Reading Reviews for A Broken Man
  
52 Reviews Found

Review #1, by emmykat113 A Broken Man

1st May 2009:
That was a good story. please write some more! Definitely 10/10

 Report Review

Review #2, by White_Dragon A Broken Man

22nd January 2008:
Angela,

I know this is one of your older stories, but I like to get to know an author through their one-shots first. I like the feel of this story very much! Time will tell me if this story is truly reflective of your style of writing, and I hope it is. If so, I am definitely hooked!

The shifting back and forth between memories and current events was very comfortable. If the chapter had been longer, it might have been a little bit too much, but as is, well done!

I've not read that many Marauder stories, as frankly, I don't care much for the way James was portrayed back in the younger days, both in the books, and the movies (to date). Although as adults, Sirius and Remus are both interesting characters. Your portrayal certainly adds to Remus, and I thank you for that. This story feels very comfortable to me!! Well done!

10/10

--Jim

Author's Response: Wow, thanks Jim! This was unexpected! You can't see me but I have the biggest smile on my face right now!
As for adressing what you so kindly mentioned I like to think I write better than this now. Not differently, but a little smoother and maybe (I hope) with a bigger vocabulary.
I also usualy turn to fanfiction for good portaryals of the marauders, who, as character, I absolutely adore. And to hear you gain new appreciation for any of them through my words is the biggest compliment I could ever hope for.

Thank you so much.

Angela


 Report Review

Review #3, by Rose Wilts A Broken Man

8th January 2008:
Wow. That was utterly amazing. With that great twist at the end, and subtle hints all the way through. I acctually laughed out loud at what James and Sirius wrote on the back of the photo. I was a nice bit of comic relief. Simply wonderful. 10/10!

Rose

Author's Response: Wow thanks Rose Wilts!! I haven't had a review on this in forever that was such a nice surprise : D Thanks for taking the time to review, I so appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Labby A Broken Man

5th June 2007:
Wow, that was amazing! Not much more I can really say about it. Great job... and I hope to read more of your stories.

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you enjoy whatever else you should choose to read : )

 Report Review

Review #5, by Skye A Broken Man

14th May 2007:
Amazing, beautifully sad. I loved how you twisted the "he's at Hogwarts..." thing. You portrayed Remus and Sirius wonderfully. 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you, I couldn't ask for more in a review : )

 Report Review

Review #6, by secret_witch A Broken Man

13th February 2007:
Excellent story.

 Report Review

Review #7, by lupa_mannera A Broken Man

7th February 2007:
WOW. This was WOW. Remus wanting to HURT Sirius for what he had done, and Sirius using Moony as his motivation to escape Azkaban...very powerful. Going through those photographs and the juvenile notes left by the Marauders was very emotional and true to their characters.
Excellent job. ~12/10~

Author's Response: Thanks! I wasn't sure how Remus would feel exactly but the best I could figure there would be some pent up anger and bitterness.

 Report Review

Review #8, by MyRemus A Broken Man

15th December 2005:
Who knew that a fan fiction so short coul convey so many pure and raw feelings? Great job, I'll be sure to read some of your other work.

 Report Review

Review #9, by CJ_Black A Broken Man

5th September 2005:
I was just checking the review page to see if you had answered my review. Only that...there was no review! I thought "No way, this is impossible"! I DIDN'T REVIEW YOUR STORY?!? Well, that's what the page says. So, I'm so, SO sorry I didn't review earlier, I swear I wanted to, this was so wonderful, one of my favorite stories (it's on my favorites' list)!!! It was great, the way you described Moony's feelings and everything! It was very realistic and very well done! Congratulations! You got a straight A! Actually, change that! Make it an A+!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much! I hope it didn't take me too long to respond, I haven't been here in a while. Your praise is greatly appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Rebekka A Broken Man

14th August 2005:
Oh me god, this was... it sucked me in immediately and wouldn't let me go until the very end. It was so good. The ending was perfect, more reason behind Sirius' escape. Wow, excellent storytelling... My only critic is that you used once 'than' when it should have been 'then'. :) I'm speechless. Nothing I could say, gives enough credit... I just loved this. Very much.

Author's Response:

Author's Response: Oops, I accidentaly pressed respond when the box was empty! But anyways, thanks so much for your kind comments, they are very inspriring. It's because of reviewers like you that I can write stuff like this. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #11, by The Twins Rule A Broken Man

11th August 2005:
*sniffles* Way to make someones heart ache! aww im all sad now... but i loved every minute of it! :D

Author's Response: That I am glad of = )

 Report Review

Review #12, by BlackPirates A Broken Man

6th August 2005:
again...u write another amazing story! keep it up! i'd like more to this story, btw, if its possible!

Author's Response: I may, someday, if I do I will be sure to let you know.

