Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Shadowplay
  
79 Reviews Found

Review #1, by NW2017 Twenty: A Low Flicker

20th September 2017:
I was hoping an Aislin/Remus moment would happen! 😀

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by prongslittleflower Thirty: The End

24th August 2017:
I absolutely loved this! Read it straight through today at work! I've been hooked on your other stories for awhile and decided to check this one out and I'm so so happy that I did. I really liked Aislin, and Remus, and Sirius, and all the rest, and even though I rooted for ol' Remus at points, I'm glad she and Sirius got together. Plus, the murder mystery going on in the background was so good. It was such a fresh idea, and really well written at the same time. Had me wondering who it was the whole time, and I liked the twist that it was Johnny that was involved as well. I also liked the instances of Aislin showing some maturity in the plot; it seemed really realistic and made me like her even more as a character. I'm so happy that I stumbled upon this story, and I can't wait to read more from you in the future. 10/10!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by FadingAntigone Thirty: The End

30th June 2017:
What a great story! The plot was so compelling and you write thrill/mystery really well. I loved the balance between that and the Remus/Sirius storyline. It never felt forced.

I know you've mentioned a sequel isn't necessarily in the plans, but I just wonder how Aislin and Remus would handle the Sirius/Peter betrayl -- I feel like that could be a really interesting story. Just throwing it out there.!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! :) I've been working on some original stuff for the last while, so haven't had much time for ff. Some day I would love to return and explore these characters' lives in the aftermath of the first wizarding war.

Thanks again for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by lightthecandle Thirty: The End

10th June 2017:
So glad I took the chance and clicked on this story as one of the featured stories! Really, really, siriusly (*wink wink*) enjoyed it!

And I have to say, probably a bit weird, my favourite parts of this story is whenever Aislin and Moody are together. Just the way she constantly teases him/tries to be a friend and he just shuns her off. It's brilliant and entertaining! Really enjoyed reading about them!

And honestly, I'm so glad that Aislin and Sirius reconciled at the end, it's just a perfect ending. I know I'm alone in this just because every review I've read so far wanted the Remus/Aislin ship to sail but hey ho, I will go down the ship of Sirius/Aislin!!

Lovely, brilliant, humourous story :) And definitely one of my fav marauder era stories!

~Aimee xxx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review! The dialogues between Aislin and Moody were some of my favorite pars to write, so I'm glad that you enjoyed them! :) I was very torn between Aislin/Remus and Aislin/Sirius, but I think in the end it had to be Sirius.

Thanks again! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Hidebehind Thirty: The End

29th May 2017:
Hiya!

This story was so fun, as a slightly boozy , slightly chaotic person myself - I found this story very relatable!

I was always rooting for Remus (purely because if I had to choose, I'd pick him) but I agree it could have only ended in this way, like she was going to just forget about Sirius?!

Anyway, hope you keep writing more fic - I love your writing style!

Hidebehind x

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

I agree with you, I think Remus was the better option for Aislin! But people don't always end up with the person who's best for them, and like you said in your review, it would've been hard to just move on to Remus.


 Report Review

Review #6, by blackballet Twenty-Six: No Regrets

28th May 2017:
Oh my gosh I had no idea how attached I was to Remus and Aislin until I read that last scene. I'm obsessed.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by naflower05 Thirty: The End

12th May 2017:
Wow, this was really good!! I started it ages ago and just re-read it, and I'm very glad I did! Although part of me still wishes that she got together with Remus... Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Catastrophic Thirty: The End

10th April 2017:
You're an amazing writer! Loved the ending.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lilrilakkuma Thirty: The End

7th April 2017:
FINALLY! I have been checking almost every day since I last reviewed. This was a cute ending, although I have to admit I was disappointed things didn't go in Remus's direction. I loved this story, and I would love to read a sequel!

Author's Response: Sorry for the super long wait! And thank you so much for reviewing!

