102 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Liana Flying

27th March 2018:
I didn't see anything wrong with Hagrid's accent but that probably shouldn't tell you much. I forgot I found a good story on this site so I haven't been here for a while. Sorry. It seems like all of the Potter-Weasleys are good fliers. I wonder who the captain will pick for the four positions.

Author's Response: Glad you thought Hagrid's accent was good!

Just to let you know, in the future updates to the series will be on ff.net (Harry Potter FanFiction Talk) once this website closes at the end of the month.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story and reviewed!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Liana Professor Dire

6th February 2018:
Professor Dire--what a name for a teacher! I really liked your introduction to the Hogwarts teachers. I wonder if Dire will have it in for Albus. I was feeling uncomfortable for Albus. Any possibility that Dire is one of the bad wizards from the beginning of the story. One time, many years ago, I took a class on property law in a law school. The professor was notorious for picking on students. One week he called on me twice and I wasn't prepared. I would prepare a certain number of cases for class every night. Both times when he called on me it was the end of class and I didn't have quite the right number of cases ready. It was unusual for him to call on someone twice in the same week. Those were also the only times that year that he called on me. My lack of preparedness negatively affected my grade. So, I kind of know how Albus felt.

Author's Response: Professor Dire is actually entirely based on a teacher that I had when I was eleven. It was a woman, and I had her for math, but other than that she was almost exactly the same. I always had to pay attention for when she wold randomly call on me, and since I usually knew what i was doing I typically did okay. Usually I just felt bad for the kids who she called on who didn't know the answer. One time she did call on me when I was daydreaming once and I think my heart stopped. I was only the recipient of her nicknamed "death stare" (a term my friend came up with) once or twice but it was awful.

Anyway, I know EXACTLY how Albus felt because I based Dire off of one of my teachers.

Glad you enjoyed it though!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Liana Galleons, Books, Wands, and Jokes

6th February 2018:
I really like the atmosphere you've created in this chapter. The Potter family seems so close and close to the Weasley family members. At the same time they seem like any ordinary family taking their kids shopping. Poor Albus having to try out at least 100 wands.

Author's Response: Even though they are famous, they pretty much are a normal family. They try to keep away from most of the fame, and just live normally like anyone else would. And yes, they are all very close.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Liana The Feast

1st February 2018:
I loved it when Albus fell off the sorting stool. Not that I'm mean but I didn't expect it and it sounds like he didn't either. I know how it is when you get all stressed out over something and then something stupid happens to break the tension. I know Harry probably told his kids stories about using the Map but I'm wondering if that was a good idea. I don't know if Harry and Ginny thought about how their kids would take that information and use it to get in trouble themselves. Albus doesn't seem to know too much about Muggles and Muggle items which is kind of odd considering Harry was raised by Muggles and he's one of Arthur Weasley's grandsons. Finally, does the Map have the word "Surveyors" or "Purveyors" on it. Looking at it neither one made a lot of sense.

Author's Response: Clearly Albus wasn't expecting to fall off the stool either! I thought him falling off was kind of funny too.

Harry has a rather relaxed parenting style. Because he got in so much trouble during his time at school, I think he kind of knows his kids are bound to get into trouble as well. I agree, he probably shouldn't have told the kids about the Marauders Map.

Arthur Weasley isn't terribly knowledgeable about muggle things- keep in mind, Arthur mixes up the names of things like the telephone. True, Harry does know a lot about the muggle world, but I don't think he would have brought it up much with his kids. Albus grew up entirely in the Wizarding World, so he doesn't need to know how muggle things work.

I just looked it up, at the Marauders Map does say "Purveyors" on it! Nice catch. I'll make sure to fix that.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Liana The Extraordinary Arrival

1st February 2018:
I read Chapter 1 at one point and then didn't have time to continue. Now I am back to it for a while. I both love and hate cliff hangers, I'm sure for all the obvious reasons. I was tempted to start some of your other stories but then I decided I'd better stick to this one. I picked this story to read because it looked similar to Gryffin Duck's work and I have really enjoyed her stories. I'm looking forward to getting involved in this one. Glad to see the appearance of Albus' nemesis, Scorpius.

Author's Response: I love Gryffin Duck's stories too! Mine is similar in some aspects, but it also has its differences. i first read Gyffin Duck's stories years ago.

