Reading Reviews for Remus's Secret
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MEW Remus's Secret

14th April 2014:
are you secretly JKR...? you can tell me I won't tell anyone...
this fanfic comes the closest to JKR's writing ever...

 Report Review

Review #2, by Gryffindorseeker4 Chapter 4

11th March 2012:
Good, well-written story :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Kimico Chapter 4

2nd February 2010:
Remus is like, my favorite character in harry potter and i'm realy glad that someone wrote a story from his POV. I never thought about Remus being a kid, he was always the thoughtful adult to me. Now I see him in a whole new way.

Author's Response: Really, Remus is my favorite character too and that's why I've thought about all stages of his life from childhood on. Marauder stories were kind of my niche genre until I started my novel series.

Glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Aalyiah Elddir Chapter 4

27th December 2009:
Awesome story which i read a few months back but didn't review, one can't message another on hpff so I decided to use a review to do so. I do Love this story, it's really great how you get and insight into the evils of peters mind, trying to get people to choose him over someone quite better but to the msg I wanted to say; I have read many a ff and I wanted to tell you that your fan fictions are some, if not, the best I have come across.

To me you stay as close to canon as possible and your stories are really addicting. Kudos to you, thats all I have to say :D

Author's Response: Thanks.

Actually, if you join the forums, there is an instant message feature. And if you like Twilight, I also write Twilight fan fiction and post it on my own website. You can contact me there too. It's atwentysomethingtwilightfan .webs .com (I added spaces because this editor won't allow website addresses to be put into it). Some other writers from here are also posting Twilight stories on my site. Sorry about the advertisement but my fan fiction writers don't get many comments because the site is fairly small.

This story was the first one I ever wrote. Actually, it was the very first fan fiction I ever wrote. I don't really even remember why I decided to write it, just that I was curious about how the other three Marauders never noticed that Peter was trouble. Many of my stories are inspired by questions like that.

I do try to stay very close to canon. I used to have a strong dislike of non-canon stories until I became inspired to write the novel series. I considered it to be inferior until I won the Dobby awards because of it's non-canon nature.



 Report Review

Review #5, by sofia [wolf] Chapter 4

18th July 2009:
great story lupin is one of my favs. him and luna

Author's Response: Thanks. Remus is my favorite character. I admire the calm way he handles his problems and how he always makes the best of things. I also like how he's fought so hard to be the exact opposite of what people expect a werewolf to be.

 Report Review

Review #6, by LunaLovegood72 Chapter 4

22nd May 2009:
I'm sad that this story is so short :-( It was really, REALLY good. I love stories about the Marauders... and Snape is so cool. If you want to, you know, add more, even though you said it was only going to be four chapters... haha, I know, I know, you have other stories and this one's done...

Anyway, as you probably have figured out, I loved your story, so... yeah. 100,000/10

By the way, favorite part in the chapter: "It's like a right of passage" -Sirius. I love how much of a comedian he is!

Author's Response: I suppose I could have added on, but I felt that it was time to stop. I wanted to answer the question of how Peter became a Marauder and I accomplished that here.

I like Marauder stories too. Actually, I prefer the Marauder generation to Harry's. Remus, Snape, and Sirius are three of my top four favorite characters.


 Report Review

Review #7, by LunaLovegood72 Remus's Secret

22nd May 2009:
"I always trust my friends." Wow. I really like how you use the same concepts from the books... James is so trusting, and it's sweet but not always very smart. I know it's good to trust and everything, but... sometimes it's just too obvious that someone's lying.

GRR why does James have to be so trusting?! Oh well. I guess that's sort of a good thing, so... yeah.

Anyway, good chapter, I have to go read more now!

Author's Response: I try to stick with canon as much as possible with my Marauder stories, and James was always dangerously trusting of his buddies. This story arose of of the question, how did Peter manage to become a Marauder? I always wondered how on earth the others never noticed what a horrible little creep he was.

 Report Review

Review #8, by GailGreen Chapter 4

21st March 2009:
Cute story. I really liked how you envisioned the Marauder's finding out Remus's 'furry little problem'. You did a very good job keeping with the characters and what little we know about the marauder's history from JKR books. Very believable.

