Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for A Place Not Far From Here
  
62 Reviews Found

Review #26, by adorably cute Two of a Kind

28th May 2017:
Hogwarts Amelia and James are my fave! Their fight about houses had me laughing a little, it just seemed so them! Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, adorably cute! :D

I'm glad you are amused at their fight. I would say that Amelia is rather a nerd, and that she brings out that part in James, though he would be the last one to admit it. And James keeps Amelia on her toes with his perspective on things and his (mostly bad) jokes!

Currently writing the next update. I hope to have it up soon!


 Report Review

Review #27, by Violet Potter 434 Two of a Kind

26th May 2017:
in my opinion there should be houses but I don't like all the prejudice

just my opinion

this chapter was a bit sad to be honest

good but I don't like to see them fight like that

I just want James to be a good guy who's like a double agent or something

please? please don't make him bad?

anyways I need to go so

I loved this

please write me an update quickly


from me xxx

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review, Violet Potter434! :)

And thanks for stating your opinion about the Houses. It would be interesting to see Hogwarts without the Houses, but at the end of the day, I would probably want them back (without the prejudices)!

James and Amelia are discovering that they're different people with different opinions and flaws, so they'll need some time to fight. But I'm sure they'll make up somehow (at least, for their past selves. Not sure about present-day)!

As for present-day James, I cannot reveal yet if he is a good guy or a bad guy. It will be uncovered eventually. :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by Dia Two of a Kind

25th May 2017:
Is it weird that what I loved the most about this chapter was the Hogwarts houses debate? Not because it was engaging and addresses stereotypes, but because of how it addresses the dynamic between James and Amelia. I like that they're the kind of couple who have been united by a mystery, able to actually *talk* to each other about interesting topics, and that they don't lose their individuality just because they start dating. (Also was it just me who sensed a very subtle sexual tension in that argument? I'm glad they didn't just end it by snogging though - hate how unrealistic that is) and Skeeter's article was infuriatingly amusing! Great chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, Dia! :)

It isn't weird at all that you loved the debate. You caught onto part of what I was going for with this argument. First, I think that James and Amelia as a couple works for both of them beyond "s/he is good looking." James needs constant stimulation (which is partly why he's so into sports, since he can always be moving), and Amelia's intellect provides that for him. Amelia needs a confidant, especially since she's dealing with abandonment issues, and James has a way to gain her trust, no matter how uncomfortable it makes her feel at the time. Also, James and Amelia are individuals, and they are now really discovering that about each other. Good catch with the sexual tension, too. While their individuality is a cause to their fight, they are both still curiously attracted to the other individual. They are definitely learning that they're separate people, and deep down, they still really like each other... for now. ;)

Anyway, thanks for such a good review and great observations!


 Report Review

Review #29, by byandie The Headline

14th May 2017:
Ok so after binge reading all the chapters so far, I have to say that this story has me on edge. I'm so excited about what's to come and to learn more about "The Cause" and James' connection to them in the present. I really love your writing style and I can't wait to see what happens next :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review and for the binge read, byandie! :)

The Cause and James' role is going to be so much fun to write! I hope you have as much fun reading about it in the future.

Thanks for your kind words and I hope you continue to enjoy the story!


 Report Review

Review #30, by Violet Potter 434 The Headline

13th May 2017:
I gtg right now
but oh my gosh
the cliff hangers have to stop

that's a definite
this was outstanding as usual
I loved it of course

cant wait to see what the runes were and what will be in the article

love from me xx

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review, Violet Potter 434!

The cliffhangers should probably stop, but they most likely won't. ;)

The next chapter is up, so your questions might be answered!

Much love!!


 Report Review

Review #31, by Giu9_RedandGold The Headline

13th May 2017:
So apparently the lighthearted Hogwarts moments are over...but I'm ready for more drama!

I hate Rita Skeeter. Hopefully it won't matter what she writes, because whatever it is I doubt Harry will believe her. Others I don't know, but I for some reason at the moment I only care about what Harry thinks of Amelia and that he trusts her.