 Report Review

Review #13, by nomikkin A Broken Man

31st July 2005:
bravo my dear. i must say you did an awesome job. it was beautifully depressing. kind of like a wilting rose or something. there a delicate touch to it all. i love it. so this is definitely going down under my favs! great job, keep it up! much love! ;) ~nomikkin

Author's Response: Wow thanks nomikkin! I honestly didn't expect any reviews at all but this is great! Much love! =D -Angela

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ghislaine Arsenault A Broken Man

21st July 2005:
I really loved this chapter. I like the way you write Remus' emotions, and just how fragile he is. That's what really attracted me to the character in the beginning, and you write it very well.

Author's Response: Thanks! I like you're story of him too!

 Report Review

Review #15, by forsakenphoenix A Broken Man

13th July 2005:
First off, I love your banner. It's gorgeous and the colours really do convey the emotions in the story (the dark, sadness type). I enjoyed reading this because you, like me, enjoy torturing dear Mr. Lupin. I liked the memories that Remus remembered, and just the little details. The photograph of Sirius and James made me laugh because the comments they made are so them. I pity Remus because it must hurt to lose all your friends and the fact that he remains strong despite the tough hand of cards he's been dealt makes him such a tragic figure. You really conveyed the tragedy behind Remus Lupin. I was glad to see that you wrote his thoughts on Sirius being the best man and godfather. It's obvious, though, that James was closer to Sirius, but I do understand the jealousy and hurt that Remus must have felt. The poem!! It was so sad, but it fit Remus' character very well. I loved how you tied everything together with Sirius escaping from Azkaban. I'm not sure if you meant for it to sound like it, or if it is meant to sound like it...but when Sirius says, "He's at Hogwarts" in your story, instead of thinking of Peter, I'm thinking that Sirius means Remus and that he needs to get to Remus at Hogwarts in order to save him from death. I might be interpreting it wrong, but that's just the impression I got when I read it. There were some grammatical errors that I caught, but my reviews long enough without pointing them out, and it's not as though they removed me from the story so much. Well done, Angela! (That's my sister's name, by the way! xD)

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much! And you got it exactly write, I'm glad it was clear to you about the whole 'he's at Hogwarts' thing. And I love your Remus stories! As for the grammatical errors, I'm currently searching for someone to maybe help me with this, so that should be fixed soon. And as for your sister, she must really rock if her name is Angela!! = D

 Report Review

Review #16, by Wicked Vixen A Broken Man

4th July 2005:
Ok, That was just amazing. (I share the same views as you on Remus's feelings.) Anyways, keep writing. As another person noted- you seem to have a gift for it.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's good to see someone sees Remus the way I do!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Impedence A Broken Man

2nd June 2005:
Amazing, no other words for it, please write more one shots!

Author's Response: Thanks! Though I don't have any more planned your review is appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Entropy A Broken Man

12th May 2005:
I loved how you connected that with the stories, and put in every little detail. It all seemed so real, so sad. I cried when I read this, a very powerful piece.

Author's Response: Wow thank you! I'm glag people are noticing my first attempt at aone-shot!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ron A Broken Man

8th May 2005:
Very creative. It showed how neglected Moony felt when Sirius kept being chosen over him. I never realized that before. And the ending...the ending was truly amazing. Thanks for making me depressed xD

Author's Response: Haha, you are very welcome!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Phoenicia Black A Broken Man

3rd May 2005:
WOW!!!! I can't find any other words for it. So moving... so emotional. So Remus. Thank you.

Author's Response: No...Thank you : )

 Report Review

Review #21, by Violet Gryfindor A Broken Man

20th April 2005:
Wow. I'm speechless. This is an amazing one-shot. You've captured Remus so incredibly well in that moment with his thoughts and reflections. Having him as a poet fit perfectly as well, and the poem was beautiful and sad. I like the way that you have him in the moment that he was asked to become DADA teacher, and his thoughts and memories associated with that moment. Beautiful one-shot!

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! This was my first atempt at a one-shot and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by MaUrAuDeRmAn A Broken Man

30th March 2005:
I had to give you another review I love this story!

Author's Response: Thanks : )

 Report Review

Review #23, by MoonyGirlFan A Broken Man

26th March 2005:
my name explains it all and I give you a big fat 10! (out of 10)

Author's Response: Thanks you are so inspiring!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Chieko A Broken Man

26th March 2005:
Amazing. You fit everything in beautifully, and I really liked being focussed on Remus, he was always one of my favorites. Two words for improvement: write more.

Author's Response: Two words for you: thank you.

 Report Review

Review #25, by velvet A Broken Man

18th March 2005:
wow, that's all i can say, wow. wonderfully written, this is such an amazing story, i'm so jealous of your writing style. The part at the end, 'he's at hogwarts'...was very well done, it makes you stop and think. Yay, i think you deserve many many reviews, and i hope that you write lots more stories on the marauders! I am a proud canadian citizen too (alberta, yay!), and i mean who wouldn't want to be canadian, right? They'd have to be crazy. Anywho, enough about where i live...cough.....great great job on this brilliant one shot, i love you!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I love Canada too! : ) I'm glad you enjoyed this I hope the weather in Alberta is as nice as it is here in MB!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>