12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Freda_and_Georgina The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

11th August 2014:
Wow! This is the second time I've read this story, but it has just as much of an impact as the first time!

This is such a well-written story, and it captures Petunia so well! She becomes so much more of a sympathetic character when you see things from her perspective; even with her jealous nature.

Great Story!
--Freda

Author's Response: Wow, it's always nice to think somebody enjoys something you've written enough to read it twice. Especially since it's something I wrote a LONG time ago.

I'm pleased I made you sympathise with Petunia to some degree. I kind of feel everybody's behaviour makes sense from their own point of view. If people behave badly, it's because THEY see it as justified or they feel they've limited choice. So I like to explore what might have made the less likable characters become the people they are.


 Report Review

Review #2, by harrypotterfan8187 The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

21st November 2006:
Excellent work. I really could see things from Petunia's point of view. And I really enjoyed reading something about the sisters.

Author's Response: Thanks very much. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Catherine Fitzroy The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

5th September 2005:
This actually made me feel bad for Petunia. I can certainly understand, put through things like this, why she would detest her sister and Harry as well. Petunia was sort of the fifth wheel, the shadow in this story. Come to think of it, this actually would be good to fit with a song like "shadow" by Ashlee Simpson. Sorry random thoguhts there. Now anyway, Lily actually seems to be trying to be friendly with her sister, but her parents are pompous and proud, but Petunia can't really see that it's mainly her parents that are the ones driving the two sisters apart, being so caught up in Lily. Very well writen.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Glad you liked it and that it made you feel sorry for Petunia. I like writing about characters that are sort of vague in the books and giving them more character. Never heard that song. Maybe I'll check it out. Yeah, it is weird the way kids often blame a "favoured" brother or sister, rather than blaming the parents for favouring them. It seems to be the way it often happens though.

 Report Review

Review #4, by crystal allan The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

1st August 2005:
You're right, you're normal stories are less verbose, though I like it both ways ; ) -- Anyway, I loved this one, particularly in the ending how you portrayed Petunia and Vernon's relationship.

Author's Response: I'm really pleased you like my stories. I like it when somebody comes back to read more. *grins* This story honestly isn't one of my own favourites (of my fanfics). I was trying to think of a reason why anybody would possibly marry Vernon. *giggles*

 Report Review

Review #5, by Twix14 The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

31st May 2005:
ooohhhh so sad! sniff sniff...great job

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hallie Dove The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

12th May 2005:
Woah! That's just how I'd imagine Petunia to act. Very creative one-shot. I wish Petunia had stuck with Greg, but then again Greg was too good for her. Lol.

Author's Response: Thanks. Greg couldn't be much worse than Vernon anyway!!!! This was originally intended to be a full-length story, but I couldn't get Petunia and Lily's younger years to come together.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Nina_wife_of _Fres The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

27th April 2005:
=D that was a good explaination of why Petunia might dislike Lily so much ... I liked it! I'm really interested in the whole thing with Lilly and Petunia and I really hope JK Rowling will let us know what happened in HBP!! As for your A/N I'm not really sure - I don't think it sounds too Irish! =D *Nina*

Author's Response: Thanks. The "trying to sound British" bit is difficult for me. I really liked that line though and I didn't want to change it. Glad you liked my explaination.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Wiccan The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

8th April 2005:
You sure have a way of thinking deeply about the'other' people in the Potterverse. I love the way you get inside their heads and hearts to see what motivates them.

Author's Response: I kind of like the idea of writing about people we don't know much about. I only started writing fanfiction quite recently, and to be honest, I never thought I could write about anybody else's characters. My stories are a bit too character-driven. But we know little enough about Petunia and Fudge that I felt I had some freedom to write about them.

 Report Review

Review #9, by steve34 The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

22nd March 2005:
Very good story! I always wondered what Lily and Petunia's home life must have been like to cause such a rift between them. You are really good at putting emotion down on paper. I can see how this could have been a multi-chapter fic. The ending seems kind of rushed. I would have enjoyed learning more about a young Vernon. Good, fun read!

Author's Response: T

Author's Response: To be honest, the whole story was a bit rushed. I don't think I even read over it before I submitted it. It was really just for fun; to see if I could get those 4 words into a story. I know what you mean about the ending. That was meant to be from a totally different part of the story than the rest, but I liked the idea of her marrying Vernon BECAUSE of his hatred of magic, so I stuck it in, even though strictly speaking short stories aren't supposed to skip on 18 months or whatever it was. Thanks for your comments.

 Report Review

Review #10, by trixytonks The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

20th March 2005:
great idea here, i never thought of doin anythin from petunia's POV, so u hav plenty of room to write her the way you want! im afraid im no good to answer ur A/N cuz im irish too! lookin forward to reading more (",)

Author's Response: I was thinking for a while of writing a story about why Petunia hated magic and all, but I couldn't get it to come together as a full lenght story. Then there was a Writer's Duel which asked for stories using the words "tiddlywinks", "time-turner", "Transfiguration" and "telly", and I thought that was such a weird challenge that I could hardly refuse it. The A/N doesn't really matter anyway. I think if it sounded too out of place, somebody would have noticed by now. I often have problems using British English. In "The Son of The Boy Who Lived", I had Hermione saying she's see him St. Stephan's day. Then I realised that being English, she would say "Boxing day", so I had to change it. Anyway, thanks for your comments.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Lucy Locke The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

20th February 2005:
I really like this story. I think that one of the reasons some stories don't get read too much on here is because there are so many to read. Choosing Vernon because he didn't find Lily interesting at all seems like a pretty pathetic reason to marry someone.

Author's Response: Yeah, I guess it is, but it always appeared to me as if she was jealous of Lily and I decided to write a story about why. And it occurred to me that if she was really jealous of her, then she might be impressed by somebody who liked her best. I can't think of any other reason why anybody would want to marry Vernon. He's pretty obnoxious. I'm glad you like it. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #12, by lana The Witch's Sister: Petunia's Story

13th February 2005:
wow your a great writer!!!! after the son of the boy who lived i couldn't wait until you made another story...and i was so happy when i say u did!

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm so pleased to get a review of this story. It's been up about 2 days and nobody reviewed yet. Thanks for the comments.

Author's Response: Actually, I just checked and it's been up for a week. Didn't realise so much time had passed; probably because I was working for the last week and wasn't on the internet so much.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login