I especially liked the part in chapter 3 where Sirius denys Remus is a werewolf without saying the words. His comparison of everthing a werewolf is with Remus was touching.

All in all, cute short story. It really answered so many questions about the past. I love how you focused upon two little questions for your story. How did the Marauders find out about Remus? Why was Peter part of the group? I liked the focus you gave to merely answerint these to issues.

Great job!

Hugs,
Gail

Author's Response: With my Marauder stories I stick to canon religiously. Sirius and Remus are among my top five favorite characters so I do enjoy writing them.

 Report Review

Review #9, by GailGreen Remus's Secret

21st March 2009:
Interesting take on how Peter wound up part of the Marauders. I always wondered why James and Sirius never saw through him. If he used Remus's secret to worm his way into the clique, well that's certainly in character. Still leaves James's and Sirius's judgement up for some debate in the long term. But then their treatment of Snape always did...

Good start!

~Gail

Author's Response: I always wondered how on earth a creep like Peter managed to ever become friends with the other three Marauders, and this was my attempt to answer that question. James and Sirius...well, they're just young here and later on they were just blindly loyal.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Shellee Chapter 4

11th April 2008:
Ah, final chapter, I enjoyed it grately!
It's nice to see that they're still vulnerable and have a bit of respect to professors. It was rather funny with Fawkes, Sirius all panicky for once. I think it's rather disturbing that Peter can turn things on and off like that, he could be lying all the time, which isn't really a good thing. Then again, Dumbledore would kind of know the truth, wouldn't he? Since he always does. I'm glad they aren't in much of trouble.
It would be rather funny to see Remus with a squeaky toy! It just shows how far their friendship goes, wanting to turn into Animagi for him. I really thought Remus would have a bit more faith in his friends, but then again, James and Sirius do seem a bit like they would laugh or tease about it, but he's their best friend.
I can't wait to read the next part of your series. =) Will be doing so very soon! I also wanna say that this will probably stick with me for the rest of my mind since this is the first fic about the Marauders I've read and that was amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you.

I'm proud to have been your introduction to Marauder fiction and that you liked it. I've been told that mine are fairly original by people who have gotten tired of Marauder stories. I always take that as a real compliment and I like to know that people have enjoyed my story -- and it sounds as though you did.

Thank you for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Shellee Chapter 3

11th April 2008:
Oh, I didn't wake up from my nap yesterday, damned. Ah, well, reading further now.

I really don't like Peter's personality. Laughing at Remus, when he doesn't even have an idea what's wrong with the guy. Urgh, he should be more grateful! He's rather pathetic. Tsk. Then trying to get Remus in trouble by ratting on him. -glares- Does he really think James and Sirius would drop their best friend just like that because he was scared to tell them he's a werewolf, or the fact that he is one?
I'm really glad that James and Sirius care so much for Remus. Peter doesn't deserve his place in the Marauders really. He's a scaredycat.
For Snape, it's a shame he found them. I hope Sirius and James aren't in too much trouble. After all, Snape kind of started it all, he should get some punishment himself.

Author's Response: Well....Peter isn't the most likeable person anyway. Look at what he grew up to do. He certainly doesn't deserve friendship like James and Sirius have to offer.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Shellee Chapter 2

10th April 2008:
Again, I feel sorry for Remus, because he's such a nice guy and he deserves friends, even if he wasn't with James and Sirius. He fits in the picture though. Even though I see where he's coming from, he shouldn't trust Peter just like that. After all, the three of them are best friends and Peter is just one that tags along after them as a wannabe. There's no proof that they can actually trust him and maybe he really should have had Peter figure it out on himself how to retrieve the password, but he's such a sweety and caring for people. =)
I don't see why Peter would have thought that "Lets go." meant to say the trigger word and get in trouble. -shakes head- Thought he had more brains than that. =p
I don't get why James was also dunked under, because of Peter? The spectacle did seem great though! Would have been funny if they hadn't been caught. =) Although, the detention should be fun in it's own.

