Reading Reviews for Into the Darkness
  
45 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Standing on the Edge

14th July 2013:
Yay I can use the review challenge to check out some more of your great work!

Ah itís not fair! Even though this was written back in 2005, your writing still amazes me! Your description in both of the sections was excellent and set the eerie air to the story really well. The detail of it added so much to the scene and the heavy, velvet curtains just seem to carry an air of horror so yay for that!

Snapeís internal conflict in this story was really great. Itís such a pivotal moment of his life and I always really wondered what it would be like, so seeing it here was really great. I think the one thing which really made it was his indecisiveness even at the last minute, it made it so much more effective and real.

Dumbledore was wonderful in this, even if he did only have a few lines to say in this they were still all so in character and still so him and it was really great. He always had such an intriguing air and you managed to write it really well here with the Ďmuch to discussí line. Even though I know what will be discussed it still left me yearning to find out what was really spoken about.

Choosing to show Draco was a great decision. He almost acted as a mirror to Snape because he had been in the same position about 16 years before and knew which decision he made. It was just a question of whether Draco would do the same one or not and choose a good life or a bad. Iím not really sure why Iím pondering this as I know the answer but it is rather fun!

The ending of it was great and we got a real sense of what happened and what would lead from it. Sorry this review feels a little rushed, but I enjoyed it greatly anyhow!

-Kiana

Author's Response: This story is SO old! Thank you for reminding me. :P I'm pleased to hear that it still sounds good - I didn't expect to hear "excellent" attached to this story, that's for sure. It was a great moment to write about, though, because it places Snape in a wonderfully ambiguous position - which is where Snape is best suited - and explores a lot of darker themes in that unknown portion of his history. It's something I'd like to write more about if I ever get the time. :D

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this piece of ancient history. What you've pointed out about the story is fantastic, and it's sparking my inspiration to, not necessarily rewrite this story, but pick up these same characters and themes. I love drawing on the similarities between Snape and Draco's role in the two wars, how their naivety and pride swept them up in something much larger than themselves, and neither is actually "evil" enough to carry through with Voldemort's commands (one could easily bring Regulus into this as well). Yet few writers have really explored how these "grey area" characters function within the series.

I'm getting carried away. *hides*

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Siriusly89 Standing on the Edge

14th July 2013:
Hi! Siriusly89 here reviewing for House Cup 2013!

Wow, for a while there I thought the narrator was Peter Pettigrew, you know with all the talk of 'betrayal' and stuff! But its Severus Snape!

And then the insight into Severus during the Second War! I like how you portray that he really hasn't chosen sides-if it came down to it, he'd choose whoever was winning! To be honest, thats my canon for Severus Snape. Sometimes he gets a bit too Gryffindor for me, we have to remind ourselves sometimes that the man was a Slytherin for a reason!

I really enjoyed this one-shot!

Author's Response: Thank you! Haha, I never expected a review for this story, my oldest remaining on the site, but it's lovely to see that you enjoyed it. :D

It's interesting that you thought that Peter was narrating it - I'll have to look back to see. It's probably due to the fact that this story was only edited for HBP, not DH, but you never know - there's equally likely to be an interpretation of this story that I hadn't thought of! Those are always fun to come across.

I agree that Snape does become too "Gryffindor-like", especially in fanon, and it's not only important to also note his Slytherin side, but it's also more interesting. I still want to write another Snape story, this time about his work as a Death Eater - it would be like coming full-circle to return to the themes of this story.

Thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Renfair Standing on the Edge

31st July 2012:
Hi, Susan! I've wanted to read one of your stories since...oh...forever. :) I was scanning your author page looking for a banner with actors from the movies on it for the review challenge at TGS (you did NOT make that easy! Though they're all gorgeous, and I actually prefer banners without movie actors to see how the authors imagined their characters to look, not Hollywood.) Lo and behold I found one that so happened to have my absolute favorite character and about two of my favorite time periods with him. I'm always so interested to read what other writers do with Snape since he's so enigmatic and has so many layers.

