Reading Reviews for When Dahlias Bloom
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by killjoy FOUR: You Are Not Broken

7th January 2018:
Dahlia needs to meet Charlie Weasley lol

Author's Response: truer words have never been said

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jess FOUR: You Are Not Broken

1st January 2018:
AH I love this. I love the way you write Dahlia!!! and I'm very excited for her to explore her sexuality because I got lowkey asexual vibes from 2.6A but I hate assuming !!!
I loved these girls from 2.6A and I'm so happy to be reading about them again. I'm so happy you made this sequel and I can't wait to see more!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Scose FOUR: You Are Not Broken

27th December 2017:
Loving the story. Lookinh forward to reading more about Dhalia and James. Would be interested in chapters written from James', Al's or Nova's point of view. I hope you feel more creative soon, although i did enjoy the last chapter! Lots of love and good vibes

 Report Review

Review #4, by HarryGinnyLove88 FOUR: You Are Not Broken

26th December 2017:
Finnaly you updated..please do it again soon :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hasane FOUR: You Are Not Broken

25th December 2017:
l m a o.

Indeed, what is subtlety? You just put it out there that Dahlia was asexual didnt you? Well, Im really glad that Dahlias figured herself out yeah?

This chapter was a slap to the face and like what? At least Dahlia seems to be liking James a tiny shred more. That last sentence will be her famous last words.

Also? I keep pronouncing Danyal as Daniel and I keep have to slap myself. Im South Asian lol I should know better.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Anonymous FOUR: You Are Not Broken

25th December 2017:
This is an amazing story and I'm so glad you updated it! I love Dahli's character as it's so unique and really does defy the Hufflepuff stereotypes. I also love the Hindi throughout the story, not only because I understand it but because it makes the story seem that much more authentic and realistic. Brilliant chapter and please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Briana THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

19th November 2017:
I really love it! Looking forward to the next chapter. Good luck at uni! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by wisty THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

16th November 2017:
I know we chatted about both being bengali (aye) at some point like years ago (which you probably don't recall since I'm like dead on HPFF and I'm late night phone reading so I'm not even logged into my account) BUT I LOVE THIS!!! SO!! MUCH!! okay the literal skin tone part like my moms always on about how I had lighter skin as a kid!! and while career is before marriage, there's that expectation of eventually getting married - oooh and the clothes part!! ugh just the little details and mentions of food just get me

 Report Review

Review #9, by Zara THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

2nd October 2017:
This was so entertaining and so relatable, loved it
Cant wait for the next update 🖤👌🏽☺️

 Report Review

Review #10, by alias999 THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

1st October 2017:
Hi I really love your stories but I found your stereotyping rather offensive. It's not the first time I've come across the concept that Indian families are all obsessed with marrying off their daughters. Just because its an Indian family, it doesn't mean you have to add the marriage pressure and the whole rebellious, therefore 'Western' ideal.
Other than that your stories are super fun.

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm sorry you feel that way about it. A lot of the point of the Dormitory 2.6A-verse is that I tell stories that myself and my friends have personally experienced. As a Bengali girl who has many, many Bengali and Indian friends, there aren't many of us who don't feel the pressure to be married. I'm not one of the oldest in my family so it's not so bad for me, but there's still a sense that "marriage is The Way, preferably when you're 24 or 25". I wouldn't be writing about such a subject without proper insight into it since it's obviously a delicate matter. I myself have been told I'm "Westernised" for practically nothing.

Dahlia's entire family aren't obsessed with marriage; Auntie Supriya is. Dahlia's parents married young, but in no way do they pressure her to do the same. They're accepting of her life as a witch and as someone with strong ideals. She gets in trouble at the end of the chapter not because she doesn't want to get married, but because she disrespects her aunt. The concept of marriage is simply one of many aspects of Dahlia's growing up into an 'adult' journey that I'm exploring here.

Anyways, sorry for writing hella loads there, just wanted to explain the decision properly. I'm glad you enjoy the rest of the story and hope you will still read future updates.

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #11, by insertcreativeusername ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

28th September 2017:
On a more *ahem* normal note, cool introduction! Dahlia seems like a cool OC and i can't wait till James' is introduced. I just reread my review and realized i said cool twice. I need new adjectives...yo dictionary, come here!

