Reading Reviews for Like Catching Smoke
47 Reviews Found

Review #26, by BBHP Ten: The Garden Party

11th August 2017:
The thought of Fiona spying on her team makes me anxious. She's going to get caught, I'm sure, and whether or not someone on her team is shady, it's going to cause a lot of distrust.

Jasper and Rose's "nose man" comments keep me laughing! Jasper is probably my favorite character so far.

I like how Fiona was genuinely friendly to Evangeline. Not pretty or having an ulterior motive.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to the next chapter and hopefully more info on the case.

Author's Response: I'm having so much fun writing Jasper, and probably getting more attached to him than I should!

I hope that was a (slightly) redeeming moment for Fiona. She definitely will continue to be a bit petty when it comes to James, though.

Thanks so much for reviewing! Next chapter coming soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by quill2parchment Five: Ogreman

5th August 2017:
Great chapter! I like how you manage to subtly include James. Seeing Xavier and Fiona together obviously bothered him, and I wonder how he feels about her now.

Fiona and Xavier are sort of cute together! She doesn't sound interested in a serious relationship at all, and I know she says it's because of her job, but a part of me wonders if it's because of James as well. I'm curious to see where all of this goes.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)

Lots more of Xavier to come. Fiona's doubts about being in a serious relationship will definitely be discussed more as the story progresses! You rock, and thank you so much for your thoughtful reviews!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Lulu Nine: A Cup of Tea

29th July 2017:
Hey I just wanted to say that I love your story and that I can wait for the next chapter. The characters are so colourful and well written and I just love them. I hope there will be more moments between James and Fee but I really like the fact that you have patience with them and that you focus on the other parts in the story like Fee's friendships and her auror work. There is one thing that I thought about, earlier on in the story Fee tells Xavier that she doesn't want anything serious and they never really say that they can't see other people or something like that. I get that Fee started to like Xavier and so it must have sucked to see him with another girl but I don't really don't think she has a valid reason to be angry because she hadn't made any indication that she wanted anything from Xavier except for a good time. Maybe there was something I missed that proves otherwise or maybe I'm just weird but this was something I thought about. Anyway all love to you and keep up the great work

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving a review! :)

Definitely some more James/Fiona interactions coming up!

Your point about Xavier and Fiona's relationship being non-exclusive is totally apt. She never gave him a reason to think that she wanted anything serious, but she still got upset when she saw him with someone else. You're definitely right to say that it's not exactly logical, and Fiona definitely has some growing up to do!

Thank you so so much for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by quill2parchment Four: The Real World

25th July 2017:
That entire scene with Valerie Knott was amazing. I'm obsessed with crime series so this was right up alley. I love work-mode Fee so much!

"someone who wont fall in love with you. Bahaha... Rose is the friend we all need.

Loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by quill2parchment Three: The Jellyfish Party

25th July 2017:
Hm this Xavier guy is sort of interesting, him and his tattoo.

I'm really enjoying your dialogue too! It flows so smoothly and makes for an effortless read. Before I know it, I'm always at the end of the chapter with this fic and wanting more.

Gonna keep reading :)

Author's Response: Ahhh thank you so much for this loveliness! :')

I used to have such a hard time writing dialogue, especially humor between characters, so it's very nice to hear that you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #31, by quill2parchment Two: The New Blood

24th July 2017:
The Auror Office seriously just jumps right off the pages -eh, screen- you managed to describe it so perfectly in such few sentences!

I enjoyed Charlie and Darren. I can see why they rubbed Fee the wrong way, but as characters, they're fantastic.

Lol I have no idea how Jasper's logic for jellyfish is everything. I adore him. I swear that's exactly how my mind works sometimes.

Very well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by BBHP Nine: A Cup of Tea

24th July 2017:
YES. Jasper! He's my favourite! Everyone needs a friend like that. Best character!

And I love that James punched that loser.

This has quickly become one of my favourite stories right now and I am dying to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :) Expect an update sometime next week

 Report Review

Review #33, by quill2parchment One: London Again

24th July 2017:
Oooh I like this already!

Hm I suppose I'm suppose to side with Fee - James should be supporting her career, not holding her back, etc - but she could have handled that better as well.

I love Rose and Jasper already. Their chemistry with Fee is perfection.

I thought hed at least spit out a mouthful of his drink. Oh gosh, Louis, you read my mind, but honestly? I would have probably reacted the same way as James. When you run into an ex - and your new girl/boyfriend is there - you HAVE to try to act cool hehe

Albus and Scorpius are cuties too. I don't know how you were able to introduce so many characters all at once and still managed to make them all incredibly unique and loveable. I commend you on it. I really do, and I can't wait to read on and see what else you have in store... (Luckily, I still have a few chapters to go hehe)

Author's Response: Bwah, thank you for this lovely review! :) Plenty of Rose/Jasper antics to come, also plenty of Fee not handling James-related things well. Hope you enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #34, by BBHP Eight: The Betrayer

24th July 2017:
Poor Fiona! How awful. What a pig.

At least James was nice about it though.

I'm interested to know who leaked the information to the press.

Author's Response: Next chapter coming pronto! Thank you again for leaving a review!

 Report Review

Review #35, by BBHP Six: The Second Scene

24th July 2017:
"Cries when he sees missing dog posters"! Hilarious.

This whole murder thing is creepy as anything and yet I'm desperate to learn more!

The interactions between James and Fiona seem like they're building up to something intense, too, and I can't wait.

Author's Response: You are a magnificent sunflower and I'm so grateful for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by Kristina1990 Six: The Second Scene

29th December 2016:
Fiona can be a real *insert word here that I would have to censor away anyway*. So yes, she can be a difficult character.