(On my author page you can find three chapters of a sequel, but I'm not planning to continue it in the near future. :/ )


 Report Review

Review #10, by gryffindorlion15 Twenty-Nine: All the Fallen

13th March 2017:
cant wait for the next chapter! please update soon :)

Author's Response: Sorry for the long wait! I'll try to get the last chapter to you sometime this week!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Naomi Twenty-Nine: All the Fallen

9th March 2017:
PLEASE UPDATE! ❤️

Author's Response: Ahh, sorry it's been so long! I'll get the last chapter up sometime this week!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lilrilakkuma Twenty-Nine: All the Fallen

9th February 2017:
Yay! You updated! What a treat. I'm so pleased Remus is going to stay, even if that means they've put whatever happened behind them... hopefully just for now ;) All of this UST between them is starting to get to me.

I almost forgot to mention in my last review... Another thing I love about this story was the original characters. A lot of OCs in fanfiction tend to not stand out on their own, but you have managed to make every original character, no matter how minor, seem just as developed and interesting as the canon characters. I see a lot of myself in Aislin from when I was a debaucherous youth, and I can picture both Johnny and Barnabus as real men that I've known and been with. You're a great writer, a real writer. I would pay to read an original work from you if you were published.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! :')

I'm so glad you like the OCs! I think that writing canon characters is challenging, because you have to strike a balance between what people know/expect from a character, and originality. But OCs are way scarier for me, so I'm glad you think they work.

Only one chapter to go! Should be out sometime this weekend/next week.


 Report Review

Review #13, by The Justice League Twenty-Nine: All the Fallen

9th February 2017:
I was able to accept aislin with Remus over Sirius for a good two chapters and then you killed that dang. Great story tho!

Author's Response: Haha sorry for the twist! The truth is that, like Aislin, I have a soft spot for Sirius.

Thanks so much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lilrilakkuma Twenty-Eight: The World on Fire

9th February 2017:
I've just come across this story and read it all in one sitting. It isn't often that a fic can make me feel so many emotions - happiness, angst, melancholy, hope, in quick succession. It is brilliantly thought out and written. I am also a huge fan of true crime and this is the first detective HP fic I've come across that hits the mark, for me.

I absolutely love Aislin and Remus together here, I hope that it isn't still too late for them. I hope you update soon, you have another faithful reader waiting!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. :) The next chapter should be out sometime today/tomorrow!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Nicole Keogh Twenty-Eight: The World on Fire

8th February 2017:
This is by far one the best written stories I have ever read! it has such a well thought out plot and your writing is better than some published books I've read.
I can't wait to finish this story and I really can't wait to see what else you come out with because you have a serious talent!
Love this story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this lovely review! :) Only 2 chapters left in Shadowplay, and they should be ready pretty soon. I'm procrastinating a lot these days, so plenty of fanfiction is getting written!

If you're looking for other stuff, I've started another fanfic called Like Catching Smoke, which you can find on my author page!


 Report Review

Review #16, by greenbirds Twenty-Four: The Two Doors

9th January 2017:
oh my GOD!

actually, totally, genuinely speechless. oh god. where do i begin?!

firstly- because ill forget to mention this otherwise- it struck me as slightly odd, maybe even off, your characterisation of marlene- who is, of course, known in canon for being killed by death eaters (voldemort himself?). she's such a normal, mostly pleasant character, so i assumed you had either decided to experiment with some classic marauder fanfic cliche of her being the go-to girlfriend/love interest of sirius- in most fanfic, of course, aislin would be marlene- but it makes sense! staying with her parents... this is how she dies! god... how heartbreaking! and i had assumed her to be a gryffindor friend of lily's, an order member all along.

