Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Wrapped in Red
  
93 Reviews Found

Review #26, by dinthemidwest Chapter 1: Christmas Cheer

18th June 2016:
Your writing is very thoughtful! Glad I found these stories... I like the beginning; Christmas is always a fun time for most people, & secret gift-giving is exciting!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #27, by Another Chrissy Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

24th May 2016:
You are truly gifted, and you've graciously shared your gifts with us. I am awed and grateful. Thank you immensely!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #28, by x0nanashi0x Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

23rd May 2016:
Wow. I love the sudden and unexpected ending. The whole story was very well written. Thank you for sharing

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #29, by x0nanashi0x Chapter 6: Tis the Season

23rd May 2016:
You've created a lovely dynamic between Hermione and Draco here.
Wonderful work.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #30, by x0nanashi0x Chapter Four: Wrapped in Red

23rd May 2016:
The incredible fear that accompanies trying on a ring and then not being able to get it off. Been there, not with a beautiful promise ring, but still terrifying.
Another great chapter

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #31, by x0nanashi0x Chapter 3: Mistletoe Mishap

22nd May 2016:
I enjoy the authenticity of their banter. Very well written.
Fluffy without being vomit inducing. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #32, by x0nanashi0x Chapter 2: Secret Santa

22nd May 2016:
"Sheíd taken to stalking him."
I love this! Such a funny transition, and I immediately imagined Hermione telling herself, "What the f**k am I doing? Well, I guess I'm staking him now and I've clearly gone off the deep end."
Because we know if Hermione is going to do something, she's going to do it right, even if it resorts in stalking.

Lovely chapter

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #33, by noturavggurl Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

7th March 2016:
Please update! I can't wait to find out what his promise is! Please keep updating this stor to completion. I like this Draco.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #34, by ms simone Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

10th February 2016:
heartbreaking scene with draco and hermione!! even more so hermione will not recalled the conversation!! update soon!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I'm pleased you like the chapter

 Report Review

Review #35, by Marshal Chapter 5: Snow Fort

5th February 2016:
Hey,

I'm here to give you your review for being an honorable mention in the Tis the Season challenge. I know it may seem crazy that I picked a Christmas story to review considering the challenge. Also it may seem od that I'm reviewing such a late chapter till I say that I've reviewed all the previous chapters - you just didn't know it was me at the time. :-)

Anyway this story has been quite enjoyable. I really liked this chapter. There was a lot of fun involved as Hermione tries to figure things out. I like how you explained why she discounted Malfoy. The kiss was nicely done and I love the cliff hanger you leave this chapter on. I do love how the gloves are now off so the ring can be seen. I do look forward to seeing where things go next, it will just be a while as I do owe reviews for the other winners. Great work and I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing =)

 Report Review

Review #36, by Chrissy Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

23rd January 2016:
This chapter gave me the chills. My heart is breaking for Hermione and Draco. I can only imagine how the next few chapters are going to look like.

You definitely came back with a bang!! Can't wait to see what happens next< Great job as always :-)

Author's Response: Thanks Chrissy. I'm pleased you like it. More soon, I promise

 Report Review

Review #37, by DaFossil Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

22nd January 2016:
Amazing story, absolutely love it.

Author's Response: Me too, me too! Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #38, by Rae Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

21st January 2016:
Love, love, love this chapter. It is amazing how complex they both are. They are technically on opposite sides of the war but it seems like really they are on a totally complete side. A Dramione side. Yes they both Voldemort dead but it's more complicated than that because they also want to be together but no matter which side wins it will always be an uphill battle. I hope all Deaco makes Hermione to do is to stay same from the death eaters and than he can release her. Can't wait for your next chapter. Please please update soon

Author's Response: We'll just have to wait and see, won't we? Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review my fic. I'm pleased you're enjoying it ans I hope to update again soon.

 Report Review

Review #39, by Bailey Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

21st January 2016:
OMG! You did it again. I love this chapter. So perfect... I wish they could be together!!! Honestly, I think you're one of the best authors on this page. Keep it up! I love everyone of your stories!

Author's Response: Naw, that's so sweet of you to say, thank you! I'm pleased you like them all. I'm trying to keep on top of updating them all, but it's a juggling act. More soon, I promise.