Author's Response: Yes, that's typical Remus. I read somewhere that Rowling said his biggest flaw was a need to be liked. She said that it leads people to take advantage of him. (But that's why we love him -- he's so sweet).

It's been a while since I read my own story....but as I remember, James had jumped in to save Peter or something. (That's sad that I can't remember all the details of my own story, isn't it? I've been thinking I should get them out and read them).



 Report Review

Review #13, by Shellee Remus's Secret

10th April 2008:
Normally I read a finished work before commenting, but since I've seen people talk good about it and I think you deserve it, I'm going to comment each chapter seperately.

I think I'd be as Sirius is around Peter. He's kind of a bit annoying and such, but he seems rather realistically portraited.
I feel sorry for Remus that he'd have to hide his secret to his best friends, after all they are a very tight bunch and care about eachother. If anything, they would understand -and I'm sure you'll show that in the next chapters or so- so he should trust them a bit more with something as grave.
I'm used to seeing Sirius as a much happier person, so his rather annoyed demeanor will probably take a while for me to adapt to, then again, I know he's not like that always and Peter is just the one to pull it out of him.
Imma read chapter two now, I like it lots so far. =)

Author's Response: I usually think of Sirius as being very reckless and having a bad temper. I'd never thought about it before but he does spend quite a bit of time in this story being annoyed. That's because of Peter -- I think he's a bit jealous of Peter trying to intrude on their group and get between he and James. Other than that, he's a hyperactive terror.

Thanks for reviewing !


 Report Review

Review #14, by Gryffin_Duck Chapter 4

3rd April 2008:
I loved it! I absolutely love Marauder fics and it's really interesting to see how everyone characterizes them. I liked your characterizations, especially of Peter. I haven't read a lot of fics that focus on him, but I think you captured his personality well.

Author's Response: Thank you. Writing Peter was the hardest part of this story since I completely detest him. (But doesn't everyone).

I'm glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ollie Vander Chapter 4

29th March 2008:
Uhh.WOW! That was amazingly awesome! All of the characters were characterized almost perfectly. It was a great way to show how they figured out. I am thuroughly impressed. I am now going to go and read your other work!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Recently someone told me that my characterizations are very good, but a second opinion is always nice to have. I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Marauderess Chapter 4

26th March 2008:
Aw that was a great fic i loved it. It made me laugh a lot very good. Keep up the good work por favor
:D 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you. This story is my first and oldest of my Marauder stories so I'm always very pleased when someone complements it.

 Report Review

Review #17, by FullMoon Chapter 4

18th March 2008:
tihs is a great story!! keep writing more of them!!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Actually, there are already two others. "Mischief Managed" takes place in the Marauder's fifth year, and "Three Boys, One Bad Day, and a Trunk" takes place in their first year. The final chapter of the second one was just published today.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Lily Windsor Chapter 4

13th February 2008:
Heya hun, it's Rachel here.

I just read your story and really enjoyed it. You made me laugh out loud more than once and really kept me entertained. I LOVED the part with the phoenix - so, so funny - you capture their personalities fabulously.

I love your description and imagery - it works really well. And you did a good job of first portraying Peter as a bit of an idiot/outcast but having him eventually fit into the group. That is a heck of an achievement. My portrayal of Peter will be different but I definitely admire the way you did it.

And this was a great idea for a story - I loved it.

PS: Thanks again for helping me out recently. xxx

Author's Response: Hi Rachel,

You know people keep complimenting me on the phoenix part and that's one scene that I just added on a last minute whim.

Thank you for your compliments. I kind of like writing about Peter because it's a challenge to portray him fairly when I hate his guts. Who doesn't, though? It should be be interesting to see how you do it.

Thanks for taking the time to read and review. I really appreciate it.



 Report Review

Review #19, by Richter Vans Chapter 4

30th January 2008:
haha, I enjoyed the fiction very much. Its the first one like this one that i've read. I read other marauders fics, but always when they already where animagi and stuff.

very good, and you write very good. If this was from a few years ago, then your new stories must be great.