I think it's none of James' business who she dates, even if it is a teammate, because ultimately, if she doesn't flaunt it around in his face, this shouldn't be a problem among adults. You grow in and out of things. James and Fiona were a couple, then they weren't, then they found new partners they can be happy with. So, James moaning around is really a bit childish.

However, this does not justify a self-righteous fight, where she tries to make him feel bad and then drive him to the edge of losing it by having a go at him. Very insensitive, very inappropriate, especially since it doesn't even take place on neutral ground.

We all have our weaknesses. We all grow up eventually. Maybe Fiona will too ;).

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)

Yeah, they're both being immature and silly. Fiona is ultra-confrontational and vents her frustrations by manipulating other people so that she feels like she has control over her life.

Rest assured that characters will develop, relationships will change, etc.

Thanks again for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #37, by Emma Six: The Second Scene

22nd December 2016:
Okay, ngl, not a huge fan of Fiona right now.
Like, I totally get it, she was hurt in the way it ended with James but she wasn't completely innocent there either, refusing to work something out. If Fiona was in Rose's year, it means James is two years older then her, already having a career of his own, maybe it wasn't possible for him to move away? I'm not saying I think James' career was more important, I just think James said some rash words about them ending it and Fiona becoming angry with him and refusing to think of another way. They were both incredible immature (and hurt I'll bet!) in that moment, both in the wrong, yet James is the one getting all the blame. It's understandable from Fiona, but from all of his family members?
And James warning Xavier away from Fiona isn't the nicest thing to do but I can understand it in a way since he's probably still hurt from how it ended.
Now, I think Fiona is ALSO still hurt and bitter (and she's jealous of James new relationship, she just doesn't want to admit it to herself) but wow, what she did in this chapter was not cool at all. She actually comes across as more immature then before, failing to move on, wanting to hurt James "fragile ego", bullying her way to the top because it's fun... just, stop. And don't do it again, even it if makes you "drunk with power", for what? For belittling another person, deliberately making them feel bad? For all she accuses James of wanting to flaunt his new relationship, wasn't that exactly what she was doing, just in a more personal way since she sought him out alone? James is right to be disgusted with Fiona's behavior and I hope it comes back to bite her in the end (also it's not healthy behavior from any of them).

I know this is from Fiona's point of view so of course her actions will be biased, but I'm always going to defend James when I think he needs it since I'll admit I'm terrible weak for him, lol. And I don't think the breakup was all James fault, and Fiona accusing James of being bitter and jealous is incredibly hypocritical since that's exactly what she is. :)

But even if I'm not too sure how I feel about Fiona and her actions regarding her ex, I really enjoy the other part of her life, she seems to be a kickass Auror and the case and the mystery surrounding it is...intriguing. Can't wait to see Fiona work with Harry eventually (and to maybe see his side of things, especially since the family members we've met all have been negative towards Evangeline, it doesn't feel like she's ever been giving a chance because she's not Fiona, but Harry should just want his son to be happy so he's got another perspective)
Anyway, can't wait for your next update!

Author's Response: Hey! Your criticism of Fiona is definitely well-founded. I can't promise that she will grow up and realize the error of her ways right away, but she will mature and figure stuff out over the course of the story.

Glad you're enjoying it and thanks so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #38, by LB Five: Ogreman

21st December 2016:
So i don't know who's endgame. Actually I don't know who i want to be endgame at this point. BUt i think it might be James at the end. right?

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #39, by LB Five: Ogreman

21st December 2016:
So i don't know who's endgame. Actually I don't know who i want to be endgame at this point. BUt i think it might be James at the end. right?

Author's Response: Ahh Xavier vs. James. Can't tell you who ends up with Fiona (if either of them do!) but can promise lots of drama! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #40, by LB Four: The Real World

21st December 2016:
I can't wait for her to see James again!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! James is gong to turn up in chapter 6!

 Report Review

Review #41, by LB Three: The Jellyfish Party

21st December 2016:
Oh. i wasn't expecting that. but i think xavier might be good. or turn out to be evil. who knows?

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by LB Two: The New Blood

21st December 2016:
I can't wait to see mor einteracton between fiona and james!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! More James coming soon!

 Report Review

Review #43, by LB One: London Again

21st December 2016:
I really like this chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! Much appreciated! :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by Kristina1990 Five: Ogreman

18th December 2016:
Is somebody jealous already or just wants to be a jerk? I'm very much looking forward to that discussion :D.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by Kristina1990 Four: The Real World

17th December 2016:
Well find you someone else, someone who wont fall in love with you.

*lol* Hahaha, Rose is hilarious. A real meddler. In every sort of way.

Having people talk behind you back usually means their own lives are so boring they have enough else to talk about. Very unpleasant fellows, her coworkers. But maybe they will all find a healthy way to be around each other soon. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :) Glad you like Rose!

 Report Review

Review #46, by Kristina1990 Two: The New Blood

15th December 2016:
Juhhhu, blood. *args* I would have reacted the same way. The smell alone... :(

And yeah, jellyfish. Really? How does one even dress for a jellyfish party? But you gotta love friends who decide it's a good idea to misuse your flat (not THEIR flat, of course) for a good party. It's my nightmare.

Well, I'm looking forward to the choice of costumes...

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing :)

Haha, throwing theme parties is actually my dream, so I'm using this story as a way to take it out on the world a bit.

 Report Review

Review #47, by Kristina1990 One: London Again

12th December 2016:
Hey yeah,

I agree with Rose. Get yourself a partner, who supports you in your life, not decides to throw some additional stones in the way. Really, he broke up with her, because she got to fulfil her dream? How immature!

Or has he grown up a little now ;)?

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! :D James was definitely immature, but hopefully we will see him grow up a bit as you said!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>