Reading Reviews From Member: scintillated
  
92 Reviews Found

Review #1, by scintillatedHome: one

23rd February 2018:
This is so cute! I really love Carson's character, she's such a spitfire. I'm excited for the next chapters; this looks like it's going to be an amusing and fun to read story. Keep up the amazing work :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like Carson, she's so fun to write! Hope to have next chapter up some time this weekend/early next week. Just making some final edits!

 Report Review

Review #2, by scintillatedKeep Warm: Prologue

21st February 2018:
This was an amazing introduction! I generally like action-type stories better, and this whole chapter, I was just hooked. It has suspense, drama, mystery - I can't wait for you to unravel the whole story as time goes on. How James got there, who he's facing, who Aaron is - I just am SO curious now. And your last few lines are so perfect. They wrap up the prologue perfectly, and leave just the right amount of curiosity for the reader to go to the next chapter.

My favorite quote: "So there was no cocky grin for James Potter, no clever comment or witty insult as the thumps grew closer and closer." — I don't know why, but there's something about this line that just resonates with me.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, you're so kind! The prologue was kinda tricky for me cus I obviously didn't want to give too much away, just enough tidbits to add some intrigue, so I'm really glad you liked it. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story just as much. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by scintillatedIvy Collins Series: Passion: Prologue: Ivy

21st February 2018:
wow!!! I haven't read a Sirius/OC in a long time, and I really liked this opening! This prologue was a super intriguing way to lead off with your story - with all the mentions of Muggles, it makes me wonder if Ivy is a muggleborn as well? I also really loved the last line of the chapter, with Ivy "leaving the betrayal of my old life behind". It sets up for the next chapter nicely!! I'm excited to see where this goes :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! All will be revealed shortly. x

 Report Review

Review #4, by scintillatedThe Rejects: viii.

3rd June 2017:
yay i loved this chapter! it was really great and adorable and i just love all the characters so much!! to be honest i love saburo a lot even though i have to put everything he says in google translate lol

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving me reviews on every single chapter, it really does bring a smile to my face!

Saburo has to be one of my favourite characters that I've ever written! He's just so cute!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #5, by scintillatedThe Rejects: vii.

3rd June 2017:
i really liked this chapter! i had missed this story after such a long break, but this chapter was so great that i forgot all about missing it :) fred weasley is my Fave and i am so glad that he is in this story! (i don't remember if he was in it before or not) - and i also forgot how much i loved madeline! but she is great, and i can't wait to read the next chapter :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you're still enjoying it and you're still sticking around to deal with my long absences, I'm honestly so bad at doing anything. I just procrastinate until the very last minute!

Nope, Fred has just been introduced properly, he was mentioned by word of mouth but not actually met any of the characters yet! He's gonna be a big part of the story too so get excited!!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #6, by scintillateduncharted.: nine.

29th May 2017:
this chapter was really great! i'm starting to dislike james more and more though, he doesn't seem nice at all. and if only mimi was a bit nicer, so there wasn't always the girls against girls thing :(( but i'm starting to warm up to grayson! i hope he doesn't do anything bad in the future, but who knows, right? Loved the chapter!!

Author's Response: Glad you loved the chapter! And I totally go up and down on Grayson/James too :D. Great/interesting point about girl against girl thing. Definitely an overused trope -- I think it later chapters you'll see I've moved away from that a bit (not intentionally btw - totes on accident). Thank you for the kind review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by scintillateduncharted.: eight.

29th May 2017:
YIKES!!! so i really really thought that cass was going to get the spot on the team - like she won, didn't she? so she should have made it on! to be honest, i quite dislike james at the moment. like what he said was cold. but this chapter was really really good! i was on the edge of my seat the whole time :)

Author's Response: Ahhh I'm glad you liked the chapter even though you disliked James! Hopefully he can redeem himself :). And this was what of the first chapters that popped into my head when I thought about this story. For some reason, when I envisioned the tryouts, I always saw Cassie not making it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by scintillateduncharted.: seven.

29th May 2017:
i really can't wait for quidditch tryouts!! now, can i just say how much i love Lily Potter? she is actually the greatest, like i love her. i hope there is lots and lots of Lily Potter in the future :))

also the Hugo scene?? so cute!

STILL DONT TRUST GOYLE :(

Author's Response: Because my brain can never focus on one story, I have thought about a Lily Potter story (like an adult one) where she's out in the world doing stuff like working, dating, etc. buttt I feel like all of my female protagonists are extremely nerdy and dorky which is what this is ya know?

