92 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Karou_Marauder Promises He Never Should've Made

9th July 2014:
Hiya!

Plot: Ooh, Bill having an affair with Tonks...tut tut. Really, though, it's a bit mean to steal your brother's wife/girlfriend. Having them on an Order mission is a good idea too. One thing - if he's getting a train back, how can he fear for his safe return? Just a little question.

Characterisation: Well, Bill and Tonks are mostly up to the author, though I'm not sure I can see Tonks cheating on someone. She's a Hufflepuff after all, about fairness and such. But anyway, you played it really well.

Description: It was really nice how Bill's thoughts went from maps and the Order to Tonks and their affair. That was a nice touch.

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by charlottetrips Promises He Never Should've Made

30th April 2012:
That was so bittersweet. The thought of Bill and Tonks together and then Charlie and Tonks is something that I havenít ever thought of. I guess Iím just so hardcore Remus/Tonks. The stolen moments that he thought of, the way he was just completely distracted by her is a romantic notion that just makes me sigh and stare dreamily off into space for a little bit. The ending seemed a little confusing to me a bit but if I just let myself think about it I think I got it and understand. This seems to be set in a little AU which is fine because I like the idea of Tonks living in the end.

xChar

 Report Review

Review #3, by socal Promises He Never Should've Made

31st December 2011:
This was a great one short. I never really read bill/fluer. But this was really great, I enjoyed :)
- cheers.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jessiytots Promises He Never Should've Made

6th August 2011:
This is utter brilliance! I just love how suggestive this whole piece is, you're not giving to much away and it gives the reader a lot to think about. There isn't even one word uttered! Tonks/Bill are quite an interesting pairing, much better than Bill/Fleur or Remus/Tonks in my opinion, so the ending is quite an interesting one for me.

It's well thought out, written, has a brilliant flow and is just overall amazing. I just wish it had been a bit longer. C;

Much love, Jess.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I actually really love Remus/Tonks and, if I weren't so annoyed with Fleur, I might even like Bill/Fleur but this piece was actually part of something else. Sometimes, when I feel like I'm over-doing it with sub-plots to the point where it's subtle enough no one else is going to catch it or if it doesn't seem like something that can be handled justly without completely disturbing the flow of the original piece, I break it off into a one shot. That's what this was. I was writing a canon...I think 5th year (maybe) and this just kind of...happened. I tend to keep things pretty consistent from one fic to the next, so the ending of this has always bothered me. I used Charlie for impact but I always meant for it to be Remus in my mind (in my head, it still is him) and you can read a bit of that in Extempore...he always suspects something happened there but it's nothing anyone talks about.

Anyway, I'm done babbling. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by iloveblack Promises He Never Should've Made

30th October 2009:
Hey there! Here to spread the love for HPFFSAD!

Never judge a fic by itís size. Okay, I guess everyone who reads fanfiction knows that but still, I somehow felt the urge to say it.

I havenít read too many Bill or Tonks centered fics (none to be exact) and I was somewhat sceptical when I started it but guess what! Iím now running a search on Tonks centered fics. All after reading this 500+ words one-shot. Itís funny how ísmallí things can change so muchÖ

Now to the proper reviewing. I canít really find anything to criticize and to be quite honest, Iím a huge fan of these no-dialogue fics. I find that at times dialogue isnít strong enough/drags down fics and this was truly beautifully written. I am definitely going to have a look at your other fics!

Antje

Author's Response: Awww, this is so sweet what you guys are doing. All of us mean old staffers can always use a hug once in a while :) Tonks definitely qualifies as a favorite character of mine. She just makes sense to me. and as i've seldom admitted, that may be because I'm seldom more than one or two developmental steps ahead of her :P I have to admit, were I not having so much bloody fun writing Brink and so sure that NaNo will start in 24 hours with or without me I would embark on the novel length bill/tonks that has existed in my head since before I even wrote this :)

In any case, I always appreciate reviews on this story because it is such a tiny thing and it's quite...shall we say, heavy handed, for my general taste. Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #6, by charliesgirl Promises He Never Should've Made