Scorpius isn't much of a central character in my story, but he does occasionally show up.

Glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Liana The Rising Wizard

9th January 2018:
Good start. You have me interested in reading more.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by The_Proud_Snake_Girl Tears and Laughter

9th May 2017:
"But I still killed him. I'm-I'm a murderer. You're head auror; you should throw me in Azkaban." *Cringe* Anyway, 10/10. :) Although, I wanna know what you have against Slytherin. All of them are mindless, punch-happy thugs, or at least in this story.

Author's Response: Oh god yeah. Younger me viewed Slytherin the same way book Harry did. Slytherins will get better roles later on in the books, I promise. Presuming I ever write up to that point.

Thanks for reviewing!



 Report Review

Review #8, by The_Proud_Snake_Girl Slytherin's Office

9th May 2017:
"I have absolutely nothing against Slytherin house." What about all those times you insulted Slytherin?

Author's Response: *cringe* Yeah... though to be fair, that was Albus insulting Slytherin, not me, and he's a bit of an idiot. I plan for him to eventually come around and see Slytherin for the great house it is.

Also, when I first came up with the plot, it was over five years ago and I was a bit prejudiced myself back then. Don't worry, I've now seen the error of my ways. This is an old book.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by The_Proud_Snake_Girl Streamers and Newspapers

8th May 2017:
"Lily even sent him a happy birthday card that sang loudly whenever he opened it, so Albus kept it closed." Didn't Ginny do that to Harry with a get well card? :D

Author's Response: Yup, Ginny sure did! Except Lily didn't make hers nearly as romantic because that would be weird.

Thanks for the review! Glad you're enjoying it.


 Report Review

Review #10, by The_Proud_Snake_Girl Birthday Discussions

8th May 2017:
“No, it’s for my pet hamster." LOL
"We know you’re not interested in the dark arts. If you were you’d be in Slytherin, not Gryffindor,” HEY! I'm Slytherin and I'm not evil!
“Good point, Slytherin is for losers!” You're gonna be sorry...
I'm not saying your story is bad, in fact you're a really good author, but can you PLEASE stop insulting Slytherin? It's my house, and I'm not evil, neither are any of my other Slytherin buddies. I'm not saying Voldemort wasn't evil, because he totally was, but I hate it when people say Slytherins are evil. You're still a really good author, but I don't like how you look down on Slytherins. I'm a Slytherin in Hogwarts, and a Horned River Serpent in Ilvermorny. I've also got a snake's attention by hissing at my freind once. Anyway, I'm really enjoying your story, but I would enjoy it more if you quit hating on Slytherin. 9/10, that's my rating.

Author's Response: Five years ago, when I first started this book, I was a prejudiced idiot when it came to Slytherin. Your annoyance is completely justified and I now know the error of my ways.

Also, keep in mind, that a lot of this is just what the Gryffindors think. Even back then, I never thought what these characters thought.

My best friend is also a Slytherin, so hating them now would be kind of stupid.

9/10 is not bad! Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Janice McAshton The Weasley Gathering

8th May 2017:
“Hey, Al,” James said, as he sling-shotted a rubber band at his forehead, “What help do you need from your noble and glorious big brother? I can answer every question.” Noble and glorious? I think not. Anyway, lol 10/10

Author's Response: James can be a bit full of himself sometimes. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Janice McAshton Christmas

7th May 2017:
"She often had first- years light the inside of ornaments to put in the great hall." Poor firsties! By the way, Lorcan and Lysander are twins.

Author's Response: I know that Lorcan and Lysander are twins now, but when I first started writing this book back in 2012 them being twins was not canon yet. So I'm just sticking with my version.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Janice McAshton Rose Gets Detention

7th May 2017:
"Potter, dance like a monkey and sing so horribly that you scare the other team!” lol

Author's Response: That would be funny. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by writeyourheartout The Extraordinary Arrival

29th January 2015:
Hello again, Pheonix Potioneer, and Happy Belated Hot Seat Day! ^.^

Awww... Albus is such a sweet little kid. I think it's very fitting of him to feel upset about leaving home, because he seemed exceptionally close and reliant upon his dad in the epilogue. I think Harry is probably his safety net, and it must be hard to walk away from that for a school so far away, knowing they won't see each other again for months - even while surrounded by the familiar faces of his brother and cousins.