Geez, looks like I'm in the mood to write huh? Anyways, yes more Lily Potter in the future! Agreed! lol. And thank you for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by scintillateduncharted.: six.

29th May 2017:
this chapter was really great! addie really is a great sister, and it was nice to finally see the dynamic between al and cass for the first time (i really like it, by the way. i would love to see more.)! i don't have a very good feeling about grayson, even if he does seem relatively nice so far. keeping my eyes on him!!

Author's Response: Addie is too much fun to write so I'm glad you like her. I do have a few more Al/Cassie scenes in mind that I hope to get on paper soon!

Ah, I love the Grayson side eye! It makes me so happy :). He did just come from nowhere, right?



 Report Review

Review #10, by scintillateduncharted.: five.

29th May 2017:
YIKES this story took a turn! firstly, i'm excited to see more of rose and scorpius - it seems like they, rose especially, have a story left to tell. can't wait to find out what it is :)

& then the action scene. i'm really glad that this story has a little bit of something besides the romance, just because it gives it a little bit more flavor, you know? i wonder if this attack is in any way related to the ones that cassie's father (?) and avery and i can't remember the other name did. i felt like a proud mom when cassie stood up to them!!!

Author's Response: Ah yes, there's definitely a Rose/Scorpius story buried in this one. It's hard sometimes to figure out which parts to weave in because this is all from Cassie's POV. But there's def more of them to come :D.

I'm happy you were a fan of the action scene! I was nervous about writing it and even more nervous about posting it.

Ah, so glad it gave you the proud mom feels!


 Report Review

Review #11, by scintillateduncharted.: four.

29th May 2017:
HAHA I LOVE FRED!! he's really funny, and i love how they were discussing kanye and rap and all those things in potions class, it was a nice breath of fresh air, like a reminder that it's the 21st century!! i can't wait to read more of fred.

now, the james/cassie interaction. i felt so bad and sympathetic for cassie!! i relate to her in the awkwardness, and to be honest, i felt kind of bad for james too. can't wait to see how this develops!!

Author's Response: I remember the Freddie scene being the most fun/enjoyable to write! It was low pressure and just kinda fun to think about how to make him increasingly ridiculous!

Cassie in this chapter is just basically me in my painfully awkward years turned up to 1 billion :D.

Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by scintillateduncharted.: three.

29th May 2017:
This chapter was really good! I really like Addie, and hope we see a lot more of her :) Also, I wonder what James, Fred, Louis, and Oliver were talking about? I found that thing with Ama really relatable lol. Great chapter!

Author's Response: I do like writing Addie :). Addie makes me feel like I can be pretty mean to other characters, ya know? Sometimes I write scenes from the point of view of James. Nothing well-thought out or detailed but for this particular chapter I have - [insert James and posse discussion about the HP version of Arrested Development or Modern Family] - I've never been more unimpressed with myself ha! I swear if I ever post James's POV it will be better (probably, maybe, possibly, hopefully?)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #13, by scintillateduncharted.: two.

29th May 2017:
Yikes!! That's pretty awkward, that James doesn't know Cass' (Cass's? I've never been sure) name. I really liked how you developed all your characters, they all seem really unique and likeable. Especially Cass, I'm really liking her so far. I feel pretty bad for her, though, because those rumors that are about to spread...

Time for the next chapter!

Author's Response: I've always gone with "Cass's" and I've never gotten in trouble lol (but I don't actually know if it's right). And thank you for your comment on the development! I tried to make each character as interesting as possible and hopefully I've achieved that throughout.

 Report Review

Review #14, by scintillateduncharted.: one.

29th May 2017:
This chapter was really good! I have a slight penchant for the Notts, anyways :) You really did a good job of setting up the story, and I wonder how bad Rose is doing? Also a Gryffindor Nott, sounds pretty awful ;) Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Ah! I'm so happy you gave this a go! I'm such a fan of your writing (as you saw from my fangirling on a few of your chapters!). Thank you, thank you for reviewing!! It really means so much. And I love, love, love Gryffindor Notts :D.



 Report Review

Review #15, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: Whatever I Want

5th March 2017:
Your Graham point of view is really descriptive, like it just seems so airy, in a way. It's very different than some of the other POV's, and his point of view just seems very...dreamy, in a way. I really like it, though. Like about Amy and the doors - I thought that was a great comparison.

