Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Astoundingly Ordinary
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dojh167 Free

24th April 2017:
Hufflepuff CtF Review

Wow, people very rarely write about Karkaroff, and much more rarely in a ship!

Your writing is so beautiful, and your descriptions and imagery really suck me into the same enamored state Igor is in.

I found the phrasing quite awkward at ďThe eyes that stared up at him, as dark as death itself, he got himself trapped in,Ē specifically with the last part. I guess itís kinda formatted like Yoda speak?

Oh, is this woman a muggle? I like that, because it really does seem like she has him under a spell, just not the literal kind, I guess. I hope that the fact that he can love a muggle means that he doesnít still hold the same supremacist views that he must have when following Voldemort.

Wow, so is this just a one night stand? What a fascinating intoxicating way to write it. I find it interesting that you characterize this is ďraw love,Ē even though they donít seem to know much about each other or plan on seeing each other again.

Oooh, I like characterizing the sunís rays as ďautocratic.Ē Directly followed by another fabulous line, ďThe sun could have her tomorrowĒ

I wasnít certain when this was set until towards the end, when you clarified that Igor had just been released.

Not gonna lie, Iím kinda jealous that Igor can use sex to get himself out of bed every day, if that means he gets to have sex every day ;) I know I know, itís a serious thing. But still.

This was a really interesting little story! You did a good job of exploring different sides of Igorís story with showing instead of telling, and you honed in on some of the different interesting complexities that can exist in a single night of seemingly meaningless pleasure.

Well done!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey, Sam!

Ever since writing this, I've been developing Karkaroff headcanon and I loved every bit of shipping him. Unfortunately, when I wrote this, I was super-pressed for time during a House Cup (and completely missed the mark for the prompt :P), so it is definitely in need of editing (and expanding). That'll probably be put off until I get around to moving it to the new archive.

The major reason I brought in 'raw love' is that I was trying to set it 'in-the-moment', and trying to convey some feelings that often get interwoven/confused with lust.

Whenever I do get to rewriting this, I'll try to make the timeline more clear from the beginning -- thanks for pointing that out! :D

;) Whatever gets him through the day!

Thanks for the review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ron 4 Hermione Free

24th April 2017:
Hey there, here for CTF!

I canít say Iíve ever read a story where Igor Karkaroff was the main character before so Iím excited to read this.

Oh wow, your descriptions in this are amazing. They really bring the story to life and I can just feel how desperate Igor must be for some company, for love it would seem. I donít know who the woman is, but I guess thatís not important, she could probably be anyone and Igor would feel the same way, that he needs her for tonight and then he can get on with his life.

Itís strange that he wants to forget everything, yet he still describes killing as thrilling. I suppose if youíd done it for as long as he had, and even took some sort of pride in it, then it would be thrilling, to know that people feared you and would do whatever you wanted because of what you could do.

I think this is a really nice insight into what could have happened to the death eaters after the war, just wandering from town to town and trying to get over what had happened, and I suppose some of them would have wanted to start their lives over again but I guess that would have been hard because most people would know them only as death eaters, no matter how hard they tried to change.

Shaza :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Free

1st April 2017:
CTF Review

Hi Rumpel!

This story caught my eye because I honestly don't think I've ever seen a story about Igor Karkaroff? I've read so many stories now and I don't think I can remember seeing him as more than a minor character in a Death Eater ensemble cast, if that makes sense. And to be honest, I don't think I've ever thought much more about him than what we see in the books - a shallow character who's attracted by the ideas of power, but more than a little afraid to deal with the consequences.

In this story, though, you made him seem so human and understandable. The title, Astoundingly Ordinary, fits the story perfectly. You've captured him in this moment when all he wants is to forget everything that he's gone through and all that's happened to him. Running away from the Dark Lord is not the best of ideas, and I think you did a really good job of showing the strain that it's putting on him. This is a moment of escape for him, a moment of returning to the person that he once believed that he was, and wishes he could recapture.

There's something brilliant about this story because of the way it humanises Igor Karkaroff. The fact that the woman he's with doesn't have a name is really interesting too - there are a lot of stories which use love to humanise characters like these, but this is less about love than a feeling of connection to another human being, and a memory of being normal - or astoundingly ordinary. This was great, and really thought-provoking.

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by velajune Free

11th April 2016:
Hi!

Oh man, I honestly tried this out because it's the first story I've seen about him. I didn't know what to expect coming into it.

The descriptions! So vivid. It's a totally different Igor from what I had in mind, yet the same. It's a mystery to me as to why I feel that way about it aside from the fact that you wrote it so well!

I never really thought about his ending- his happy ending. And after this, I'm kind of wishing he hadn't died. What would his life have been like if hadn't been a wizard...? Those types of questions are popping in my head now. I've never considered him as anything, but a DE (and a coward) until now.