So right off the bat I can see why you're a legendary author at TGS. I haven't read as much fan fiction as other people, though the review challenges are helping me out a ton to broaden my horizons, but I find there are usually several types of writers on this site. Some aren't very developed yet, maybe because they're young (and if so, how awesome is it that they're writing?!) and tend to not flesh out their stories or fall into cliche traps, but then there are some like you who I can tell have been doing this for a long time. Straight away you've hooked me with your attention to detail, something I always greatly appreciate. Descriptions like Snape's disdain for Dumbledore's sugary passwords or him commanding the revolving stairs to stop moving (something I never would have thought of myself at all) really make your writing truly enjoyable. I'm already looking forward to reading what else you come up with, especially how you deal with canon events. The writers I truly respect the most are the ones who are able to write brilliantly within canon, even if it's pre-X-book canon since those of us who have been writing for a while kind of got stuck in that respect with our stories sort of ending up AU on us. SO...on to the actual review now that I've rambled your ear off!

"Had he ever tried, he could have been handsome, with a long solemn face, intense eyes, and strong features. But the hardness of his heart was what would keep him from ever being so." --I think this is what every single person who's in love with Snape thinks. He *is* hot! In my mind! He just needed to care about himself more.

Ah, ok. It took me a second to remember that we're pre-DH here, so obviously we didn't know about Severus's true motivations for joining the Order yet. It's funny how quickly we forget that we used to not have all of the answers. I definitely like your reasoning, that he joined because it was simply the right thing to do. That's kind of what I had thought as well because the idea of him being in love with Lily at the time seemed just so stupid to me. I ended up really loving how JKR handled that aspect, but I personally wanted to believe that deep down, Severus was just a decent person and couldn't stomach seeing such atrocities committed in front of him.

"Even years of practising Occulmency could not protect him from the gaze of Albus Dumbledore." --I also always had the idea that Dumbledore would be the only person in the world (besides Lily) who could see through Severus's protective facade. It's cool that we think alike :)

"He reveled in the knowledge he had of both sides in this new war." Sort of like by risking his life, it made him more alive where Voldemort was unable to truly live because he was so focused on preserving his own life. Interesting.

What's also really interesting about this one-shot is that I feel like you never truly proved one way or the other what side Severus was truly on. I think depending on the reader's preconceived notions of Severus's loyalties, it can go either way. You have Severus not wanting to give up Dumbledore's weakness, which could mean he either wanted to protect Dumbledore or the weakness, which we assume is Harry. You have the mysterious She, which most of us would now think is Lily, but at this time it could have meant anyone, maybe a remembrance of Severus's mother telling him to do the right thing. You have Severus say, "This could be his chance to prove to the Dark Lord that he was loyal..." but does that mean that he IS loyal, or that he just wants the Dark Lord to BELIEVE he's loyal? So unless I just somehow missed an obvious clue (I did have my toddler hanging off of me, refusing to nap while I was trying to read this) it seems like you managed to do a very accurate character portrait of Snape without deciding definitively what side he was on.

This was a great read, and I'm glad I was finally able to check out your writing :) Great job!
~Renny

Author's Response: Wow! Ever since I've received this review, I've just stared at it when I should be responding to it. I did not expect to get a review for this story, though once I started reading what you said, it makes sense - it's the only real Snape story I have, one that places him in the starring role, one that's untouched by romance. This reminds me that I need to write another Snape story. It's been so long! The other great surprise was seeing your name on the review! You're one of the biggest Snape writers out there and I'm incredibly envious of your talent in writing him, and for you continuing to write Snape/OC. It's so good to see people still writing it.

What's extraordinary about your review for this particular story is that this is one of my oldest stories - I was only 18 when I wrote this, so for me, it's still from an early-ish stage. It was edited the year after, but all the same, it still feels like forever-ago that I wrote this. But like you said, many of the writers on this site are very young (so young that 18 would sound old to them *shudders*). It's a wonderful compliment that, even when I wrote this story, I was in that second group. :D

Oddly enough, since you mention it, I love to work within canon - the presence of a set structure makes me feel more comfortable I guess. Fanfiction is all about canon - whether you want to break it or go with it, you can't ignore its presence. The best fanfiction for me is the "missing moment" type - those that depict alternate points of view (predominately Snape's, but others too :P) and moments that were left out of the books. I don't like changing things too much, even in AU situations. This mindset does, however, mean that ships like Snape/OC and Snape/Hermione became impossible for me after the last book came out - I'm only starting to think about approaching them again now.

Oh yes, I agree that Snape had the potential to be good-looking, if only he tried more. I've always seen him as an opposite to James (which is what JKR wanted us to see as well, I think), but only in nurture, not nature. James was the spoiled only son - Severus was the only son of an abusive relationship. One grew up rich, the other poor. One was loved, the other not. It changes everything. Lily's influence could only do so much - Severus would have always been in the darkness, even if his nature never quite fit. He was always different, even from the Death Eaters.