Author's Response: Thank you -- I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Richter Vans Chapter 3

30th January 2008:
Ok, so they actually did complete the animagi on their third year, but I always guessed that they research for it a lot. Like from year two or so. I dont think that they took actually three years to figure out Remus sudently trips to see her mother. XD. They probably knew from year one, but couldnt do nothinga bout it. Until year three when they managed to become animagi. But thats just my point of view.

Love the action bit! XD. it was great. And there are some minor grammar errors. :P. 10/10~~

Author's Response: According to book three, they actually mastered the transformations in their fifth year, but Remus says that it took them "the better part of three years to work out how to do it".

And I think you're right that they noticed he was disappearing frequently early on, but it just took them a while to figure out why.

I'll completely take your word about the grammar errors. It was years ago that I wrote this and hopefully I've gotten better by now. Still, I'm glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Richter Vans Chapter 2

30th January 2008:
Great chapter, I like the prank, although it was very, very destructive, XD, Its a good story on how peters is starting to get involved in the Group.

I want to keep reading, but I have to sleep now, XD. I'll read some more tomorrow morning at work. :p...

Author's Response: I know the prank is a bit over the top. This started out as strictly a humor story with absolutely no point. Then, as I wrote it, it began to be about the friendship and how Peter fit in.

My other Marauder story is written in the same style, only the focus there is how Remus had to learn to balance his new responsibilities as a prefect with his friendship with his prank loving buddies.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Richter Vans Remus's Secret

30th January 2008:
"Look." growled Snape "He is a Marauder. Run him down and you run me and James down. If you don't like him then quit tagging after us."

I think you wanted to say that Sirius! growled right?...

Wow, the story is great, I havent read one like this so far. Its very interesting and well writed. I like how Peter wants to become a marauder, and how even then, he would go and talk on peoples back for his own benefit, as he did went he sought Voldemort, XD.

Was Dumbledore headmaster already?... Im not quite sure about that.

This is their second year? First?...

James liked Lilly from year one?. I think they bothered eachother too much, and then James started to like her. But at first they hated the guts out of eachother. Xd...

Great story, i'll keep on reading now.

Richter Vans.

Author's Response: Yes, you're right. But trust me, there were a lot more and a lot worse mistakes originally. I wrote his way back in 2004 and only recently fixed it up a bit. I'll have to go back later and catch that.

Yes, I believe Dumbledore was headmaster, but I could be wrong. In the third book Remus talks about how he never expected he'd be able to go to Hogwarts until Dumbledore became headmaster and arranged things for him.

This is the third year. Eventually I plan to write one for each year. "Mischief Managed" takes place in the third, and the one I'm working on now takes place in the first.

Probably you're right about James and Lily, but I guess I'm a romantic. I kind of like to think that it was love at first sight for one of them. On the other hand, I really try to keep girls out of these stories for the most part. I prefer to keep them simple little stories about four buddies.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Brittany Remus's Secret

29th January 2008:
it was a good chapter i'll give it a 8

Author's Response: Thank you !

 Report Review

Review #24, by JLHufflepuff Chapter 4

18th January 2008:
I love the way you portray Dumbledore in this chapter! And I just love the whole thing. Sorry these reviews aren't too in depth... I'm a bit tired and brain dead at the moment! :)

Author's Response: Thank you JL. I've been told by teachers in the past that characterizations and dialogs are my strong points. I really appreciate you taking the time to review this, and more importantly, I'm glad you actually enjoyed reading it. *Shameless plug (I do have another Marauder story too, and another in the works, just not posted) *Shameless plug.

 Report Review

Review #25, by JLHufflepuff Chapter 3

18th January 2008:
I liked this chapter, too... There is some good characterization in here... I especially like that Peter is a little snitch even at this stage.

Author's Response: Thanks. I was worried that I pushed too hard trying to set up Peter that way. Like maybe it was overkill. Peter gets such a bad rap anyway, but I wanted to explore his personality a bit and try to find out how he started out on the path he took -- reasons why he might have taken it. And I've always wondered how on earth the other three never noticed that he was such a 'little snitch!'

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>