Reading Reviews for Shadow Land
  
207 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LoopyLemon Father of Mine

3rd January 2012:
This was a nice a fitting ending. Again, thank you.

 Report Review

Review #2, by LoopyLemon Firmer Foundations

3rd January 2012:
I have to thank you for this. The conversation between Severus and Dumbledore is practically a fight I have with my parents constantly. I am leaving soon and it will be so much easier to ignore what they say but while I'm at home I am much like Draco in your story, struggling to live for the light while there is darkness all around. This story just gave me a booster I need for sometimes I forget to let God into my life. Thank you. I wish there were more stories like this. Not preaching but simply showing what more there could be. In fact I may just write one. It is true that the shadow proves the sunshine but the shadow is sometimes so deep and thick it can be hard to remember what sunshine looks like.

Oh and your story is really good also! I am a picky reader so making it to the 20th chapter is a really good thing. I like the relationship between Severus and Harry and the revelation about Draco is also really believable. I hope Harry forgives Severus. If I had anything that could help you improve your writing it would be to slow down sometimes and focus on showing the reader what is happening rather than telling them. It's a hard concept to grasp but a couple of extra descriptive words go a long way to making a story really interesting to read.

Keep writing. You are a really good writer.

 Report Review

Review #3, by spencefa Father of Mine

27th November 2010:
absolutely excellant story, was glad to see you are going on with more strories, absolutely enjoyable.

 Report Review

Review #4, by spencefa Firmer Foundations

27th November 2010:
all of your chapters have been exceptionally good, I really enjoyed the conversation between Dumbledore and Snape, on a personal leve it cleared a lot of things up about the higher power I believe in.

Author's Response: My personal faith is Christianity and I didn't want any flames for coming out and having someone in the story being outright a believer.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Emerald Fox Father of Mine

19th August 2010:
I love the masterful insight this story portrays and the fact that it is very well written... looking forward to reading the sequel.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Emerald Fox Detention's Escape

10th August 2010:
I think you have a fascinating foundation on which to build this story, thus I am very eager to see how it plays itself out. I really like your opening statement as well, that is very sage.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Dracoistroubled Father of Mine

3rd November 2009:
Oh my gosh, that made me cry... I'm serious. I'm wiping away tears... AWE! That was awesome.

Author's Response: :) I am grinning. Lol. I am glad that I could make the story emotional enough to get through to the reader.

Thanks for your continued reviews!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Dracoistroubled Firmer Foundations

3rd November 2009:
People can be such jerks about religion. What is their issue? Seriously! I love the story! It's fantastic!

Author's Response: Yeah, they can be. I actually love talking about God and the Bible, but what I don't like is when people criticize me for it, or when they tell me all about their religion and then won't let me say a word about what I believe.

Thanks for the review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dracoistroubled Snake and Dragon

3rd November 2009:
AAHH!! OMG I CAN'T TAKE IT!

Author's Response: That bad?

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Dracoistroubled State of Mind

2nd November 2009:
Awe! This chapter makes me so happy! I can totally relate to Harry's predicament with Ron though, that was kind of depressing.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Dracoistroubled Detention's Escape

2nd November 2009:
I have one tiny little suggestion. "with a seeming portal to" doesn't make sense. I think you should change it to something more like "whch seemed to be a portal to..." and maybe put "seemed" in italics to add a little sarcasm.

Author's Response: Thanks for the suggestions.

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Bubblegum Offerings of Confusion

20th August 2009:
i do hope u either get or got good grades in english, i've seen people rite very terribly here, but it could be the Microsoft Word correcting u

Author's Response: Tell me what was spelled wrong or which grammar is mistaken so I can fix it. Occasionally I write late at night and don't catch mistakes before a chapter gets posted.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Bubblegum In the Land of Shadows

20th August 2009:
the story is beautiful and has no mistakes, which i thank u 4 btw, and i cant w8 to finish & get to the sequal

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Bubblegum Detention's Escape

20th August 2009:
oh i luv it! at first i thought he would get stuck w/ draco when i red the sum

Author's Response: Thanks... nope, no Draco.

