Reading Reviews for Child of the Dark Blood
  
102 Reviews Found

Review #1, by blackstone Unexpected Explosions of Color

8th January 2007:
ok, i'm counfused about this ending. does she love him too ? where is she now ? do they ever get fully together in a sequal or anything ?

Author's Response: Ok, Elyssa has to go into hiding now that Voldemort thinks she's dead. Since Severus has to serve him and can't hide from him completely, Voldemort would know if he had a "secret" kept magically. So Dumbledore becomes her secret keeper in a Fidelus charm. She does love him, of course. She is the redheaded woman at the end doing the job she had been doing to start with, working with the children. She chose the redhaired appearance to honor her Weasley connection and she chose the name of his mother to be hers. She was tucking the necklace he gave her back into her shirt. Will they get together? If you read a collection of shorts I have on here called "Father's Day," one of the chapters deals with just that. However, before I'd ever write an actual sequel, we'll have to see if Rowling kills him off. Probably, but you never know.

 Report Review

Review #2, by angelrosieMD Unexpected Explosions of Color

20th December 2006:
good. is this realted to any other story ?

Author's Response: Yes. This is actually the second story. The first was "In the Beginning" that actually spans the Marauder years from the first day on the train to Hogwarts to a critical turning point midway through their seventh year. You will also find these characters occuring again as part of a series of shorts called "Father's Day" which looks at the unlikely event of Snape becoming a father. Prudence Prior also took Elyssa and Snape and wrote them into a Christmas story she did about Tonks and Lupin.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ydnas Odell What Was Lost

30th June 2006:
I've read throught the first ten chapters and this is an amazing story. In this chapter though you made a slight mistake yoyu have Ravenclaws sybmol as a Raven. It is an Eagle.

This is a 10 though!

Author's Response: I double checked this after your review. It is in fact a Raven. Thanks for your review.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Penny Lane Growing

17th June 2006:
I have only one question about this chapter, something I just realized - if they sky had to be bewitched in order for there to be sufficient lighting, but there's a fridge, why isn't there also electrical lighting? Just a thought ...
-Penny.

Author's Response: I actually had to take my cue from Rowling on this. She has never given the wizarding world electrical lighting or the use of electrically activated appliances. They use candles and oil lamps. The presence of the refrigerator was a necessity for a kitchen, but that doesn't mean it operates on electricity. The stove doesn't operate on electricity, neither do their coffee pots or other kitchen appliances. Perhaps I should have used the term Icebox. There was no food actually in the refrigerator. It did seem logical they would have a wizarding equivalent just as they have the equivalent of a stove or oven.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Penny Lane Prophecy

17th June 2006:
I've read this story a few times before, but I felt it would only be right of me to actually review this time. I love the concept and it's well written, and I'll keep reviewing as I read. :) Great work.
-Penny.

Author's Response: You are welcome to review at any time. Even if it is constructive criticism. That makes each of us better writers. Thank you for taking the time to read and review.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Liana7MC Unexpected Explosions of Color

12th February 2006:
You are an incredibly talented writer. I would love to read some of your original work. You have a marvelous grasp of your characters' emotions and thoughts, and a great control of the plot.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm humbled by your praise. I do have other fanfics and original stuff posted here and elsewhere. If you explore my website in my profile, you will find it. Thank you again for taking the time to read and review. I appreciate your kindness.

 Report Review

Review #7, by pathetic_pettigrew Unexpected Explosions of Color

14th September 2005:
I liked this story even more than 'In the Beginning' (and that's saying something). Please read the praise in my hideously effusive review of 'In The Beginning', triplicate it, and transfer it to this story. I think what made me enjoy it more is that Elyssa is easier (for me) to empathise with. Cass was so darn perfect, but Elyssa has the flaws that someone with her upbringing would realistically have.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for being so very kind to my work. I'm glad you liked it. Cassandra is that little angel that haunts you, but Elyssa is a real woman for a real relationship. I'm so pleased that you noticed the difference and the different roles. Thank you again for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #8, by sinful_potter Unexpected Explosions of Color

11th August 2005:
this was a great story, i just wanted to let ya know, and i love the end, it was really good

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing. I appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm also happy you found the end satisfying. Thanks again.

 Report Review

Review #9, by semaht Unexpected Explosions of Color

5th August 2005:
Far from being 'merely' a fanfiction, this is one of the best written stories I have ever read, by any author published or not. The complexity and depth of the story plotting and pacing are incredible - kept me guessing at every turn. Characters are consistent, believable, and compelling. Wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing. I'm more than pleased that you found it enjoyable. Thank you again.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Gaz (goatboykicksass@hotmail.com) Unexpected Explosions of Color

23rd July 2005:
Once again a great read, you did an excellent job of bringing the characters to life, and in doing so managed to create a bond with the reader. I hope to read more of your novels which are like this, although they should be longer :p thanks for the entertainment. Gary

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you liked this.

 Report Review

Review #11, by jenweasly Unexpected Explosions of Color

2nd July 2005:
That was really good! I liked how you wrote the character of Snape, I think he is a very interesting character and I liked your take on him. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you. I appreciate your kind words. I'm pleased that you liked it. Snape is interesting to write while fighting the urge to make him too bad or too good. Thank you for taking the time to read and review.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lei Anna Unexpected Explosions of Color

7th June 2005:
I havent reveiwed alot for this story but I have to tell you that it was amazing. you are a wonderful writer

Author's Response: Thank you very much. If you are interested, I have a humor/fluff piece called Father's Day that has a chapter in it that focus' on Snape and Elyssa after the war. The story is a collection of shorts about four different characters becoming fathers. Thanks for taking the time to review. I'm pleased you liked this.

