Reading Reviews for The Only Way to Breathe
  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lisa The Only Way to Breathe

19th June 2012:
Hello,

This may sound a little creepy (sorry) but I've been seeking out your stories. I've read a few and I needed more so I found your page that lists all of your work. You are one of my two favourite authors on this site. Remus and Sirius are my favourite pairing and I can't get over how well you write them. I've thoroughly enjoyed everything you've done and I hope you'll write some new stories soon.

Author's Response: That's not creepy! I really appreciate all the reviews you've left for me. I'm beyond pleased to hear that I'm one of your favorite authors - thank you so much! Remus and Sirius are my favorite characters too so I suspect there will be quite a few more stories of them, no worries. :)

Thank you again for leaving such wonderful reviews for me. They are so greatly appreciated.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Lillylover22 The Only Way to Breathe

13th April 2012:
You write so well. Its descriptive. 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I am a fairly detail oriented person so I'm glad that comes across here. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by charlottetrips The Only Way to Breathe

8th April 2012:
I have been loathe to admit this to you because so many of your stories are of this pairing or of James/Sirius (? I assume, I haven't really looked) but I am not a fan of slash. I'll read it in my review thread because I can read it, but I won't read it of my own free will (normally).

But in my time of R&Ring, I have come across some well written stories that I don't care if the pairing is same-sex because the words are beautifully put together.

This is one of those times.

Your turn of phrases in this story, the descriptions from the summary where "kissing one another is the only way to breathe" to how you described Sirius' stay in Azkaban "It feels like death and smells like sadness." - the analogies really just help me be more with the story.

Sirius' utter sadness at being apart and how Remus keeps him alive is believable and can go along with the desperate man we came to see in Book 3. The end scene also now will forever have this little bit of other story to it, underlying the actual scene I read in canon.

Nicely done, Missy!

xChar

Author's Response: The only James/Sirius I wrote was my afterlife fics, but yeah, Remus/Sirius is my OTP, and you know, it's totally fine that you aren't a fan of slash. I'm not offended or anything. :P

I'm really glad you can look past the pairing in my story and focus on the words instead - that's what's important to me. I'm not out to convert anyone to ship my OTP - I just want people to enjoy the stories as I've written them.

I'm actually not a huge fan of many of the fics I wrote before my hiatus, and it's hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that this is something I had written, but people seem to like it which is good.

Sirius and Remus are fantastic characters to write when it comes to angst, all that grief and anger, the betrayal, etc. It's all perfectly suited for a great angst fic. I'm glad you could sort of see my point of view in the little bits we've seen in canon, how it can be interpreted in this situation, with these characters.

Thanks for taking a chance on this and for enjoying it despite your initial hesitations.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Bobby Dazzler The Only Way to Breathe

4th November 2011:
Howdy there fellow 'Claw! :D Just stopping by to leave a review for you for the Bronze and Blue battle :)

I can tell that this would probably be some of your older work, as I'm sure I have read some of your more recent stuff and the language and style of your writing is different to this story.

I did get a little confused at time between the jumps to the past and present tense, it's not a writing technique I'm very fond of as it sometimes can get mixed up and put in different areas when you didn't mean to use it. I just think it leads to confusion personally, but I could still see what you were going for regardless; you were reflecting his time at school and his time in Azkaban, and then in Grimmauld Place (I'm assuming??)

As a reader, I do prefer a bit more description of the "here and now", as in settings, smells etc, just to really engrose me within the story itself. You did a bang up job on his emotions and memories, but a little more depth in regards to describing some places/events etc in his life/memories would've been nice. I always like to think of fanfic, as bizzare as this is gunna sound, as an entirely new work of fiction and assume that the reader knows nothing of the canon world of HP and you have to build it up from scratch again. Lets face it, everyone picks up various things within the books and overlooks some minor details regarding others, and some people may have read them a million times and others just the once. I always keep that in mind when I write something, cuz while I definitely stick to canon, I always remind my readers about events taking place in my story which are true in the JKR universe, just in case I picked up on something they didn't. Please dont think of this as me bashing on your story though, it's just a useful tip I wanted to point out cuz there were some instances within this story where a less obsessed HP fanatic reader might get lost in if they were to read this one shot, because to them they might have a harder time relating some instances back to canon.

I thought you captured the romance nicely, though it would've been nice to understand how they got together etc as well :) I enjoyed it though, well done :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by lizmusic45 The Only Way to Breathe

13th September 2011:
Amazing story! Like I said before I normally don't like slash as much, or maybe I just don't chose to read it, but this is so good!!

Sirius and Remus seem like a good match, and you bring so much emtion to your story with out making it annoying.

I'm really, really impressed!

Lizzie

Author's Response: Thank you! I like to make my stories as accessible as possible and it makes me happy when people who don't normally like slash enjoy my fics. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by academica The Only Way to Breathe

5th August 2011:
So I sort of love the idea of looking at the Sirius/Snape werewolf incident in the light of a Sirius/Remus romance. It goes beyond the natural regret over using a friend to using someone you're in love with, which entails further regret.

