31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hypercell A Night in the Life of Remus Lupin

25th May 2009:
I cannot wait to read more! please hurry up and update soon! who is Jane? what was with the dream? will we hear more about it?

 Report Review

Review #2, by James and sirius 4 eva A Night in the Life of Remus Lupin

19th August 2007:
love the story wish you were continuing it though

 Report Review

Review #3, by Gilded Sorcerer A Night in the Life of Remus Lupin

20th May 2006:
Mandy, it's almost as though with this chapter you're telling us something, and perhaps it isn't saddening or disheartening at all! I believe the bond between Remus and his father has always been there, hiding under the surface simply waiting to come out, and I can tell by your words here: "Mr. Lupin returned the smile. For the first time in his life Remus saw a little of his father in him, they were more alike than he ever noticed." This is the sentence that defines what I love about this story: it’s of an idea of the most profound nature, of a human bond between two wizards who have simply loved each other without ever knowing it! Baxter is so startled when he finally discovers he can start to love his son, completely and unabashedly, that he finally releases himself from the constraints he has imposed on himself. He begins to openly love Remus, and it has been a love growing ever since the start of this story, and for that matter, since the birth of Remus eleven years ago. It can be seen in the quote above, and again at the very beginning of this chapter, when you capture the harrowing dream that has plagued Remus for several nights. Yet, this dream is so much more than just a common nightmare: it is the foreshadowing of not only the sorrow of being a werewolf, but also the happiness that forming a bond with Baxter will indelibly prove. You once again leave me speechless Mandy, and I can only hope you'll find time to finish this. I absolutely enjoyed reading it. Best wishes, Matt

Author's Response: Matt ~ The bond between Remus and his father is so key to this story…it’s something that Remus is learning as much as he is everything else. I like that about this story, the bond that is slowly growing. Baxter is as childlike as Remus is in this respect – and I think he’s a bit tormented by what he’s missed for the past eleven years. I don’t know that he’ll ever be able to square with his holding the love back for fear that Remus was not a wizard. I think Baxter is guilty, now that he has a foggy view of what he was doing. I truly feel pity for these characters – but I’ve always pitied Remus. How many times did you hear any one of the Marauders says “My Hogwarts years were the best years of my life”? That’s a very short time to be ‘happy’ with life, and as I’ve proven with this story, I think Remus *always* had it a little rough. However, I’m looking forward to strengthening the bond between Remus and Baxter – because it’s there, always has been, but is now being expressed. I really should get to posting more on this piece…I really really should. Thank you Matt, I do appreciate your encouragement! ~ Mandy

 Report Review

Review #4, by Gilded Sorcerer Eleven Years Late

20th May 2006:
Again Mandy, your writing seems to capture me in a sort of omniscient bubble like no other author is able to do, elucidating every detail as it should be. I was contemplating the idea of Remus having a particularly wise mind (or perhaps he's just exceptionally bright for such a young boy), and I seriously debated whether he'd have gotten this trait from his father or his mother. It’s by the way you've described the Lupin family thus far that it seems quite evident to me that both parents are rather intelligent; however, not to sound "Jane Austen-ish," but I think the Jane Lupin in your story is Sensitive, where I believe Baxter is Sensible. LOL, I do tend to draw too much from my past Lit. courses! =)) Especially noticeable in your story is how well this family has matured: this is fabulous to see in plot construction Mandy! You take us from the seriously anxious family dwelling, providing ample history and enough description to suitably explain the life at home, and deliver us to scenes of affection and mutual respect. Anticipation rings loudly as you finally take us to the meeting between Dumbledore and the Lupins, providing a well-rounded setting where our protagonist's impending thoughts of not entering Hogwarts are quickly dispelled. Mandy, to say one last word on your conclusion is what this review is mostly about: it was perfect! I loved how you brought everything together, I can definitely tell you researched some things while writing. As I've watched you grow as a writer here on HPFF, I've noticed that your work has always remained true to the remarkable gift you have for storytelling. This I notice when I look at how you've crafted Remus; it's not just being able to adapt to descriptions of a character read somewhere else, it's being able to also build and enrich upon those descriptions and bring life to a new side of that character. This, Mandy, is what you do best. =)) I'd better go read chpt. 4 now. Matt