22nd October 2007:
Very good story. However, teasing though it is. I do hope you expand on this. I would love to see Bill w/ Tonks. Not a fan of Fleur

Author's Response: Thank you! To be honest, I never really could have left bill with Tonks. I like Lupin for her too much. Though, to be honest, Bill and Tonks are a pretty close second for me. I think she probably would have had to compromise some of who she is to be with him, though - because I think she is a very free spirited girl, but he's also a very free spirited guy and the way she took Lupin being out of her reach was not exactly well...and i imagine bill would spend quite a good deal of time that way.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Vera_Black_Potter Promises He Never Should've Made

23rd September 2007:
I loved it! (Yes, I know it's unoriginal, but bear with me.)

One question, though. The summary says he has to see her love his brother. Do you mean Charlie? Or is it Remus, who is called his brother in a figurative sense?

Anyway, 10/10. And I love the banner. ^^

Author's Response: *sigh* a complex question. OK, so I know you didn't mean for this to be a complex question, but it is. :) Promises was a spinoff from a really crappy story I wrote called Harry Potter and the Prophet's Star. I've long since allowed it to be used as a guinea pig for a lot of or coders testing and finally deleted it not so terribly long ago. It was popular enough, it was just bad :P BUT, in the spirit of not letting too many sub plots in (because it was my attempt to write current era trio and I kept allowing the grown-up's to ebb in a bit too far) I spun off a sub-plot regarding Bill, Lupin and Tonks to Promises. With that having been said, however, since it was existing on the sidelines, it worked just fine with Charlie in Lupin's place and, mind, this was shortly after the release of OOTP when people thought that Lupin/Tonks was completely insane.

SO...to help ease the transition a bit, I just changed a few words and called it Charlie... Of course, since having it be charlie really doesn't fit into my whole "master plan" of the series, I think I might do a little bit of tweaking all tehse years later to turn it back to what I intended it to be in the beginning.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Pingo Promises He Never Should've Made

19th August 2007:
I really think this is good, but it's to sad.. Heh.. It's sad and realistic.

Author's Response: :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #9, by edenvirg Promises He Never Should've Made

15th August 2007:
Oh, this is wonderful! Short and sweet and beautifully written. But then again, everybody probably already said that. :)

Author's Response: Nevertheless, I'm still really glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by SithHappens1292 Promises He Never Should've Made

30th July 2007:
wow. Interesting but short and to the point. Very good. ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #11, by RupertsPheonix Promises He Never Should've Made

30th July 2007:
Aww. That's short and sweet, but very well done. Superb. I've never heard of this pairing before, but it's rather... lovely. Well done! 10/10!

=) Kate/RP

Author's Response: Thank you! It was actually an excerpt of a fic that no longer exists. I was going to include a sub-plot to that story that I wanted to write but I felt like it would too complicate the existing plotline so it became a one-shot that i've been rather happy wtih ever since.

I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pipperstorms Promises He Never Should've Made

22nd July 2007:
I liked it..very to the point

Author's Response: Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #13, by roxygirl1993 Promises He Never Should've Made

21st July 2007:
I liked it :) I don't usually like to read the one-shots, but this is one of the few that I've liked so far (I just signed up today)
Also.I've been writing my first Harry Potter fan fic, and I think your banners are really pretty. If my first chapter gets validated after you guys get back sometime after the twenty-seventh, I would really like you to make a banner for me. I tried making an account on the banner site, The Dark Arts, but I wouldn't let me! It would lead me to this page that I wasn't allowed to view the page. Can you please help me? Thanks!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. :) As to your banner, requesting one in the review areas is actually considered spam but, you might want to give registering at TDA another try. It's possible that the page timed out on you or that you didn't log in after you registered, etc..

 Report Review

Review #14, by Bianca_Potter Promises He Never Should've Made

16th May 2007:
I didn't quite get it but written beautifully all the same!

Author's Response: :) Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #15, by tiffers Promises He Never Should've Made

29th January 2007:
WOW, awww, that was amazing, very powerful! I am officially in love with Bill/Tonks, or as I as I like to call them Bonks!!! I have always been attracted to this idea of them, but so much stands in their way, because let's face the truth, Remus and Tonks are beautiful together. Yet, seamlessly you made this work, and you made it beautiul, and you left me wanting so much more!

