28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sophia Montgomery "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

17th March 2005:
So his love interest is Luna? Hm...

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sophia Montgomery Frogs and Floss

17th March 2005:
I liked the chapter, but it was sort of odd for him to suddenly fall asleep. Also, Hermione's present was not so great, remember, although her parents ARE dentists, she went behind their backs to change her teeth, and so I don't think she would be against the candy. A book or something useful, but more on the higher end of cost than Ron's present would be typical of her.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Kwikspell_co Frogs and Floss

16th February 2005:
Great start! Nice, well-balanced, well thought out beginning. Really good descriptions and I liked the portrayal of the characters (from what we saw of them.) I'm interested to know why Luna hasn't sent back her D.A letter yet. I noticed at the beginning though, you were spelling Privet, "Private". I also noticed that once you said... I think it was 'a couple days' when in England we'd say 'a couple of days'. JUst a tiny little thing, but it spoke out to me. I really liked this... intriguing. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Camel_Lass "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

12th February 2005:
very nice! yay! I'm gonna be an all time reviewer on this one! Even if my reviews are a little late... YOU'LL GET 'EM! ok well i have nothing else to say except i like it and you have better continue it and Peace out! ^-^

 Report Review

Review #5, by Camel_Lass Frogs and Floss

12th February 2005:
aww wittle Harry's fallen to sleep! oh well lol... anyway I'm liking this very much! Hopefully when i read the next chappie I'll be happy! ^-^ Peace out!

 Report Review

Review #6, by forsakenphoenix "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

9th January 2005:
I'm not sure what I can say that I haven't already said for your first chapter. Vernon's reactions just made me laugh, he was so excited that he'd never see Harry again. Petunia kind of surprised by the gentleness she showed Harry and the emotions she felt towards her sister. She always did seem bitter. Your explanation of the rift between Lily and Petunia is plausible and I'm glad you incorporated it into your fic. Well-done.

 Report Review

Review #7, by forsakenphoenix Frogs and Floss

9th January 2005:
Nicely done, Carl. Your descriptions are wonderful-you certainly can paint a picture with your words. I enjoyed how Harry wasn't completely moping and depressed. I'm glad this isn't one of those "I'm going to kill myself because it's my fault my godfather is dead" stories. I liked how his friends could cheer him up and Hermione's gift-ha! But it might be expected since her parents are dentists. There aren't many errors that I can comment on, you seem to have a firm grasp on the canon characters and your grammar is nearly perfect (as expected). On to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #8, by wulfeyez "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

30th December 2004:
Wonderful start. You certainly live up to your nickname and you stick well to Rowling's characters. (All though I will agree that what Petunia did was slightly off, but I am sure it is for a reason. Is this more than just a sixth year fic? Or will it cover both years 6 and 7?) Nice little cliffy at the end and let us know when you update!

Author's Response: Uh-oh, I thought that nickname was only a forum thing (shhhhh). This is so far only a sixth year fic, but who knows? If my writing keeps going like it is, I may just turn it into a seventh year fic when the sixth comes out. Speaking of which, I am putting this story on temporary hold due to some massive writer's block. Don't despair though, I'm filling the gap with a quick, 3 chapter fic that should be up in the next couple of weeks.

 Report Review

Review #9, by shireeneeb4HP "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

29th December 2004:
luv it, it's very realistic. update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm trying, I promise!

 Report Review

Review #10, by madscientist "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

18th December 2004:
Cool, I really like your style of writing as i think a few others have mentioned. Thanks for reviewing my stories btw. Mike

Author's Response: Thanks, I try to stick to Rowling's style as much as I can, seeing how she is, of course, the master. I'm glad I stumbled upon your stories, Mike, they're excellent.

 Report Review

Review #11, by LogicalRaven "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

13th December 2004:
Thought I'd give your story a read and pick it apart grammatically...J/K (I know how you love web chat) Pretty good, so far. I'm always anxious to read Harry's sixth year fics. Let me know when you update.

Author's Response: Omg... *winks* Thank you so much for the review. I'm also very interested in Harry's sixth year; after finding out about the prophecy, I think it will be a big turning point for him. I'll be sure to let you know when I update, and thanks again for the review.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Cor_Leonis "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

12th December 2004:
This is good. Your characterization is good, though I'm surprised by Petunia's sudden revelation. Nice cliffhanger at the end, I'll have to mark this story to see when you update.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the reviews. I'll let you know on the forums when I update.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Cor_Leonis Frogs and Floss

12th December 2004:
I think you have a very nice beginning here--a nice, relaxed style that is similar to JK Rowling, and your grammar/spelling is sight for sore eyes, compared to what I've been reading lately. I looked over some of the other reviews, and they touched on what I was going to mention, so I'll just pick up where they left off. I'm interested to know how many OWLs Harry recieved--Dumbledore said that he did well, but just how well? Did he make it into Advanced Potions with Snape? Also, the dueling, that Dumbledore has proposed--is this actual dueling, or is this practicing Leglimancy/Occlumency? I hope you elaborate, and who knows, you very well could have. Good job--I'm off to your next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for the revew. We'll be seeing how he did on his owls in the coming chapters. The lessons with Dumbledore are to ensure that Harry has all of the tools he may need at his disposal.

