Reading Reviews for Press Rewind
  
36 Reviews Found

Review #1, by slytherinchica08 Press Rewind

2nd February 2012:
hello i'm here with the review tag! this was a wonderful look into the first war through Lily's eyes. I loved how you protrayed all death and love that come from a war to having a little bit of happiness (their wedding) amidst all the dark of the war. It was wonderful to see her form a relationship with the boys and what they each meant to her including peter and how faithful they saw him to be. I think you chose some great moments to highlight through out the oneshot that showed their relationship forming and blooming through out the war and how he taught her so much about love. I love being inside peoples minds so I really enjoyed this and seeing how you view her thoughts. Again great piece!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for tagging me. It's always a surprise when people decide to review some of my older fics because I don't really like them, but I suppose we always are our own worst critics. :P

I really love writing Lily, especially during the war. Her relationship with her friends was really important for me to highlight. Peter's loyalty, well...they made him Secret Keeper, didn't they? They obviously thought that he was a safe choice so I don't really like fics that portray him in a bad light prior to that Halloween night.

I'm glad you liked it. Thanks so much for the review.


 Report Review

Review #2, by lizmusic45 Press Rewind

13th September 2011:
Wow. You. are. Amazing.

I love how you worte Lily, she is how I picutred Lily to act. She is the nice person and not a snob like most people tend to make her out like.

The way you wrote this story was amazing! I love how you write each person. Great, great, job!

Lizzie

Author's Response: I don't know why people make her out to be a snob. We all know that Lily was kind and well-loved, but it's nice to know you love my Lily. Thank you so much for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #3, by charlottetrips Press Rewind

6th August 2011:
Wow. Just wow. I have honest to god chills right now (and yes, partly because I'm cold, but mainly because of this intuitive and thought-provoking story).

I think the line that just kind of hit me was this: "I could have barely faced failing a course, how could I cope with a full-blown war that was just waiting for us to leave the protection of Hogwarts?" It just showed the varying viewpoints that teenagers, young adults, have to face when their world is in the middle of a war. It's just the varying degrees of magnitude--losing your A's or losing your life?

It was sweet and bitter, this story. Lily seemed to see the good in people and while she wasn't the strong leader that she felt she should've been, I could see her own iron core just in the story. She was the rock for James who was the rock for the school.

When you were describing James' and hers love, it got me thinking about my own relationship which is very much like that. A true meeting of minds and a partnership, a friendship. It made me smile.

It's sad to read her thoughts about her child, just knowing what's going to happen to her in the end. But just from getting to know Lily a little better through this, I think she would've liked how it all turned out.

The way you wrote this really showed Lily's heart and love and that really is what underlied the whole series. Well done.

charlottetrips [Ravenclaw!]

Author's Response: Thank you! I always try, as a writer, to evoke a lot of emotions from my readers. It makes me feel like I accomplished something great.

I think anyone goes into reading a Marauder story with that knowledge of their future and find it terribly tragic. I'm really glad you enjoyed this piece. It's been so long so I've even looked at it but I'm happy people are still reading and finding pleasure in it.

Thanks, my dear!


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica Press Rewind

5th August 2011:
So this made me love James/Lily a little bit. Pat yourself on the back, my friend. That is a feat indeed. I especially love the bit about how sometimes you love the person you least expected to -- ain't that the truth.

I love the vulnerability here. So many times in fanfiction, Lily is painted as this perfect girl with her head on as straight as can be, and yet here you can see the cracks. She's worried that she's not a good leader, she's constantly reminded that the people the Death Eaters hunt are just like her. The ending was very touching, the idea that she is saddened by all of the orphaned children who will never know of their parents' bravery. Poor Harry -- at least he did know that, definitely.

Great job! :)

academica (Slytherin)

Author's Response: Haha, yes! I may turn you into a James/Lily shipper yet! ;)

I don't even know how to respond to all your reviews without repeating myself, and I don't want that to seem like I'm not taking the effort to respond to you because I am! I just don't even know what to say.

It doesn't help that I haven't read some of these fics in ages so I don't even remember what they're about, but I'm glad you're enjoying them!

Thanks for taking the time to review all my stories. I know it must take a lot of time and effort so I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Bookworm045 Press Rewind

5th August 2011:
You write a lot of sad stuff. Or maybe I just read a lot of your sad stuff. Either way, I'm mildly depressed after this. It was really so amazing that I'm just like O_O, because I don't have a propper way to describe it (and I'm sorry for that). So, so sad, but still, in a really masochistic way, it had happiness in it. Lily was okay, because she was surrounded by friends and family who loved her. Even though it was a war, and sometimes, her seams were splitting, she was okay.
Gosh, you're such a good writter.

-Katherine045 (Slytherin!)

Author's Response: Haha, no I really do write mostly angst. Not sure why because I can be a pretty funny person sometimes. It just comes more naturally to me, I guess. I'm really glad you liked it. Thank you for the compliments, I really appreciate them and the reviews. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Nadiya Iman Lestrange Press Rewind

3rd December 2007:
More beauty, grace, magic, and eloquence. I simply love how you show Lily to have a special bond with the Marauders, since Lily is just as much of a Marauder as the other four. Especially one, in light of Peter and his betrayal.

