cute. :)

You showed Teddy in his childhood very realistically. I like to imagine that he had many "adventures" in the backyard, just like the one he had with the Horklump.

One thing: Andromeda told Teddy to go outside until Ted Tonks came home. I'm not sure if this is AU or anything, but Ted Tonks died in DH. I'm sorry if it was AU and I missed that detail. :)

Great story!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hey :D.

I came across the horklump in Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and I HAD to use it ;).

I'd like to think that, as a Master Adventurer, he's had many, many adventures in the back yard.

I did change the story to AU, it was just something that was overlooked while racing to get stories done for HC.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #12, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Master Adventurer

9th July 2014:
I absolutely love this story! I'm there with Teddy as he goes on his grown up exploring expedition's in the garden! Every little boy needs a big stick if they're on an adventure, especially if they're exploring a garden filled with some pesky gnomes!

His fascination with his Lumpy is adorable! I especially loved the touch of Teddy matching his appearance to the Horklumps accessories! And how he protectively warns Lumpy to stay away from the Gnomes in the Garden! I'm really glad that they both found a new friend!

House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: D'aww, thanks *blush*.

Big sticks are essential items for adventuring ;). I wanted to capture the child-like curiosity that would ensue with the encounter of a creature such as Lumpy, and I think it worked ;).

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #13, by evil little devil Master Adventurer

9th July 2014:
You wrote from a child's perspective so incredibly well! Where he was describing his stick as a good stick, and when he changed his hair to match the horklump - perfection!
This was a completely adorable story. I love your characterisation of the young Teddy Lupin, as mischievous, kind-hearted, curious, adventurous - I would love to see how he grows up.
I love that you chose horklumps as well! I haven't come across another horklump story yet, so this is very unique. They sound like such bizarre creatures, I love it!
This was such a sweet, lovely story, and a complete delight to read!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm glad that you liked it. It was fun to write from a ten-year-olds perspective, and to explore Teddy Lupin a little bit. This is my first attempt at Next Generation (I've been hesitant to use it before).

I saw horklumps in Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and had to use that creature ^.^. It was too cute to pass up!

Thanks so much for the lovely review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #14, by Dark Whisper Master Adventurer

8th July 2014:
Hey, Congratulations, my fellow Slytherin! Job well done in grabbing 1st place for the Creature prompt!
I have to admit I don't think I have ever read any story about a Horklump. This was really, really cute. Can I say that I absolutely loved how he kept calling it a mushroom? LOL!
Your descriptions were really vivid and I loved that you had Teddy as a 10-year old explorer!
Cute read and congratulations again!

Go Slytherin House!
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much! I was thumbing through Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them, attempting to find a creature, when I stumbled across Horklumps...and I thought they were adorable.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #15, by kenpo Master Adventurer

7th July 2014:
This was ridiculously adorable. I'm obsessed with this. Oh my gosh. You so deserved to win this. I'm just in awe right now of how cute and alskfjaej this was.

I think my favorite part might've been when you listed all the places that he'd explored. It was just... fantastic. I couldn't tell if he actually has what seems like a huge backyard or if it was just his childlike wonder... which is great!!

And then his friendship with Lumpy!! I don't even have anything of substance to say other than AWWW HE'S SO CUTE I LOVE TEDDY.

You wrote him as a kid so well. I love it. Write more next-gen. I can help you keep all the character's sorted. I'm just... I'm obsessed with this story and it's perfect and you're amazing and you deserved the award SO much.

-Georgia

-House Cup 2014 Review-

Author's Response: HAI!

Haha, this was a lot of fun. It's really different than anything else I'd written before (especially with using a Next Gen character)!

I'll have to use you as a reference when I decide to try Next Gen again (but I think I'll try to finish Everto and The Mildly Perlious...

Thanks so much for the love-filled review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #16, by Freda_and_Georgina Master Adventurer

7th July 2014:
I loved this! You have some great writing skills and I enjoyed every moment of it. Teddy is amazing, especially when he didn't care that sugar would stunt his growth. I'm going to have to re-read the Horklump section of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, I forgot several things about them. I loved how it could interact with Teddy without speaking. You certainly handled this prompt brilliantly.
--Georgina
For the 2014 House Cup Review

Author's Response: Hey there,

Thanks so much, I had fun writing this -- it was something very different than anything else I've written before. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is a great reference (it's where I came across the idea to use a horklump in this).

Thanks again!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #17, by adluvshp Master Adventurer

1st July 2014:
Hello fellow Slytherin xD

I decided to check out your story since it won the first prize in the creature category of the House Cup, and I'm glad I did because I can totally see why it won =)

This was such a cute and adorable little piece of writing. I loved how the creature you used was a horklump, something so unique! And the way you portrayed him was beyond adorable. Teddy's friendship with him made me smile and the whole story was a feel-good kind of piece which I enjoyed thoroughly!

Congratulations on winning first place and thank your for bringing glory to our house with your wonderful writing xD

Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hey!

*Blush* Thanks so much!

This was something that was way different than anything else I'd written before, so I'm glad it turned out okay! I picked the horklump as I was thumbing through Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (it just seemed like the perfect little creature for this).

Thanks again!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #18, by momotwins Master Adventurer

28th June 2014:
Holy crap, I love this story. Teddy is so adorable, and the horklump was a great choice of magical creature. I hardly ever see them in stories, and I love an underused magical creature. I think your portrayal of 10 year old Teddy was really great, he seemed age-appropriate. He's adorable. Reminds me of my boys. They're nearly 10 now as well. Great story, loved it! Well-deserved on the best in prompt, congrats.

Author's Response: *Blush*

Thanks so much! I have cousins about the same age as Teddy, and they do like to adventure, so I'd have to say that they were my inspiration for developing Teddy.

:D Rumpel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login