“Plus,” James added, “They announced at the end of last year that they aren’t using the sorting hat this year, because it got damaged. They’re going to have a big test instead, wrestling mountain trolls and that sort of stuff.” - LOL James is such a brat. Reminds me of my own older brother who, after I accidentally swallowed a black watermelon seed, convinced me that a watermelon would start growing in my stomach... I was so young. :-p

I can completely understand Albus' anxiety in regards to his expectations for the year. Having such a well-known father who has this great legacy certainly comes with its challenges. And I can definitely relate to people having high expectations for you and that, in turn, making you afraid of disappointing them. But, that said, I still think it's really sweet that Harry likes to tell people that Albus' is like him. Proud daddy. ^.^

He's so determined not to be a snake! Didn't he listen to his dad at the station!? :-p

Hagrid! Glad to see he's still working there. ♥

Awww, the Sorting Hat song was really cute! That's a tough challenge to take on, but I think you handled it well!

CLIFFHANGER! WHERE'S HE GET SORTED? I suppose I'll have to read on to find out, huh? ;)

One thing I noticed you did that felt a little inconsistent was whether or not Albus actually believed what James' said about the Sorting Hat being unusable this year. He seemed to really believe it at first when you wrote this: Albus’s heart sank. Now not only did he have to be worried about being away from home so long, and being sorted into Slytherin house, but also he had to worry about whatever test they were doing. - But later this thought happened: Was his dad right, in saying the sorting hat would listen when he said he didn’t want to be in Gryffindor? - He clearly begins worrying about the Hat again, so now I start to think he doesn't really believe James and knows he was probably just messing with him. But then this happens: As they continued forward he breathed a huge sigh of relief when he saw the sorting hat sitting on the stool, and not some huge obstacle course out in front of them with trolls and other horrible creatures. - So, as you can see, it goes back and forth a few times and is just unclear as to what he actually thinks. Anyway, I just wanted to point out that that confused me a bit, so you may want to be clearer, should you ever decide to edit this! ^.^

(Also, I believe Sorting Hat should be capitalized, but don't quote me on that because I unfortunately don't have my books on me at the moment!)

It was still a good chapter overall, though, and the ending was particularly clever! Keep it up!

Tanya ♥

Author's Response: If I went to boarding school when I was 11, I would have been terrified too, like Albus. He's very understandable.

I remember my brother telling me the same thing about the black watermelon seed too! Ah, the pains of having older brothers. Or was it my mom who said the thing about the watermelon seed? It might have been.

Yup, James can be a brat!

Albus did listen to his dad, but a one-minute conversation can't completely erase his (in my head canon) months-old fears. Plus, I think he paid more attention to the "you can choose what house to be in" than the "Slytherin is a great house" part.

I didn't really notice the inconsistencies until now- thank you for pointing that out! I might go back and edit it, but then I'll feel the urge to rewrite the entire story, and I've kind of moved on from it. Thank you for letting me know.

I just went to my bookshelf and looked up the Sorting Hat, and you are right! The books refers to it as "the Sorting Hat". I won't edit it this, but I'll be sure to change it on the sequel and all future stories. Thank you so much for this revelation!

Thanks for reviewing! And yes, of course there had to be a cliffhangers! I love cliffhangers.


 Report Review

Review #15, by likeness_of_a_seabird The Feast

27th January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round three!

Ah-ha! Albus was sorted into Gryffindor! I have a feeling this might happen, but it’s great to have it confirmed. I see the Hat still believes it’s infallible, but I suppose it was charmed to be that way by the four Founders. Having something indecisive as a sorting method wouldn’t really work, now would it? I wonder, though, how many besides Harry (and now Albus) have managed to convince the Hat to put them (or not to put them, as the case may be) into a different House than what the Hat thinks is the best?

Albus’s new classmates seem very interesting (even if some of them initially stare at him and make him uncomfortable). I find it rather amusing that a muggle-born’s surname would be Mysticus. Talk about a coincidence, right? It was also nice of Rose and Al to assure Art that he would get used to everything in no time. And this David seems like a prankster to me, based on how he tricked Art into looking the punching telescope which I believe was bought from Weasleys’ Wizard Wheezes. I guess I’ll have to wait to see whether my prediction is correct or not.