Also, poor Ollivander :( I hope Amelia accepts his offer! I've always thought about wandmaking as such an important thing. It would be great for her, besides the fact that it wouldn't be just a temporary thing and her aunt would stop complaining.

Bye!!

Author's Response: Yes, the lighthearted Hogwarts are over, for now! :)

Rita Skeeter is such a pest! I have enjoyed writing her, but I would definitely not want to meet her in real life! As for Harry believing the article, that may be unfolded in due course! I think Amelia feels similarly to you, that she wants Harry to trust her, but something happened in the past that makes her feel hopeless in that regard...

Which leads me to your last point. It would be such a great opportunity for Amelia to learn wandmaking! But I don't think she's that into it or into any sort of career, for reasons that will be known in the future!

Thanks for such a great review! :)


 Report Review

Review #32, by Giu9_RedandGold Exchanges of Words

9th May 2017:
I really like the cute/awkward teenage love story and I absolutely love the drama and the mistery. How could James end up on their side? And why did everyone think he was dead? I need answers! How could it happen?

Also thanks for answering to my review and for clarifying that there is a difference in the tenses between the present day and the past. English is not my first language, so I almost never pay attention to that!

Update soon!! X

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

You ask some very good questions, which will unfold throughout the course of the story! What is James exactly up to?? For now, please keep reading. ;)

And you're very welcome. I'm happy to clarify anything to my wonderful readers. I give you so much credit for reading stories in English!


 Report Review

Review #33, by HomeAtHogwarts Exchanges of Words

8th May 2017:
I'm really enjoying this, it's one of the few joys I have during exams! I like the contrast between past Amelia and present and am really curious to see how she ended up where she is now. I think it's good how you've left it so present Amelia is still trying to work things out. The characters seem very filled out (in a good way) also your grammar and writing tone makes for pleasant reading-Congrats!

Author's Response: Thanks for a great review, HomeAtHogwarts!

It brings a smile to my face knowing that my story gives you some happiness during your exams!

The interwoven past and present stories is such a thrilling challenge to write! I'm happy to hear that you think I'm doing this stylistic choice some justice.

Best of luck on your exams! :)


 Report Review

Review #34, by Violet Potter 434 Exchanges of Words

8th May 2017:
those letters were great, I loved seeing all those thoughts on the hallows

and the present bit was amazing too

I mean of course it was

please write a quickly as possible- although I understand your probs really busy with real life

-I'm not
I do nothing
yay
I need a new hobby

but yeah


love from me xx

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!

I'm happy to hear that you liked the letters. They were so much fun to write! It's been an interesting challenge to write a mystery surrounding the Hallows when the reader already knows about them while the characters (James and Amelia) do not.

Keep reading! It's an excellent hobby! :)


 Report Review

Review #35, by BBHP Exchanges of Words

8th May 2017:
As far as my comment on the previous chapter, I have no idea why I thought James had been missing for years! Silly me! It makes much more sense that he's only been missing for what, seven months?

I absolutely love the teenage awkwardness in this chapter. And I laughed out loud when I read how Albus directly asked Amelia what she saw in James! That's totally something a little brother would do (at least, that's what my little brother would do!).

James and Amelia's little "defining the relationship" conversation was just too perfect. So awkward and real-life. Every teenager needs to have the awkward DTR! I love that James was so sure and then slightly embarrassed. "I thought you were my girlfriend." With all the drama and danger happening in Amelia's present, it's easy to forget that she and James were once just a couple of awkward teenagers, and this chapter really brought that to life. I loved it. And then their letters to each other were just adorable. Behind trading information about the Hallows, I feel like there is also a shift in how they write. Like at first it's a little more formal (signing the letters with just their names), and as they get more comfortable with each other they start saying things like "I've had a change of heart about snogging" and "scandalously yours". It was sweet to see their relationship develop in their words, and a great way to sum up their summer.