I'm surprised that they don't think that Lily is that much of a threat. It's probably because of their huge egos and prejudice, but still.

That part about Alecto was worded really nicely. I really liked it, especially since you know, I hate Alecto. And I'm not surprised that Saul treats women that badly.

Well I guess at least Randal's taking Lily seriously. He's in quite a predicament there, but he's the most serious about this whole blood purity thing than the most of them. Graham is on a much lesser degree than Randal, and it's obvious in their argument. But Graham is smart.

I seriously don't know what to think of Emmeline. She's very complex, that's for sure. But I want to learn more about their past, it seems to be tied into Graham's emotions immensely.

Wow, that Amy and Graham scene was something. The way you wrote it was amazing, especially this part: "He could feel the pressure of her fingertips through his thin shirt under the heavy, open-fronted robes, feel the warmth of her touch, feel, despite all her quavering poise, the lack of hesitation, the absolute certainty as she reached out. His breath caught, head spinning even further, the heady sense of escape, of freedom, of utter surrender to the whispers of the wind he’d tried ignoring his whole life -" Like I don't even know what to think anymore.

I think that Sirius is far from the war in terms of blood status. Like Remus is a werewolf, which makes him a target. James is a blood traitor, which makes him a target. Peter - well I don't know about him. But the Death Eaters could think that Sirius has a chance of turning back. But I think that soon enough he is going to get extremely involved.

Poor Remus. I feel bad for him now, too. I always feel bad for him, but I feel like so far in this story he hasn't been much of a focal point?? But I still love him.

Oh man, Fletch. I don't know what to think of her anymore. But I can see her viewpoint, and I think that her and Sirius, if she ever fesses up, could make good friends.

 Report Review

Review #16, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: My Name is Called Disturbance

5th March 2017:
I'm glad that you show some of Marlene's bad qualities - like how she really doesn't like Jack. And now I just feel bad for Jack, for the breakfast thing. I always feel kind of bad for Jack.

I love this line!!! " ‘He’s the prince of poncy wizards, ain’t he? Heir to the hair fortune.’ " It's actually so great. Especially when Jack then compares Lily to a queen.

Marlene is revealing a lot. I like how she doesn't like Jack that much, even though she's really nice and all that, it makes her a lot more realistic. And how Jack doesn't like her, either. But Jack really is loyal, that I can say.

I feel bad for Jack. Like a lot. I love how you manage to portray the characters differently from different points of view, like the James here has a different vibe than in Lily's point of view, but he still feels like the same character, you know?

With this conversation, I still feel bad for Jack. Like he's so used to being lonely, and Lily isn't even spending that much time with it, and well, I just feel so bad. And how he thinks he's the worst of the worst, just because he's poor.

I actually love Jack like so much. He doesn't really like James, but he's willing to play nice just so that Lily doesn't have to deal with fights between her friends. There are some people who wouldn't do that.

I'm glad you're portraying Hufflepuff in a different light. How not all people find it some sort of happy, cheerful place.

Jack is a really aggressive guy, and when combined with his loyalty - well I certainly wouldn't want to be Clagg. I don't like any of these Hufflepuff boys except for Jack, they all seem like a bunch of pansies, plus Travers who is just a jerk. Although they're all jerks.

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #17, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: Heart of Stone

4th March 2017:
James seems to be growing up a lot, like he actually feels a lot different from the beginning of the book. It's kind of sad, really, how tragedy causes someone to grow up so fast. Like most guys his age are normally so childish and you know, teenagery - but here, everybody's being forced to grow up.

I really like this James/Lily dynamic. Like not as a friendship or a relationship or anything like that, but just the two of them and the way they interact. It's just really fun to read and I can really picture their conversation.

Poor Dory. I could only imagine how she's struggling with her feelings about Mary and not endangering her. I can see why Lily was so light about it though, from what I've seen about her character it seems like the kind of thing she'd do.

"Lily’s heart sank as she soaked in his white shirt, red tie; how very Muggle he looked as he approached. " This really made me realize that the Slytherins aren't going to take anybody who doesn't reek of wizard seriously. This whole section just made me sad, especially since this buildup is so realistic, like that could happen.

The conversation between Jack and Lily really shows the difference between a Hufflepuff and a Gryffindor. Jack is loyal, and Lily is brave. Like Jack will fight for whoever he cares about and Lily, you know, and she'd fight for anybody (even if it's a bad idea).