I love your description of the disintegration of Sirius, how he grows older and more tired by the day as he rots in Azkaban. I also love that he doesn't know that Remus looks just as old as he is, that past events have affected him so devastatingly too. And the ending was sweet too -- imagine being separated from your soulmate for so long and then not even being able to properly reconcile because other people are in the room. I imagine they might have shared a moment or two at Grimmauld Place later on, though :)

Nice work here again!

academica (Slytherin)

Author's Response: Of course they shared a moment or two at Grimmauld Place later on! I'm all about the HEAs..though of course these two never get theirs. So depressing.

As I said in another response, I really want to do a more detailed fic on the Snape/werewolf incident but since I've apparently already written it twice...not sure if it'd be wise to write it again. Hm.

Seriously, thank you so much for your super sweet reviews. I love them a lot. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by KaraBlack The Only Way to Breathe

11th October 2008:
This was simply amazing, honestly, it was. I love the emotion from the very beginning, very compelling. It really draws you in so that by the end you can feel the need and desperation between Remus and Sirius.

Characterization was also done really well here and I also enjoyed the way that you wrote from inside of Azkaban, it was very catching and original, not that many writers write like this and that's absolutely fabulous. Amazing job.

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you. I love writing Remus and Sirius together. All the angst - it's great and makes for very emotional story telling.

I'm glad you thought my characterizations were well done. Sirius and Remus are my favorite characters and I've definitely got a grasp of how I want to write them.

Thank you for your review.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Diandra The Only Way to Breathe

17th June 2007:
Wow, this is reallly beautiful! I liked it so much, it was so good and descriptive! Great job,

Diandra

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Dracana The Only Way to Breathe

8th February 2007:
Ah, so sweet. So full of deep love that's blooming in emotion due to seperation - wow - I wish I could write as well as you.

 Report Review

Review #10, by smitzfitz The Only Way to Breathe

28th December 2006:
wow that was really good.i liked it a lot...you should make it into a story.not just a one shot!really,i'd read it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by BAILEY_83 The Only Way to Breathe

17th February 2006:
That was so beautiful. I dont normally get the Sirius/Remus pairing basically because I love Sirius but that was great

 Report Review

Review #12, by purewings The Only Way to Breathe

16th February 2006:
As many others said it before me, it was really fascinating. First I was shocked by the slash, I wasn't really used to it, but you depicted this love so naturally that it's seems more beautiful to me, than ordinary love stories. James/Lily can't raise my interest in that aspect any more, since there is Sirius and Remus. I can hardly wait a novel from you! Go on. You introduce personalities in an extraordinary way. I really can't wait!

 Report Review

Review #13, by ba alzamon The Only Way to Breathe

15th January 2006:
oh cool, i really enjoyed reading this. You said u'd leave all the passionate bits out but i really love the way u hint at them. What can Remus do with his tongue i wonder? lol. I'll def be checking out ur other stories!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lucy The Only Way to Breathe

9th January 2006:
eww im sorry, but slash is not my cup of tea honestly ... but i do like ur style of writing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by kia The Only Way to Breathe

12th November 2005:
and sad and happy and just.....perfect

 Report Review

Review #16, by kia The Only Way to Breathe

12th November 2005:
beautiful

 Report Review

Review #17, by WickedWitch25 The Only Way to Breathe

24th July 2005:
Aw, that was so good. ( I don't have a way with words.) I love Sirius/Lupin fics and you wrote them so well.

 Report Review

Review #18, by padfootwalks4eva The Only Way to Breathe

22nd June 2005:
I almost forgot my penname is was sooooo great! Only a one-shot? Please you make to make more it is amazing! It was like I was there with them through their pain....anguish..pleasure...Lmao but that's how great it was! Great one-shot!~

 Report Review

Review #19, by Death Wish The Only Way to Breathe

19th June 2005:
That's so sad. But good eith way! =)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Katielynn The Only Way to Breathe

12th May 2005:
............soooo good~!!!!!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Violet Gryfindor The Only Way to Breathe

20th April 2005:
Gosh that was sad. Sirius seems to feel so incredibly hopeless that it makes me want to go give him a hug. This line especially He’s too old and too weary to think of puppy love, because that’s all it ever was really pulled at my heartstrings. I was surprised to see that I hadn't read this one yet, but I'm glad I did. The poetic quality of your writing shines through this piece beautifully and both Sirius and Remus are written so realistically and with such depth that it feels as though they could step out of the very page. You've done wonderfully with this, Missy. :-)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Madi The Only Way to Breathe

20th March 2005:
omg it was sooo good. i love one shot romace fics and i didnt get confused at all so dont worry. amazing story, keep up the good work.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Lucid The Only Way to Breathe

14th March 2005:
You really do get Sirius and Lupin, the way you write them is beautiful, the emotion deep and the description penitrating. I really have enjoyed this one I think more so than the others. I dont think I've ever read anyone write Remus/Sirius as well as you.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Rebekka The Only Way to Breathe

12th March 2005:
It wasn't confusing. It was really well written. :) I love your Sirius and the hints of "scenes of sexual nature". It's very beautiful...I don't understand how you do it, but you can definitely write about them. Oh my, it's actually your fault that I fell in love with slash. I went to your site and started reading...thank you for that. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by meeonii The Only Way to Breathe

20th February 2005:
Oh, wow... Beautifully written! Absolutely captivating. I couldn't take my eyes off of it until I finished it. Great job!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>