Author's Response: Jesus Christ, that is actually freaky!!!

Maybe I was channeling bits of your life when I was writing/planning this?? I'm Bengali, but our cultures are pretty similar anyway so I was just chucking things in from my life (I, too, have a Didi, ya see) which actually feels great.

(Also dal is great??? Why is it so good??)


Say cool as many times as you want m'dear, it's all good.

Thanks for the wonderful review! (No, really, it was great. Made my morning, it did.) I'm glad you like the fic so far!

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #12, by AccioTeddyLupin THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

25th September 2017:
I will not be able to survive this story if Novus will continue to interact like this. I DECLINE STRONGLY

Author's Response: I live to torture y'all.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Hasane THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

23rd September 2017:
Third chapter! I was so excited for this story to update; it made my day!

This chapter was a gem. The beginning of the chapter was so sweet, how the girls always get together so they always have a chance to see each other.

I'm glad to see that Cass is doing much better!

I don't really have much to say for the first half of the chapter, except that I laughed when Dahlia legitimately thought she had hurt the Boy Who Lived!

The second half of the chapter... Yikes.

(The family dynamic is so similar to mine; are we sisters or what?)

For some reason I just feel the tiniest bit sorry for Auntie Supriya? I'm probably not supposed to; she's the embodiment of everything I literally hate. Props to Dahlia for being forward enough to defend herself! I really need those guts of hers. And to be honest Auntie Supriya is free to believe whatever she wants and carry out her own life; after all, isn't that what half the idea of feminism is about? For a woman to be able to pursue her wants without receiving crap for it? (Her internal misogyny is a problem though, I'm not brushing that aside.) The problem comes in where Auntie Supriya forces her world views and ideals into her family, and makes them follow them. I think if expects the world to adhere to her own views and needs, she'll be sorely disappointed.

(I really did just call Auntie Supriya "Auntie Supriya" for the entirety of this review because I was too uncomfortable calling her "Supriya." Wow.)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Dalzonii THREE: Hell Hath No Fury

22nd September 2017:
I really love the focus on Dahlia's family and background. I can't wait to see more of her siblings, especially the two oldest boys -- they're so intriguing with how little I know about them.
Loved the interactions of the girls (it felt lik Dormitory 2A all over again haha) and the run-in. I think the girls won't let Dahlia get away without an explanation, lel. And Al & Nova, what're you DOING?
Can't wait to read more cause I'm absolutely loving this far. Hopefully Dahlia punches her aunt right in her snooty nose!

 Report Review

Review #15, by IchigoPan TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza

2nd September 2017:
Dahila should set up a little stand to the side of The Harpy's Lounge with a sign that says "Advice You Don't Want to Hear: 1 Galleon." Like a Peanuts strip.

My poor bleedin' heart's feeling for James effing Potter. *rolls eyes* He's basically one of those guys who peaked in high school and never got around to doing anything with his life, isn't he? Any way to lay it thick on his "love" for Constance, D! We need grab a drink together *heart*

Awesome chapter as usual. Looking forward to the next one.

 Report Review

Review #16, by IchigoPan ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

2nd September 2017:
YAAASS! A spin-off story on Dahlia!

Plums, you make me so happy. And you need to stop because now I wanna make *this* into a comic!

Also, am I the only one who finds her job ironic given how she's the literal manifestation of a someone who *shouldn't* be in hospitality? Perhaps this'll help her learn something called "empathy."

Cue Dahlia laughing hard in the background.

I love how you contrast her personality from hating the world to respectful daughter the moment she gets home. I guess daal does that (to which you also got me craving for after finishing this chapter).

Onward to chapter two!

 Report Review

Review #17, by SilverMoonFairy TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza

29th August 2017:

This has to be the most awesome character intro chapter EVER. And just the dynamics between the two- his day dream head, her down to earth advice. I love how they interact and I can't wait to read more! This review is coming several hours after I read it because when I was done, I had to go to dinner, so I don't quite remember everything (I'm a little tired, I should have been in bed a while ago...) But I spent a lot of dinner raving about this fic to my friend. XD

I cannot wait to read more! I can't believe he suggested hooking up like that! "We don't even have to talk" Omg... And Alice showed up! "I would rather lick a cactus." ^_^

I did not count the swears, but they numbered in the great many, I'm sure!!