Author's Response: Matt ~ Like you are so wonderful at doing your review touched me. This one more than the others though…as you’ve struck exactly what the ENTIRE scope of my writing is trying to accomplish. I’ve said I’m a character writer (I can’t count the number of times), but more than that I’ll like to think I’m a storyteller and I want to fill in the wholes of what other authors skip over (isn’t that what fanfic is all about?!). In this respect I’m curious about Remus and his past as he’s my fav. I would love for JK to announce she’s planning a prequel about the Marauders (I’m not holding my breath, I’d likely die first)…shoot I would have preferred a series about the Marauders (I might be going out on a limb there but if it was all about one Remus Lupin I would be all over it!). Anyhow with that said, I was moved by this review because you commented on exactly what the *point* of my writing is. The Lupin family comes to me easily, they are so simple for me to see, envision and write. (Remus is an intelligent boy, but as you’ve pointed out I’m not sure where he gets it either! Likely a little of both, at least I want to believe that. :-) PS. – you know I take much from my degree and weave it into my writing so like you I’ve taken a good deal from my past classes hehe!) But Dumbledore baffles me. I try to avoid adding him on any level into my stories as his quiet mystique is something I have difficulty capturing. And to be quite honest, from my perspective he sounded very Rhett Butler with the whole – “I came by it though chance” attitude. Of course that’s just because my mind automatically attaches a southern gentlemen dialect to that sort of sentiment…lol, I hope I haven’t slanted your view of the conversation because if you subtract my stubborn stereotype to it then it doesn’t seem as silly. Either way, again I’m surprised at your ability to see what I mean and read what I want people to read. Thank you Matt! ~ Mandy

 Report Review

Review #5, by Gilded Sorcerer Determining the Future of Remus

20th May 2006:
Remus never would have backed down from a challenge, and presenting him as faithfully valiant is truly wonderful Mandy! The realization that Remus will finally be venturing to Hogwarts is ostensibly unnerving to poor Jane, but the calmness and exactness of Baxter's persona commands the respect of the Lupin household *and* of their only heir. A few words must also be said here on your character interactions: they were incredibly powerful, displaying Jane's naturally emotional obstinacy and Baxter's calm, logical, and stalwart attitude at letting his only son have a chance at a different life. Great writing Mandy, you've picked up great momentum for this spectacular piece!!=)) Matt

Author's Response: Yes! Yes!! Again with the you being inside of my head! This “…the calmness and exactness of Baxter's persona commands the respect of the Lupin household *and* of their only heir.” He’s not mean, he’s not aggressive, he’s not even assertive (maybe a little but I wouldn’t call that one of his strong points) yet he still has this odd respect from his family. They are all sort of awkward with one another and poorly affectionate but they are all sort of calm or mild mannered – the extreme of what later Remus is. This chapter is my favorite of all in this story so far because I love when Baxter asks his wife to allow Remus a chance in his world where he *Remus* has no chance in hers. I don’t know why I like that little bit but it was the corner stone around which I based this chapter - and the ‘discussion’ about what would become of Remus.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Gilded Sorcerer Glad to Be

20th May 2006:
Mandy, I cannot say how much I love Remus's character so far! That is why the third HP story is, at least for me, one of my favorites! You have graced with indescribably wonderful words the subtle beauty of Remus's character, and the respectful undertone you have for him is indelibly marked in your writing. I can only say how much I believe you’ve accurately captured the soul of this young boy while brining a smile to my face! =)) I am amazed once again that your fluency and exact descriptions have gripped me keenly into this story, and by your writing I can just imagine the excitement that Remus must have felt receiving this letter of admission for the first time. Something else that was also beautifully depicted was his father's reaction — it was a deep and heartfelt glimpse into the emotions of this guarded man, of a father who only wishes his son was "normal." You have taken an idea (one which I find strikingly complex), and you have supplied it with a spectacular undergrowth, the fruitful blossom that is the making of this story. Finally, there's that well-rounded mysticism in the form of Jane's warning call, and her beckoning to some forlorn news. Mandy, I'm moved to say that I can precisely imagine Remus Lupin being the happiest boy on Earth, for he *is* simply and unmistakably "glad to be." Wonderful start Mandy, keep up the awesome writing!! Matt