Your imagery is completely amazing, and the story just creates a life of its own! *huggles the story even more* I seriously cannot describe to you how much I am captivated by this one-shot. What is even more amazing is that you took this one-shot that is less than 600 words and built this incredible story! As much as I yearn for more Bonks, this ending is beautiful, and it feels right, and that is a talent in it self! You have done such a wonderful job of creating this plausable storyline, and I cannot tell you how much I love the ending of this story. Beautiful work! *sheds a tear for a job well done*

Author's Response: Wow, there's a ship name i've never heard. :) I'm really glad you liked it and thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by ElissandrAnne Promises He Never Should've Made

9th January 2007:
Wow! That's an amazing one-shot. You faultlessly captured Bill's dilemna. And his feelings and emotions. People say it's cliclé to mention how a presence, a perfume can affect a person who is in love with or attracted to another... I disagree. That's realistic. That's characterization. But maybe some readers don't know that - yet.
Great job!

Anne

Author's Response: lol, you were busy! You reviewed everything I have posted!

I'm glad you enjoyed this one shot. As pieces of fanfiction go, I'm actually relatively proud of this one. I wish I could say I wrote it to flex some muscle or another but, frankly, this fic was an accident - part of a story I have long since deleted, except it would have overcomplicated the plotline and really kind of mucked things up a smidge :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by delta Promises He Never Should've Made

14th November 2006:
Wow. This was really amazing. Very unique and everything. And I agree . . . you really do have quite the eye for ships with the Bill/Fleur. You made me love Bill here and understand his conflicting emotions. This was definitely far out of the mainstream, but that is precisely what it makes it interesting and special. Amazing story.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. To be honest, the further away from fanfiction, the more this becomes my favorite posting. Not that it's something that could ever be peddled in the form of OF either, and, frankly, it's a little to prosey even for my regular tastes, but it was a fun little excersize in branching out and the results have gathered a lot of positive feedback. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Unicorn Girl Promises He Never Should've Made

3rd October 2006:
wow! this story was amazing...I simply loved it. It was such a good use of words.

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by luckistars Promises He Never Should've Made

19th July 2006:
Its so short, and to the point, and its really really good! It really makes me want you to write another chapter!

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #20, by PropMaster Promises He Never Should've Made

18th May 2006:
Short but boy! this sure packs a wallop! I love how you climb into this characters head and peel it open for us to see. I hope I don't sound trite next, but the maturity in this is breathtaking. The young ones just can't appreciate the subtleties of a man torn between passion and duty. Or how erotic the sense of smell is. Thank you for this lovely read.

Author's Response: Awww! I don't check this account quite as often as I should of late! Thank you and I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #21, by dm_hg4ever Promises He Never Should've Made

19th April 2006:
What a great short story! To be honest, this story is the first Tonks fic that I had ever read. Short and sweet. I liked it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. I actually have another story that deals quite a lot in "tonks" - it's called Extempore, but it's nothing like this one at all. I"m glad you liked Promises!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Brooke and Peyton Promises He Never Should've Made

8th March 2006:
very sad but good

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #23, by CrystalClear Promises He Never Should've Made

13th February 2006:
This was an amazingly emotional and touching piece of work. Your choice words were so perfect for the situation which Bill so inconveniently found himself in, it made me ache for his pain and for his regret. You have a beautiful hand at writing, and I consider this one of the best one-shots I've ever read. Fantastic.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Fish and Bird Promises He Never Should've Made

19th January 2006:
An intense piece of writing! Like many authors, I am lumbering my way through a full-length novel at the moment. I read this and I want to try my hand at one-shots. This is far and away the best short fiction I have read. Thanks for an emotionally intense read!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed it and good luck with the big bad novel length, they're horrible and I advise staying away from them at all costs :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Naima Promises He Never Should've Made

22nd November 2005:
Amazing! Beautiful descriptions of his feelings.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>