Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Salmondali Owls

23rd October 2017:
A clock for me but a butter for thee

 Report Review

Review #2, by HarryGinnyLove88 Malfoy's Secret

5th October 2017:
YESS!! Al asked Emily out...i know that hes gonnamarry Becca...but Em is nice...

And speaking of Becca can you write about Becca and Al..how they met fall in love and more.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Liana Careers

5th October 2017:
I can't wait to see what you come up with for Matt in the end. Will he do something exciting or will he work for George. I hate seeing him so depressed over his future. I forgot about Emily and Albus' crush on her. It will be fun to see how that works out.

 Report Review

Review #4, by MargaretLane Malfoy's Secret

5th October 2017:
Hmm, I'm guessing the Malfoys are very anxious for their sons (and daughters) to be straight, marry and have children. It fits both with their traditional stance and with their concern for pureblood.

I don't think he was lying in any form. All it WAS was two people snogging in a broom cupboard.

LOVE the name WHS.

*laughs* Their "doesn't get much more serious than that" has pretty much been the norm over here. We've just lost another Garda Commissioner (basically the head of police) - the second to resign in three years due to scandals. A Minister for Justice resigned three years ago also due to those scandals and it probably hastened the end of our last Taoiseach (Prime Minister's) career, though that was done behind closed doors. The wizarding world seems to hang onto its leaders longer than the Muggle one does though, looking at the careers of the Ministers for Magic.

And yikes, Malfoy in charge. That would NOT be good.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ngayonatkailanman Malfoy's Secret

5th October 2017:
My heart goes out to James. After the war and Voldy, what on earth are the Ministry top wizrds and witches doing? Are they so keen to self destruct? Idiots. Lol. John is going overboard and not thinking straight,pp

 Report Review

Review #6, by Liana Felix Felicis

4th October 2017:
I think Albus will always be suspicious of Scorpius. He probably has every reason to do so. Wow--they get to make Felix. Rose is sure a carbon of her mother. I'm concerned about Matt. Whatever will he do after graduation. He's got to come up with something.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Liana Aconite

3rd October 2017:
I just love your Albus Potter stories and this one is no exception. Is it my imagination or is it more difficult to review these days. It seems like I have to prove I'm a human several times before my review is accepted. It takes a lot just to write a review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Liana Head Girl

30th September 2017:
Poor Albus--people noticing his interest in Emily. She sounds like she'd be good for him. I wonder what trouble Albus will find this year. Can you imagine the underclassmen flying their brooms to Hogwarts. What happened to tradition. It's too bad Harry couldn't get to the station to send two of his children off to Hogwarts. Does James really need that much care? Is he that depressed they can't leave him alone?

 Report Review

Review #9, by Liana The Test

27th September 2017:
I think I like that you make the Potter children all seem so normal. You'd think with Harry and Ginny as parents they wouldn't have to worry about anything. I hope James finds something to do. Some of his cousins don't to seem to have a clue either:D

 Report Review

Review #10, by Liana The Protest

27th September 2017:
I can't help feeling bad for James. I have a feeling the old James is in there somewhere but is hiding. I wonder if he'll work for George. He has to find something that makes him feel useful and needed.

 Report Review

Review #11, by MargaretLane The Werewolf Registry

27th September 2017:
Great to see John doing well as captain. He hasn't had that much chance to shine in your stories compared with Albus, Rose, Amanda and even Kaden, with his potion brewing. So it's nice to see him showing his own abilities.

This sounds like a really interesting chapter from the quote in the chapter summary.

I HATE cold Octobers. At least if you get a cold early Spring (February, March), you know it won't last much longer and you expect it to be cold in December and January (and February and November too), but if it's cold in October, you just think, "we could have 6 or 7 MONTHS of this."

I ALWAYS approve of bringing characters to Ireland. And a magical Fota sounds like fun.


*laughs at the idea of setting fire to the registry*

That argument being the registry sounds like the arguments for things like torture or the death penalty. As far as I know, there is little or no evidence they reduce crime but people still argue in favour of them on the basis that they do. I can easily understand people wanting to know if there is a werewolf living near them, even though it is really unlikely to be any help. What can they actually DO to prevent an attack?

And yeah, it is hard to imagine what it would be like to be in a situation where one was denied such fundamental rights. Christy Moore wrote a song, "Ninety Miles from Dublin" about how internment was happening 90 miles from Dublin, but most people down here may have been horrified but saw it as something happening somewhere else.

Yikes, that number is creepy, given the similarity with the concentration camps of World War II. Which I assume is what you intended.

I think changing the Minister sounds like a good start!

*grins* Whether or not people can be fired for lycanthropy is the main issue being debated in my next gen story about the issue.

And yeah, being a teenager can feel SO helpless. I remember a couple of referenda in my teens/pre-teens that I felt strongly about but couldn't vote on. Not sure there would be much Albus could do about this even outside school though.

This is really weird. Is Malfoy gay? Is that what all his worry is about? It is possible. We don't really know how being gay is viewed in the wizarding world but I could EASILY see purebloods being obsessed with having children (and honestly, I find it pretty unrealistic in canon that purebloods seem to have such small families and that Draco mocks the Weasleys for being a big family. A group that wants to preserve pure blood SHOULD be putting pressure on people to have as many children as possible and it should be only having one or two children that is stigmatised) and since gay couples can't procreate, I could well see it being stigmatised.