I can only describe what he must have felt as "beauty in the mundane".
June

 Report Review

Review #5, by ReeBee Free

10th December 2015:
Rumpel hello again!!

Okay to be honest, I picked this one because I really donít think Iíve ever read anything about Igor?? Like ever!

Okay wow the first part the description was so beautiful especially about the alcohol and everything! And the woman was described in such a enticing way? And the fact that he, a former death eater, would go into a muggle pub was really interesting and again just added to the characteristics of the woman.

And i donít know but i feel like I have to say how nice the formatting of this is?? Like the seeing, hearing, smelling, touching, tasting is formatted so nicely and the descriptions with short sentences really evokes like a super intense feeling.

And the need for a new life, to not remember the horrible things heís been through, I feel i donít know, not exactly sympathy (because well, he was a death eater who did who knows what to people) but like heís human too and not every death eaterís like Bellatrix I guess? like of course he wants to get away. but its sad to think of the end he came to ?? its sad to think that the thing heíd wanted to escape the most caught up with him?

This was so beautiful Rumpel! The desperation and need he feels for the woman is portrayed so nicely and the reasons behind the need are described so perfectly!!

Thanks again for the swap!

-Curry!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack Free

5th May 2015:
Greetings Rumpel! I am the Crumple-Horned Snorkack, here all the way from the northern forest in which I normally hide from the Lovegoods, but I've taken today off in order to leave a review for you!

Igor Karkaroff is quite a rare character to find stories about, so that was a nice surprise - I had never really thought about what happened to him after he deserted Voldemort so I enjoyed reading this tale about his life after the war. And, rather impressively, you've portrayed Karkaroff in an almost sympathetic light, as he feels he doesn't deserve love, and has spent so many years not feeling anything at all, and this is his way of feeling something as he tries to start over and make something of his life.

My advice to him is to hide in the darkest forest, because in my experience that is the best way to recover from any setback or to start over. Hiding from humans makes me feel wonderfully refreshed. But I suppose maybe humans are not as fond of forests as Snorkacks are. Regardless, I wish him well in starting over his new post-war life.

I also want to mention how lovely your descriptions were, and those short sentences were so effective - particularly him using his five senses again. Great job on this fic, it was really well written! But now I must dash to meet Bigfoot for tea. Cheerio!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Susan Bones Free

26th April 2015:
Hello.

I'm Susan Bones. A friend of mine has seen you around the forums. She really wanted to come by and read and review your story, but she couldn't. You see, she's hiding from the evil King Joffrey of Westeros, who will do just about anything to get to her. Coming her would be too dangerous, it could give up her location, so I offered to come for her. So this is really a review from her, even if it is my opinions.

This was really good. I don't really remember that much of Igor Karkaroff from when he was at Hogwarts in my fourth year, but I have heard many stories of him, of course. He was supposedly a dangerous death eater once. If I remember correctly, he ran away before the third task, and was later killed my the death eaters because he had betrayed too many of them to be allowed to live...

Anyway, I think you did an amazing job with the description. The emotions, the scenery... It was just so good that I could practically see it all happening in my head. And it was believable and realistic too, so all in all a very good story. I enjoyed reading it, and it was so interesting to see something from his perspective. I didn't know there was a place where people wrote about us until recently, so I don't actually know if there are any other stories with him. But my friend has told me he isn't the most common person to write about, so that must make this story pretty originial.

I'm afraid I have to go now, but remember it was a review from my friend, really. I'm sure you'll see her around the forums. She is there all the time, really.

Lots of Love

Susan Bones

 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Free

27th February 2015:
Wow! Your descriptions are just pure brilliance!

I loved the way that you described how he was feeling - especially the part about how he could feel his heart beating for the first time after being so cold since Azkaban. I feel a little sorry for him, being so empty and broken since Azkaban and how he was just craving for something.

This was so captivating, the fact that he just cared about her, even if it was for the one night and that one moment. It goes to show that even Death Eaters/dark wizards can feel compassion.

Such a wonderful one shot, so full of emotion and meaning. :D

LOVED IT!!

Author's Response: Oh hey!

I'm glad you liked this, because I have no idea how I feel about it. I wanted to portray a softer side of Karkaroff but something just didn't work right with his characterization.

Either way, it happened. :D My first love scene happened, too. That was awkward to write, let me tell you ;).

Thanks for the lovely review ♥!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lostmyheart Free

12th January 2015:
Hi Rumpel!

Sorry, I'm a little late with our reviewswap, but here I am! :)

Are you crazy, this story was incredible to read. I love your descriptions with the fire, the way it lit up the room, Igor's way of thinking, it was all perfect. You managed to create this sweet atmosphere within the story, and I could feel it as I read it.
You even made me like Igor, for trying tofind redemption. Poor guy.

