19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane Some Wounds Run Too Deep

9th November 2006:
Ok, you answered my question about first years and brooms, so just ignore that in my previous review. Lol.

It's 20 to 11 now. I should be in bed. But I got as far as the first sorting chapter, then I had to read the next one to find out what house Ella would be in and then I thought I might as well read the last chapter. I'm going to add this to my favourites.

 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLane The Sorting: Part Two

9th November 2006:
Isabel sounds a bit like Percy-really strict and kind of humourless. Of course she is right not to bend the rules for Ella just because she knows her, but I also think it is unfair to write to Ella's mother when she couldn't and wouldn't do that to any of the other first years. I think she should treat her just like the others. *grin* I wonder will she continue to be annoying, or is she just doing her duty as a prefect? I guess I will find out as the story progresses.

The other thing I really wonder is how putting the two girls in Ravenclaw will protect them. Interesting.

 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLane The Sorting: Part One

9th November 2006:
I always like Sorting chapters. I like the suspense of figuring out where each person will be placed. I bet Ella will be in Ravenclaw too, now. I'm surprised though. I expected them both to be in Gryffindor. No reason why, I suppose. I just thought they would be. Oh, I'm impressed that you wrote a sorting hat song. I had to come up with ways to avoid that in both of the 1st year fics I wrote, because there is no way I could write them.

It should be "Your parents are famous," not "you're parents." You only use "you're" if it is short for "you are". Whenever I am unsure, I say the sentence with "you are" in the place of "your/you're" and see if it makes sense that way.

Ok, I'm going to read the next chapter and find out if I'm right about Ella.

 Report Review

Review #4, by MargaretLane Evil Lies In The Blood

9th November 2006:
The part about Ron being in a punch up with Draco Malfoy really amused me.

In "there might not be any more seats," "any" and "more" should be two separate words.

I really liked Cindy's comment about being thrown to the werewolves. Not only does it fit with JK Rowling's habit of inventing wizarding equivilants (sorry, I don't know if that is spelled correctly) for many of our phrases, but it also sounds like something Draco would say. We all know how prejudiced he is, and it sounds likely that he would use werewolves as a sort of boogyman to threaten his kids with.

One thing that strikes me as difficult to believe is how quickly people trust Cindy. It strikes me as a little unlikely that an eleven year old girl would go on like that about how she is different to her family and how people believe that evil lies in her blood. At her age, it is more likely that she would doubt herself and wonder if maybe her parents were right and she was wrong. I really doubt she would openly call her parents evil. And even if she did, I find it hard to believe that everybody would believe her immediately. The part where Rose tells Ella not to tell anybody except Cindy seems very implausible to me. Surely, the daughter of somebody like Draco is the last person she would want Ella to tell. How do they know Cindy is telling the truth for one thing? And even assuming she is, it's asking a lot of an eleven year old to expect them to keep secrets like that from their parents. She may mean to keep it a secret, but what if she left something slip?

That said, I really like the idea of Ella having a Malfoy for a best friend. It really goes against the cliches. I just think it would make more sense if their friendship didn't develop until after Cindy was placed in Gryffindor or Ravenclaw or somewhere and Ella gradually began to realise that she could be trusted.

Cho and Draco-that's not a partnership I would ever have imagined. This story really does sound interesting and orginal.

 Report Review

Review #5, by MargaretLane She Who Must Not Be Named

9th November 2006:
Oh, now I remember the other thing I wanted to say about the previous chapter: you described Ella as their "oldest and only daughter." Did you mean that she has younger brothers? Even then, it would be better to say "their oldest child and only daughter". If she is actually their only child, then it would be better to leave out the thing about her being the oldest.

Hmm, I'm not sure that Ron and Hermione are very wise to buy a broom of that standard for an eleven year old child. Might have something to do with my having grown up in Ireland in the 80s and 90s when the country was relatively poor, but the idea of buying a girl of that age a broom that is probably meant for professional Quidditch players does not strike me as a good idea, for a number of reasons. Better, in my opinion, to buy her a cheap one that she can mess around on that that it won't matter too much if she damages.

Hmm, the plot gets thicker here. Bellatrix Lestrange wants Ella. I wonder why. And the Death Eaters killed Neville and appeared to disappear then. This gets curiouser and curiouser. You have the beginnings of a really intriguing plot here. I was evidently wrong about Harry being dead though.

I really like the way you have the kids of so many of her parents' friends in different years to her. It always strikes me as a little unbelieveable when all the characters we know have kids of the same age.

Oh, "underestimate" is all one word.

The part about Neville being killed and Luna's reaction was so sad. You portrayed the emotion of it really well. I usually prefer the idea of Luna being unmarried and without children, but I can see the logic behind the Luna/Neville pairing and it does make sense.

 Report Review

Review #6, by MargaretLane The Vivid Dream and an Awaited Letter

9th November 2006:
This story sounds like it is going to be pretty much what I was looking for-a child of canon character or original character starting Hogwarts and their story. It's surprisingly hard to find one that isn't either humour or romance.

I really liked the beginning of this chapter. You started it really dramatically. I figured out pretty quickly that it was the last battle that she was dreaming of. It is very well written, too.

I'm quite intrigued as to why Ella is dreaming of an event that I assume took place before she was born to somebody that is no relation to her. I am also intrigued as to what it is that her parents haven't told her. I suspect Harry may be dead in this story and I am looking forward to finding out the answers to these things.