Or there COULD be something more to this. We might just just meant to think they are a couple. They could be up to just about anything.

 Report Review

Review #12, by N The Werewolf Registry

27th September 2017:
Whoa...Malfoy with someone other than Rose,Lily or evenAlbus? Lol. Mind you,Emily is so much better. Poor Matt. Such a very serious topic. Scamander? Oh no! I wonder what Luna will say! Brilliant chapter.

 Report Review

Review #13, by HarryGinnyLove88 The Werewolf Registry

27th September 2017:
Well that was intresting thing 🙂 about malfoy hihii cool acually...
Too bad Al dodnt get a chanse ask Em hope next one ☺

 Report Review

Review #14, by Albus Potter in Gryffindor The Werewolf Registry

26th September 2017:
Very good. Poor Matt. Your stories are excellent!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Liana Owls

24th September 2017:
I figured it was time for you to start another Albus Potter story and I was right. I remember reading and reviewing your first one and you weren't sure if you'd write seven stories. I am so glad you did. This is a lot to be proud of. I hope things work out for James. He has much to work through.

 Report Review

Review #16, by MargaretLane International Relations

23rd September 2017:
I only remembered yesterday that there should be a new chapter of this up.

I wonder what it is that Newt has said isn't usually violent. And the twins look like they might be mischiefmakers.

Ah, I see where Clements is going. He's making a point about discrimination. I read once about a version that sounded effective - a teacher (or hypothetical teacher) asked all students to throw a piece of balled up paper into a bin at the front of the room. Of course, the students at the back complained that they had to throw further and were less likely to get it in.

Probably just as well Matt left the room before they started talking about discrimination against people with lycanthropy.

Oooh, those discussions can get tricky. It's hard to encourage debate on the rights of werewolves while still preventing hate speech. A colleague and I were discussing that issue recently as the new Junior Cert. English course requires students to do an oral presentation on a topic of choice. Clements seems to be handling it well. He seems like a good teacher.

That does sound tricky, that all the countries of the world have to agree.

I'd imagine he'd have to give more background to the 1st years. Some of them would be Muggleborns who wouldn't even know there are such things as vampires and werewolves, let alone which belong to which group. He'd probably have to start by discussing the different types of being in the Muggle world and getting them to categorise them or something.

Hmm, I wonder what is going on with Malfoy.

That's interesting - that Albus and his family went to group therapy sessions to teach them about how the war had affected Harry.

I can see issues with this group being open to everybody. On the one hand, I can see why the healer would want it that way - because there may well be students with undiagnosed issues and they may feel more comfortable going if they don't have to explain their issues first and can just let everybody think they are there to support a friend or something. On the other hand, I can see somebody like Malfoy showing up in order to find out other people's insecurities. And I think a lot of kids might feel uncomfortable talking about their insecurities or mental health issues in front of people who may not have comparable problems and who may not understand.

I hope it works out well for Matt.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ngayonatkailanman International Relations

20th September 2017:
This chapter is so interesting. It really evoked so many emotions,guestions anddiscussions. A very clever academic update.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Mice International Relations

19th September 2017:
Hear. Hear. I got another 45 minutes where I live until it's midnight. It's interesting tho... Matt possibly going to U know what. I think it would be good for him, even if he doesn't say anything it would let him know he's not the only student with trauma in his life. And the class sounds like it will. E very interesting

 Report Review

Review #19, by MargaretLane Careers

14th September 2017:
I like the sound of this chapter. Always interesting to get a hint about characters' futures. I was actually sort of disappointed that the epilogue to Harry Potter told us nothing about the Trio's careers and future lives, except that they married the obvious person and had kids.

Oooh, that makes sense; that they could fake the results. And since I assume Amanda will be applying for something like "politics" or "international relations" (not quite sure of the degrees in the UK but I am sure they'd have something along those lines), she would have the background, from her uncle and all. And working on a comparison with the O.W.L. and N.E.W.T. grades is fair. There are actually official comparisons between the Leaving Cert. here and the A-levels and the N.E.W.T.S. would probably be easier to match up, as they do closer to the same number of subjects.

I always sort of thought 11 was extremely young to close off so many career opportunities.

I might have said this before, but I love the variety of careers your characters show an interest in. In a lot of stories, it seems like pretty much everybody becomes an Auror, a Healer or a professional Quidditch player, with maybe one person going into a Ministry Department or becoming a teacher at Hogwarts. It's good to see more variety, especially careers that either don't appear in canon or aren't developed.

Aw. I love the way Albus makes an excuse to walk with Matt so it doesn't seem like he's just being nice.

And yeah, I can see why Weasley's might not be the best choice for Matt.

I'd actually been expecting Matt to feel better after the meeting - I'd thought Neville might have reassured him in some way - until I got to the point where Matt wasn't in the Marauder's Den or his dormitory or common room. That kind of indicated he was hiding, which gave the impression he wasn't too happy.

