Reading Reviews for The son of The Boy Who Lived
  
82 Reviews Found

Review #1, by potterfacts Classes Begin

1st July 2009:
But Snape is dead! :S I'm slightly confused about that. Otherwise great story

Author's Response: Yeah, this story was written before both Half Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows, so it isn\\\'t exactly canon any more. A lot of character that died in the last couple of books will be mentioned.

Anyway, thanks for the review and I\\\'m glad you enjoyed it, apart from the confusion.


 Report Review

Review #2, by kate Diagon Alley

4th April 2009:
isint rose ron and hermiones daughter

Author's Response: This story was written back in 2004 or 2005, before either Half Blood Prince or Deathly Hallows was published, so the next generation characters are not going to fit with those introduced in the epilogue and the events of the final two books won't be acknowledged.

 Report Review

Review #3, by You_Know_Who_I_Am A Letter from Hogwarts

1st June 2008:
Was this written before the 6th book? Just wondering.

Author's Response: Yeah, it was. I intended to try and change things around to make it fit with canon, but as it turned out, that wasn't exactly possible. Some things happened in the last two books that I would never have predicted.

 Report Review

Review #4, by wee 3 The Sorting.

20th July 2007:
what? hufflepuff?!? :O ooh boy...

Author's Response: *cracks up* I really love the shock that gives people. When I first read this, I was afraid it was going to be too obvious, but judging by the reactions of reviewers, evidently not.

Thanks for reviewing and I hope you enjoy the story.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Anony_Mouse Ron Intervenes

30th May 2007:
I really liked that story. It's just a nice little story and I like your writing style. You could have gone on with James' entire year or even years, at Hogwarts, but you didn't, and I liked this ending better. Hoorah for Ron! Nice portrayal of him and the comparison that James is like other members of his family is nice, too. I really like this story and keep up the nice work! =)

Author's Response: Yeah, I kind of felt that continuing this story much longer, would start to get a bit repetitive.

Glad you liked this story. It is one of my favourites of my fanfiction, and seems to be the most popular too.

I do have one more story about James and Rose, but it isn't finished yet. In fact, I doubt it's much more than halfway through. It's not as popular as this one though.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Anony_Mouse Home for Christmas.

30th May 2007:
I'm glad his family was more understanding than James feared. Rose is a pest, but what can you expect from them?

I also like your use of both muggle and magic toys. Nice to bring both worlds together. And hoorah for more presents!!! =)

Author's Response: Well, Rose IS eight. Eight year old sisters are allowed to be pests. In fact, I think it's their jobs. Lol. Glad you liked the presents. It took me some time to think them up, because I'm not very good at thinking of things like that.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Anony_Mouse Exams

30th May 2007:
Rose, Rose, Rose...annoying little Rose.

Poor James. I have no idea what British grades are like, so I'll just have to take the reviewers' word for it, but I think it's nice you fixed it.

Nice work. =)

Author's Response: Yeah, I've just had to take their word for it too. I'm trying to make it as autentic as possible, and I'm well aware that my knowledge of Britain is somewhat lacking.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Anony_Mouse Snape Again

30th May 2007:
I am outraged at Snape! He's doing what he never did to Neville! I definitely do not like this flu formula. Good that he's recovering, though...you're writing a very canon Snape.

Author's Response: I figured that Snape would be even more horrible to a Neville-like character, who was related to both Harry and James (as in Harry's father) than he was to either Neville or Harry. Thanks for saying my Snape is canon. I thought I had him fairly accurate, but it is always hard to assess your own writing, so it is good to know that others agree with me.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Anony_Mouse Muggle Borns.

30th May 2007:
I definitely like this Alice.

The interesting part (and this is totally realistic, on your part) is that everyone seems to have a pre-established view of Harry, too. They think that he was popular at school, when really, he wasn't. He's more like James than they give him credit for. He wasn't even that great a student-Hermione was. Nice touch on your part.

Author's Response: Yes, I am kind of figuring that Harry is a bit of a celebrity at this point, so people have a similar view of him to what many people in real life have of celebrities-that they were always popular and talented and everything came easily to them, which of course, isn't the truth in most cases, but judging by the number of teenagers and pre-teens who say that their greatest desire is to be famous, they definitely seem to believe that it means having no problems whatsoever. And 11 is an age when kids are very capable of hero-worship.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Anony_Mouse Snape is Triumphant.

30th May 2007:
I am so glad I am not James. I know how awful it is to dread something and for that to be on a wider scale, makes it even worse.

Did you invent the Visual Contacts room? That probably answers my other question.

Nice job. =)

Author's Response: Yeah, I did invent it. I figured that time doesn't stand still in the Muggle world, so why should it do so in the wizarding world? In fact, it was that idea that convinced me that I really should write this story. I'm not sure now that it was as good an idea as I thought it at the time, but however! It plays an important part in Rose Potter and the Secrets of the Past so I guess it came in handy somewhere.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Anony_Mouse The Question of Quidditch

30th May 2007:
That's good about the flying!