 Report Review

Review #15, by William997 Detention's Escape

19th August 2009:
I agree with Snape being mommy dearest, it's very much out of character. I mean, some affection is good, but I think snape joining the PTA is a bit much. So I liked this chapter a lot, I love it when snape and and harry are thrown together against their will- like in Apprenticed. I think this story should be good- a nice fic that will keep me entertained between A Family Like None Other chapters by Aspeninthesunlight. I recomend her, even though her A Year Like None Other trilogy is exactly what I mean by long, long stories, not that there's anything bad with it, it's really great but eats up all of my time, especially when it gets good and I don't wanna stop. Anyway, she always inspires me when I get writers block, and maybe you might like her :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the recommend, I'll definitely look her up.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Aether Firmer Foundations

7th July 2009:
Great job! I love this fic so far and your writing is phenomenal! The way you describe Harry's character and his emotions is spot on and moving. Everything is just really well developed. The stuff Dumbledore said made me think of something a teacher told me once. Some of the things he said were so similar that I started wondering whether he'd gotten to you too! There's a lot of wisdom in this story, and I think you portray it really effectively. 10/10

Aether

Author's Response: Thanks a lot. Which parts of what Dumbledore said were particularly effective? I was just wondering. Thanks for your continued reviews!

 Report Review

Review #17, by snapeangel Father of Mine

3rd June 2009:
wow, had me crying in the end..loved it

Author's Response: Really? Thanks! I\\\'m glad you liked it so much! I love it when I\\\'m able to convey emotions so powerfully through words that the reader feels them.

 Report Review

Review #18, by snapeangel Firmer Foundations

3rd June 2009:
this chapter and the last one had me in slight tears, very good chapter
you did a good job of being philosophical about the 'higher power' thing without it sounding like one religion or another...the way you phrased it all is very AD and I think you did well on how AD prob sees the universal power and it's role in everything..nicely done -- wasn't pushy at all ;-)

Author's Response: Thanks. I myself am Christian, but I know I would have offended somebody if I had written more specifically, and it would have been slightly out of character for AD.

 Report Review

Review #19, by snapeangel Dream State

3rd June 2009:
much better battle scene than in JK's..had me with goosebumbs and tears..god I hope Sev doesn't die!

Author's Response: Thanks! I always have trouble writing battle scenes. I\\\'m always trying to think of how to make one big battle seem different than another from story to story.

 Report Review

Review #20, by heart portry Father of Mine

18th October 2008:
Hiya
Just finished this and really enjoyed it - will be checking the sequel out now! Really like the idea of Shadow Land.Shame he couldn't finish Voldie off there! Well, great story will review probably at the end of the next one!
CA x

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it! Thanks for taking the time to review for me!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #21, by amy Father of Mine

13th June 2008:
heya, finishd! really gud work!! at the end when harry calld snape dad..and snape calld harry son was a lil creepy LOL but i reread it and it wasnt so weird the 2nd time.

thanks :)..im off to read the sequel

10/10 4 each chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! Sorry if it seemed a little creepy, lol.

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #22, by amy A Battle of Minds

13th June 2008:
hehe snapes in trouble! harrys gona b pissd...i predict anyway lol

Author's Response: Lol.

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #23, by amy Dream State

12th June 2008:
ah...snape isnt goin 2 die rite?? im gessn not.?

Author's Response: Keep reading and you'll see...

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #24, by amy Snake and Dragon

12th June 2008:
awesome chapter!! g2g and keep reading

Author's Response: Thanks! Thanks for your continued reviews!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #25, by amy Occlusion

12th June 2008:
thanks! this story is gttn bettr and bettr!!

Author's Response: Thanks!

-JW.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>