 Report Review

Review #40, by mcnbirdsgirl Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

21st January 2016:
Wow! Another excellent chapter. Very emotional reading. Not a massive fan of cliff-hangers(but then again, who is?) so I eagerly await the next chapter! x

Author's Response: Right? Everyone hates cliffies, but I couldn't resist! They're the best for luring people on and bringing people back for more *evil laugh*

 Report Review

Review #41, by Pinster Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

20th January 2016:
Oh I've been waiting on this amazing story being updated for what seems like an eternity. Haha

I really do love this story and I cannot wait to find out what happens next.

Author's Response: I'm pleased you're enjoying the chapter. More will be posted soon, I hope!

 Report Review

Review #42, by marauderfan Chapter Four: Wrapped in Red

11th January 2016:
Your characterization in your details is always so well done. And here it's in how everyone wraps presents - HArry and Ron a total mess with no idea how to tie ribbons, Luna hand-painting her paper (I can absolutely see this and it's so great - new headcanon), and Ginny's looking very rushed. And Mystery Pureblood Secret Santa... so Draco? (I'm assuming) with a perfectly wrapped box.

I love the thought Hermione put into her gifts for Draco, by the way. Clues and everything - it was (obviously) really well thought out and something he would like, so she did well despite not liking him.

Her gift she received, on the other hand - it sounded too good to be true with the beautiful knitting needle set and the quill, and then I got to the part about the ring - what a terrible prank gift! I feel really bad for her, as she has no idea what the gift-giver is playing at and to have a ring stuck to your hand would really not be ideal.

My prediction is that she'll be doing some sort of handwriting analysis to find out who wrote the note, and some sneaky questioning and spying on the rich purebloods of Hogwarts because she will totally solve this. I hope she figures out the mystery person's identity soon!

Great writing! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, my friend =) I'm pleased you liked the chapter

 Report Review

Review #43, by marauderfan Chapter 3: Mistletoe Mishap

11th January 2016:
Haha, mistletoe - the worst. Malfoy's strategies for getting out of it are interesting - at first annoyed and complaining like I would expect of him and how he behaves in the books, but when it's obvious that that won't work as Hermione just makes it worse for him (this was hilarious btw, with her just laughing as it sings at him. SINGING MISTLETOE. how awful! haha) then they actually get to talking and have a real conversation for the first time in... ever. It's a start!

Ahhh I know it, Malfoy has Hermione too - and they're literally standing there telling each other, to their faces, how awful each other is. Just secretly, because the other person doesn't know it's them. :P Ahaha brilliant

Hermione realised then that if heíd been born a muggle, Malfoy would most likely have been a mechanic, or maybe an engineer -- omg I love this sentence, I love that it makes me picture Malfoy as a Muggle which is a really interesting picture, and I love that what she imagines is plausible. It's nice to have a little bit of a glimpse into what Malfoy is like behind the snobby attitude.

Ooh and then she actually kissed him and WOW! I wasn't expecting that. He likes her! Things got interesting. I can appreciate Hermione's reaction, to just kind of run away awkwardly in confusion of what just happened haha.

My one note of CC about the chapter is that mistletoe doesn't grow in fronds, more like clumps. (Yes this is pedantic, but as a botanist I guess I'm bound to notice things like that :P )

Awesome chapter once again!

 Report Review

Review #44, by marauderfan Chapter 2: Secret Santa

11th January 2016:
Definitely the best bit of this chapter is everyone's strategies for finding out about their secret person, and for making sure they get the gifts they want.

Hermione's strategy is BRILLIANT. Of course she would think of something like that, to put anyone off her trail because she's just being more social to everyone. I love the methodical planning she puts into this, just how she is with the rest of her life.

And Ron cracked me up, shouting about the Chudley Cannons as the most unsubtle hint ever to his secret gift giver. Ha! Also really well done on charactersation as I could totally see Ron doing that :P

Ooh, and I bet Harry got Goyle. Or Crabbe. Or Zacharias Smith? Can't think of anyone else he dislikes that much, and I know it's not Malfoy. Or maybe he got Cho and he feels awkward about it. I want to knowww! :P

I kind of wonder if Malfoy has Hermione as his secret santa as well. Why else would he sit next to her? Ahahaha that would make things interesting.

 Report Review

Review #45, by marauderfan Chapter 1: Christmas Cheer

11th January 2016:
Ellie! Hi, I'm here for your belated Hot Seat reviews - RL is absolutely nuts at the moment so I'm sorry I wasn't here earlier!