So much love to this story. Makes me want to start posting Off Track (like I said I would ages ago...)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Maggie TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza

27th August 2017:
Okay, I'm totally on board the Dahlia/James ship, you've really managed to get me interested in how they're going to come together after this chapter!

Love love love Dahlia, her entire attitude and her sh'tty waitressing skills! And I like how she was straight with James from the beginning, not beating around the bush just beating him with some sense.
And James, my ultimate fave, how lovely wasn't he? (Forever mourning the loss of his manbun, please grow it out magically Jemmie) He's a bit pathetic, but that's understandable if you're heartbroken. I genuinely thought he was under some sort of love potion/spell first because he sounded almost too hung up on his ex, but now I sort of thinks he's just lonely? I don't know if that's the right vibe or not, but since all it took was a stern talking to from a stranger to make him realize that he just wanted a relationship, I suspect that.
Also how cool is it that you've made him a writer? Very unusual for how the fandom likes to portray James, so yay! Hope he's not getting a too hard time from his family because of it though.

"And shes aware of it too which I have always found attractive in a girl you know, its ridiculous to expect girls to always be demure and shy and unaware of their beauty. I never understood why people made a big deal about girls being vain when all they are is aware of their own beauty? So uh, yeah. Constance is beautiful and she embraces it. Which I like.

So important and so good, love that Dahlia got to see that side of James, not just the womanizer (which he's not really, he's honest with the girls he hooks up with and that is another plus. Is it the most mature behavior? Maybe not, but he's considerate enough to make sure they know what they can expect from him)

And yeah, it's going to be really interesting to see Dahlia and James' future encounters after that kiss that never happened... Maybe it's better for James if he doesn't remember it lol

Author's Response: Hey!

Haha, I’m glad to hear you ship them. I was certain that everyone would just be like “…wth is this” when I introduced him, but I do love their interactions because they are absolutely Ridiculous. All they do is bicker :P

I have had a few messages tragically mourning James’ manbun so there is definitely a chance he might grow it back in future chapters. Who knows tbh?

Ah I’m glad you liked both Dahlia and James. I always overthink my chapters and characters so I was really worried that she would come off as hella unlikeable (because she’s not exactly the sweetest character) and that James would come off as plain weird (which I suppose he is lol). I think you’ve hit the nail on the head there about him: he *is* lonely. He has no real direction in where he’s going now that he’s out of Hogwarts so nothing to properly ground him and half his friends are off at work. Plus (and this is going to be mentioned in a later chapter), even though he messed around a bit in Hogwarts, he sort of has this idea that True Love must be discovered at a young age simply because it happened that way with a lot of his family. He’s basically scrambling to make up for lost time and get it.

So yeah, he’s a little pathetic, but he’s essentially just going through an existential crisis as he finds his feet in the World of Adults. Poor kid.

“Maybe it's better for James if he doesn't remember it lol” – Probably haha. Unfortunately for our boy James, it just didn’t work out that way XD

Thanks for the review!

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #19, by Giu9_RedandGold TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza

27th August 2017:
Hi! I've just read the first two chapters. I have to admit Dahlia is more likable than I thought she would be. Even in the original ff, she was quite fun to read, but writing an entite story with her as the lead character I think is a brave choice. I've read many story with a cynical, rude, annoying, unpleasent and just generally unlikable protagonist, but they often end up making her simply annoying and not someone I want to read about! So,good job,because so far I'm very interested in Dahlia (more than I was in the first story) and I'm curious to read more!

Ps. I love the fact that she just disapparated away after that DO YOU WANT TO KISS ME AS MUCH AS I WANT TO KISS YOU?"

Author's Response: Hey!

Honestly, writing a fic with Dahlia as the POV character was terrifying for that very reason. Because in my head, I have a specific idea of what she's like and what motivates her, but I didn't know whether she would just come off as bratty in the fic. But I just had to write her in the end :P

So basically, I'm glad you're interested in her and she hasn't come off as annoying as hell haha.

Lol, what's the point of an apparition license if you can't just zap away after bluntly rejecting someone's advances?

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #20, by astoryending TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza

27th August 2017:
It is so great to read something with such perfectly flawed characters with big personalities and quick dialog, so thank you for this absolute gem!