for that's the best thing about shadowplay, a story that is saturated, spilling over at the seams with good things and attributes and qualities- the story works so perfectly, so fluidly with canon i almost forget it isn't canon. it's certainly become my head canon, any how. the characterisation of the marauders is where so many fics go wrong, and quite frankly not only do you get it right- like, SO right- you probably do the best job of characterisation of this time genre on the whole site. even just little things, like humanising peter into a real, likeable character, or the easy banter between lily and james... obviously, my favourite characterisation is of sirius, but i'm so biased towards him anyway, it wasn't fair.

and then there's remus. this is so remus's story as much as it is aislin's. you've created such a three dimensional character within him, stuck so true to canon but also wielded comfort in changing and tweaking it ever so slightly to accommodate a young man, not the shattered, world weary professor we are introduced to him as initially. his friendship and potential love with aislin- and, of course, that awful, confusing fry area in between- has been so delicately treated i must applaud you. it would be so easy to turn shadowplay into a who will she pic? stay tuned!!! drama, but you shy away from that i the same grace and fashion aislin does, to focus on tbe bigger picture at hand.

and hello?! WHAT a plot! a plot that does not stop giving- always one step ahead of you, even when you think you've caught up there's another twist... so exciting, so thrilling, i've found myself over the past day excusing myself from brunch and my friend's birthday dinner to read it in the toilets. god, you're talented. like- awe inspiringly so.

even small details, like references to robes rather than clothing we take for granted in the muggle world, or feeling limbless after losing her hand... you are in a league of your own.

i'm desperate to know how this concludes. i know more than anybody what it is to lose momentum, lose track, lack inspiration, fall out of plot. i am BEGGING you to resume. excuse the hyperbole but i'm dying to read more! i am obsessed! you've got me hook, line and sinker.

and - i've totally nominated shadowplay for a dobby. am i allowed to tell you that? perhaps aislin's recklessness has rebounded on me. it deserves a dobby and beyond and it's borderline heartbreaking shadowplay doesn't have the reviews and acclaim it deserves. truly a league of its own.

Author's Response: Hi again! You've made my day again with this lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time, and for your Dobby nomination! :')

Marlene is meant to have been in the Order, but yeah, I think in most Marauders' Era stories the whole world revolves around the Marauders + Lily, so I wanted Aislin's world to be a little more independent of theirs.

I'm laughing at the idea of you sneaking away to read Shadowplay -- fanfiction is such a guilty pleasure for me, I always feel like I've got to sneak away somewhere to write it!

Thank you so, so much for all this loveliness. I'll get writing. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by greenbirds One: The Beginning

8th January 2017:
i was in the middle of /such/ a long review when google chrome totally failed on me! i will never laugh at an internet explorer meme again. and i apologise for the review this could have been.

i remember reading this for the first time ages ago- i even remember leaving a review in 2014 (oh my GOD, does that seem long ago- a simpler time, haha). i was so excited by this marauders thriller, especially as it is my favourite time period and also the most challenging; finding fics that balance good characterisation of canon characters and original characters whilst handling an original plot (i think i might cry if i read another bffl-of-lily-hooks-up-with-sirius) is super hard, and i am so, so excited to return back to shadowplay!

i remember enough of it to keep me enthused; some details especially, ridiculously small, for they inspired various sub-plots and scenes in my own fanfic. (sirius & aislin, especially. there is this ONE reference to the two of them bunking quidditch and lying in bed that i still adore) but i don't remember enough to lack any thrill of the plot, or even have a sense of predicability when reading. god, i'm excited to keep on reading- and aren't i lucky to have twenty five chapters left!

so yeah. super exciting stuff. you rock. all my love xox

Author's Response: Hi! :) It's been forever since I had a review on this story and it made me smile! A few months ago I decided to redo the ending, but never really got around to it. Maybe one day! :') Happy reading and happy 2017!

 Report Review

Review #18, by gigi Eighteen: The Empress

31st January 2015:
I was in the process of reading another similar fanfic all the time thinking how much better yours was, devoid of fluff and cliché, nice cool protagonist and great original plot, so I came back to comment again. It also had me remembering Barny's fire substory wasn't tied up. Did you intend to tie it into the main plot or was it going to be someone else? Thanks.