Author's Response: Matt! You’ve made it around to the real pride of my author’s page! This is by far my best written work (in my opinion) – I was very careful when writing it and I even worked with an amazing beta on it. I want this piece to be prime…it was my dream and the one piece I took absolutely seriously and strict to canon without straying at all from what we know (knew at the time). Remus! Ah Remus! Book 3 is by far my favorite. I read ahead in book 6 just to make sure he wasn’t the one to suffer a horrible fate (yet) or I was prepared to leave it unread – as silly (and unrealistic) as that was for me. All of this because Remus is my absolute favorite character. Something about his sincerity and gentle way strikes me as real, honest, and just so darn touching! This is my ode to him…my special thank you to JK and it is for all the other Remus fans out there. With all of that said – I put my soul into young Remus…I let myself see through his eyes, walk his steps and feel his pain. This is the one piece I would defend to the end. As I’ve never been a young boy I had to dig back to my past and remember what it was like to be a young girl observing young boys and I took that into account when considering Remus’s way. When I started writing about Remus his family hadn’t come into the equation yet…but then it appeared with startling clarity how this boy could be who he is and a slight reflection of the man he will become though the child and combination of his elusive father. I thank you for seeing in this piece all that I wanted to make clear and bring to life…again – you have a gift for seeing in my writing what I want to portray and I appreciate that beyond anything else. Thank you Matt! ~Mandy

 Report Review

Review #7, by HMS_draco A Night in the Life of Remus Lupin

6th February 2006:
love the story plz update soon xx

Author's Response: Thank you. I have half of the next chapter...now I just need to find the time to write the rest hehe.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Noblevyne A Night in the Life of Remus Lupin

31st January 2006:
The bond between Remus and his father is well written, there's distance and a real, honest love there. You can tell that his father feels responisble for what happened to his son...and in light of what we now know, you can understand. By the way, the attack fits in with what we know of Fenrir Greyback, he's conniving and I could seem him transforming in the yard, acting the innocent. I wonder what happened to Baby Jane...

Author's Response: I really feel sorry for Remus because he's so reserved and has lived such a hard life from such a young age. I just see a little gray cloud hanging over him that won't go away, kind'a like Eyore "I lost my tail...again." But when I started thinking about Remus's young life, and his family, I wondered if it wasn't a learned practice. That was how Baxter came about. He wants to love Remus, but he just doesn't know how...then when he finds out that Remus inherited his magical abilities there is a bond there...a bond that he was sad he missed, yet stil hel doesn't know how to bridge that distance. I wrote this before HBP, and now that you say that I wipe my forehead with the back of my hand and sigh with relief...I wrote something that matched the books! I remember being very relieved at reading Remus's father was the one with magical abilities. Again Noble, thank you...your words mean a lot to me. Worry not, I promise to address Jane in later chapters.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Noblevyne Eleven Years Late

31st January 2006:
A ha, so I was wrong about the McGonagall thing, but I was close! Nevertheless, I love what you do with Dumbledore, he's just right. Interesting little hints at McTavish being a Slytherin, a Black being a Ravenclaw...most intriguing.

Author's Response: You were very close! *whew* I was worried about my use of Dumbledore...I delighted you thought I had him down. Personally I though he sounded a little Rhett Buttler-ish in the "I won it in a game of chance" lol, but maybe only if you hear it the way I do in my head. :-) I really need to go back and edit this up a bit so it matches some stuff in HBP...I really want this one to be as canon as possible. But again, thank you so much for reading this...I really am honored that an esteemed author such as yourself would read this and enjoy it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Noblevyne Determining the Future of Remus

31st January 2006:
I love that nothing can infect Remus' joy, that even when his mother describes him as a killer, he lets it slide off him...the attitude is so perfectly Remus. You really have a talent for description, especially towards the end when they're at Hogwarts, descriptions of Dumbledore and who I assume to be McGonagall that are just lovely.