And James stole the Marauders Map! Really, this kid gets his hands on everything. If I were Harry, though, I wouldn’t be surprised to discover the map was missing…

A great third chapter!

- Emmi

Author's Response: Yes, Albus is a Gryffindor! Hooray!

The Sorting Hat doesn't always let the students choose- Neville took ages because he wanted to be in Hufflepuff, and the hat decided he should be in Gryffindor. In my head canon, it only lets you choose when both houses would suit you well.

Ha, ha. I like the "Mysticus" surname too. It's not very subtle, is it? ;)

Art would get used to everything in no time. Harry adjusted pretty quick to the muggle world, and had no problem at all. Of course, that might be because he was too busy worrying about Voldemort most of the time.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by likeness_of_a_seabird The Extraordinary Arrival

10th January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round two! I'm so sorry this comes so late, I've been in London for the past four days!

Aw, Albus and Rose’s are going to Hogwarts! I really liked how Albus, despite Harry’s words, still frets about being sorted to Slytherin. It’s kind of cute how he sees all of these “omens” everywhere, starting from getting Salazar Slytherin’s chocolate frog card. I also liked how he kept comparing himself to Harry and how people would expect them to be exactly alike. I imagine that while Albus is most likely proud of his dad, he would find it much easier if he was just a regular boy instead of the son of the saviour of the wizarding world.

Boy, James is a bit of a brat, isn’t he? Tricking his brother into believing they would hold some kind of a test to sort the kids. Mean. I did like how awed Albus was when he saw Hogwarts for the first time. I imagine the effect is the same on every new student, regardless of whether they are from a magical family or not. And the portraits are telling the first years which house is better! Nice. I see Flitwick became the Headmaster after McGonagall. It suits him, somehow. I think he seems like the Headmaster type.

Now, which house will Albus finally be sorted in? Is it Slytherin like he fears, or will he be in Gryffindor like his parents and James? I guess we’ll have to wait till next chapter to find out…

- Emmi

Author's Response: You've been in London? Did you see the Big Ben? Did you go on the Eye? I suppose asking questions is useless since you can't really reply, and this is off-topic, but that's still awesome! I went to London a little less than a year ago.

Yeah, James can be a bit nasty, but he loves Al deep down.

Yes, where will Albus go? Hmmm.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by marauderfan Hufflepuff VS Gryffindor

8th January 2015:
Happy Hot Seat Day continued. :D

I can understand Art's dislike of Exploding Snap. I mean it sounds all fun in the books but when you think about it, it's like, an explosion happening right in front of your FACE.

Poor Albus feeling humiliated in class. All I can say is it's a good thing he never had to learn from Professor Snape (his namesake. Ahaha) But I'm with Rose on this. Professor Dire is mean, but I don't think he's EVIL in the sense of BWAHAHAHA DARK MAGIC. (yes that's a type. I'd be a scary Dark Wizard eh?)

Hehehe, I love the way you've written the house rivalry in here. Slytherins don't want Gryffindor to win so they're supporting Hufflepuff! Yeah! :D

Aw. Poor James. Public embarrassment. No pressure right? :p But I guess he does that enough to his brother/the rest of his family. That song sounds like just the type that Peeves would appreciate and I wouldn't be surprised to see ol' Peevesie singing it in subsequent chapters :p

It always confused me when they let Gryffindors be the commentator for matches in which Gryffindor is playing. I mean, Lee Jordan was an awesome commentator, but he was in no way objective. ahaha. Fred and Louis are much the same about their Gryffie bias! It's quite funny to read. :D

Yay for James' first goal!

Hufflepuff was too good -- Darn right they are! XD I know, I should feel bad for Albus that his team lost, but what can I do. You understand, though, being a fellow Puff. :p Anyway, I do like that Gryffindor isn't shown as winning all the time and the Puffs get some glory!

Awesome chapter!

Author's Response: I would hate Exploding Snap too. Ugh. Explosions in my face... no thank you.

I don't like Dire either, but he isn't a bad person. He's just not likable, if that makes sense? (Or maybe he is a dark wizard and I'm bluffing... BWAHAHA!)

