13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane 

27th September 2012:
Yikes, I didn't think of Matt's dad becoming a target, but I guess he could be.

I think Wisander is asking rather a lot, expecting people to work for free. This being England, it would make more sense if the Ministry were to follow the example of the British Government and pay Healers and Brewers to give everybody free medical care. After all, if Healers and Brewers were to give everybody care for free, they'd end up impoverished. Just giving Wolfsbane for free wouldn't do that, of course, but the same argument could be made for every type of medical care. The Ministry really needs to take control and ensure everybody gets medicines they need.

However, reducing prices would definitely help too. It sounds like the Wolfsbane is extortionate and that isn't on. They could charge enough for the ingredients and to give themselves a few Galleons for their work, without pricing poorer people out of the marker.

Also, I think the Ministry needs anti-discrimination laws so werewolves are less likely to be restricted to lower paid employment.

Wisander's idea would rely on the charity of individual Healers and Brewers which really isn't a long term solution.

*laughs at Matt and the others saying pretty much what I did-that it's not that easy*

It sounds like Wisander is an idealist, but hasn't really thought his ideas through. I doubt he'd make enemies though. Those ideas sound like the ones most people love (except maybe Healers) - everybody gets what they need without society in general having to make any extra effort, like paying extra taxes for the Ministry to give out free Wolfsbane or start treating werewolves fairly in employment.

Oh, yikes, some of his other articles really would gain him enemies though. Giving vampires prisoners to bite. That is a crazy idea anyway. Yeah, let's turn Dark witches and wizards into creatures with superhuman speed and strength. THAT'LL end well. And not locking up werewolves on the full moon, even with Wolfsbane, isn't a good idea either, because what if it failed?

I've never heard of the name "O'delle", but any name I've seen beginning with "O'", the letter after the apostrophe is capitalised, like "O'Connor," "O'Mahony", etc. Like I said I've never heard of the name, so it may be a particular case, but just thought I'd mention it anyway.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Mr Black 

21st June 2010:
i knew this was gonna happen sometime but i didnt know when! i cant wait to see how albus does!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by lira2308 

26th February 2010:
great chapter! keep updating! can't wait 4 the next 1.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Meg 

25th February 2010:
Seems to me they should have let him get some sleep, so he doesn't fall asleep on his broom! Interesting pieces about Wisander. very curious to where this is all going!

Thanks for the speedy updates, they are appreciated!

Author's Response: They definitely should have let him sleep, but don't worry, he won't fall asleep on his broom. No problem about the quick updates, I like updating quickly! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jen 

25th February 2010:
YAY - Albus gets to play. I guess I figured that you would let him play at least one game, but I'm still so very excited for him.
Loved the editorial... Can't compliment you enough on being able to write convincingly as another writer... a very difficult task and seriously well done.

Author's Response: I couldn't write the story without letting Albus play at least once! He is the main character after all. I'm glad you liked the editorial! I find that I include a lot of newspaper articles in my stories so it's good to know I do a decent job of writing them. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by adriaans 

24th February 2010:
Really looking forward to the quidditch match :D

that shop keeper really should write his articles better if wanting to do such topics, which i guess he paid for in full price...

Author's Response: The Quidditch match will be fun! Wisander probably should have tamed down his articles, but he definitely shouldn't have been murdered for them. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Liana 

24th February 2010:
That shopkeeper sounds like a really strange dude. I don't blame Matt for being worried about his dad. He wasn't being done any favors by that mention in the editorials. It was interesting that Albus wondered a couple of times about what was going on outside of Hogwarts. It just goes to show that even thought Voldemort has been long gone there is still evil in the world. It would be interesting to know what Harry thinks--that's just a comment not a question or criticism. I can't wait for Harry to duel with the bad guys again. Like Albus, I was wondering why Wood couldn't just wait until later to wake Albus up. What was the point of getting the kid up at 6am when he doesn't have to play until later. That just shows how OCD Wood is. And, what pressure. I don't think Albus believed he'd be playing. What a wonderful opportunity. Great chapter. Loved it. Hey, I guess I'll see you on Sunday:D

Author's Response: Wisander was very strange. Walter's being mentioned in the article was not good, but he will be all right. There is still evil in the world, since Voldemort wasn't the only evil one. Albus and his friends are starting to realize that stuff goes on outside the walls of Hogwarts, since they're getting older.