Poor James. I'm getting to like Alice, too. I feel badly for her, but you've portrayed her well. =)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Anony_Mouse Classes Begin

30th May 2007:
Thank goodness for Hermione!!!

I'm outraged at the professors' attitudes! But it is so realistic, isn't it? Your interpretation of Harry really is quite different-but in a good way. Question: how did Harry explain his reaction to James after he was sorted? Owl, or somehow in person? Apologies if I've missed that. =)

Author's Response: *cheers for Hermione*

Well, teachers are human! And unfortunately, people do have expectations based on relatives. And Snape is Snape. Lol.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Anony_Mouse The Sorting.

30th May 2007:
Hmm, I thought he was going to go to Hufflepuff. He seems like a nice boy, so that suits him.

Again, with the expectations. You've done a brilliant job portraying all the heavy expectations people place on him. I can't help wondering what would be worse-to be Harry, at school, or James?

Nice job. =)

Author's Response: You are the first reviewer that guessed that in advance. *gives internet cookies* I was afraid I'd made it too obvious, but apparently not, as I got a couple of reviews expressing shock that I'd put Harry Potter's son in Hufflepuff.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Anony_Mouse The Journey to Hogwarts

30th May 2007:
Poor, poor James! To be hounded by everyone when he isn't sure he's going to be able to possibly follow in his father's footsteps! I feel so sorry for him, and he seems like such a nice boy, and all they can see is his father. =( I'm also enjoying Harry in this-he's got a balance of good and bad fathering traits in him, since he really does care for James, though could be a little more sensitive, which is a good contrast for any parent. Moving on, then! ;-)

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you like Harry in it. Harry as a father is a very different role to the one we've seen him in in the books, so it's pretty much guesswork what he would turn out like.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Anony_Mouse Diagon Alley

30th May 2007:
I'm beginning to feel James' anxiety throughout this story. I really like him. Rose is cute, too. I'll be looking forward to reading on.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Anony_Mouse A Letter from Hogwarts

30th May 2007:
Lovely first chapter. I already feel a connection with James, and you've done a really good job introducing us to him. I really like the plot as well, and have a good feeling that I am going to enjoy the story. Well done. =)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review and all the others you have given. I'm delighted to hear that you feel a connection with James. I guess that is one of the things that all writers are aiming for.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Labby Ron Intervenes

25th May 2007:
I liked the story a lot and I thought the ending was perfect! I never thought about how similar Ron's situation was to James' until it was brought up. I really liked that! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Labby Ron Intervenes

25th May 2007:
I liked the story a lot and I thought the ending was perfect! I never thought about how similar Ron's situation was to James' until it was brought up. I really liked that! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks.

 Report Review

Review #19, by pixie_garden A Letter from Hogwarts

12th November 2006:
brilliant! i've wanted to read a story about Harry's children for a while! keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks. Glad you are enjoying the story. Hope you continue reading. I have two other stories about Harry's children, although one is only a one-shot and the other is unfinished.

I find it surprisingly difficult to find stories about Harry's children. There are some others in my favourites if you want to check them out.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Mystery madam Exams

7th November 2006:
a pass is 50% in british schools

Author's Response: Oh, do I have that wrong somewhere? I'll go back and change it so. Thanks for the advice. I'm Irish and don't know that much about the British system.

Thanks again and I hope you enjoyed the story otherwise.


 Report Review

Review #21, by everdreams Ron Intervenes

19th August 2006:
Wow! Really good story

Author's Response: Glad you liked it everdreams. Thanks for reviewing. I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Caty Ron Intervenes

3rd August 2006:
Well i liked it!!


Author's Response: Glad to hear that. Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lisa (StepupTimneh, I'm not logged in) Snape is Triumphant.

2nd December 2005:
Wow, sorry I haven't been reviewing! I keep forgetting because I can't stop reading. :) You are a great writer, and some of it even sounds like J.K. Rowling herself.

Author's Response: Thanks you so much for the review and the compliments. I don't even know how to reply to that. There are very few better compliments than to be compared to one of the most popular authors of the 21st century. I don't mind you not reviewing the previous chapters. I'm just glad you are enjoying this. Hope you enjoy the rest of the story.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Lizzy Marquez Ron Intervenes

31st July 2005:
great story, loved it!!! are you going to make a sequel or something? a story for each year of James perhaps? if you make them you'll have at least one faithfull reader! Liz

Author's Response: To be honest, I hadn't planned on sequels, but my one-shot "Hogwarts, Here I Come" is sort of a spin-off. I got a sudden urge to write about Rose when she is starting Hogwarts, so if I get any ideas for either of them, I will write it. Glad you liked the story. Thanks so much for your kind comments.

 Report Review

Review #25, by buttonlady Ron Intervenes

3rd June 2005:
The story may have been better if you let James go back to Hogwarts and do a bit of repair on his self confidence.

Author's Response: Ok, maybe, but it may also have diluted the effect. It isn't always a good idea to draw a thing out too long. Thanks for the review though. Always appreicated, and I value your comments.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>