8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by brittny and harley 

30th May 2017:
still following, dont stop!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're still with the gang!

 Report Review

Review #2, by xopurelyinnocentxo 

24th April 2017:
Hello! I just recently began reading your series, and I'm really enjoyig it. It's refreshing to see how you imagine that they all grew up together, and I'm excited to see what they'll do next.

I hope your move went well!
Warmly,
~PI

Author's Response: Hello PI!

Thank you so much for your kind review, I'm so happy you enjoyed it. I would love for you to stick with it through this series :-)


 Report Review

Review #3, by JilyFever 

25th March 2017:
I can't believe this fic is back! I've been waiting for sooo long!
I love the chapter and especially the ending! Can't wait for more ^^

Author's Response: Thank you so muchfor following the story despite the delay! I'll try updating sooner!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jeff Colwin 

18th March 2017:
Right, now that I've got that very Peter-like admiration out of my system, I'll move on to the actual review.
I read the entire thing in close to an hour and I'm just so addicted already, it's not even funny. There's so many things remarkable about this story, both glaringly obvious, and so easy to take for granted, so I'm going to list them out one by one.
First, and perhaps the most blindingly obvious, is how gorgeous your characterization is. You've portrayed nearly every character so flawlessly that I can barely contain the flood of praise I'm about to dole out. I'm not so sure about how convincing Marlene is as such an airhead, especially after how selfless she came off in first year, but it seems like just a phase, and you're doing it realistically enough. Another thing which struck me as a bit off was that incident when James told Lily that there was no point in fighting a losing battle, because that doesn't sound like James AT ALL. James is the kind of guy who never gives up and never backs down, something which came across really strongly in his pursuit of Lily in Hogwarts.
But apart from that. Oh, sweet Merlin.
I wish I could list out all the moments where I just went, "That sounds EXACTLY like her/him!" Everything about each character's lives affected them so realistically. James with his incredible upbringing, and his goofiness and lightness and idealism and grit. Sirius with his abusive background, and his strong walls of recklessness and courage hiding his wounds and incredible empathy. Remus with his innate goodness and desire to let no one hurt like he did, and his instinct to comfort and nurture. Peter, with his complexity of thought, his indecision, his hero-worshipping and his desire to belong. Lily, with her fierce sense of right and wrong and her equally fierce loyalty, two things which constantly grapple with each other during her friendship with Snape. (At this point I'd also like to commend how you didn't just make her a goody two-shoes, but a far more complex individual with the exact kind of flaws which only James would truly understand, but the kind of qualities that would make both him and Snape fall in love with her. I especially loved the moment in the hospital wing when James sees right through her guilt and tells her to make sure her decisions are worth it.) Snape is especially gorgeously written, with his jealously, and unquenchable curiosity, and his bitterness and indecision coming through very clearly.
The support characters are amazing too, and really well fleshed out- Mary with her Muggleborn background, Dorcas and her dead father and newly discovered brother, and Marlene with her sincerity and enthusiasm. And did I mention Adhara? God, I LOVE Adhara. She's absolutely, heartbreakingly, incredibly written. I can't even express how well I've connected to her and what a great job you've done of making me fall in love with her character. When she took that Bludger for James, when she followed Dorcas to the Flumes' house, when she rescued Sirius at the party and kissed him, when she got cursed by her brother- every moment of hers in this story is just perfectly written. It's breathtaking.
It's not just the characters either. It's their interactions as well. You've got their dynamics down so well- the Marauders and their fierce protectiveness and loyalty and sense of adventure, Remus and Lily's mutual respect and kindness, Snape and Lily's fluctuating friendship, James and Lily's erratic relationship, the observant and supportive group dynamic among the girls, and the rivalry and hatred between the Marauders and Snape- all of it comes across so well it feels like I'm right there with them.
Something not so obviously fantastic, about this story, however, is the pace. You've gone through nearly three years in 20 chapters, covering the major events but not making it seem too detailed, not getting caught up in immediate aftermaths but somehow portraying the consequences in subsequent events so effectively, its really very commendable. I've tried to write stories like these before, and always got so caught up in mundane details and effects of minor parts of the storyline that I never make any progress, or touched upon every event so lightly that I never had any meat left in my story anymore and the ending made no sense. You're maintaining an incredible pace with your story, but doing a really great job of getting everything across at the same time, and I really hope you can keep it up.
Lastly, I really love that you're sticking so close to the original version of events as far as possible. Everything is so chock-full of references, and you've incorporated so many details that most people would have forgotten, and its really nice for super-fans like me to see them included in the story.
Wow, this has been a really long review. I hope you appreciate the feedback, and update soon! But I'd also like you to know that I'd rather you update later and give it your best than update sooner and give it half of what you could have. Take all the time you need, and I'll still be your fan :)
Jeff