Harry will duel with the bad guys, like always, but not for a while. Wood was far too anxious about the match to wait much longer to wake Albus up. It definitely shows how obsessive Wood is with Quidditch! Glad you liked the chapter! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by sinwillys822 

24th February 2010:
i really liked the chapter can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by phoenixy_friend 

24th February 2010:
Oh, god. I wonder what'll happen. If you've built it up this much, I'm guessing that someone on the field is going to be attacked (possibly by a vampire), a family member (Matt's dad?) is going to be attacked/kidnapped somewhere else, or Albus is going to end up in the hospital wing for a week or so.

Cheers! 10/10

Author's Response: Well, Albus usually winds up in the hospital wing for at least a week! No one is going to be injured in the Quidditch match, though. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by nednedned 

24th February 2010:
this chapter's great :D i cant wait until next wednesday for the match...

Author's Response: The match will be fun! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Denas 

24th February 2010:
10/10 like always, cant wait for the match!;]

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by ngayonatkailanman 

24th February 2010:
Oh my goodness. Wisander is very silly. It is all very well having strong opinions but it is another to broadcast them without thorough research. I think that although his heart is in the right place, he has a lot of bark rather than bite. He also made the mistake of dragging Eckerton into the mix by actually mentioning him, again, possibly without prior approval.

Having said that, even if he did express his opinion responsibly, if the killer is just as stupid and has Greyback's mentality, then just by being in the public domain has cost him his life. A real shame, of course, in a democracy.

What really struck me the most is Wisander's idea of feeding prisoners to vampires. It is a serious business but I could not help laughing because there is a hidden humour there. Are you sure you have not studied sarcastic humour? It is the best in the world.. and the Brits are well known for it. Lovely for the theatre and close friends but I think that in public, this should be used responsibly.

Poor Matt. As if he does not have enough to contend with.

Linda seems to be very understanding. She did not kick up a fuss when Rose and Amanda choose to go with the boys instead of her. I think that is a good sign.

Author's Response: Wisander was pretty stupid to write such radical articles and then print them, but whoever killed him should not have done it. He definitely didn't have permission to use Walter's name. The killer is very very stupid.

Yep, there is hidden humor in that! I haven't studied sarcastic humor, but I'm a sarcastic person and I've seen a lot of Monty Python videos! It is quite funny. Linda is understanding. She's really not that bad, as you'll find out at the end of the story. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Moonylupin 

24th February 2010:
So that's why the owner of Dervish and Banges was killed. That's really interesting. The fact that he was pro-werewolf rights doesn't exactly bode well for Mr. Eckerton, does it? If they just want to go after a person who writes editorials on it, they're probably working their way up the chain and Mr. Eckerton is the highest you can get. Even if Matt's house is one of the most protected, it still won't make things any better, I think. But that man really does sound insane, as John pointed out. I'm really eager to see where this goes.

Albus's sarcasm about Wood and Quidditch training was funny (but I could also see Wood doing exactly what Albus said. If there weren't classes, I bet Wood would constantly have them out on the pitch). And push-ups and running laps? They better win otherwise all that training will be for nothing. I love the interaction between the boys - with John and Kaden getting detention and John telling Albus he'd 'pull a Rose' and tell Albus to do his homework. Rose definitely would do that, having Hermione's genes and everything.

Albus gets to play! YAY! I hope he plays well and they beat New York (though I kiiind of want New York to win, but I want Albus's team to win more). Great chapter! Can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: Yep, that is why he was killed. Somebody didn't like his radical ideas and decided to take matters into their own hands. No, it doesn't bode well for Mr. Eckerton, but he will be fine. Wisander was kind of crazy.

If classes didn't exist, Wood would have them practicing 24/7! He doesn't skimp on training, hence the laps and push-ups. I love writing the interactions between the boys. Now that I've written three of these, I've gotten their personalities down well and I know exactly what they're going to say. Yep, Albus gets to play! He will play well, but I won't say who wins. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review