Oh man, I feel bad for Wick. Like he tried so hard to stand up to the Slytherins, but now that the Muggleborns are being attacked, he's blaming himself.

I really hate Professor Abernathy. He is way too prejudiced to be a professor.

Wow, the Slytherins are getting more and more brash. I'm glad Lily stood up to them, though, and that her lessons are actually helping. Plus, I really like this line: "‘Oh, I’m sorry,’ Lily drawled, not feeling courageous so much as drunk, like bravado had robbed her of wits and gone straight to her head." It's a really good description.

That final scene was really uplifting. How people united against the Slytherins - it's the biggest piece of resistance so far. The consequences are going to be bad, though. I'm worried for Lily.

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #18, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: Trouble on the Way

1st March 2017:
I really like your descriptions - they're so beautiful, like when you write this: "...the woods quivered with fear. The Forbidden Forest could never grow accustomed to these forays; no creature, no matter how deep they ventured, stood their ground easily against a werewolf." It's not necessarily a description, but the way it's worded is very good!! All your descriptions in the full moon are so beautiful, really.

What I like is how your writing changed a bit - like when they're animals, somehow I can sense the difference. It can't pinpoint it, but it's more - animally?

The argument between James and Sirius highlights Sirius' irresponsibility and James maturing. Is it also some sort of foreshadowing, for when Sirius accidentally leads Snape to the Whomping Willow? ;)

But then afterwards - James/Sirius is like the best bromance in the world.

Oh man, Gutters is back! I thought it was going to be a one-time thing, but I guess it isn't. Now that's getting me even more curious!

I feel so bad for Marlene. Like she obviously cares, and her heart is going to be broken. Poor Marlene.

Wow, Abernathy used to be part of the Knights of Walpurgis! No wonder he's so anti-Muggle, he could have been a Death Eater. Even if it really was nothing but a "rather melodramatic gentleman's club" at the time.

Amy's been skipping Care of Magical Creatures?? Wow, what happened with Graham really affected her. Fletch is also really not one for emotions, I can sympathize with her on that aspect.

Also, did I ever mention that I like how you use the word 'racist'? Because I think that in the books, they just called them purists - this makes the reality of the situation much more evident to us, the readers.

Avery scares me quite a bit. He's honestly very scary if you pay attention; even in Graham's POV, where they are friends, he is scary. Especially here. He's so good at manipulation as well. That, I think, is even scarier.

"she’d spent so long making herself there to soothe the insults and ease the needs of these kinds of rich boys that it was inevitable, she supposed, it would backfire some day." I actually feel bad for her now, especially when from this point of view. Like this section really made me sympathize with her so much more.

Wow, the Slytherins are even more cruel than I remembered. Just because Aubrey was singing - and I can tell you that you've done an amazing job with this chapter. I really feel with Fletch - like if I'm being truly honest with myself, I would probably do something similar to what she did. Especially when they did something like carve the word "mud" into Bertram's chest.

Amazing chapter!!

 Report Review

Review #19, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: You Can Run

27th February 2017:
Well, we're seeing Graham start to care about Amy. A friendship between the two would do wonders, I think, and I'm really excited to see how you develop the relationship between the two throughout the rest of the story.

And that moment between Graham and Amy, while it lasted, was glorious. I really liked how you wrote it; your descriptions of setting has always been really great. But what Amy said was true, about how he still treats Muggleborns relatively badly and doesn't stand up for them. Hopefully this moment makes Graham realize a few things!

"‘Are they?’ She looked up. ‘Or do we just say that so we don’t have to pretend we’re better?’" This quote really stuck to me. I really do not know what to make of Cornelia Fletcher.

Sirius doesn't suspect anything, and it makes me so frustrated. I really hope that he realizes something. But is Fletch feeling something along the lines of guilt as well?

I like Lily, and I like Wick, but I don't like Lily and Wick. At first, I was happy for them, but I don't know, the more I read about them together the less I like them as a couple. But I still really like Wick, and I still really like Lily, so.

And I'm so glad that Mary finally got to become the Seeker!

I really wonder who wrote Gutters. Maybe it was Wick all along.

Also I love how you're including a lot of the Potters' background in this. Like James Fleamont Potter and the whole haircare thing; all these tiny canonical details just make me squeal every time I see it.

Aw, Dory's reaction when Mary hugs her! That was so cute!!