I think Amelia's reaction to seeing James at Diagon Alley was spot on. Of course she would be panicking and sickened by what she saw and what she thought. It was all very realistic. I love when an author can draw from their own life experiences and turn it into something beautiful. You did a really good job of conveying Amelia's guilt and sadness over losing James, and how she's still in love with him despite it all.

Harry and Ginny's reactions were heartbreaking. I'm sure Ginny is feeling the need to blame somebody, anybody, for what happened to James, and it looks like she's placing some of that blame on Harry. Auror and father, unable to find and protect his own son. So sad and again, very realistic.

I'm looking forward to finding out (eventually) how James got from researching student to front-man for The Cause. I'm loving this story, and this chapter was excellent. (And sorry for the extra-long review! I have a lot of thoughts in my head.)

Author's Response: Hello, BBHP!

Thank you for this awesome review! :D

The teenage awkwardness and the "defining the relationship" has been loads of fun to write. It's a nice break from the grim matters surrounding Amelia and James. I'm glad you caught onto how James and Amelia change the way they address each other over the summer. As their relationship develops, I want them to also explore their sexuality as they learn to trust each other fully (if they can, hmmm...). And I aim to make it not only a little awkward and uncomfortable but also empowering!

Thank you for your kind comment regarding Amelia's guilt and sadness. :)

Poor Harry and Ginny! I'm rooting for them... but the plot of the story may not be. :O

Keep reading for how James has ended up where he in the present story. And I don't mind the extra long review! I'm thrilled that you've been able to pick up on some of my "between the lines" contexts of this story!


 Report Review

Review #36, by leannadrobis The Heir of Ignotus

5th May 2017:
I love this chapter as well! God this story is so dark it gives me chills sometimes. Update Soon!

Author's Response: Thank you for your great review! I fear this story will only get darker... Stay tuned! :D

 Report Review

Review #37, by BBHP The Heir of Ignotus

5th May 2017:
Poor Ollivander! He was already super old when Harry was at Hogwarts, so he must be absolutely ancient now. I wonder what will happen to him. Obviously he's getting too old to be making wands still, but someone will have to take his place. Diagon Alley without a wand shop is hard to imagine.

Amelia finds out about the Invisibility Cloak AND gets kissed! My heart leapt when I read that part. It was perfect and had just the right amount of tension and build-up and I was just begging for it to happen. I just loved it.

Well, until that happened. James is freaking with those fanatics!? How is that even possible!? First he's all, "oh I wasn't sure I could trust you with my invisibility cloak and hallows stuff" and now he's blowing up Diagon Alley AND Muggle London! My brain can't even process this. And making everyone believe he's dead is just so selfish! I mean, Harry thought his SON was dead. And then he sees him for the first time in YEARS and he's being a terrorist. I'm anxious to find out more about his disappearance and how he made his way into the NeoWalds. Does he have an ulterior motive for everything? Is he trying to protect someone?

And with all of this it's STILL an excellent story that has me begging for more.

I'm hoping for some answers in the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks, BBHP!

Ollivander is really getting on in his years. I've always wondered what would happen to his shop, and I fear I may be dabbling in that reality!

As for Amelia getting kiss, I'm sure she would argue that she didn't just get kissed but that she also did a lot of kissing James herself! ;)

Ah, James... something is definitely up! I think Amelia is having a hard time drawing connections, too. Also, it hasn't been years since Harry last saw James. James has only been missing for about seven months. However, if James has been willfully withholding his whereabouts from his friends and family, that is most definitely selfish! I wonder if there is an ulterior motive or if he is protecting someone... Time will unfold it all!

Writing the next chapter now... I'm not sure if there are answers that you're looking for or even more questions! ;)


 Report Review

Review #38, by adorably cute The Heir of Ignotus

4th May 2017:
Dying to know what's next! This was excellent, cant wait for next update!