Author's Response: Jeff! your review made my day, week, month, Year!!! I can't believe the amazing feedback, and honestly, I was feeling a bit out of touch with this story but your review kind of brought back my passion! I'm halfway done with the next chapter, it's getting done slowly but steadily (grad school is no fun, I'll tell you that!)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jeff Colwin 

18th March 2017:
Argh why have I never found this story before?
I hereby declare myself to be evermore your disciple and forsake all worldly pleasures for the noble purpose of being your humble student and protegee. Please o' literary venerate, accept my lowly pleas and allow me to enter your tutelage.
Yours devotedly,
Jeff

Author's Response: You have given me back my lost passion!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Dobbyandginn 

9th March 2017:
I have just read all 20 chapters and I am loving it so far. I hope Lily and Marlene and the rest off the girls will forgive each other. I am looking forward to the next chapter because I am really interested.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your feedback is encouraging and Ilove that you're following the gang through these chapters. I hope you follow through (despite the long delays between chapters!)

 Report Review

Review #7, by elsa 

8th March 2017:
it is amazing am desperately waiting for the next chap

Author's Response: Thank you elsa! I am honored and hope I'll get the next chapter up before you decide to think I've abandoned this and forget about this story!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Felpata Lupin 

6th March 2017:
BETEE!!!
I thought I might leave you a review, while I'm at it! ;)

This was such a great chapter (I'm sure I already told you on Google docs, and anyway all your chapters are, but I guess you don't mind the repetition, do you?)

I especially loved your interpretation of Peter (I'm obsessed, yeah, and not even sorry). He was honestly perfect, the way he didn't know how to deal with Lily's mood changes (really, boys have the emotional range of a teaspoon... ahahah!), the way he wished someone else to be there in his place, the way his every action was lead by what the Others would have done. And above all, the way he felt guilty "betraying" Lily, but did it anyway because it would make him look good in his friends' eyes. That's so Peter. Don't you ever say you can't write him again, you write him wonderfully! ;)

Poor Lily, how hard must it be to feel so alone, to have everyone angry at you... I know it will be solved soon, but right now I feel so bad for her... And talking about how perfect your characterization of everyone is... this paragraph:
"Unanswered questions were never something Lily had been able to handle, the need to know burning in her head until it took over her every waking thought. The only way she knew she was going to get some sleep that night was to get herself some answers." This is just so Lily! I love it!

The opening scene with Severus and the closing scene in the Hospital Wing with James were both so perfect as well. Loved, loved, loved it all!

I need a new chapter... soon... hurry up and start writing, okay? :P

Love you so much, my little betee!
Snowball hug,
Chiara

Author's Response: Chii!

I am so sorry for responding super late to your review. I appreciate the time and thought that went into this.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter. You know how nervous I get when you have to read a Peter centric chapter of mine! You're the Peter expert here, and I'm just super joyed that you approve! I did imagine him to be awkward around people, and girls in particular because he was kind of a loner growing up as you saw.

I do feel bad for Lily, but it's kind of her fault here you know. I wanted to bring out that she's not as perfect as people make her out to be, and her actions while justified to her did tip off her friends. And Curious!Lily, always my headcanon. I kind of always figured Harry got his curiosity from Lily rather than James, you know.

This was a Lily-centric chapter, and I am glad that it all tied well together. Thank you so much for all the love on this one, and yes, you'll have the next chapter pretty soon!

Loads of love, snowball hugs and penguin kisses!!!
Ysh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review