Author's Response: Graham does care about Amy, for various reasons and in his own way. But it's be a disruptive friendship if it would develop, as she has no tolerance for being the Exception, for him treating her differently to any other Muggle-born if he's going to treat others awfully.

Fletch wants to do right by her friends but her code tells her to look after her own skin first. But it's one thing to think that when it's just school and money; when it's lives and LITERAL skin, it's harder to be so selfish and be comfortable with it. And yes; Sirius is one of the few people who doesn't treat Fletch awfully, so she's feeling pretty guilty for using him.

I definitely wanted Wick to be likeable, but he and Lily can't be perfect together because she'll be perfect with James!! So we'll see them together and we'll see them apart and the relationship will be important for them both, especially for Lily's arc.

Poor Dory. Such a crush.


 Report Review

Review #20, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: That's How it Goes

26th February 2017:
Fletch - Fletch is a complex person. I dislike her, sure, but that doesn't mean that I can't appreciate her character. I think you've done an extremely good job with Fletch; the neutral characters are often the ones that you have to keep your eyes out for. Those are the ones with the most conflicting ideas.

Like Amy, Amy's starting to show her Muggleborn pride and spirit a bit more. She's starting to become more honest. And Fletch, well her point of view actually makes a bit of sense. Like the more I read of her, the more I understand her. I don't necessarily like her more, but I do see the way she works; and wow, is she one heck of a character.

I'm glad that Lily really did get him over the match and into something else. Also the Marauder's Map! I'm actually liking James a lot more now: Like when he says: "I made this about the war.’ He tapped his wand on his hand, leaving inky marks on his palm from where he’d been inscribing. ‘So let’s fight a war.’" That is such a powerful line. When I read it, I just thought about the beauty of the line. Your writing is really amazing, you know.

And in this chapter, we really see James maturing. I know he still has a lot to go, but he's different than in the beginning of the book. I actually really like this James.

Also, I actually don't hate Peter. Like normally, I always hate Peter. But you've made him into this real boy, not this cowardly, traitorous man that he doesn't become until later. I'm very glad you did this.

You know, in a way, I'm kind of glad that Gryffindor lost. It got James to lift his head out of his butt, and I would have been scared to see Mulciber's reaction if they had lost the match.

Whoo hoo, James/Lily development!! Honestly, I'm so curious about Gutters now, I can't wait to see who wrote that.

Dearborn and McGonagall's conversation was an interesting one. Dearborn is obviously younger, and he definitely has different ideas as of how to protect the students than McGonagall. I see what she's saying, but I still think that she should pay attention to the people being attacked inside the school. And so that is why Dumbledore isn't there, because he's leading the Order. That's what I assumed in the beginning, because it makes a lot of sense!

This chapter was really great, especially with all the James/Lily interaction. Onto the next one!!

(Also, I realized in my review on the last chapter, I misread the scene of the Slytherin party. And while I do think that Randal is very focused on the war, I do think that the other Slytherins are choosing to ignore it right now. But they can't forever.)

Author's Response: God I've been neglectful of these reviews!

Fletch is on the one hand complex, on the one hand... not? She has quite selfish motivations which are equally fairly sympathetic, and she struggles with that to varying degrees. And sometimes she's just fine and dandy staying out of things. She's not enormously likeable but she's on her own journey.

James has turned a corner, partly thanks to himself and partly thanks to Lily kicking him out of his funk. He's been struggling with all sorts and is now finding a direction to channel his frustration - and deal with it. I tried to make Peter real, too, while still canonical, which is... hard. Canonical Peter has always been a bit unbelievable as such a great friend of three enormously strong personalities.

In the grand scheme of things, the Quidditch game was just a Quidditch game. But it's definitely made Mulciber bolder, which is dangerous in its own way. And then again is also encouraging the writer of Gutters, who's a bit of a divisive firebrand with their behaviour.

Dearborn isn't actually younger than McGonagall (also I think our perception of McGonagall's age is often coloured by the great Dame Maggie Smith, plus she's much younger now than she was in the books - I think she's around 40 right now?), but he's been doing things very differently. While she's got to think about being in a school and how to manage that, while Dearborn is more blunt. Neither of them can do much right now, alas.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: Landslide

26th February 2017:
Hey, Amy came to visit Graham! I'd like to think that this is the start of a budding friendship :D I also like Madeline a decent amount, she doesn't seem good or bad, but she seems like a good sister, and that's enough for me.

