Reading Reviews for Still Life
  
66 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Serendipitous_love chapter one

29th August 2012:
I love this piece! Right now it is raining too. Good ol' English weather making me picture this better. xD

I have nothing to criticize. I think everything was done so well. You went with a good idea and though you only made a one shot of the aftermath, it was brilliant! I love that sort since it gives the reader chance to imagine and come up with some conclusions whilst having questions buzz around their mind.

The emotion was perfect. Two men trying to be brave and wear masks but deep inside both broken. It came across even in Ron even though it was based on Harry so well done! I suppose Ginny's death didn't shock me but I have written it before and I don't care for her too much. Harry does though and the way he reacted was perfect.

All in all, it was a great one shot. Well written with good imagery, emotion and so on. I'm glad it gave a hopeful -because it's not happy but there is promise of a better future- prospect on the future.

Well done. (:

 Report Review

Review #2, by Grace chapter one

18th February 2011:
Can't believe this brought tears to my eyes!
Such wonderful and beautiful writing! Thank you very much for sharing :-)

 Report Review

Review #3, by norapotter chapter one

30th August 2007:
touching i really don't know what to say other than that, its so good. : )you did very nicely on the detail, and making the descriptions set the mood, that's something i always try to aim for becasue i value it in writing, and you achieved it!! good work : )

 Report Review

Review #4, by light_blue chapter one

13th August 2007:
I truly found it heartening-even though I didn't agree too well with the plot-it was a brilliant read and your expressions are truly extraordinary! :)
It was a great idea too-please keep writing...i would really love to read your original stories someday (without HP) :D 11/10
From light_blue
PS if u have anytime, wud u mind reading over a story of mine? I would appreciate it very, very much :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by taylorj828 chapter one

13th February 2007:
Wow what a great story. Noblevyne recommended you, so I thought I'd check out a story. I'm a Trio-reader, mainly, so I scrolled down till I found one. In fact, this was the very specific story Noblevyne suggested I read!

And I must say, Wow.

You have amazing skills, and you're wonderful at capturing thoughts and emotions, something I particularly love. And, it goes without saying that your characterization is perfect.

Specifics:
-"He saw Ron's eyes flicker downwards, away, and willed him not to cry. If Ron started, it would be over. They would both be overwhelmed." I loved this part. I love that they both know if one of them started crying, the other one would too. And I love that it's with boys, not girls! (Obviously, hehe, but I hope you know what I mean!) I love the depth you have in them.

-I *love* the thoughts you have in Harry's mind - the long paragraph in Italics. Wow, perfect. And even *more* perfect that he does not say them. He never could, and it would not be him if he did. But the thoughts are there. Wow, great.

-"All these little details stood out to Harry, and made him seem more beautiful than he ever had been before." Can I say this? I LOVE that Harry is calling Ron beautiful in his mind. Whew, can I properly express my appreciation of this line? And if anyone ever criticizes this part, I will personally take it up with them! (o; Truly amazing to include here...

-"Harry stared at him from across the room, their eyes meeting, and it was as if their souls met and touched each other in that instant, and it was that final, simple question that broke Harry's defences." Their souls met and touched. Again, simply wonderful. I can imagine someone having a hayday with these bits, between a guy and a girl - Ron and Hermione or Harry and Hermione - well, that's eh nice. But, Ron and Harry? So pure and so amazing and so emotional.! Superb, excellent, precious, wonderful, wow.

Well, I like it, in case you couldn't tell. And I'm totally jealous of your abilities. (o; You're an awesome author. I shall in fact look to see if you have any more Trio stories!

Author's Response: Oh my god. Thank you so much. And I'm really sorry it took me a while to respond to this (I have been out of touch with the site for a while). When I read your reviews, they just made my month :)



Thank you so much for appreciating the fact that this was not a slash fic :) I think many people would draw that conclusion at first glance, but I didn't want it to be like that. It's about at its heart, Harry and Ron's platonic love for one another, and about them finding solace in each other. They're like brothers. I adore the fact that you saw those subtle details and took them, understood them, for what they were. Thank you with all my heart for reading and reviewing, with such kind things to say! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ravenclaw Seeker chapter one

30th September 2006:
I know I've probably said this before, but what I love about your stories is that I can see them so clearly when I'm reading. The description of Ron's collar, and Harrysqueezing his eyes shut and starting to cry... I can see it so well.