Author's Response: Thanks, adorably cute! I'm dying to write what's next! :D

 Report Review

Review #39, by Violet Potter 434 The Heir of Ignotus

4th May 2017:
well of course I'll stay amazing, I'm always amazing, its one of my main skills

and I can safely say that I think this story will stay amazing too

you know how much I love it

and I can not wait for more

it honestly gets more and more interesting and more-ish - yeah I forgot the real word for that but I'm sure you get me


love from me xx

Author's Response: Thanks for your amazing review! I am so thrilled that you love this story. Writing more as I type this. Stay tuned for more soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by Lizard The Heir of Ignotus

4th May 2017:
Oh no, not James! I hope he's somehow doing it against his will, I can't believe he'd turn to the NeoGrindelwalds, not the James you've written... But he was still in school then so he could've changed. But I don't want to believe it!
One good thing to come out of this attack is that the Aurors could see that Amelia wasn't involved... But James! Something is off about this and I hope it's that James has not joined the dark side voluntarily.

But YAY for Amelia and James kissing, and James trusting Amelia enough to tell her about the Hollows (which is also suspicious, James knows where the Hollows is, so why wouldn't he tell him new friends that if he's really joined them, hmm?)

I totally read all of the chapters in this story today, I can't believe I've missed it, it's so good! And I like the back-and-forth between the present and the past, it brings suspense to the story :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, Lizard!

I'm glad to hear that you like the back-and-forth between the present and the past. Amelia does a lot of reflection on what's happened to her, and it helps drive her in the present time.

As for James, well, I think we all need some more information! Whatever he's been up to, it probably hasn't been very easy on him.

I'm happy that they've finally kissed in this chapter! However, at this point in time, James only knows where the Cloak is (since he's the owner). He doesn't know much about the wand and even less about the stone. He shows Amelia because he's ready to trust her and he wants her to believe in the Hallows like he does. Who knows what those two have discovered since their first kiss to the point where they meet as enemies in this chapter? ;)


 Report Review

Review #41, by Ash The Heir of Ignotus

4th May 2017:
What a great chapter!!

I can't believe James is one of them. He's not right?!?! There has to be some sort of misunderstanding!

You're doing a great job with this story :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing, Ash!

I'm not sure if there is a misunderstanding, but more information is definitely needed! ;)


 Report Review

Review #42, by Ash Duelling Practice

4th May 2017:
Fantastic story!

I can't wait to read more

Author's Response: Thank you, Ash! I can't wait to write more! :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by BBHP Duelling Practice

2nd May 2017:
You are busting out these chapters so fast and it is amazing.

The teenage awkwardness in here is so great. It's almost uncomfortable, in the best way. Most of the time their conversations are totally fine, and then something little changes everything. I love it. I was on edge when I thought they were going to kiss, and then stupid Peeves had to ruin it. Haha!

I think Amelia's tattoo is really fitting. And an ancient rune is just really cool. I think it'll end up meaning even more to her than it already does. And I wonder if James will like it. ;)

Yet another great chapter here. I've already said this, but I'm addicted to this story.

Author's Response: Thanks, BBHP!

I really like the awkwardness. I hope to write more in the future! And Peeves seems to be causing a lot of trouble for James and Amelia. ;)

The tattoo! It wasn't originally my idea. When kairos made my banner at TDA, I didn't have any actors/models in mind for James and Amelia. The person who kairos chose for Amelia has a tattoo on her back. Take a closer look at the banner! And I immediately thought that this is something that Amelia would do! As for James liking it... we'll see if he gets a chance to see it! :O

Thanks for your great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #44, by adorably cute Duelling Practice

2nd May 2017:
This is so interesting! I'm really excited to see how everything connects and all. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I feel like I'm spinning a web. Things are starting to come together in my mind, so stay tuned! :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by Violet Potter 434 Duelling Practice

2nd May 2017:
ooohhh a bit more present that I wasn't expecting

it'd been a shame if she got run over
possibly exciting but I suppose it'd ruin any possibility of her finding James


this is so good
you literately leave me wanting more every single time

its not fair

cause its so good

but yeah write more quickly would ya?
its not like you update very other day or something...I'm not being unreasonable at all...