LOVE the fact that Albus suggests Lily could be an Auror. I don't think I've ever read a story where Lily or Rose became Aurors and even though Lily isn't interested in that career here, it's good to see an acknowledgement that she would be good enough and that it's not a male-only career.

Poor Matt. Even if he DOES find something he can do, he's going to be stuck with what will take him regardless of whether or not it's a job he'll actually enjoy.

 Report Review

Review #20, by HarryGinnyLove88 Careers

14th September 2017:
Albus should ask Em out really soon.
Thanks for writing ☺

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ngayonatkailanman Careers

13th September 2017:
I want to cry. wile I am glad for each of the characters, my heart goes out to James and Matt. Life can be so cruel. Excellent work.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Chris The Protest

8th September 2017:
i notice you use mum when referring to Ginny however as its not written in the first person (eg:from Albus' point of view) it should really be Ginny. mum/dad/aunt etc should only be used when it's in the first person - in other words from a certain characters pov or if particular character is talking to/about and certain character for example Albus might say to James "Mum will kill you if she see you wondering alone" it might be a bit confusing for people and lessen their enjoyment

Author's Response: It's written in third person limited, from Albus's point of view, just like the Harry Potter books were written third person limited from Harry's point of view. In Harry Potter, all characters were referred to as Harry thought of them. (for example, Uncle Vernon and Aunt Petunia, Mr. and Mrs. Weasley, professors were referred to as Professor so and so). Third person omniscient they'd be referred to as Vernon, Petunia, Molly, Arthur, Albus Dumbledore, Remus Lupin, etc. Same in this. All adults are referred to as Albus would refer them as. Since he doesn't call his mum 'Ginny,' she's not referred to as Ginny.

 Report Review

Review #23, by ngayonatkailanman Felix Felicis

6th September 2017:
Love your hint ending on Malloy. Cannot wait to see how this potion will round up the storyline. Excellent chapter.

 Report Review

Review #24, by MargaretLane Felix Felicis

6th September 2017:
I'd be inclined to capitalise the subjects.

I probably mentioned this before but as a child, I read a lot of British and American books and as a result thought I'd have free classes in secondary school. *laughs*

That's pretty good - Longbottom meeting students about careers plans once a month. We were MEANT to have a meeting with the career guidance teacher to discuss our college/career choices, but the teacher was out sick or something so it never happened. And it would have been once in the year anyway. I guess Hogwarts is small enough that they can afford the time. Harder when there are over 100 in each year. We did have a career guidance class each week.

And I am intrigued as to what this potion that requires aconite is. I doubt you'd have placed so much emphasis on it if it wasn't important in some way.

I LOVE how you portray the issues related to the International Confederation of Wizards. My big historical hero, de Valera, went on a bit of a rant in the League of Nations back in the 30s (well, a de Valera rant - in other ways, phrased very politely and delivered in a monotone so that it's only afterwards you realise just how scathing he was really being - he was quite like Dumbledore) and criticised just what Matt is complaining about - Italy getting away with invading Ethiopia because it had trade deals with various countries and nobody really cared about Ethiopia. The way powerful countries can exert their will is naturally something that bothers those of us in small, insignificant countries.

And I like the way you show a world beyond Britain.

Hmm, Felix Felicis... And it takes six months to make. I figure that is going to play a significant part in this story, given both its inclusion in the title and the fact that it will take most of the year to make. I can't really see how it CAN be significant though. The title makes it sound like somebody is going to be under its influence and maybe get something they wouldn't otherwise. Matt? I suspect it might be for him that Rose wants to make it.

I've forgotten what Rose wants to do.

I like your inclusion of the application requirements. I don't think I've seen anybody describe the requirements. I guess I always assumed it would be pretty much a job application. I would never have thought of an essay. I know universities in some countries have them as part of their application process though. The Auror application process makes a lot of sense. Mental and physical good health would be kind of important for them.

That's interesting that they have a bit of freedom in seventh year. It's the exact opposite here. There is far more freedom in earlier years with the final year being focused very much on the exam and the questions likely to come up on it.

Hmm, Callahan's comment about all having different morals is interesting.

And I could completely see Malfoy using it before a job interview. Now that I think of it, that potion could be dodgy in the wrong hands. I know it has limited effect. Using it in Half Blood Prince didn't prevent Dumbledore from being killed or make the Death Eaters just walk away. But still. If Washburn or one of your villains had used it or if Lubar or one of the Willinsons had used it when trying to bring Voldemort back, it might not have ended well.

I really like the idea of discussing the ethics of various potions. I can see it both ways with Felix Felicis. Nothing wrong with making yourself lucky but there are so many situations when luck for one person means lack of luck for another. And not just in situations as simple as elections or sports contests. Like luck for a criminal is getting away with your crime or getting a good opportunity to attack somebody or luck for a bully again would be not getting caught. And even when nobody is really in the wrong, luck for one person bidding say for a house or land or a contract means bad luck for those bidding against them.

 Report Review

Review #25, by HarryGinnyLove88 Felix Felicis

6th September 2017:
Im glad that you wrote again and i hope next one gones quickly 🙂

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>