Author's Response: You're wonderful Noblevyne, just too kind really! Thank you so much. lol, I had nearly forgotten about this story. I was so passionate about it when I started but the size of the project weighted down on me...I really should pick it up again...I really enjoy writing Remus whether young or old...I just love him. I blushed at your compliment of description...I really appreciate your words. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #11, by WolfChild A Night in the Life of Remus Lupin

2nd June 2005:
Finally, an update! I was getting a little worried. It was a good chapter, I like the little father-son bonding going on. A little advice: it took a while to figure out what was going on at the beginning of this chapter. It was unclear that it was simply a dream and it seemed out of place. Then it seemed a little unclear of where the dream ends. Perhaps you could italicise the dream. Other then that it was was great!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I've been going through the books again to see how things looked from a 1st year perspective. I corrected the dream sequence with italics. I hope to be writing on this piece again very soon. Thank you for your support and your reviews! I truly appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by maggiegranger A Night in the Life of Remus Lupin

30th May 2005:
Great addition Jo! I was really descriptive what happened to Remus..I thought it may have been a flashback. It's interesting knowing that the werewolf who bit him knew his father. It was very like Remus to call out the name Jane when he sensed there was danger. You really captured this chapter perfectly. Wonderful job..! -Maggie

Author's Response: I am always so glad to hear from you Mags! Thank you for the review...I hope to never disappoint you!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Violet Gryfindor A Night in the Life of Remus Lupin

30th May 2005:
Oh, this is wonderful, Joela! You portray a young Remus perfectly - a sad, yet serious, boy. The dream he had was intense and it shows why he was later put into Gryffindor because he saved his friend from the werewolf. It's great that you've updated this story, it's really well-written and enjoyable to read. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am truly flattered that you enjoy this story. I hope to get around to an update soon!

 Report Review

Review #14, by maggiegranger Eleven Years Late

21st May 2005:
Great addition! You captured Dumbledore wonderfully.Not treating Remus as a child when his mother wanted him to leave the room...brilliant. Can't wait to read more! -Maggie

Author's Response: Maggs - thank you...I truly hope you continue to enjoy this story.

 Report Review

Review #15, by maggiegranger Determining the Future of Remus

21st May 2005:
Great chapter Jo. Incredible descriptions. You make it so easy to imagine your characters and the setting which they're in. You decribe a eleven year old boys thoughts perfectly. Keep it up! -Maggie

Author's Response: Again, thank you for reviewing. I'm glad you are enjoying.

 Report Review

Review #16, by maggiegranger Glad to Be

19th May 2005:
Excellent opening Jo! I aodre the way you write..with such detail and extedned vocabulary. This chapter flows quite nicely. I like the apporic you're taking to show insight into Lupin's childhood and the trials he faced which molded the man he becomes. Can't wait to read more.. -Maggie

Author's Response: Maggie! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! Extendned vocabulary, that was a very nice thing to say! I'm very glad you like it. I hope you know that I hold your oppinion in very high regard so I am very glad to see that you are enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ron Eleven Years Late

13th May 2005:
You portrayed Dumbledore perfectly-not one thing was OOC about him. And, once again, the descriptions failed to impress me. Great job. By the way, this story is going into my Favorites. =D

Author's Response: I had a really tough time writing Dumbledore and I was terrified he came out sounding bad. He's one of those characters that is intimidating to even attempt to write. To hear that I did a good job and, more importantly, that he was not OOC is music to my ears - I'm simply delighted. Thank you so very much!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ron Determining the Future of Remus

13th May 2005:
Once again, your descriptions are nothing short of excellent. But watch out for your commas, because I spotted a few mistakes in the chapter. Otherwise, everything's fine.

Author's Response: Again, thank you for the kind words of hope. I appreciate the time you took to let me know what you think.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ron Glad to Be

13th May 2005:
Excellent first chapter. You portrayed Remus' emotions excellently, and I can picture his parents in my mind. The descriptions were perfect, and I spotted no mistakes. Great job.