 Report Review

Review #14, by timeturner "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

11th December 2004:
The beginning confused me for a moment but once I recovered I enjoyed this chapter. Petunia, of course, seems out of character but I assume you're using that for the wand exchange which will be integral to your story. Could job remaining true to the rest of the characters and again, writing and dialogue are perfectly in tune with the setting you've created.

Author's Response: I put in the encounter with Petunia just as I was writing up the chapter, and had not foreplanned it. However, it felt right, and, as you guessed, the exchange between Harry and Petunia will become important later. Thank you so much for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #15, by timeturner Frogs and Floss

11th December 2004:
Great opening. Characters especially Hermione, are well thought out and remain true to canon. Interesting that Godric has green eyes....hmm

Author's Response: Hm.... *looks around innocently*

 Report Review

Review #16, by Hermione_Emily_Granger "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

8th December 2004:
THis is really good! cool banner as well. I still hate Aunt Petunia! you need to writie more! that would be a bit unnerving to have just traveled on a portkey and then stand up to find a werewolf standing in front of you! keep writing. I am awaiting your update eagerly!!! lol, Hermione_Emily_Granger

Author's Response: Thank you so much; I made the banners myself on Adobe Photoshop. I wasn't too thrilled about them, but I'm glad to know that you liked them. Also, there's a clue about the werewolf in the first chapter ;-) . I'm really glad that you like the story; thanks for the review(s) and I'll update soon!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hermione_Emily_Granger Frogs and Floss

8th December 2004:
Really good first chapter! I like it. You wtite very similar to JKRowling. I like that. Has Harry already recieved his OWLs? If he had I would be interested to know what they are! Plz keep writing, You have a really good story start here, Hermione_Emily_Granger

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Harry hasn't recieved his owls yet, Dumbledore just knows everything, as usual.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Molly "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

6th December 2004:
A classic Dursley encounter! I think you're true to what the characters would normally do or how they would react. I thought the Aunt Petunia thing was a little bit of a stretch - it really caught me by surprise - but I did like it, it was a nice moment. Great chapter - of course what else would you expect from Carl the Trumpet God ;) hehe, j/k. But good job.

Author's Response: Carl the Trumpet God... it does have a certain ring to it. I'm also in favor of Keeper of All Knowledge Mahlerian. Haha, just kidding of course. Thank you so much for the kind review. Stay tuned, stuff should be coming out sooner than last time.

 Report Review

Review #19, by thea "Ten and a Quarter Inches Long, Swishy, Made of Willow"

6th December 2004:
Good to see this chapter finally up here :) I love the foreshadowing... and the interesting comments from Petunia. Can't wait to see how things are going to pan out!

Author's Response: Wow, edits my chapters andleaves really nice reviews! *Bows down and worships* Thank you so much for helping this chapter be so good, massive props to you for that. For those of you who are looking at this review and going, "Foreshadowing... what?" Thea has kindly consented to edit my chapters, and is therefore in the know about some of the stuff coming up, so yes, there is foreshadowing in this chapter. Thanks again Thea!

 Report Review

Review #20, by madscientist Frogs and Floss

4th December 2004:
Nice, I especially like the choc frog card ref.

Author's Response: Thanks, I figured it was about time for a solid description of Gryffindor. I mean, we never actually find out what he looks like, nor Slytherin, for that matter, hm...

 Report Review

Review #21, by thea Frogs and Floss

6th November 2004:
Whoa, a great start! Seriously! I reallllyyyy want to read more. Again, you're great at mimicing Rowling's style. Write more!! : )

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm working on Ch. 2, it just takes me a long time to write, sometimes. Thanks again for the review, it's really nice to know when people like what I'm doing.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Lily Evans Frogs and Floss

4th November 2004:
eh that was pretty good! hehe I just wanted to say thank you for leaving me such a kind review on my story, so in return I decided to check out yours! :) Keep up the excellent work! I can't wait to see more!

Author's Response: I wrote half of Ch. 2 ... before I started working on the Writers' Duel. I'll try to finish the second chapter.this weekend, but I can't promise anything, sorry! I'm glad that you decided to check out my story--it's like symbiotic writing/reading/reviewing, haha. Thank you so much for the kind, encouraging words.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Molly Frogs and Floss

29th October 2004:
It sucks! :P just kidding. This is pretty good. Overall it has a very Harry Potter-ish tone. And it seems pretty true to the characters in general. The only suggestion I would make is to possibly make something actually happen - there is often some kind of small event in the first chapter of a Harry Potter book. But I would keep reading, so good job.

Author's Response: The action is basically going to start in the next chapter, but thanks for pointing this out. You are, as usual, right.

 Report Review

Review #24, by DCloud Frogs and Floss

29th October 2004:
DOOD! Good start, and I do have to agree with some of the reviewers that you need to say a bit more about the prophecy. I've read the books before, but it's been a while, so I'm forgetting stuff, such as the prophecy. Double check the writing style, but overall, nice work! I can't wait for the next chapter to come out.

Author's Response: I'll definately work the background of the prophecy in, thanks for pointing it out. By the way, I added theme music, so be sure to check that out.

 Report Review

Review #25, by SiriusLives Frogs and Floss

28th October 2004:
Yay good job! I will be looking for the next chapters. :-D-FirexRainxFallx

Author's Response: Haha, thanks Lauren

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>