Reading Reviews for Mrs. Crouch's Gift
  
65 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ginerva_molly_weasley Mrs. Crouch's Gift

17th July 2013:
I had heard and reviewed this as a podcast such a long time ago so when I saw the story I was really glad to come and check it out again!

I love that it is about a mother's sacrifice for her child. Her gift is her life for his life which is something any mother would do, almost in any circumstances. Here is is heartbreaking as she knows she is never going to leave and she knows that her son is going to be hiding for the rest of his life.

I love the emotion here and it is truly haunting as you see her going into the Azkaban prison. Everything happens so suddenly and that makes it even darker but more interesting at the same time.

It was a lovely well written piece!

 Report Review

Review #2, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Mrs. Crouch's Gift

7th September 2011:
This was absolutely wonderful to read! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by JLHufflepuff Mrs. Crouch's Gift

28th June 2010:
I like the way you depict the effect of Azkaban on Mrs. Crouch's morale. She knows she is giving a gift she wants to give, but it chips away at her. The phrase "Daylight never comes to Azkaban" just sticks with me for some reason. This is a really poignant tale.

 Report Review

Review #4, by SimplyStupified77 Mrs. Crouch's Gift

24th May 2010:
great one shot! poor women, she was really brave

 Report Review

Review #5, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Mrs. Crouch's Gift

31st October 2009:
Firstly... Happy HPFFSAD! I'm a day late, but it's better than nothing.

I really liked how you made the setting and Mrs. Crouch's mood one and the same. The mention of daylight never coming to Azkaban was chilling. The way you made the Dementor's combined power so strong that she lost her memory in just a few minutes. And, by having her only remember her gift proved that deep down she really was a loving mother who cared more for her son's life than her own. Your description was amazing, haunting. The atmosphere was stifling.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jane_Volturi Mrs. Crouch's Gift

18th July 2009:
That was very well written, and very beleivable aswell. Intersting choice for a fanfiction, i quite enjoyed this one-shot, you stuck to the canon very well, and yor use of adjectives were impressive. You had very good descriptive language so i had clear pictures in my head. the only problem was commas, i think you used them wrong in some places, everyone misuses them at times without even noticing, your fanfiction was still very good, i loved it, 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by hogwarts_author_cs Mrs. Crouch's Gift

31st January 2009:
ooh... very well written and very creepy!! i liked it a lot.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by emerald_nellie Mrs. Crouch's Gift

13th March 2008:
This was really interesting. I've never read anything from Mrs. Crouch's point of view before. It was nicely written and slightly haunting. I wouldn't have minded it being a bit longer though, I really enjoyed it. Nice job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by norapotter Mrs. Crouch's Gift

8th October 2007:
Wow! You have such a fantastic style. I really love how smoothly this went. From her walking towards the prison to her demtia. You really did that smoothly. And that worked perfectly I really loved this.

And the descriptions. I had such a clear image in my head and you even gave the reader emotions just from the images you gave. Much like how the lighting in a movie sets the mood, or trees rattling or waving changes the feeling you leave the reader with. Great work.

I loved this opening paragraph, "The drizzling rain had seeped into her bones. Even her long woolen cloak could not keep the bitter wind from surging through. Not that the weather mattered. She was dying and a little cold wouldn’t make much of a difference with that diagnosis."

It made me feel cold and wet and bitter, just like your character. This made it easier to sympithize with her.

And her insanity from Askaban. That worked well. I love how here subconcious thoughts are revealed. To show us that she still knew, somewhere deep in there that she was sacrificing her self for the love of a child. That is beautiful.

This was really fantastic and even from this short glimpse I can tell that you are a brilliant writer. At the next possible moment where there is even a short break in my schedule I am going to read more of your work. But I already know that I am going to love it and I can't wait for that break. What a lovely break it will be.


Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by joojoo Mrs. Crouch's Gift

6th October 2007:
Again and again, you do this to me, timeturner.
I'm like this, if you wanted to know:
:O
Honestly, the sure sense of knowing at the start that Mrs. Crouch has, the want to do something for her son, slowly but surely fizzling out into uncertainty and nothingness. The ending was abrupt, but perfect that way. Simply amazing, though I wouldn't ever expect anything less.
Gobsmacked,
joojoo
P.S: I feel really bad about posting this here and all, but I would love it if you could read Morocco. You don't have to, but it would be much appreciated all the same. Sorry for being so horrible and asking you in your own review, though.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SYN Mrs. Crouch's Gift

12th July 2007:
That's so sad. the ending is a bit hazy but it was good.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by cookiemonster Mrs. Crouch's Gift

7th July 2007:
I really liked your description of Azkaban. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by LovlyRita Mrs. Crouch's Gift

28th May 2007:
This was a great story. I haven't seen one like this, and I looked at the date- it's pretty old!! The only story of yours that I am familiar with is The Present, which I am sure you intended since it's so heavily promoted, hehe. I really love your style of writing though, and I'm excited to see what else you have up your sleeve.

This particular storyline is one I haven't read, but i'm sure that it was visited after the fourth book was released. It was well thought out and,of course, well written, not that I would expect anything less from you!!

Vote for team Hollow!

Author's Response: lol...yep, I hide this one at the bottom of my author page :P Talk about a new writer back then :D And points added!

 Report Review

Review #14, by hogwarts_girl_5 Mrs. Crouch's Gift

10th February 2007:
i dont get this!!

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Kal Mrs. Crouch's Gift

20th December 2006:
Great story! capturing the essence of Azkaban in such a short story. However, I would have thought that the dementors would bring about more pain and suffering. She was out of her mind, but pretty much unharmed.

However, for the size of the story, great way to capture so many feelings.

Author's Response: Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by The_Dementor Mrs. Crouch's Gift

25th May 2006:
this is awsome i love it

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Yuu Mrs. Crouch's Gift

15th April 2006:
This was very good! I enjoyed the intense emotion you placed into it. Never thought I'd see a one-shot like this one. I like to read fics with minor characters that no one would ever consider. Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Yuu!

 Report Review

Review #18, by andharrywokeup Mrs. Crouch's Gift

13th April 2006:
You use a few words sparingly to write something amazing. I loved Sirius at the end -it was him right? Very well done.

Author's Response: Yep, it was Sirius. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Pierce Mrs. Crouch's Gift

10th April 2006:
Short but great, you say a lot with few wrods

Author's Response: Thanks, Pierce!

 Report Review

Review #20, by MargaretLane Mrs. Crouch's Gift

2nd February 2006:
Really good story. It never even really occurred to me to wonder how Mrs. Crouch might have felt about spending her last few months in a place like Azkaban. The fact that she is angry is really interesting. It makes sense though. Even though she CHOSE to do it, it is understandable that she would be angry at having to spend the rest of her life somewhere like Azkaban for a crime somebody else committed. You have me wondering about whether or not she believed her son guilty. We know her husband did, but we have no real idea what she though. If she believed him guilty, she was probably angry at him, no matter how much she loved him. And if she didn't, I guess she would be angry about the way things had turned out. And this is really well written. I can't believe how well you have described both Azkaban and Mrs. Crouch's feelings in only 578 words. I didn't really think it was possible to write a story in that few words; certainly not a good one. I am really impressed by the way you evoke the atmosphere. One of my favourite lines is. "Then, with a dreaded thought, she remembered: daylight never comes to Azkaban." Reading that, I could understand how horrible it would be to know you will never see daylight again.