Like you, I prefer the idea of Severus not doing everything /only/ for Lily (JKR's emphasis on the love aspect was on the overdone side), but rather because he thought Voldemort was wrong. And if he only did do it for Lily, then what does it say about him? It makes sense in that no one but Lily ever gave him affection, ever gave him anything for that matter, but at the same time, it's very selfish that he only cares about her, whether for her sake or his, when countless others are suffering. As for Snape's loyalty, what I admired JKR for doing was placing Snape in the grey area for so long. His motives are never clear until the very end, and that must have been difficult for her to keep up, especially since she knew how she was going to end it. In this story, I did include shades of Lily (the mysterious She), but I never expected it to actually turn out that way in canon! (Cor_Leonis was the first I knew of to write Snape/Lily long before DH came out). But I did intend to keep Snape's loyalty up in the air, partially because I couldn't decide which way he'd go, and also because it leaves things up to the reader, letting them pick out the clues and decide for themselves. I like to put the reader to work. ;)

I think I'm going to have to cut this response short. *cries* This always happens with the interesting reviewers, but if you want to talk more about Snape, just get in touch with me at TGS or the HPFF forums. :D Thank you again for this amazing review! It means a lot to hear these compliments from you!


 Report Review

Review #4, by stretchthetruth Standing on the Edge

11th January 2011:
I love this, it is so true to the characters!
And also it wasn't what I expected, I guess that no one really thinks about Snape that much when Dumbledore's about to die!
You should turn this into a novel, it's such a good take Snape's emotions, I looked at him a completely different way!

Author's Response: Thank you! It means a lot to hear that I'm being true to the characters - it's often more of a trial that one thinks it should be, but Snape and Dumbledore are pretty complex characters, which makes your compliment even more meaningful. ^_^

It would be interesting to carry this through into a novel, though I don't think I could keep up with Snape for that long a period. There's so much to him that I know I couldn't handle it. :( Unfortunately, as Snape needs more attention from fanfiction in a canon/non-romance sort of story.


 Report Review

Review #5, by alamo_VB_925 Standing on the Edge

30th July 2010:
i love this one shot! best one i've ever read!(: i think you should add on to it and make it into a novel!!!

Author's Response: Really? Thank you very much! It's very old, but it still means a lot that you think so. :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Liam R Standing on the Edge

8th May 2009:
Bah, it's about time I read more of your stories, and now that I have some free time, I thought "well, why not?" So here I am ^_^

Well, that was honestly one of the best one-shots I have ever read. I really did like Snape's inner conflicts in both halves of the story. Whether to go to Dumbledore or not in the first, and whether to take a risk in the second, I really loved that. Snape is a very complex character, and getting into his head isn't as easy as it would be with other characters, so I really commend you for doing that, you made a very good job of it and it was greatly enjoyable to read.

I love your writing style, it all flows so elegantly and brilliantly. Another story of yours in my favourites ^_^

Awesome, Susan. Just awesome :D

Author's Response: Ugh, this is such an old story, Liam! How did you fall across this antique? :P I really can't believe that it's one of the best one-shots you've read, though at the time I wrote it, I was proud of it. Five years ago, haha. But if you like it, then well, I appreciate that very much. My first foray into Snape-dom wasn't so bad after all, I suppose. :D

Snape has fascinated me for a long time because he's such a grey character, never quite white or black, always in between, even now knowing the events of his past as revealed in DH. JKR created quite a character with him, and I enjoy writing him, used to be obsessed with it. ;)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing, Liam. It's always great to hear from you, even on such a story as this. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #7, by TheDirigiblePlum Standing on the Edge

27th February 2009:
:O It was like reading a published book! The way you write this is so convincing and the characterization is perfect! You managed to get Dumbledore perfectly without even making him say much at all.

I felt you got Snape's emotions right. I always love reading Snape because he's alway been a bit of an enigma ... you never really know what he's thinking because of his Occulmency and dark exterior. So yeah! I enjoyed reading him and I think you got his fears and feelings spot on.