So, I really love the beginning of this! You have a wonderful grasp on writing Hermione - I guess with nearly 50 stories about her, you've got a lot of practice and it shows, it's like you've been living in her head. I think that the novelty of the magical Christmas at Hogwarts wouldn't really wear off for her, being a Muggle-born, and you've captured that so wonderfully in your first few paragraphs. Like, yes she's used to magic by this point, but there's something special about the atmosphere of magic at Christmastime. You did a great job setting the tone in those first paragraphs. I feel like holding a mug of hot tea and snuggling into a bunch of pillows while i read this whole fic now. :D

Also, I think it fits so well with her personality that she's the proponent of this inter-house unity Secret Santa. I remember her being so irritated about Quidditch and all the competition surrounding it, and actively starting this event to encourage house unity is very much something she'd do.

I like that they talked to Dumbledore about it and that he listened. I've always thought of Dumbledore as the sort of person who will listen to what anyone has to say and not make them feel like they have silly ideas, and that was perfectly shown here by his interest in the holiday gift exchange.

So yeah, this is a lovely start and I'm really excited to see what Hermione thinks when she finds out who her secret santa is mwahahaha!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Felpata Lupin Chapter 2: Secret Santa

10th January 2016:
Back again!
Ahahah! How funny! Everyone trying to spy on everyone to find out what they might like... I would get a bit paranoid myself, I think...

I wonder who Harry got. I'm thinking maybe Zacharias Smith. :P

It must've been a shock for Hermione to pick Draco... Considering their history, it must not be simple... And the fact that Draco sat next to her in Charms makes me wonder if maybe he got her in return? It would be an interesting twist of fate...

Another funny chapter!
I might be back (not sure when, though...)

Love and hugs,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #47, by Felpata Lupin Chapter 1: Christmas Cheer

10th January 2016:
Hello, Ellie!
Happy Hot Seat! :)

Oh... I want a Timeturner and get back to the Christmas holidays... I'm very much like Hermione. I love the atmosphere, the decorations, the carols... Yesterday I disassembled the Christmas tree... I'm so sad... But all this is beside the point... :P

Interesting idea for a story. I love the idea of a inter-house Secret Santa at Hogwarts to spread the cheer around. :) Ginny had a lovely idea, and Hermione is the best planner, as per usual! ;)

Question... Maybe you mentioned it in the summary or somewhere, but if you did I missed it... When is the story set? I would say OotP or HBP, because it sounds like it's a time when Voldemort is gaining power. I know it probably doesn't really matter, I'm just a date maniac...

Anyway, this was an interesting start for your story. I'm curious to read on and see what happens. ;)

Nice work so far!
Much love,
Chiara

 Report Review

Review #48, by Rae Chapter 8: One Last Breath

8th January 2016:
Really love this story. When is next update coming? Very
interested.

Author's Response: More will be posted today, my dear.

 Report Review

Review #49, by velajune Chapter 1: Christmas Cheer

7th January 2016:
Hi there Ellie
I was glad to see your name on the hot seat since I was already looking into your one-shots. I usually donít read novel length fics anymore since most of the ones I used to follow havenít been continued or near the chopping block. Heartbreak issues.
I made an exception because the summary piqued my interest. I havenít read a Secret Santa D/Hr fic before, so I was definitely gunho with reading Wrapping in Red. One of the first things I enjoyed about this first chapter is actually at the very beginning, the idea of interhouse communication during Hogwarts Era with the use of the Christmas holiday. I find that with D/Hr fics, one of the biggest obstacles is getting them to interact during the Hogwarts Era. I havenít really read any D/Hr fics that have accomplished a natural solution to that problem. Iím looking forward to how this turns out.
Unfortunately, I think, the house-elves are going to have an added workload with how the process seemed to have been decided. Poor house-elves.
I find that your Ginny pops up a lot and I donít mean figuratively. Lol. I just imagine this spunky red head randomly appearing, poof, and disappearing whenever she so pleases. It amuses me to think that that is how she appears for every one of her scenes.
Some of the dialogue felt a little forced, it didnít flow as nicely as your descriptive paragraphs, which brought me back to Hogwarts. I especially enjoyed, on the last section, the first two paragraphs because it reminded me of OotP film-wise, during in which Filch was putting up the new laws. I couldnít tell you how to fix it though or tell you what exactly it is that I had a problem with. Sometimes when Hermione speaks, it doesnít feel natural. But since the genre is Fluff, I sort of just glazed over it. It wasnít that too much of a bother to me.
Canít wait to read the rest of what you have!
~June

 Report Review

Review #50, by dramione Chapter 8: One Last Breath

4th January 2016:
amazing, just didn't want it to end :)

Author's Response: There is still more to come =)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>