I love the way your writing flows and I think Dahlia may be one of my fave OCs of all time :)

I just wanted to leave a little comment to let you know how ace I think this is even this early on! So I am excitedly waiting for more!


Author's Response: Hey,

Aw, thank you for taking the time to review, it means so much. I'm glad you're enjoying the story and that you like the characters. One of your favourite OCs? Thank you so much!

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #21, by Dalzonii TWO: Love, Lust and a Louispalooza

27th August 2017:
Holy crap, I love her so much. I wish Dahlia was my spirit animal. This had me laughing so hard. I literally whispered 'yas queen' like a goddamn idiot when I saw you updated. And I'm super glad you did.
two chapters in and I'm already obsessed. Can't wait to see more of this amazing story you've created so far (I ship them so hard already smh).
Cheers! You're an absolute gem x

Author's Response: Hey!

Oh my gosh, thank you soo much. I was worried about what it'd be like writing Dahlia as the POV character because she's not the most... gentle character. Good to know you like her! And because James is a Mess in this chapter lol.

Also, I am blushing like an idiot in the middle of a family gathering because of this review. You're the sweetest!

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #22, by AccioTeddyLupin ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

4th August 2017:
Yas, welcome back. Can't wait to get to the good stuff!

Author's Response: Haha, me too :D

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #23, by Jess ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

1st August 2017:
Please don't abandon this. Dahlia Darzi is, like, one of my favouritefavourite characters. I love how you added that peek of Dahlia's family life. The family dynamics were so, so, relatable. I'm very curious to see how Witch Weekly and our lovely James Potter are tied into this.

Update soon!


Author's Response: Hey!

Don't worry, I have no plans to abandon this. I love the characters waaay too much and I've written a few chapters ahead as a buffer for when inspiration is down and I need to post something :) I'm so glad you're enjoying this so far - James makes his grand appearance in CH2.

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #24, by Dalzonii ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

1st August 2017:
As much as I hate that Nova and Al broke up, let's be honest, most first-time relationships don't survive past school. I like how you've kept this realistic even in a world of magic (I would still be open to them getting back together though lol).
It's great to see Dahlia, my personal favourite from Dormitory 2.6A, back and even better to see it's in her PoV. I'm already loving her inner thoughts and feel like I'm seeing her in a new light.
Absolutely stoked with this! Can't wait to see where the story goes :)

Author's Response: Hey,

OH MY GOSH, YOU READ MY MIND. Like when I first planned out Dormitory 2.6A, it was supposed to be hella ambiguous on the fate of Novus and end on a note where you *think* they might've gotten together, but I never outright said it. That all shot to hell because I am weak af and needed her to just get what she wants!! :P But then I privately was like they probably wouldn't work for long past Hogwarts bc realism and they were only 16 when they got together.

As for whether they'll get back together in the future... well, we'll see.

Anyways, I'm glad you're enjoying the fic! Writing Dahlia is so daunting so I love that you love her inner thoughts.

Thanks for reviewing!

Plums xo

 Report Review

Review #25, by Maggie ONE: A Seed In the Vegetable Patch

1st August 2017:
Ooo, a new story from you, amazing!

Ngl, I was hoping for a James/Alice Longbottom spin off from Dormitory 6A, just because that pairing is my catnip 👌🏼 But Dahlia is so, so interesting so I'm sure this will be great (but the again, you haven't said who you're pairing James up with so I'm holding on to my hope for Alice for a little while yet, lol)

OTT: did you delete the story with James and his friend who turned out to be a squib? It was related to Kiss My Lips, if I remember right?

Author's Response: Hi!

Ooh yeah, Alice/James, forgot about the popularity of that pairing :P Unfortunately, I think Alice is probably just too comfortable with James and Al to think of them romantically in any way possible at the moment, but we'll see ;)

Yeah, I deleted Kaleidoscopic (omg I literally stared at the screen for a solid minute trying to remember what it was called) just because that whole universe wasn't working for me anymore. I got huge writers' block and Kiss My Lips wasn't getting any response at all and it was all just depressing me. I still have the first two chappies of Kaleidoscopic, but I haven't touched the story since it went down.)

Plums xo

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>