I kind of got lost in it, and forgot I was reading. And I mean as a compliment! You know when you're reading a book and you suddenly sort of "wake up" and it's like two hours later or something. That's what the best books (Harry Potter) do. :P

I'll shut up now, but I loved this story! :D

10/10

P.S I did notice one typo... Salzaar ... but I guess I can forgive you. :D:D

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! A review for this story isn't something I expect anymore, it being one of my first on this site, and probably really out of date, canon-wise. But it's amazing all the same that you took the time to read and review it, especially in that you thought it very polished. Thank you! It means a lot that you enjoyed it so much. ^_^

And thank you also for mentioning that spelling error. I made a lot of them back then *points to penname*. Those were the days. :P


 Report Review

Review #8, by inkyheart Standing on the Edge

8th October 2007:
wow!! realy loved the way snape couldnt choose and references to different games! stuck to Cannon! :-)

Author's Response: Thanks very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #9, by brunettesrule Standing on the Edge

28th August 2007:
Well, if this is pre-DH I didn't notice until I read it just now in the summary.

This is the first of your stories I've read and I immediately noticed the descriptions - they're detailed but not too long so as to disrupt the flow of the writing.

"Even years of practising Occulmency could not protect him from the gaze of Albus Dumbledore."
I really like that even Snape isn't spared from the gaze of Dumbledore.

And I also like the bit on the stairway that symbolises Snape's movement between the two groups, that for all those years he wasn't really defined as either and involved in both.

"Yet betraying the old Headmaster, who had been his mentor for years, wrung his heart in a way he had not felt since She had died."
Is Lily the 'she'? It's a subtle bit I hadn't noticed until I read it a second time.

Thank you, I really enjoyed it :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reviewing! I'm relieve that this story fits in with canon - it's been so long since I looked at it last. Lily was the "she" yes, though I made it subtle enough that it could be any woman he'd loved. It's wonderful that you enjoyed this story and all the little things in it. Thank you! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by Andromedatonks Standing on the Edge

15th July 2007:
I really loved your story, especially the first part, even though my view on Snape is slightly different from yours, but that's not to say I didn't love your characterization of him - on the contrary, it was really good, and very deep. And your style of writing is really impressive.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's great to hear that you still liked my characterization of Snape, even if you don't like him. =)

 Report Review

Review #11, by XxxxxxX Standing on the Edge

26th April 2007:
I really liked this, the way that at the end he makes his choice but we are unaware of what it is - personally i am in the 'Snape is good' or the 'There was moe going on that night than met the eye' faction, so i thought it really worked! = D



Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm for "Snape is good" too, because I can't see him as fully evil - there's a lot about him that's too mysterious to turn out being bad. ;-)

 Report Review

Review #12, by xobebeox Standing on the Edge

9th January 2006:
I've actually never put much thought into Snape's decision to join the Order, surprisingly, and here you've done it, and masterfully portrayed the transition from Death Eater to spy. I absolutely loved the details you put into this, and the way you've written. Snape's discussion with Dumbledore was so well written and completely believable. I loved who you made Snape into. The narration really gave a lot of insight into his character. I'd also like to tell you how much I liked the alikening his life with cards, and your similies: like a fistful of sand. Beautiful piece, Violet.

Author's Response: Thanks so very much, xobebeox! Your review was a pleasure to read. Snape is such an interesting character to write - I really get excited at the thought of writing him because he's so complex and intricate. I'm really glad that you liked this story. =)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Drunk Elves Standing on the Edge

10th October 2005:
This is great. Love the banner, too! ~Drunkies

Author's Response: Thanks very much. Heleen does a brilliant job with banners. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #14, by Hiduras Standing on the Edge

28th September 2005:
This was very good! You didn't make a choise telling what side he is on and will be an in the end... it was in character and that is important... I could just hear Snape arguing eith him self like that... I don't understand why you mixed Trelawny into it though.. I don't know why it just seemed a bit half harted... was i¬īt because you wanted to etablish the fact that he was the one who heard her in the Hogs Head? oh and one gramma thing: "For either side to fail would mean countess and unnecessary deaths..." shouldn't it be countless instead of countess?? I am glad I got a chance to read this!