Author's Response: Wow. What an amazing review! Thanks so much for reading this so carefully and I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you again for such a thoughtful and remarkable review.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Noblevyne Mrs. Crouch's Gift

24th January 2006:
Oooo, creepy. Azkaban fics are great. I love her loss of self and the range of emotions you've given to such a little known character. But she is a mother and this is her role, she feels responsible and bitter because of that. Great stuff, Linda

Author's Response: Thanks so much, dear.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Fish and Bird Mrs. Crouch's Gift

20th January 2006:
The greatest compliment I can pay this wonderful piece of writing is that is the most original that I have read. Sure, lots of authors write dark material, angst and sacrifice and they write it well. Your piece manages to take a tiny fragment of the canon and turn it into a very real and very believable episode. It made me shudder, though!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I really do appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by HermioneG Mrs. Crouch's Gift

6th January 2006:
Poor Mrs Crouch, the end is so sad. Good story with much description.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Anastasia Mrs. Crouch's Gift

4th January 2006:
Oh my God...What an incredible story! Here is my review:
First of all, I'm glad you wrote about Mrs. Crouch. She's never used as a character by authors. That shows your creativity Linda. Secondly, I adore the haunting feeling of this fic, given of course by Mrs. Crouch's point of view. I like it that you write she was angry and had doubts for taking her son's place in Azkaban., Ingenious, as it shows her selfish side, which all humans possess. Of course, you referred to her feeling she did it for a noble cause, her child's freedom, but it was really inventive to emphasize her anger at having to sacrifice herself. The sacrifice gets much more meaning by describing the sickening atmosphere of Azkaban --then we understand the sacrifice is difficult for Mrs. Crouch. But the repercussions truly hit me in the end, where Mrs. Crouch seems totally lost amidst completely lost people. Incredible story from a creative writer. Well done Linda. I can give you only praise for this story --there is nothing wrong. ~ Anastasia
I hope my review was OK, I'm still working on my reviewing skills! Please if you have time, check out my stories. I would so appreciate your reviews on them!

Author's Response: Your reviewing skills are great! Made me smile all over :) You've really pegged my intentions with this story so I thank you for reading so closely. I appreciate it and all the kind words you gave me. I'd love to check out your stories, please drop me a pm or email and I'll get over to them as soon as I can.

 Report Review

Review #25, by sauerkraut_poet Mrs. Crouch's Gift

6th December 2005:
This fic caught my attention immediately on your authors page - I'm always so intrigued by minor characters, and you've done a wonderful job with Mrs. Crouch. Although, I suppose, in the end, it's really about the dementors, isn't it? I almost wished you had gone into more depth about Mrs. Crouch's feelings for her son, and why she was motivated to make such a sacrifice, but I'm actually glad you didn't. You've infused the issue with such a beautiful simplicity - that there was no real choice for Mrs. Crouch; this is just what a mother does for her son, without questioning or even thinking about it, just like Lily sacrificed herself for Harry. It's such an original take on the dementors' effects on people as well. Such a masterful transition from Mrs. Crouch thinking clearly about her mission, to not even remembering who her son was. Her anger was an especially unusual touch, and I loved it. The ending, also, was just so chillingly perfect. As always, beautiful choice of words. I just have to quote this sentence: "The ghostly gray pillars stretched high into the sky." Breathtaking use of imagery there. Usually, a fic of this length would be too short for my taste, but, as in your other fic, it's so complete in itself that I don't feel like I'm missing anything. You have a gift for fitting an incredible amount of meaning into a small amount of words. Great work!

Author's Response: What an absolutely wonderful review...I do apologize for not responding sooner as well. This fic rarely gets any attention ;) I did consider doing something more broad...like a lead up to her decision and then decided it would perhaps take away from the overall effect of the one shot. I'm glad to know her reasoning came through for you without me having added that back story and explanation. You know, when this first came out, I had a lot of really really confused readers about what was happening with her...I'm so glad that you were able to see the effect and change was intentional throughout the story as the character changed. I really appreciate the comment about the length. That especially, is something many people criticize some of my one shots on (this and Autumn & Ashes particularly) but I am of the mindset that sometimes letting the reader's imagination fill in what you don't say is sometimes better than giving them everything. Thanks so much for such a great review and again, I do apologize for the delay! Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>