Yes, james is publicly embarrassed, but I don't think he'd mind as much as Albus.

I'm a Hufflepuff, so of course Hufflepuff had to win. How could they not? Just as Fred and Louis showed their Gryffindor bias, I'm showing my Hufflepuff bias.

Thank you so much for reviewing me TWICE!


 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfan Rose Gets Detention

8th January 2015:
Happy Review Hot Seat Day!!

Rose is getting just a touch overbearing, isn't she! I mean, stalking him at all times to make sure he's not alone. It's kind of her to look out for him, but I can understand why Albus is annoyed, hahaha.

“Who are you?” the leader of the group sneered -- For being a bully, this person is pretty thick. I mean, it'd take a decade of living under a rock to not know who Harry Potter's son is. Ahaha.

Woo! Roxanne is definitely a good person to have on your side! :P

Oh no, if the post is being watched then Albus can't tell his dad! He should have done it earlier! Gah! Well, now I guess he has a reason to stick his nose into things that are far bigger than an eleven-year-old should have to deal with. Or, he could devise a method of sending a letter without Filch reading it. I'm sure there are ways to do that. Send it via Thestral? :p

Awesome chapter! REading the next right away!

Author's Response: I don't think Rose understands the meaning of privacy. Basically, if you don't have any big secrets, there should be no reason for privacy, in her way of thinking! I'm not surprised at Albus getting annoyed.

The bully is a bit thick... but I still wouldn't want him as a huge enemy.

Yeah, Albus should have told his dad earlier. That's disappointing. It'd be difficult to get a thestral, seeming how he and his friends can't see them! Interesting idea though.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by It Must Be St. Nick! Birthday Discussions

6th January 2015:
Ho, ho, ho!

I'm glad that Art had a nice birthday - it's still today, so happy birthday to Art again! It was good that they could take a day away from the stress of the Zajecfer situation and make his day special for him. It was so cute that he was so surprised about the cake!

David is one of my favourite characters, I think! He's so funny and has some of the best lines!

I really liked the section about their theories for how Zajecfer disappeared in the middle of the castle. Considering their age I think they did quite well to come up with those different theories, and I don't think that David's theory about the potion was necessarily a bad one. I could imagine that the potion was somehow used to open the doorway.

I think Zajecfer is probably still in the castle somewhere too, hiding from them and preparing for his next plan. Which is worrying because it's been months now and Albus is still okay so far... so I'm worried about what he's planning.

Trust Rose to think of going to the library to look all of this up! She really is her mother's daughter. I hope that they find something although I don't think that they're likely to find something in the papers...

The show of friendship at the end was really sweet. I like the way you write this group of children!

Merry Christmas from Secret Santa!

Author's Response: Art's really shy when it comes to his friends doing awesome favors- he's still in awe over having such amazing friends, I think. Through his childhood he grew up with brothers who just liked to tease him, so having people who don't is a pleasant surprise.

David does have the best lines! I love his lines! I'm glad someone else agrees with me! (Is that too many exclamation marks?)

The library is really the best way to find out information. It's great.

I think Zajecfer likes to stall just to confuse people. ;) His plan is actually in action, just Albus doesn't realize it.

Thank you so much Santa!

And thank you thank you thank you for being a wonderful Secret Santa who goes on amazing reviewing sprees and is all-around cool! Thank you thank you thank you!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Who Ate All the (Mince) Pies? Nighttime Wanderings

6th January 2015:
Ho, ho, ho!

I had a bit of a bad feeling about what was going to happen in this chapter, with the title making it clear they're going to be adventuring out at night - even with an Invisibility Cloak, that is not a good idea with a new dark lord on the loose!

Love the idea of George inventing a product that muffles your footsteps - I bet that's something he'd have loved to have at school! Although let's hope that Lord Zajecfer hasn't been sold any!

Haha, Umbridge is a brilliant name for Filch's next cat! A sort of homage from him to the teacher he admired... now that makes me wonder who Mrs. Norris was named after!

The House Elves were so cute! They're probably my favourite creatures in the series and I loved the way you included them here. They were so helpful!

I had to laugh at Albus's idea to levitate the cat to get it away from them, though. Rather like his uncle when he knocked out the mountain troll in the girls' toilets!

