Reading Reviews for Complicated
  
69 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sleepingbagonthesofa  Complication #14

17th February 2018:
YES Halloween! The perfect time for a nice cut up the dress to show someone changing metaphor! ;)
The secret is out with Dom and Alec, I can't wait to see what effect that might have and it showed the growing relationship between Abigail and James perfectly.
That chapter sample was a stroke of genius. I now absolutely need to read more.
S x

Author's Response: gotta love a well-placed metaphor, haha. yes, dom and alec are now out in the open! (spoiler alert, that’s gonna be a big theme next chapter) glad you liked the chapter sample - i’m going to start putting them in regularly (and adding them to last chapters) because it’s such a fun little sneak peek to show off. thanks for reading and reviewing!! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Violet Potter 434 Complication #14

16th February 2018:
eeek!
another chapter!

and its Halloween!!!
wooo
love a good Halloween at Hogwarts chapter

and freddie did dress as Peeves! go freddie!

omg the sneak peak has made me so excited for the next chapter so that update had better be quick

love from me xx

Author's Response: yes, this Halloween chapter was so fun to write! and yes, Freddy did go as Peeves - that was actually totally unplanned but the moment I wrote his comment into the last chapter I just knew I had to actually make it happen. it was just too perfect lol. glad the sneak peek has you excited, i’m going to start including those in all of the future chapters bc I think they’re so much fun and I usually have about a quarter of the next chapter done by the time I post the current one anyways, so why not haha. thanks for reading!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by HarryGinnyLove88 Complication #13

13th February 2018:
Yes Abigail, i like them too...lovely chapter there write soon...

Author's Response: They're fun, aren't they? :) Glad you enjoyed the chapter - the next one is already in the works!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Sleepingbagonthesofa  Complication #13

13th February 2018:
This was a brilliant chapter.
We really see a new side so Abigail. From the courage she shows actually walking into the hall to the fact that she's being really (dare I say it) nice?
Her relationship with Dominique is already so strong and Dom is written so well.
I loved it!
Congratulations on the top ten!
I'm looking forward to the next one
Xx

Author's Response: Thank you, love! Yes, it appears dear Abigail is turning over a bit of a new leaf (mainly out of necessity, haha). And gosh I love that other people love how Dom's written bc I really love writing her. Next chapter coming soon! Thank you for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Violet Potter 434 Complication #13

13th February 2018:
omg I'm so happy for you! congratulations!

right
its official
I love the weasleys

I love the whole story

need more james and Abigail soon

oh and btw, Fred should definitely go as peeves
from me xxx

Author's Response: Thank you! And yes, I love the Weasleys too - they're so much fun to write dialogue for. Yeah, this chapter was a bit limited on James/Abigail bc there were a lot of other things that needed to get covered for the sake of the story, but they'll definitely get a few moments in the next chapter! Haha yes, Fred as Peeves is absolutely hilarious in my mind - the Halloween party is in the next chappie so you'll be able to see pretty soon if that's the costume he actually ends up choosing, lol.

 Report Review

Review #6, by BBHP Complication #13

12th February 2018:
I love Dom! She's everything good and I love how she just completely and unquestioningly befriended Abigail. There is so much about this story that I find so wonderful and it's no wonder you're on the top 10! Anyway, I'm so excited for the next chapter.

Author's Response: I love Dom too - she's basically almost too nice to be real at times, which is so fun to write. I'm so happy you're enjoying the story!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Potter 434 Complication #12

12th February 2018:
this gets better and better with every chapter, I lurve it!

those girls need a slap in the face

I love Dom!

nice reference to the Scarlet Letter, I love the film Easy A, i'm hoping you've watched it, we can't be friends if you haven't

jokes, you write too good for me to ignore your stories


anyways I need an update


from me xxx

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're loving the story! Dom is honestly one of my favorite characters, so I'm glad you like her. And yes, I've totally seen Easy A! Anyways, chapter 13 is in the queue so it'll be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #8, by BBHP Complication #11

11th February 2018:
So many emotions right now. Im stuck on the fact that James keeps insinuating that theres something off about Blaises behavior. Maybe Im reading into it too much, but I cant help feeling like the fact that he never showed up that night before Hogwarts started was significant. And poor Abigail. Her emotions are so real and so raw and so believable. I love that James was there for her though.

Author's Response: Hm, yeah James doesn't seem to trust him, does he? There may or may not be more about that in a future chapter. ;) Thanks for reading and reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by BBHP Complication #8

11th February 2018:
The emotions in this seem so real to me. I am loving this story and its so so good.

Author's Response: Yay, I'm so glad you're enjoying it!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Sleepingbagonthesofa  Complication #12

10th February 2018:
Ah... the sympathy continues.
From Queen Bee to someone I honestly want to hug. You get the vibe that she's completely out of her world.
I love the little dynamic with Dominique, it just adds that little bit extra.
Lovley chapter!
Looking forwards to more.
S x

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the chapter - I had fun really delving into Abigail's feelings this chapter. Next chapter should be up within a week or so!

 Report Review

Review #11, by HarryGinnyLove88 Complication #12

10th February 2018:
Aw...new friend for Abby and Wotters always the best ones :)

Write soon...