Author's Response: I am very glad to see that you agree with my repesentation of Remus's young life. I am also very thankful for your review; so thank you. As long as you keep reading, I'll keep writing.

 Report Review

Review #20, by WolfChild Eleven Years Late

5th April 2005:
Wonderful story so far, I really love it! The way you portray Remus and his family is flawless. I can't wait to see what happens when he goes to Hogwarts and the rest of the Marauders come into play. One little suggestion about the title of this last chapter. The part about "Too Late," seems to have a negative connotation to it, sounding as if Remus doesn't want his father affection now, but I really don't think that's what you're aiming at. Perhaps something like "Eleven Years Late," or "Late Eleven Years" would be more appropriate. But this is simply a suggestion, just a small thing that I noticed. I can't wait for another update!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I agree with your accessment of the chapter title, I will definitely be changing it. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Sophia Montgomery Glad to Be

1st March 2005:
That's sad... Lupin really has a sad childhood.

Author's Response: He did have a sad childhood, but I think his childhood had a big impact on making him the noble man that he becomes.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Violet Gryfindor Eleven Years Late

13th February 2005:
Another wonderful chapter! You've outlined the conditions of Remus' attending of Hogwarts that were laid out in PoA, giving a deeper background than was done in the book. There were a couple minor spelling mistakes, but other than that, it's a great story, and I'm eager to read the next chapter! :-)

Author's Response: Again, thank you for reviewing. As long as I have readers I will keep writting. :-)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Violet Gryfindor Determining the Future of Remus

13th February 2005:
Great chapter! You've captured Remus' personality perfectly and his parents suit him just as well. This story explains a lot about Remus' past and it's wonderful to read. Please keep writing, I can't wait to see how you'll handle Remus meeting the rest of the Marauders. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review, and I am very relieved that others can see the way his parents 'fit' him. I was aiming to have people see how his family/childhood influenced the man we know him for. Again, thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by timeturner Eleven Years Late

6th February 2005:
You’ve done a great job capturing this elusive family relationship. Quite unique and an excellent handle on a character we don’t know very well. Remus seems a little patchy in his thoughts…strong and intelligent one minute, childlike the next. I’m not sure if this is intentional or not. Your grammar and syntax are fine, and your dialogue flows nicely. I would like to see a little more physical description from you about the setting to help round out the fic, though. Good work!

Author's Response: I will definitely try to add more color in description. I know chapter three was quite a bit of dialogue. I owe the flow, grammar and smooth dialogue to a wonderful beta reader; however, I am glad all the work she and I have put into this story is noticable. As for the patchy-ness of Remus's thoughts that is intentional. He is a wise child, wise beyond his years...yet he's still a child so he still thinks like a child (ie the grounding mom thought) - he doesn't have full understanding of the world but he still reasons it out as much as he can manage. I hope that made some kind of sense - the bottom line is...it is intention. I'm very glad it can be seen; yet I hope it doesn't make the story unrealistic. Either way, I very much thank you for the kind and critical review...I appreciate the suggestions and I shall keep them in mind as I work on future chapters. Your review is very much appreciated! Thanks again! ~Jo

 Report Review

Review #25, by MaUrAuDeRmAn Determining the Future of Remus

30th January 2005:
oh wow this story is absolutely fantastic! You have portrayed to me a side of Remus that I never knew coudl exist, people usually write stories about him at school or somewhere with Harry, but you, you have depicted his life before Hogwarts, a time that (as u and i can imagine) would have been horrible. I mean living in suburbia as a werewolf would have been really weird. This was an excellent two chapters and I beg you to continue on please inform me when you have updated and keep up the good work!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for having a look at my story. I'm very glad you enjoyed it. I really hope you will enjoy the coming chapters as much as these. I have always pittied Remus - he seems to have had a really rought life. I believe that his personality came a lot from his childhood, so I wanted to focus on the relationship with his parents and how that influenced him as a person. I am glad you think I've captured that. Again, thank you for the wonderful review - I really appreciate it! ~Jo

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>