Lord Zajecfer's appearance was terrifying! I don't blame the poor boys for being scared, only in first year and just going to get their friend some cakes for his birthday, and they encounter the new dark lord - and not only that, the man who wants to kill Albus. Thank goodness they had the Invisibility Cloak, but things are even more mysterious now.

So it looks like my original assumption that Zajecfer was a student is wrong, if he's in his 20s... which makes it scarier that he got into the school, and just disappeared like that. Is this a secret part of the school called Slytherin's Office, perhaps? His appearance was scary too, why does he look like that?

A great chapter!

Merry Christmas from Secret Santa!

Author's Response: What would dark wizards do with Weasley products... *shudders* That would be a dangerous combination. Thank goodness Zajecfer thinks he's above products from a prank shop.

In my head canon, Mrs. Norris was named after a previous teacher (I'm guessing one in the long line of those who have taught DADA) who relished in the displeasure of her students.

I wasn't even thinking of the mountain troll when I wrote the scene with the levitating cat, but I suppose you're right.

Yes, Zajecfer is terrifying. If I faced that dude, I'd freak out completely.

Interesting theory that there's a secret part of the school called Slytherin's Office. ;)

Thanks for reviewing once again, Santa!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Following Eight Reindeer (and Rudolph!) The Weasley Gathering

6th January 2015:
Ho, ho, ho! Just decorating your tree with some last minute presents before I take my week's holiday and begin preparing for Christmas in 2015!

I'm so very happy to see that I'm not the only one who wants Christmas to last for longer than it seems to - spending two chapters describing Albus's Christmas was simply wonderful!

It's a lovely idea to have all of the Weasley and Potter children joining together at Christmas, even if they can't be with the rest of their family. I liked the fact that Albus was finding it a bit difficult to be away from home - I can't imagine that it's easy for anyone to be away from home at Christmas, especially when they're still a child with a loving family.

The Room of Requirement was a great place to host the family gathering. I really liked the images of Christmas that it conjured up and the way you described it. The Quidditch pitch was just an added bonus!

The presents were really great, too - they seemed to fit who was giving the gifts and receiving them. James and Albus are very lucky to both have got one of those broomsticks! I liked the books going from the boys to Molly and Lucy, too. I've never seen them as twins before but I like that.

It was really great to get to see more of the cousins though, and Dominique made me laugh.

They had a really picture perfect Christmas so far, in spite of their families not being there - they got snow and had a snowball fight, and got to sit in front of the fire eating all those delicious sweets (I have to say, that passage made me hungry, but Mrs. Claus has put me on a diet after the amount of mince pies I recently consumed...)

But all of this is making me wonder if things are a bit TOO perfect... and will something bad happen soon?

I like the plan for Art's birthday. It's very sweet of them, although I'm a bit worried about them going out at night - there's potential for danger there!

*looks at date* It looks like it's Art's birthday today! Happy birthday, Art!

Merry Christmas from your Secret Santa!

Author's Response: Yes, Christmas is a big deal for Albus, OF COURSE you need to spend maximum time on the holiday!

I'm surprised nobody but myself has seen Molly and Lucy as twins. I've just always seen them that way, I don't know why.

I'd be throwing a fit if I didn't get to see my parents at Christmas, especially at that young of an age. Al handles the situation very well. It must be the air around Hogwarts addling his mind. ;)

Mrs. Claus has you on a diet? That's actually a really good idea! You do need to fit down the chimneys... maybe you should just use floo powder? That might be easier.

Christmas can't be too perfect. It's like, illegal for anything to happen on Christmas. That's why during the American Revolution, George Washington attacked the Brits on Christmas Eve, when all the British soldiers were drunk. (Sorry, sorry, history nerd alert...)

Yeah, I'm worried about them going out in the middle of the night too... *bites fingernails*

HAPPY BIRTHDAY ART! And thank you for the review and the timeliness that coincides with a wonderful character's birthday!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Hurrying Down the Chimney Christmas

6th January 2015:
Ho, ho, ho!

Well, this is definitely my favourite chapter by far - I wonder if you can guess why?

It's great to see the teachers getting into the Christmas spirit! I love the idea of them doing Christmas themed things in class - even Professor Dire is joining in with the fun, it seems!