I think that Randal and Graham are lying to themselves, in a way that not everybody is thinking of a coming war or a political statement. The war has taken over their lives just as much as the Muggleborns, because war is inescapable. Especially for the people starting it.

The losing ideal - that really struck a cord. Even if the political statement is something that is a bit less to the snakes, it certainly was huge to everybody else. And this is definitely having an adverse effect. Well, at least you have to go down to rise, don't you??

I really don't know what's going on with Travers. He's definitely a future Death Eater, but being friendly to Jack, a Muggleborn - if their friendship was an escape in the first place, then why is he doing it now? I'm looking forward to see how complex you make Travers in the future; the fact that he's a future Death Eater and ex-best friends with a Muggleborn is already plenty complex.

This Quidditch match really was James' battle, of what he could do inside of the school. And you've described his defeat, his reaction quite elegantly. The James/Lily scene was really great, and for the second chapter in a row my Jily shipper heart is sCREAMING. But even more than that, Lily is pretty inspiring. She's definitely one of my favorite characters, in the top three.

Poor James! I feel really bad for him now - and his dad is definitely dying sometime soon, after all, none of the parents are around for their deaths. And poor Lily! This just shows the isolation that Muggleborns face in wizarding society - it shows the things they have to deal with.

This chapter was really deep, and I loved it so much.

Author's Response: Madeline has been sheltered from the worst of the war by both Graham AND Randal, for what little good it's done. We'll see more of her. Same with Travers; his motivations aren't that complex, but they're not easy to see right now.

This really is where the James/Lily train gets started, and Lily is finally starting to show how she can use her fire to help individuals, not just causes. James has a lot of healing to do along with all of the growing.

This chapter is one of my favourites, so I'm glad you liked!


 Report Review

Review #22, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: More Than One Day

26th February 2017:
This line: "This wasn’t just about a Quidditch match. This had become, with Potter’s frenzied pledges, a political statement." This line sums up so much. Even I was tense during this chapter, which just proves to show how much you've drawn me into the story; I feel for the characters and feel as if I, myself, am with them too.

Sometimes, I can see James' genuine feelings about Lily, and it makes my Jily shipper heart scream. I can't wait until James grows up and Lily grows up and they both have an epic romance, knowing your writing, it will be great even if it is most likely a slow burn.

To be honest, I strongly dislike Fletch. Like not just from other points of view, even in her own point of view I dislike her. But I think that's what makes the story so interesting, in a way.

You know, I predicted a Graham point of view for the Quidditch match, but I didn't think that Sirius would have one too. I really like the way you wrote the ending of the first Graham scene, it was really beautiful. I feel like Sirius is also starting to be suspicious; I really hope he figures it out and stops giving Fletch the tactics. I don't understand how people trust her - as I think I've said many times before, she is so shady.

Not surprised that the Slytherins are playing so dirty; in a game where you'd do anything to win, it really shows the difference between the Gryffindors and the Slytherins. The Gryffindors are being honorable, the Slytherins are not.

Ugh, Fletch makes me sick. Like I hate her even more than I hate Graham, the almost Death Eater. And that's saying something.

AND NOW I'M REALLY UPSET. I really thought something was going to happen during the Quidditch match, that Gryffindor would beat the odds. I guess not. But is that italicized bit in Graham's section him praying? Imagine the statement this win is sending. I'm cringing thinking about the outcome.

But this chapter was so enrapturing - you switched POV's so artfully, I was at the edge of my seat the whole time.

Author's Response: You are very right, James and Lily absolutely BOTH need to grow up. Fletch is being an awful person here; she's not at rock bottom but this is one of the more distasteful things she'll do. People don't distrust her that much because it doesn't occur to them she might be spying; for them, it's just a fun little way of gambling with their pocket money. They don't realise that for Fletch, this is a whole flow of finances which helps her get by.

And yes, that italicised bit is Graham praying. Faith will also play a part in this story, as another thing to examine in the conflicting cultures.


 Report Review

Review #23, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: What'll You Do Now

26th February 2017:
I feel a little bit bad for James, after seeing his reaction to Lily and Wick's date. Not that much, though, as we all know what happens in the end... ;) Now I feel bad for Wick!

I wonder who wrote Gutters - it must serve some other purpose than making Professor Drake look bad; those articles had to be written for a reason, about the Mulcibers and Dorothy and Dumbledore. I'm trying to think of somebody who has a grudge against all three of them, but really, I can't think of anyone.