Just one thing: first years at Hogwarts are not allowed their own brooms. Has that rule been changed since Harry left Hogwarts? If so, I think there should be some mention of it, if it's only Ron saying "of course we had to use those old school brooms" or something. (I'm sure you could think of a better way to put it than that, but you know what I mean).

Good start to the story.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Amilia Navarre The Vivid Dream and an Awaited Letter

2nd July 2005:
I don't. Nothing in your story copied the books. In all the books the Trio isn't even grown yet! Plus your Sorting HAt song was really orginal. I don't think they even read your story!

Author's Response: Hehe, I know what you mean...but, the mods have the power to delete y story, so yeah...

 Report Review

Review #8, by Amilia Navarre The Vivid Dream and an Awaited Letter

1st July 2005:
plagerizing? I don't get it? somtimes MNFF is really strange. Writing there isn't fun anymore but I keep submittiing anyway. Well I hope all goes well!

Author's Response: Yeah, they said I plagerized from the books and just changed the names which is so not true. Do you think I plagerized???

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dracoslove Some Wounds Run Too Deep

28th June 2005:
OMG, yay, i'm mentioned. Will there be any more of me? lol. jk. Great chapter. I hope it gets up on mugglenet soon! Btw, the new story u reviewed was deleted by Janie(mod that hates me). You know, Falling in Love While Watching A Movie. Yeah, i guess i'm going to have to change my screen name AGAIN. I'll tell you if i do. Well, anyhoo, great chapter. Update soon please! ;)

Author's Response: Yes, you'll be mentioned more in later chapters...nonce I figure out what you can do in this stiory, that is. JANINE IS TRULY EVIL!! What does she have against you?? that totlally sucks about changing screenames for the third time now...and i really liked that story to (I cant be bothered writing the title)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Amilia Navarre Some Wounds Run Too Deep

27th June 2005:
YAY! I am soooooo glad you updated! Whoot! Well hopefully it will go up on Mugglenet soo so i can review there. Good job Megan!

Author's Response: Hopefully ... although a mod practically accused me of plagirizing from the books when I sent it in...

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dracoslove The Vivid Dream and an Awaited Letter

12th May 2005:
Hey! The next chapter of Texas Witch is up on this site. not mugglnet though. check it out. ;)

Author's Response: I will! See you there!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dracoslove The Vivid Dream and an Awaited Letter

9th May 2005:
Ok, you need to update. like right now. go....update. lol. Just trying to get to the next chapter! ;)

Author's Response: SoON! Hopefully...

 Report Review

Review #13, by Dracoslove The Vivid Dream and an Awaited Letter

17th April 2005:
Well, again i love the story and thanx for putting me in it. Am i evil? No, j/k you can make me whatever. I can't believe mugglenet didn't accept it because cool is american. I didn't even know that. and for something as small as capital letters. It's a great chapter and i can't wait for the next! :)

Author's Response: well, you might have to wait a bit coz i've wrote about 300 words of it. and i cant believe mugglenet is so strict either! also, i just submitted a one shot about harry and ginny. its sort of divided into two parts, the conversation part, then the romantic part. i really like it, coz its from the heart and all, omg, how stupid did that sound? and yes, you are an evil slytherin in ella weasley. AND you're on the quidditch team. chaser i think if thats ok with you.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Dracoslove The Sorting: Part Two

17th April 2005:
Great chapter! I feel bad for Crystal. Well, i hope you update soon! I love this story!And i can't see why mugglenet wouldn't accept it. What was the reason? Oh, and if you r still adding people to your story...i think i left my desciption on mugglenet. Anywho, if you need anyone evil, i'm your girl. :) You know if Dracos son needs an evil girlfriend or something. i'm her. lol. update fast. :)

Author's Response: i'm putting you in the story, i did see the review, but as a 3rd year coz ive already created al the first year. you'll be in chapter 7, definately. maybe chapter 6, not sure. mugglenet didnt like the excessive amount of 'cool' that i used and its american, not british. also, i put some capital letters where they actually dont belong and stuff like that. Thanks for reviewing, i just started writing chapter 6.

Author's Response: oh yeah, i feel sorry for crystal too...actually tried to base her on neville, but i gave up - she's way more confident and smarter. but her histories sorta like neviles.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Angel_trz The Sorting: Part One

14th April 2005:
wow this is good, you must have worked really hard to get the sorting hats song. well done.

Author's Response: thanks! It did take me ages to create the song. I would go in detail about it but when I did on mugglenet, everyone practically died of boredom. I'm really happy you like it!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Dracoslove The Vivid Dream and an Awaited Letter

3rd April 2005:
I thought i'd review here too. I love this chapter and i hope you update soon! :)

Author's Response: I will - almost finished 5th chapter!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Amilia Navarre The Vivid Dream and an Awaited Letter

4th March 2005:
HEY GUESS WHO! No I'm not stalking you I just thought I would say hi and that I am glad you are doing your story her! (I would have given a signed review but my computers messing up)

Author's Response: HI! everyone else is doing their storys here as well, so i thought why not? but thanks for reveiwing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Meisha She Who Must Not Be Named

28th February 2005:
Nice story. Keep writing. Lotsof luck, Meisha

Author's Response: :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Dracoslove The Vivid Dream and an Awaited Letter

28th February 2005:
Hey! Guess what....it's deatheaterbabe! I'm so happy your story got accepted. I thought I'd be your first review! Btw, thanx for reviewing mine. Oh and I'm sorry your reviews got deleted from Texas Witch on mugglenet! Hopefully I'll have better luck on this site!!! :)

Author's Response: thanks deatheaterbabe or dracoslove, whatever you want to be called...thanks for revewing!!!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login