I really enjoyed reading this!
Thank you so much for swapping, and for your lovely review on Tetraphobia! *hugs you*

- Avi

Author's Response: Avi!

I'm sorry I'm super late with responding!

I'm glad you liked it! I have a hard time reading this one, it makes me blush :). I'm glad the you enjoyed Igor's characterization!

Thanks for swapping!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #10, by AdinaPuff Free

13th October 2014:
Hi!

I loved this. I've never read anything in the perspective of Igor. His character is dark and alluring, in my opinion. He is scarcely touched on in comparison to other characters in the HP Universe. JK leaves much to the imagination, and you took that and ran with it. You created a man who feels unworthy of a woman's love, yet at the same time free from the shackles Azkaban and the war once held over him. You wrote this in a tone that was so captivating, I didn't want to stop reading. The words were amazing and flowed together with such a poetic tone. It was a great read and gorgeously written.

Thanks for the swap!

-Leigh

Author's Response: Hello! Nearly a year later, and I'm finally getting back to you.

I'm glad you enjoyed Igor in this -- I had to give the poor guy some depth. I do have to admit that I have a very difficult time reading this story, because it makes me blush. It was my first love scene, and probably my last (unless my modesty becomes shaken in some way)!

Thanks for the lovely compliments, and for the Swap!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #11, by adluvshp Free

30th July 2014:
Hello! Here for the Slytherin review exchange =)

This was a very interesting story. I loved how you picked Igor Karkaroff as a character for this. I never gave much thought to him, to what would have happened to him after the war, so this was a unique and well-written plot idea. Him finding solace in a stranger woman's arms was nicely written. The way you expressed Igor's thoughts was believable and interesting. I kind of felt sorry for him. It was nice that he was overcoming his 'adversity' though. The prompt was used well.

Your descriptions were beautiful too, and I loved your choice of words. They painted a picture in front of my eyes and I was really into the story while reading. All in all, this made for a great read and I enjoyed it. I'm glad I got a chance to read it!

Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hello!

I'd been wanted to play around with Igor's character a little, and this particular type of story is new to me as well. Playing with the two new elements together was actually quite fun ^.^.

Thanks so much for the lovely review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle Free

10th July 2014:
Hey!

This was a story that really provided me with a different insight into Igor. I've never thought about what everything would have looked like from his perspective, but I liked your portrayal of it. What this made me realise was that at the end of the day, Igor is a man, and this is what some men need when they're completely lost and unstable. As such, I found this to be a really realistic and believable story. You did really well with conveying the emotions and feelings of Igor, I felt like I got a really good sense of it. Your writing was really brilliant throughout this, especially with the way you wrote certain things, such as with the short but powerful sentences, and parts like this: "Seeing. Hearing. Smelling..." That just really emphasised the point. Great story!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello!

This was nice because I'd been wanting to work with Igor's character for a very long time. Albeit I didn't have that much room to work with his characterization in this, but at least I got around to trying it out. This is technically my first love scene as well, so I was a little timid about writing it... though I'm very glad that the emotions shone through.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #13, by UnluckyStar57 Free

9th July 2014:
Wow. There was some really interesting symbolism and imagery in this story! Much different--and more mature--than "Teddy and Lumpy." :P

Igor Karkaroff has never been a character that I particularly liked. He's rude and fake and a traitor on all sides. But this perspective of him made me think. Is he naturally a slimeball, or is he just a product of his situation?

The girl that he's using to make himself feel better is almost like an accessory to him. He just wants to use her and then leave. Well, until his decision to make her want him. That was interesting to me because it showed that he was thinking about other people's needs, if only as a part of his own agenda.

This was really compelling. Awesome job!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Ah, this is my first attempt at a romantic story. I figured I'd give it a shot ;).

I tend to read more into characters than I probably should, as it's my natural tendency to believe that there's a natural goodness in everyone. On that note, I've been wanting to explore Karkaroff's character because I couldn't find the goodness in the canon that was provided.

Thanks for the review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #14, by evil little devil Free

9th July 2014:
What an interesting perspective to choose!
I love how you've managed to make him, perhaps not quite sympathisable, but you have humanised him greatly. You haven't apologised for all the bad things he's done, or even set him up for any kind of redemption particularly, but you did make him feel so real and raw and human. You made me feel like I was in that moment - that, for that moment, he wasn't the Death Eater Igor, he was just a person, experiencing this experience in as much of an isolated bubble from the world as possible.
This was rather wonderful! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hello again.

The HC stories were definitely a time for firsts, as this is my first romantically involved story. I'm glad that you appreciated Igor, in the moment, just being able to be Igor. He was also fun to write with, as I've been wanting to explore his characterization a bit as well.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login