from me xxx

Author's Response: Haha! Yes, it would complicate things greatly if Amelia got hit by a car. Good thing she didnt! :)

Updates will be slower for a while, but they'll still continue. Thanks for your great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #46, by Violet Potter 434 The Circumstances for Promises

1st May 2017:
ugh
do you know how nice it is to read 3 new chapters from you in one go
it was like pure bliss

you NEED to update soon so it can happen again, omg its all just so amazing

please update as quickly as possible

love from me xx

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, Violet_Potter434!! :)

You'll be happy to hear (I hope) that chapter 9 is already up for your entertainment! Happy reading!


 Report Review

Review #47, by BBHP The Circumstances for Promises

30th April 2017:
I can only imagine Harry's relief at finding out his son is still alive. Poor Harry has lost too much already!

It was so fun to see some old favorites in here. Neville is a daddy! My heart did a little happy dance. And I loved that bit about Luna, with her quotes in the article. It actually sounded like her. Like I could see her speaking those words. It was a happy moment.

Of course Amelia already knows where the other Hallows are. Harry has them, right? I mean, he's already the owner of the invisibility cloak and theoretically is still the master of the Elder Wand, and now he's just taken the last Hallow. Ok I just got chills.

This part though: "I wonder whatís going to happen next, what Harry is doing with the Stone, what James is doing while, I presume, in captivity, who even sent me the Stone." YEAH ME TOO, SISTER. That sentence pretty much sums up what I'm thinking right now.

This is so good. Everything is so intriguing and clever. I love it.

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review, BBHP! :)

I really enjoyed Neville's fatherhood and Luna's interview (though I wish she wasn't attacked!).

You have some good guesses as to where the other Hallows are located. All should be revealed in due time. ;)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #48, by Giu9_RedandGold The Circumstances for Promises

30th April 2017:
Hi! I've been reading this story for a while, but I haven't really had a chance to leave a review so far. Finally I made it!

I decided that I like this story! At the beginning I was very confused, but now it's getting so interesting and intriguing. The characters are really good and the interactions between Amelia and her aunt and uncle seem so real. And the mistery as well. I'm also starting to get used to the back and forth in time. That was the biggest problem for me reading the earliest chapters. I never knew if it was Hogwarts time or after Hogwarts and by the time I figured that out, I had to go back and read again, this time aware of the setting. I guess now it's getting easier to recognize it!

Anyway I can't wait to know more of this attacks and if Amelia's mother is involved! And James!! What happened to James??? I'm also curious to find out how Amelia and James got together!

Update soon!! x

Author's Response: Thank you for your review, Giu9_RedandGold! I am glad that you finally had the time to review.

Amelia's relationship with her aunt and uncle are a subplot that I really, really love. She has abandonment issues since her mother left her with them since she was 7, and Amelia has trouble letting herself trust them and to accept their love and support. I hope to see her grow in that.

As for the back/forth in time, I wanted to do it this way because I feel like I could really get into Amelia's head. The present (Amelia is out of Hogwarts and James is missing) is written in the present tense. The past (Amelia at Hogwarts with James) is written in past tense. I wanted her narration to be similar to a stream of consciousness, so I have left the jumps vague and in different orders every chapter. I'm happy to hear that it's gotten easier for you to distinguish this!

More on Amelia's mother, attacks, and James to follow! :) Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #49, by Dia The Circumstances for Promises

30th April 2017:
I live for your updates

Author's Response: Thank you, Dia! :) I hope you continue to enjoy the updates.

 Report Review

Review #50, by Potterhead1994 Crushed

27th April 2017:
Beautiful update. I'm so glad harry came to see what all the fuss is about . I wander if Amelia will tell him everything. Oh so excited !

Author's Response: Thanks, Potterhead1994! I'm glad that Harry came, too. ;)

We'll see how Amelia handles this...


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>