I really liked all the build-up to Christmas, with the children talking about the different ways that they normally spend it and how excited they are for it. Even though it's technically just finished, it made me smile to read this chapter now!

I can't believe they have to stay at Hogwarts for the Christmas holidays - I wasn't expecting that to happen at all! I would have thought that the parents would complain, and even the teachers, because Flitwick doesn't seem the sort of person to make that decision without consulting other people. But Rose was clever for working it out before the others, and even the teachers.

Now I'm worried what's going to happen over the rest of the holidays. I think that making the pupils stay there means that Albus can't tell Harry, but at the same time it means he's slightly less protected, especially with Flitwick under the Imperius Curse.

*ponders* Maybe they could tell Neville?

I'm glad to see that they still had a good Christmas day as friends altogether though, and that they still get to spend time with some of their family. I'm looking forward to seeing the cousins gathering together, although I do feel sorry for poor Lily and Hugo at home, the only ones not at Hogwarts yet!

Merry Christmas from your Secret Santa!

Author's Response: Hmm, I have no idea why Santa would like a chapter about Christmas! None at all. ;)

I think the best part about Christmas is the build-up to it.

Yes, it is good that all the cousins got together for Christmas. They're good at making do.

Albus could tell Neville- but the idea hasn't formed in his head. Al thinks he can tell Harry, and only Harry. That's just the way his mind works.

Thanks for the review! And Merry Christmas again!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Santa Baby Hufflepuff VS Gryffindor

6th January 2015:
Ho, ho, ho!

I feel sorry for Albus and the way that he's struggling so much with his classes, and he doesn't deserve to be punished by Professor Dire for it - at least he is trying, rather than not putting much effort in, which is more than I can say for his father at times. (Although I have to allow that Harry was often rather preoccupied by fighting Dark Wizards - and once the Dursleys unblocked the chimney I made sure he got his fair share of presents too.)

Professor Dire isn't being very fair to any of them, but I'm surprised that Rose doesn't seem too concerned that he's being unfair to Albus specifically. Although it's very like her to be the voice of reason amongst the boys and to point out that he doesn't show partiality to the Slytherins.

I wonder whether Professor Dire is involved. My first instinct was that no, he wasn't, because he was an obvious suspect. But you could be double-bluffing us and he's actually involved in all of this, but we're not likely to think it since Snape turned out to be good. Hmm. Very clever writing!

The Quidditch match was fantastic. I was expecting Gryffindor to win but I'm glad that they didn't because it's very easy to portray them as the best all the time. But you wrote the match really well - I would be terrified to write Quidditch but you had me reading through and following the match in my mind.

I liked the fact that Albus was nervous about the idea of playing and that he was kind of relieved not to be playing in the end.

Oh, Louis and Fred. I'll have to think about some coal for them next year... my elves must have missed this dreadful teasing! Although I find it realistic that while James teases Albus a lot, his older cousins would tease him as well.

The end of the match was written well too, and the celebrations for Slytherin. Louis's concern for Olivia was sweet too.

I'm curious to see what's going to happen next!

Author's Response: Yes, Harry didn't exactly try very much in Potions since he was doomed from the start... Albus isn't doomed, he just isn't good at Transfiguration so Professor Dire doesn't like him very much.

Yes, Gryffindor lost the game. But I am a Hufflepuff, so Hufflepuff had to win! I'm a biased writer.

Don't give Louis and Fred coal- they like to tease their cousins, but they aren't terrible.

Thank you for reviewing, Santa!


 Report Review

Review #24, by The Big Fat Man with the Long White Beard Rose Gets Detention

6th January 2015:
Ho, ho, ho!

Well, Rose Weasley is yet another of those children who has always been on my 'nice' list, and the opening of this chapter was no surprise at all to an old man like me. She showed a lot of concern for her cousin at the beginning, when Albus woke up to her sat on the end of his bed. It was very sweet of her to try and make sure that somebody was watching Albus so that he was safe. It reminded me of her mother as well, back in the days when little Harry and Ron and Hermione (though really, they aren't so little now) were fighting the nasty man who called himself the Dark Lord.

Having read a lot of stories over the centuries, I am feeling rather suspicious about the quiet that seems to have followed the terrifying events of the last chapter. Even if things are quiet at the moment, perhaps it won't continue to be for long.