Author's Response: Hi again, and OOPS. I had so many ideas for this story in my head that I forgot to tie that up in the last couple of chapters. I think I hinted a little bit about who the culprit was in the chapter when Aislin goes to Barny's party, but I never stated it outright. I'll go back and make some edits to tie things up more neatly! Thanks for pointing that out, and for your review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Eunia  Twenty-Three: The Wand Thief

13th January 2015:
omg. oMG. OH MY GOD.
WHAT

Author's Response: Hahaha, thanks for reviewing! Glad the twist took you by surprise!

 Report Review

Review #20, by onetrueking Twenty-Three: The Wand Thief

12th January 2015:
Whoah! Did not see that coming.
Johnny boy is the Tarot killer! Well they say that the most unlikely are the real culprit.
I just hope Remus and Moody gets there in time.
Can't wait for next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I've already started writing the next chapter, so it'll be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #21, by wonweasley Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

9th January 2015:
This is getting so heavy. I'm honestly starting to feel quite anxious about this story ending. What's going to happen? And what am I going to do once it's all over? :'(

Okay, enough moping. I think it's sweet that Remus is encouraging Aislin to expand her social circle a bit. That wouldn't have happened if she'd been left to her own devices.

Maybe I was wrong about my comment on North in the previous review? I suppose he seems alright. I just can't get that basement scene out of my head. Although now I realise that he was under the Imperius Curse at that point, wasn't he? Gah I'm so confused! I need to know who's behind it all.

This is just wonderful. Well done on everything. Can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: The end is coming soon, and I'm pretty sad about it, too. :/ I can't give anything away now of course, but the killer will be revealed in 23! Thanks again for your fantastic reviews, which always make my day!

 Report Review

Review #22, by wonweasley Twenty-One: A Bright Glow

9th January 2015:
Yeesh, spider eggs in a pillow, that's a good one. I think I would die. Drunk Remus is such a darling. I want to know so badly about what's going through his head. Like what he thinks of Aislin and why he's so wound up about the case.

Barnabus is scum. He's just that typical lowlife male who thinks that it's totally okay to manipulate women into doing whatever he wants. Ugh. Karma needs to get on that stat.

Keen to find out more about North. I'm not yet tempted to believe he's entirely innocent. Like yeah, sure, he was Imperiused and all, but he's a shady bloke anyway.

Magnificent as always! On to chapter 22. :)

Author's Response: I love writing drunk Remus, though unfortunately there aren't many opportunities for it. Thanks so much for your lovely reviews!

 Report Review

Review #23, by wonweasley Twenty: A Low Flicker

9th January 2015:
Finally got around to reading this...and you've added three whole chapters! Lord we are so blessed.

Okay so yeah. Huge curve-ball with Remus/Aislin! It really didn't occur to me that there could be anything more than friendship between them, but this development has come up in the sneakiest of ways and I must admit I love it! So torn between him and Sirius though. But hey, why not both?

Such a treat to have Moody make a reappearance. "If you had died, I’d be furious. But you’re alive and well, so that’s neither here nor there, eh?" Textbook Al. Still my favourite character.

I could probably say more but I'm dying to get to chapter 21! Cracking on...

Author's Response: Haha, finals period proved to be a very productive time for this story. Glad you weren't thrown off by the Remus/Aislin!

 Report Review

Review #24, by naflower05 Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

6th January 2015:
Good couple of chapters!! I wonder who was behind the Imperious curse... Update again soon please, I can't wait to see what happens next! And when is Sirius going to come back?? 10/10! =]

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! Lots of good stuff will be revealed in ch23, which should be posted by next weekendish!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Anon Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

5th January 2015:
I love this story. Please update!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I'll try to get another chapter up by next weekend!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>