Another wonderfully written masterpiece, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Unicorn Girl chapter one

21st August 2006:
Very deep. definately going to my favs.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Wicked Vixen chapter one

29th April 2006:
That was very touching. It shows how important friends are- people tend to lose sight of that sometimes- it's nice of you to remind us. Amazing story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by unknown_force chapter one

13th January 2006:
This story's kind of bittersweet. I like it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by stargazer chapter one

27th November 2005:
Awww. That was so sad. I loved it though, it was really beautiful. I started crying when Harry started crying. I absolutly love the end of it, even though its really sad, its also happy. "But this night Harry would not have to face the darkness alone." That line is so great. I loved it. I love to see a sequel to this, but of course that is totally up to you. Well I really liked this, I need to go read a happy fic so I can stop crying now. lol. *Stargazer*

 Report Review

Review #11, by thechosenone chapter one

24th November 2005:
that was really good and very well written! i like it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by BellaPotter017 chapter one

13th November 2005:
OMG I wanted to cry

 Report Review

Review #13, by Rozanne chapter one

11th September 2005:
Ah sweet and sad and totally wonderful! LOVE IT.

 Report Review

Review #14, by ilovedracoandharry chapter one

8th September 2005:
That was quite easily one of the best one-shots that I have ever had the pleasure of reading. Not many stories actually make my eyes water and throat tighten, to be able to make someone feel emotion like that simply from reading a piece of writing is such a beautiful gift to have and this story was just perfect in every minor detail. I would be lying to say that it was full of flaws and left gaping plot holes, then again it did leave small amounts to your imagination. The attention to detail was just brilliant and I expecially enjoyed the section where Harry ran through the things in his head that he wished to tell Ron, only didn't have the courage to. This was fantastic and it would be a crime not to put it on my favourites list ;-) Once again, a terrific job and I thoroughly enjoyed this -Kate

 Report Review

Review #15, by KimMalfoy chapter one

1st September 2005:
Beautiful. So beautiful. You're such a great author, wow, I really love the way you write. It's so captivating. Couldn't take my eyes away from the screen and my eyes are full of tears. Well done, very well done.

 Report Review

Review #16, by jtsoccer chapter one

23rd August 2005:
That's so sad! This was really well-written; I enjoyed it a lot!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Alene chapter one

21st August 2005:
<33

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lanni Weasly chapter one

10th August 2005:
Wow. Nice Job! ~Lanni

 Report Review

Review #19, by Kat chapter one

23rd July 2005:
though it's kind of....gloomy, it's in is own way a really beautiful story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Kat :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by dazzler chapter one

16th July 2005:
AMAZING. It was sooo beautiful. I fell in love with the fic. GREAT job. I actually was near tears. Most touching fic i've ever read.

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you doesn't seem to be quite enough for that :) I'm so glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #21, by mahal_kita chapter one

13th July 2005:
love this story...well done

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Rebekka chapter one

13th July 2005:
This was such a beautiful story, and when Harry cried, I cried too. :) And I was on my lunchbreak. You evil woman, always making me cry. :) Very emotional. I loved this. And Ron was handsome? I liked that. Very much. And the way you told this from Harry's POV all the way, even though it was third person story. I found a few mistakes, but I can't search them at the moment because I'm at work, but if you want me to, I can PM them to you. :) Wonderful, wonderful work, yet again.

Author's Response: Thank you Rebekka! I'm not intentionally evil! lol. Anyway, once again I have to thank you for an utterly wonderful review which I feel thoroughly underserving of :) Cheers so much.

 Report Review

Review #23, by DanielRadcliffeandMe chapter one

2nd July 2005:
Aww. That's so incredibly sad. I cried - how lame is that? I jut wanted to let you know that it was wonderful.

Author's Response: That's not lame at all, it's wonderful :) I'm glad you found it so touching. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Liz chapter one

21st June 2005:
This was wonderfully written. So much emotion, well done.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, i'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by nomikkin chapter one

20th June 2005:
brilliantly written. it brough tears to my eyes. you seriously caught the melancholy, the depression, all of the dark greif that Harry had been experiencing and then there's the awkwardness that Ron always tends to exude. wonderful. it's going underneath my favorites. i loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much nomikkin :) I love Ron's awkwardness! lol. Thank you for reading, and for such wonderful compliments :) I truly appreciate it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>