*laughs* I love the idea that all the Slytherin boys are scared of Roxanne, especially if they're normally bullies. It says a lot for Weasley women!

Albus sticking up for himself against those Slytherin boys made me smile, although I can't really say that breaking rules is the sort of thing that gets a young fellow onto the 'nice' list at this festive time of year. But it reminded me very much of his parents at the same age. I suspect that there will be a rivalry continuing between young Mr. Potter and young Mr. Malfoy after this.

Chris is making them work very hard at Quidditch practice! I really like the Quidditch scenes, but I felt sorry for young Albus with so much work to do, and he's still only a reserve. It seems like Chris is trying to channel some Oliver Wood spirit!

The other scenes with more 'normal' events, the conversations between Albus's friends and James popping up, were really good too.

And the mail is being watched? What is this? It's like Hogwarts is returning to the days of Umbridge, and I'm SO curious to know who ordered it, whether it was because of Flitwick being Imperiused or another reason, but it can't be good!

Merry Christmas from your Secret Santa!

Author's Response: Yes, Rose has a very good heart, doesn't she?

I actually prefer quietness as opposed to action, even if the quietness is because someone is planning something. But I know I'm probably the odd one out.

Roxanne as a pretty terrifying mean side. :)

I think you have to be incredibly ambitious to be a Quidditch Captain, so that's why Chris is so tough.

Yup, mail is being watched. Unfortunately. :(

Thank you for the review, Santa!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Santa Claus Is Coming (Back) To Town! The Mysterious Man

5th January 2015:
Ho, ho, ho... oh no. The action begins!

The chapter started out like the other recent ones, and in a way I'd kind of forgotten how scary the first chapter was and that something bad was going to have to start happening soon. So it was like you lulled me into a (very) false sense of security with the opening.

I liked the descriptions of the way that Chris decided to do all of the try-outs and get the ones that were left to try their skills in the different positions. It makes sense since not everyone would know what position they'd be best at. Fred and Louis being clumsy made me laugh. It normally annoys me a bit when I see a Quidditch team made up completely of all the Weasley and Potter children.

Albus got a spot as a reserve! It's definitely a good idea to have a reserve for a team and I feel like that would have definitely helped the Quidditch teams in Harry's day. Now Albus will get to try out all the different positions.

The note was a bit mysterious. I couldn't understand why Flitwick would want to talk to Albus personally about it when it would normally be someone like Neville to deal with it. I was a bit suspicious at that point, but I didn't expect what happened.

Goblin is a great password for Flitwick to choose, though. I feel like he'd choose something which meant something to him.

The appearance of Molly and Lucy surprised me. Normally they seem to fight a lot in stories so it was a nice change to see them as quite similar characters.

I don't even know what to say about the section with Flitwick. It was TERRIFYING! I was honestly so scared about what was happening, especially because I suspect that this person is a student who is aiming to be the next Dark Lord. Poor Flitwick! I'm so curious about Lord Zajecfer and who it could be (I even tried to rearrange the letters in the name but it didn't work) and why exactly he wants to be a dark lord. I hope that Flitwick will be okay but I'm worried because his memory was wiped and he was cursed.

Albus was lucky to get away from that without being hurt himself.

No, he NEEDS to tell an adult. I can understand the fear of people not believing him but I'm sure his dad would and would be the best person to help. This is really serious.

But I suspect that would leave us without a story. And I get the idea that Albus has been so used to being compared to his father that he's decided he has to live up to his name and do things like him... which means no adult involvement.

This was probably my favourite chapter so far!

Merry Christmas from your Secret Santa!

Author's Response: Surprise! Darkness. Heh heh.

Yes, Fred and Louis are both clumsy. They didn't inherit Quidditch abilities.

Goblin does suit Flitwick pretty well.

Lucy is a bit more laid-back that Molly, but they do get along very well and are similar. They're also twins.

I hope Flitwick will be okay too. He's a tough guy- he lived through the war, after all. But still... I'm a bit worried. *bites nails nervously*

Albus definitely needs to tell an adult. He's being a bit stupid. But he is a Gryffindor and not a Ravenclaw, so I suppose that makes sense. He is being incredibly stupid and is underestimating the danger, and his dad didn't really get adult help for much. So yeah, it's probably going to end up being no adult involvement.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>