 Report Review

Review #13, by silver phoenix History Lessons

23rd April 2005:
*jaw drops* Ouch. How unlike Remus, but it was good! I couldn't help but laugh at certain points during this chapter, but overall it was bloody brilliant, as always :)

Author's Response: I certainly hope that means you laughed where you were supposed to laugh. I don't really see this as unlike Remus. They guy is a werewolf, there are some major emotions there. He was willing to outright kill Pettigrew, and probably Sirius too if he had needed to. He's not a coward and it's much easier to confront one's adversaries than one's friends...

 Report Review

Review #14, by silver phoenix Trust and Suspicion

21st April 2005:
*smirk* That Severus...

Author's Response: I took care of your posting problem and repeated the duplicate reviews. No harm done. As to your review... Yes, he does deserve to wear a bit of a smirk at the moment...

 Report Review

Review #15, by silver phoenix Music

21st April 2005:
*sighs* Beauitful. I'm so happy they're talking again. It's so endearing that she calls him "Precious" :)

Author's Response: endearing and annoying. Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you approve so far.

 Report Review

Review #16, by silver phoenix Wounding

21st April 2005:
*wipes tears away* Oh, that chapter was so depressing! GAH! But still good. I was surprised to see Severus so affected by what he had done to Elyssa; a pleasant surprise though :)

Author's Response: This is a man whose forced into a confined space with someone who has the ability to make him nuts. Imagine if he were confined with James Potter, or Sirius Black. They'd be at each other's throats. He does tell you she can undo him and make him angrier than anyone. He does have a bit of a conscience in this one. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #17, by silver phoenix The Dark Lord

21st April 2005:
*writhes in chair* ooohhhh that evil evil scumbag! Just....just throwing his daughter around like that! OOOOHHHHHH!!!!!!!!! *rants and raves*

Author's Response: Like he'd have scruples about that. She's a pawn, a tool to get what he wants. But then so is Severus.

 Report Review

Review #18, by silver phoenix Growing

21st April 2005:
*scratches chin thoughtfuly, wondering what could be wrong* Hmm... *throws hands up* I give, it's nearly midnight, I just wanna read! lol....wonderous chapter, as always 0.<

Author's Response: Thanks. Don't think too deep about this one. Its a twisty angsty thing. Just let the ride go.

 Report Review

Review #19, by silver phoenix Confinement

20th April 2005:
I love the conflict and tension between Elyssa and Severus! It's fantastic! I'm so curious as to how these next few weeks are going to unfold.

Author's Response: Have you ever been trapped in a car for a long ride with someone you can't stand?

 Report Review

Review #20, by silver phoenix Persuasion

20th April 2005:
So sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you! *slams head against desk* This chapter so was captivating, so entracing! Must...read...MORE!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you found your way back. Thanks for reading and reviewing. This one is a bit of a wild ride emotionally, hang on to something.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Prudence Prior Unexpected Explosions of Color

11th April 2005:
He knows that it's her and he leaves? Or is he not seeing? Severus Snape NOT seeing?Puzzlement....guess who's going to twist a certain arm for a follow-up? Dare I say sequel? And I'm anti-sequel...darn...this was an excellent story, Jae. Fabulously plot twisted, I was riveted by it. Leave Cere and come back to Elyssa.....pretty please?????Bravo! Pru

Author's Response: Oh you fickle thing. Leave Cere? To answer your question, he can't see it. He can't see it because she' under the Fidelus. Dumbledore told her it was a "secret" he would have to "keep." Otherwise Voldemort would sense a piece of Severus' mind shut off from him. So he can't see her. Something about her unsettles him, but this form she's chosen is how she is seen, including Weasley red hair and his mother's name. Sequel? Let's make sure Rowling doesn't kill him off then we'll talk sequel. I do have an idea I've been incubating on this one. Thanks for reading and reviewing. Jae

 Report Review

Review #22, by Prudence Prior Dominus

11th April 2005:
oh, lord, EPIC, um, FABULOUS, um HEART CLENCHING ROMANCE!!!! I loved this chapter, every inch from Bella's comeupence, to Voldie's stumble, Snape's surprise, and of course, the romantic scene at the end. Stupendous! Gushing shamelously aren't I? *sigh* Prudie

Author's Response: Thanks, Pru. I'm glad you liked it. I had severe separation anxiety with this fic and it took me forever to let go of the last two chapters and put them out there. thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Prudence Prior The Rules of Engagement

11th April 2005:
It's hard to bite my fingernails and cry into my hankie at the same time...I'm on pins and needles...and the fresh wrinkle of a surprize for Sev (for us all) is unnerving me. Great.....pru

Author's Response: She's starting to trust Dumbledore here, for better or worse, who knows. The reasons why Severus has to be kept in the dark are clear. He has to react honestly before the Legilimens.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Prudence Prior Stalling the Inevitable

11th April 2005:
I feel like there should be music behind the words...the beating of drums...as the future looms before these two and they follow after the inevitable. Excellent! Pru

Author's Response: Time is ticking for them. They both feel it at this point, but both know it can't be stopped. Thanks for reading and reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Prudence Prior Reckoning

11th April 2005:
*sniff* someone hand me a hankie, please? *blubber* I'm dying this is so beautiful....*sniff**sniff*

Author's Response: Thanks. Your opinion of this story means a lot. I'm glad you like it. This was a bit of an emotional chapter.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>