Author's Response: Lily is such a beautiful, strong character and I loved showing this side of her. Thank you so much for your review.

 Report Review

Review #7, by anniehpff Press Rewind

30th November 2007:
OMG that was so amazingly beautiful. You have such a way of words and really know how to touch our hearts with such a power it is tear jerking. I read "When Saints die the world stops spinning", and both these stories show the serious fearful ,yet brave point of Lily and I love it. I look forward to reading more of your beautiful work :)

Author's Response: I really love Lily's character and I'm glad I got to showcase her in this fic and in When Saints Die. Her story is so tragic, and she was so young when she died, but she sacrificed her life to protect her son. That's so admirable, yet so sad.

Thank you for your review. You're too kind!


 Report Review

Review #8, by war and peace Press Rewind

17th November 2007:
that was soo sad...
but really good. i'm kinda numbed, and although i was smiling when i started this, i'm mourning now, for all those who died. not many stories can do that.
10/10
emma xx

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I'm glad this made you sad (in a strange way), it means I did my job as an author.

 Report Review

Review #9, by slytheringinny Press Rewind

25th June 2006:
This was wrenching. To see Lily have all thoughts and know that her son would have a chance to end all of it. This was really touching. I enjoyed the way you got inside Lily's head and showed the sensible part of her, the heart and soul of her, without going to deep in to realise what she was feeling. This was very touching. I really like it! ~Ginni~

 Report Review

Review #10, by FluerDelacour8118 Press Rewind

21st February 2006:
This is great! I love how you use the aspect of the war. How at first you were hidden inside Hogwarts. No one could hurt you, except a fellow student trying to hex you. Then, you got out in the real world. You were in that war. You had true enemies coming to haunt you. You described it perfectly. You once again used the Marauders realating to Lily perfectly. Especially with James. You showed how James gave her light. She gave her hope. How he was her true comforter. You portray Lily's character beautifully. Keep on writing with Lily. It's definitely your strong point.

 Report Review

Review #11, by julia Press Rewind

7th November 2005:
fair. a little ehhh at some points where it failed to keep my very short attention span. but overall well-written and solid and good concept'ed. watch the grammar. ;)

 Report Review

Review #12, by laughable_black_storm Press Rewind

12th August 2005:
I loved this story. It leaves the reader happy, yet sad. I actually felt sympathy towards Lily when she said all those things about Harry, since everyone already knows what is happening in his life. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #13, by angahith Press Rewind

7th August 2005:
this is the best freakin one-shot i have eva read!!!!!! ur such a good writer and how u displayed lily's emotion was wonderful!!!!! i really luv it!!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by PadfootLivesOn Press Rewind

23rd June 2005:
Wow. Very deep....Very good. Just wow.

 Report Review

Review #15, by WindRider Press Rewind

21st June 2005:
Excellent one-shot!!!!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by centaursh Press Rewind

6th May 2005:
beautiful, write more! =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Willow Dorcas Press Rewind

6th May 2005:
I liked it. It was serious, but funny and kind. It had a definate sort of light at the end of the tunnel type of thing and it was very well written. Again I'm amazed by your use of words and your description and I really love the quote at the top. The tragedy of life is not that it ends so soon but we wait so long for it to begin. Life only truly begins when we learn to love and be loved in return. Did you write that? Or did you get it from somewhere? Either way it's an amazing quote. I also liked the one at the end, and you have definately captured Lily Evans!

 Report Review

Review #18, by ckitten Press Rewind

9th April 2005:
Awwwwww! That was so sweet! I luv it soooo much! Keep it up!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Schnook Press Rewind

3rd April 2005:
mmmm...tasty! Sad, but not...bittersweet, I suppose is the word. You have worked brilliantly with a story that although we know the end, has much as yet missing. Funny: if we didn't know that Lily died, this would be a happy story! I love reading your work, it is very reflective and calm, although sometimes heart-wrenching. Well done!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Danielle Press Rewind

27th March 2005:
I really like your writing techniques. Expecially your peices on characters point of views. They mean something and are full of depth. I guess you could say that draws the reader in? I dunno

 Report Review

Review #21, by Lucid Press Rewind

14th March 2005:
Ok this is how it is. I love your writing, I'm not sure how many times I can praise up your work, but I shall try again. This is exquisite, fine and graceful writing. You are the second person who has mad it on to my Favourite Author's list. No mean feat I can assure you.

 Report Review

Review #22, by lilflo Press Rewind

2nd March 2005:
wow... thats really well written ! go you !

 Report Review

Review #23, by LizPotter Press Rewind

17th February 2005:
Wow this story just blew me away...just like all your other stories, actually. Fantastic job, I always enjoy reading your stuff! You caracterize everything so realistically, and the emotions are very powerful. Amazing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Emerald_Eyes Press Rewind

4th February 2005:
I loved it, it was great! Really well-written, good job!

 Report Review

Review #25, by magic_wand24 Press Rewind

24th January 2005:
You have moved me so much, I almost cried through most of it, you tell such a fine story in so short amount of words, I adore your writing. Please continue doing what you are so gifted at.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>