Author's Response: I'm hoping to have the next chapter up within a week! Thanks for reading! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Sleepingbagonthesofa  Complication #11

7th February 2018:
So I've just read this in the one go and I love it!
Your writing has such a great tone and the characters! I'm not going to lie I struggled with Abigail at first. She was almost too sickly sweet but I've definitely come to love her as she's changed. Feeling this sorry for her was not something I expected.
Looking forward to the update!
S x

Author's Response: Not going to lie, I actually love that you didn’t like Abigail at the start - she’s not supposed to be a super-likable character until she starts growing up a bit. Glad you’re enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #13, by couldyoureallyknow Complication #11

5th February 2018:
So glad to see these regular updates! Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: I am hoping (knock on wood!) to have a new chapter up every week or so!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Violet Potter 434 Complication #10

3rd February 2018:
oml
I need an update

I hate cliffhangers


love the story tho

from me xxx

Author's Response: lol I felt kinda guilty ending this chapter on a cliffhanger but it had to be done. glad you're liking the story - the next chapter should be up in a day or two!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by couldyoureallyknow Complication #10

3rd February 2018:
so glad you finally updated!!

Author's Response: hopefully lots more updates coming soon! the next chapter is almost finished so it should be up in a few days!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Laura xx Complication #9

28th February 2016:
Wow! I'm am completely in love with your fanfic! It's so utterly brilliant and I love Abigail's world you've really put a lot of detail into everything she does! Anyway I really loved this chapter and I'm exited for the next one maybe we might even see a bit of James/Abigail ;)?

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it thus far! Thanks for reading xx

 Report Review

Review #17, by greenbirds Complication #9

12th May 2015:
omg! reading over this made me realise how much i truly like it and how it's been forever since you've updated. i miss this! when are you next updating? need to know what's happening with abigail and james. like asap.

Author's Response: haha, it took forever for me to add a new chapter, I know. thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #18, by beka_wotter Complication #9

15th April 2015:
I really really like this story, it definitely has me gripped and I can't wait to read more! x

Author's Response: i’m so glad you are enjoying it!!!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Willow_Lupin Complication #9

16th February 2015:
Ooh i think this is a really good story! please this is really cool and I love it!!!

Author's Response: thank you!!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by 1917farmgirl Complication #2

10th February 2015:
I can totally understand your chapter summary today. It hasn't been a particularly good day in my world either.

Also, I have to admit that given your story summary, I kind of figured things couldn't go all that well for Blaise and Abigail in this chapter, not of James is going to come into this story somehow. ;)

It's sad to see how full of stuff a life can be, and yet how empty just the same. I had to read that book, The Great Gatsby in school...you know the one, the classic, and I hated it. Because it was just so...empty. No one meant anything to anyone else. Poor Abigail's parents have set that up for her, and even though the silk is nice, I really do hope she finds more than just that. You can tell she wants it...but she's going to have to work a little harder for it.

I thought your line about love and hate was really, really profound. Makes you wonder about her parents, actually. All that hate and animosity is probably just hiding the fact that part of them still cares for the other and they are way to proud and stubborn to admit it.

Great writing again. You do have a way with characters and settings and moods and a very good attention to detail. I was honored to be your review exchange partner!

 Report Review

Review #21, by 1917farmgirl Complication #1

9th February 2015:
First of all, I am SO sorry for how late I am with this review. It's been a rough start of the new year for me and I'm behind on everything. Trying desperately to catch up now. I hope you can forgive me.

Now, to the review. I also have to confess that I am not a big fan of Next-Gen. I have a great love for the original characters but I have a harder time stretching it over to characters we know so little about. I guess I'm just odd.

But I do think you have done a wonderful job of creating characters here. I read the whole thing (until the very last section) thinking how shallow and rather stuck-up these girls were and wishing they would talk about something other than clothes and boys. Don't read that the wrong way - that's a compliment. It takes a great writer to create characters so real they can annoy you!

And then you flip it around. That last section peels away the layers and reveals that at least for Abigail, they are partly for show. There is a real her hiding beneath them, yearning for more than clothes and money and popularity. That adds so more to her and is the mark of great writing. It's like a hook, to pull your readers in, but a very subtle and deft on.

Great writing, stellar characters, and pretty dresses. What more could you want?

Thanks again for the review swap and I'm so sorry it's taken me such a long time!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Brightest Witch Complication #9

12th December 2014:
OMG!!! I just read your whole story and I really realy really like it! You write Abigail and her friends really well! :) there are few grammer mistakes here and there, but none that really detract from you story :)

10/10

Author's Response: thank you! and yes, i’m working on going back and catching my own grammatical mistakes, haha.

 Report Review

Review #23, by blackzero Complication #9

12th December 2014:
Nice chapter. Update as soon as u can

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm working on chapter 10 now!
ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #24, by couldyoureallyknow Complication #9

11th December 2014:
love this story! can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad you like it! Chapter 10 is in the works, so hopefully it'll be up soon!
ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review

Review #25, by NH Stadler Complication #8

6th December 2014:
Hello there! I just stumbled across your story and I'm glad I did. I think you are a very captivating writer! The story line is fun and intriguing and Abigail as a character is really appealing with all her quirks and flaws. I love that she is likeable yet has this manipulative streak :).
Keep up the good work! :)

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so happy you like my story, and Abigail especially. I'm glad you can see both sides of her, I really try to show them both when I'm writing her. Thank you!
ShadowRose (Taylor)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>