The stress is really getting to James, isn't it? I feel bad for Dirk, and the whole team, really - they're going to lose, because of Fletch. Maybe she'll have some sort of change of heart, but I doubt it really. Or maybe - plot twist - Graham will. As in, he'll know what the game is about, and in some moment of heart, will let Dirk catch the snitch. I doubt it, though.

But right now, I like James a little bit more than I used to. Sirius' POV really gives insight into the real James.

When Graham is running to the stable, I really can't tell if he's doing it for the grade, or if he cares about the animals. But later on, I can see how he cares about them a bit more - I find it funny that Graham and Amy are the only students to show up. Don't any of the others care about their grade??

Wow, this really gave a lot of insight into Graham's point of view. I sympathize with him a lot more, about not getting his culture and traditions wiped out, but I still wish he'd find some way to stand up to everybody else. Because to them, it's obviously not about their culture, as Amy kindly pointed out.

I have a feeling that Graham's like a wild card in this story. I have no clue what he's going to do, he could go either way. Just like Fletch, to be honest.

Amazing chapter!!

Author's Response: James will get over it. Or, not. WICK might get over it some day. Or, not!

The writer of Gutters - all I'll say is that they have some political agenda, some personal agenda, and also a little bit of an agenda of writing so as to deflect suspicion away from themselves.

Dirk can't quite cut it in James' team, and James needs to relax. He probably won't. I'm glad Sirius' POV makes James more sympathetic, it's one of the main purposes of hearing from Sirius.

Graham is absolutely heading to the stables for the animals. As for the other students, they either didn't realise the stables were in trouble (Graham almost didn't spot the roof coming off, after all) or assumed it wasn't that bad and someone else would take care of it. And yes, Graham could go either way. Sirius almost has it easy, being a blood traitor - he hates his family. Graham doesn't, but his family and friends are wrong.


 Report Review

Review #24, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: You Started Something

26th February 2017:
I really like Jack and Dory's friendship! I don't think I've seen much of it, but from this first scene, it's really great :) And wow, I wasn't expecting Dory to like Mary, this should make some interesting complications. I really hope that Mary likes Dorcas back!! Also, every time I read Jack's POV, I just love him that bit more. That part where he compared his leather jacket with Sirius' made me sad for him, especially since Sirius is such a FOB.

Also, haha, Wick and Lily are such nerds! (I mean that in the most lovable way possible) And I was definitely not expecting that for Wick's family; I'm glad we got some background into his life. At least it explains why his name is Gerald!

Hmm I wonder what this paper is all about? I know that the Slytherins don't like Dumbledore, and that the Gryffindors hate Drake, but who would dislike them both? The only person I can think of is Fletch, and she wouldn't give her services out for free. Here's to hoping we find out in the next chapter!

Author's Response: This is the first real time we see just Jack and Dory; it's important to examine all parts of a trio! I thought it'd be interesting to draw attention to the class contrast between Jack and Sirius, not just the heritage contrast; Sirius is a bit of a poser, but he can do all the things the 'genuine' Jack cannot. Like pay for stuff.

This really is the chapter for class, though, because Wick is the other counterpoint to Jack; another Muggleborn, with a completely different experience of society. But yes, poor Wick, he has no desire to go by the name 'Gerald.'

Gutters shall continue to be a mystery for a while, yet. ;)


 Report Review

Review #25, by scintillatedNot Fade Away: Can't Hide

26th February 2017:
Jily is my OTP, but somehow, in this story, I find myself shipping Lily/Wick a whole lot more than I do Lily/James. I hope that the Hogsmeade visit goes well; somehow, I have a bad feeling about it. But I'm glad that Wick asked Lily. (Also, I laughed when Lily mentioned the thing about not being able to imagine herself marrying a pureblood, because, well, James).

Honestly, I don't like Fletch very much. I know that she's very neutral in this war; she does whatever benefits her. But while I don't like Sirius that much either, I do feel bad for him, as she's duping him quite a bit. And she's just so shady, I don't think anything good is going to come from what she does.

I really liked this chapter, though!

Author's Response: James is not yet worthy of Lily, and Lily is not yet... empathetic enough to be a match for James. Wick/Lily plays an important role, but one of those roles is certainly helping Lily grow up and think more of others in means beyond just fighting for them.

Fletch is up to no good, really, no.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>