Author's Response: [mistake fixed!] The second half was written about five months after the first, which I suppose would make it sound different, and there's the fact that for the second part, I was trying to follow HBP as closely as I could. Thanks for reviewing this, Heidi, I really enjoy hearing your thoughts on stories. =)

 Report Review

Review #15, by HedwigsHaven Standing on the Edge

21st September 2005:
Wow, well done. Good charecterization of Severus. Can't wait to see your new chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks very much. I'll try to get out the new chapter whenever I have some inspiration. :-P

 Report Review

Review #16, by NachtEule Standing on the Edge

7th September 2005:
Super!!!!!! loved it!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by essenceoffantasy Standing on the Edge

7th September 2005:
Wow, angsty. And you left a cliffy at the end! {btw-i'm reviewing in response to the reviewing game}. Anyways, i really like your style of writing. It's very flowy, but with a good amount of 'decent-sized' words. Very descriptive. good job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. It's great to see how you picked up on the cliffy at the end (how it sort of ties into HBP) and liked how I wrote it. It's a great story to write, so I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by F4L Standing on the Edge

24th August 2005:
*applauds* loved it =) you wrote Snape perfectly.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I do love writing him, so your kind words are very appreciated. =)

 Report Review

Review #19, by space333 Standing on the Edge

20th August 2005:
Excellent first chapter! I'll be sure to read the next ones... I really love the way you portrayed Snape's inner turmoil, especially at the begining when he ponders going to Dumbledore. This is also quite sad when you know what happens next. Brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, space333, for the wonderful compliments you've paid me. Hopefully, the second chapter pleases you just as much, if not more. =D

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ghislaine Arsenault Standing on the Edge

20th August 2005:
I really like the theme of this story, the coin imagery. It's very well written, I think you have a lot of talent. I look forward to reading the next chapters.

Author's Response: The coin imagery was an idea that just came to me, but it seems to suit Severus' personality. Thank you for the wonderful review! It is very much appreciated. :-)

 Report Review

Review #21, by narges Standing on the Edge

19th August 2005:
Ah... very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you. This story first came as an inspiration, then I later added to it after HBP came out. It's taken a lot of work, and I'm pleased to hear you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #22, by ilovedracoandharry Standing on the Edge

6th July 2005:
If I have ever read a story where slow movements and detailed thoughts fit perfectly it was this one. The precision of his movements and the way he made his way slower to his destiny and the moment that would change his life were brilliant. I'm impressed with the way you handled this situation and how you wrote it. Such a story idea could turn out exceptionally wrong depending on the way it was written and I think it takes a lot of thought and care to write it so carefully and cover every point and detail that is relevant to it. The chapter was a little short and the reason I suggest it to be longer was that it was so intriguing to read; another paragraph or two would have done it well but nevertheless and overall it was terrific. The way you depicted Snape's character on the whole and your ability to keep him so perfectly in canon was what made it exceptional, I believe.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review, ilovedracoandharry! You're not the first to comment that it is rather short, but the truth is that I ran out of steam and didn't want to ruin the story by dragging it out. I am glad that you thought my Snape fit canon - I worried that he might have been a bit too overdone. Nonetheless, I thank you for the wonderful review.

 Report Review

Review #23, by LaDorki Standing on the Edge

16th June 2005:
You know, I've never really been one for Snape fics, but I did enjoy reading your's. His indecision made him seem very real, very human. I was kind of hoping it would be longer, but as you're making a sequel, I guess that will be sufficient. =D I really liked this look into Snape's mind, nicely done.

Author's Response: That's what I like about this story: people who don't usually like Snape fics end up enjoying this one. It's very pleasing too see. =D Thanks for reviewing, Chelsey, I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ron Standing on the Edge

9th May 2005:
Yes, please do write a sequel, it would do no justice to just leave this one-shot with a cliffhanger like that. You could also make it a novel length, if you want. Excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I do have a sequel partially written, and I'm trying to maintain the same tone and voice so that it matches this one. It's great to hear that you liked it; this has to be my favourite of the stories I've written here.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Strawcherry Standing on the Edge

4th May 2005:
After your wonderful piece on the Looking Glass fic, it was about time for me to come and check out your work. And to me, there really is no better way to get to know an author than through a Snape-fic :). I have to say, you amazed me with this one. You write a wonderful Snape. From his thoughts to his movements to his speech, all was great. 'With a long solemn face, intense eyes, and strong features, he could have been handsome had he ever tried, but the hardness of his heart was what would keep him from ever being so.' was my favorite line and so true to Snape. I'm so glad you've decided to write a sequel, I can't wait to see more of your Snape! (Of course, I'm going to check out that other story with a banner that had Snape on it as well now, lol.)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Strawcherry! Snape is certainly one of the most interesting characters to write about, as you know, and I simply love writing him. It's so wonderful to hear that you liked this story, it is probably my favourite of my own fanfics.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>